User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 363 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 363
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OwenO
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    A very Intelligent Indie Sci fi movie, One of the most comforting to watch in a long time. This Movie COULD have turned into a sci-fi cliche, but it didnt, it took tenants from the great Sci-fi's of the past and it did something no has done in a while: it did something original. I have to Question why "Christian Science Monitor" was even added as a legitimate review.. is Peter rainer A very Intelligent Indie Sci fi movie, One of the most comforting to watch in a long time. This Movie COULD have turned into a sci-fi cliche, but it didnt, it took tenants from the great Sci-fi's of the past and it did something no has done in a while: it did something original. I have to Question why "Christian Science Monitor" was even added as a legitimate review.. is Peter rainer a 7 year old child? a complete farce.. Expand
  2. JB.
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    I think the back cover of the dvd really summed it up quite well. "Moon is an engrossing, intelligent sci-fi thriller that ranks with genre classics like 2001: A Space Odyssey."
  3. JustinC
    Apr 25, 2010
    10
    My favorite film of 2009, though i can understand it's slow pacing is not for everyone, especially those that see a 'sci-fi' movie like transformers or avatar as the top of the genre. if you need any reason to discount Peter Rainer's review in the Christian Science Monitor (lol?) than his absurd quote, know that he goes on to say sam rockwell is a bad actor.
  4. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Being such a lucrative genre if cracked, there are many sci fi films knocking out. Moon isn't quite up to the standards of 2001: A Space Odyssey' as suggested on the packaging but is still a sci-fi movie that doesn't let the scientific overrun the emotional. Relating to all the isolated 'stereotypical' sci-fi geek it tells the story of the alienated Sam Bell. What Sam doesn't realise isBeing such a lucrative genre if cracked, there are many sci fi films knocking out. Moon isn't quite up to the standards of 2001: A Space Odyssey' as suggested on the packaging but is still a sci-fi movie that doesn't let the scientific overrun the emotional. Relating to all the isolated 'stereotypical' sci-fi geek it tells the story of the alienated Sam Bell. What Sam doesn't realise is that he isn't alone at all. Something a bit different in a genre that often lacks originality, Moon is a must see noughties movie. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    A quietly satisfying film that is Well paced and acted. However I can't give it more than a 7 as I feel they could have made a lot more of the big reveal about the astronaughts identity and from that point on it was all very predictable. There are many many inluences of other films to be seen here; silent running, AI, alien, 2001, etc. So many in fact that the film didn't seem to have anA quietly satisfying film that is Well paced and acted. However I can't give it more than a 7 as I feel they could have made a lot more of the big reveal about the astronaughts identity and from that point on it was all very predictable. There are many many inluences of other films to be seen here; silent running, AI, alien, 2001, etc. So many in fact that the film didn't seem to have an identity of its own. I also found the whole premise of having a clone on the moon somewhat unbelievable when it would have been far more effective just to have a team of real people up there, and dispense with the cloak and dagger. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best films ever made, Sam Rockwell's performance is stella and without flaw. I loved the characters the story and the dialogue.The film industry will struggle to make a film this good ever again.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    This film is deceptively brilliant, bordering that grey area where there are characters that are depicted do not fall into the trap of specifically bad or good. There is no real physical entity that serves as an antagonist, instead twisting the twist even further by having the protagonist's other self be just as similar with elements of self-confidence. It is dealt with spectacularly, butThis film is deceptively brilliant, bordering that grey area where there are characters that are depicted do not fall into the trap of specifically bad or good. There is no real physical entity that serves as an antagonist, instead twisting the twist even further by having the protagonist's other self be just as similar with elements of self-confidence. It is dealt with spectacularly, but it was obvious that this proves a real take on something that goes so much unnoticed, dealing with science-fiction that possesses a more emotional and metaphorical nature. The computer, played with a surprisingly lack of monotone by the rightfully chosen Kevin Spacey, is given a personality with a much different result compared to 2001: A Space Odyssey.
    Sam Rockwell's performance couldn't have been done with a different appearance, his voice able to express wild emotion and a casual tone of both indifference and contentment. It is not so much nuanced, but it was important to understand the feelings of someone isolated in space without so much as a live feed, inclusive of how natural the reveal was.
    Expand
  8. May 14, 2012
    8
    A quite good science fiction movie that contrasts with the usual action packed ones we are used to. It's entertaining, the plot evolves steadily, but not too fast so that the character and the emotions are not glossed over, and not too slow as well so that we are not left bored or waiting for the next thing to happen. I wasn't expecting anything from this movie, I got a pleasant surprise.
  9. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    This is very overrated film, by those who prefers more "Pew-pew".
    1) If you like actions, this movie is not for you. It's a deep movie, where you should think not just watch.
    2) They had 5m$ and filmed a movie with story which is way better than Cameron's Avatar (237m$) 3) The music and the acting is godlike. Still listening to Clint Mansell's. 4) It was filmed in 33 days, it's a big
    This is very overrated film, by those who prefers more "Pew-pew".
    1) If you like actions, this movie is not for you. It's a deep movie, where you should think not just watch.
    2) They had 5m$ and filmed a movie with story which is way better than Cameron's Avatar (237m$)
    3) The music and the acting is godlike. Still listening to Clint Mansell's.
    4) It was filmed in 33 days, it's a big success as well.

    If you like movies like "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", "Mr Nobody" and "The shutter Island" you will deffiantly like the "Moon".

    BUT. There is always But. If you like shooting and explosion- no, there won't be shooting and explosions in that movie.
    Expand
  10. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Underrated, under the radar, under the surface. Unseen. Yet, one of the best out there. It takes a while to figure out what's going on, but you realize it was really there all along. Open your eyes, world. Find this film. Match the pieces of its puzzle. Enjoy.
  11. upi
    Dec 24, 2013
    9
    Finally, a sci-fi movie with a PLOT that works without attempting to dazzle the audience with special effects. I've been waiting for that. I particularly enjoyed the subtle subversion of certain conventions of the genre.
  12. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    Sam (Rockwell) works for the company that is responsible for producing most of the world's energy. Sounds like a great gig but there is a catch. He work on the moon, what's worse is he is stationed there for the duration of a three year contract with no interaction except for GERTY (Spacey) the computer that aids him in his work. Sam knows three years is too long, he desperately misses hisSam (Rockwell) works for the company that is responsible for producing most of the world's energy. Sounds like a great gig but there is a catch. He work on the moon, what's worse is he is stationed there for the duration of a three year contract with no interaction except for GERTY (Spacey) the computer that aids him in his work. Sam knows three years is too long, he desperately misses his wife and daughter. He has begun to have delusions, he tells GERTY he is worried because he has begun talking to himself. Things turn real bad when he takes a trip on a rover to fix a piece of machinery that has broken down. Sam crashes the rover and it is at this point that things start to become fuzzy not only for Sam but for the viewer.

    Everything Moon is it owes to Rockwell. He is always a more than capable actor but outdoes himself in this role. The character he is playing goes through many extreme emotional states during the course of this film. Rockwell not only displays these emotions effectively but he keeps what could be an extreme character grounded enough that we continue to identify with him throughout the entire film. Spacey has a unique voice, one that doesn't always work to his advantage. It works perfectly here, the emoticons on GERTY are quite effective as well. Non-human characters are not an easy thing to pull off in film, but GERTY not only works it adds to the emotion of the film. If Moon has an issue it is in visuals. This was probably a low budget movie so I won't harp on it. I will say that everything inside the station is fine, everything outside the station less than fine.

    Moon is a very effective character study. Grounded sci-fi is rare and Moon is better than most that have tried. Even the twists feel less jarring than they do in most movies. A must watch for any film fan.
    Expand
  13. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    I personally found Moon to be a very interesting and thought-provoking movie that was also deeply stirring and emotional. The great score by Clint Mansell (the genius behind Requiem for a Dream's music) gave the scenes an auxiliary touching effect and Sam Rockwell acts absolutely masterfully. The visuals are definitely not as interesting as in some other movies of its genre, yet the lookI personally found Moon to be a very interesting and thought-provoking movie that was also deeply stirring and emotional. The great score by Clint Mansell (the genius behind Requiem for a Dream's music) gave the scenes an auxiliary touching effect and Sam Rockwell acts absolutely masterfully. The visuals are definitely not as interesting as in some other movies of its genre, yet the look is quite an achievement if you consider the small budget. An issue that pretty much everyone will face while watching Moon is that it tends to be quite tedious and you will really lose interest during some of the long wordless shots. However, that didn't bother me that much since there were lots of other well-made scenes and the general feeling I had while watching the movie, which was an unsettling sadness. Moon is relatively unique and impressing and I'd recommend it to everyone who appreciates material to think about when watching a movie. Expand
  14. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    Go see this if you are tired of the Hollywood science fiction clichés. Nice acting from Sam Rockwell. The set pieces and CGI was also good. The story is good, but I do not consider it anything special. Overall a smarter than usual science fiction movie worth watching.
  15. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Great film! The critics loved it, and it's plain to see why. Moon is an amazing directorial debut from Duncan Jones, and Sam Rockwell gives an incredible performance. He gives a stunning, Oscar caliber performance. Also, the story was well thought-out, unique, and really intriguing and interesting. Unlike anything I have ever seen, really. I also liked that it incorporated a few of theGreat film! The critics loved it, and it's plain to see why. Moon is an amazing directorial debut from Duncan Jones, and Sam Rockwell gives an incredible performance. He gives a stunning, Oscar caliber performance. Also, the story was well thought-out, unique, and really intriguing and interesting. Unlike anything I have ever seen, really. I also liked that it incorporated a few of the good elements of 2001: A Space Odyssey, like the robot, Gerty's, appearance, and the classical musical score. Excellent music by Clint Mansell. I even thought the special effects and computer generated sequences were good, especially for a low budget of only 5 million dollars. Pretty impressive! Moon is an excellent example of a great Sci-Fi film. For me, this simple yet sophisticated movie delivers in every way one can. Story, acting, emotion, music, mystery, humor, conflict, scenery, setting, there was even a little romance and a fight scene. I definitely recommend this film to everyone! Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    While it could be easily argued that 'Moon' dispenses with it's mystery elements too readily, by doing so it allows the film to become intensely moving.
  17. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    This movie is so good, it's easily made it to my top 10, maybe even top 5. It's plot is admittedly weak, but that's okay, I don't care. Instead, the superb acting creates a STORY, and its so compelling. One of those Sci-fi films in league with Blade Runner or Fahrenheit 451 than Star Wars; it makes you think and question. The story really is heartbreaking. Other reviews will say manyThis movie is so good, it's easily made it to my top 10, maybe even top 5. It's plot is admittedly weak, but that's okay, I don't care. Instead, the superb acting creates a STORY, and its so compelling. One of those Sci-fi films in league with Blade Runner or Fahrenheit 451 than Star Wars; it makes you think and question. The story really is heartbreaking. Other reviews will say many different things on this subject, but I would recommend at least seeing this movie to form your own opinion. Expand
  18. May 12, 2013
    8
    A terrific movie with an Sam Rockwell who plays two roles like one god.The whole idea of the film not seems new and path-breaking but the film is so much more than just a insider tipp.Its a story which is so good that no action sequences are needed in the entire movie.And i think that says a lot about the quality of the dialogues.There is only one way to describe it:Its a fabulousA terrific movie with an Sam Rockwell who plays two roles like one god.The whole idea of the film not seems new and path-breaking but the film is so much more than just a insider tipp.Its a story which is so good that no action sequences are needed in the entire movie.And i think that says a lot about the quality of the dialogues.There is only one way to describe it:Its a fabulous Sci-Fi-Thriller with an phenomenal Sam Rockwell. Expand
  19. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Watched Moon (2009), for the 1st. time, in 2013. One of the best Science Fiction films. I don't follow Academy Awards or Oscars, but if anyone deserved one; Sam Rockwell did. Basically he carried the movie by himself...it was awesome and engaging emotionally. Brilliant production.
  20. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    A painfully underrated film, this is pretty much as good as it gets. Up there with 2001 a space odyssey and Blade Runner if you're looking for a film that challenges you you can't do better then this. At times the dialogue seems strange and unrealistic but looking at it again I can understand it much better. It's a tragedy that while eveyone talks about avatar, this has been semiA painfully underrated film, this is pretty much as good as it gets. Up there with 2001 a space odyssey and Blade Runner if you're looking for a film that challenges you you can't do better then this. At times the dialogue seems strange and unrealistic but looking at it again I can understand it much better. It's a tragedy that while eveyone talks about avatar, this has been semi forgotten. And the score by clint mansell (Requiem for a Dream) is absolutly brilliant. If you're bored by this film switch on Transformers ot Avatar and don't bother looking back! I respect peoples opinions but saying this is boring is like saying 'My Dinner With Andre' is uninteresting, Expand
  21. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    There is much to admire in this film; everything from Sam Rockwell
  22. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    An absolute revival of the thought provoking, visionary science-fiction film, which has been dead since Dark City in 1998.
  23. NathanielR.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Pretty much perfect science fiction film that manages to evoke the feel of the timeless "2001: A Space Odyssey" but it provides a much more human, character-focused story than the metaphysical ideas explored in Kubrick's film. Sam Rockwell gives his best performance thus far, the film's score is perfect, the story cleverly unveils shocking truth after shocking truth, and all Pretty much perfect science fiction film that manages to evoke the feel of the timeless "2001: A Space Odyssey" but it provides a much more human, character-focused story than the metaphysical ideas explored in Kubrick's film. Sam Rockwell gives his best performance thus far, the film's score is perfect, the story cleverly unveils shocking truth after shocking truth, and all this from a first-time director! No single element of this film stands out to me as being sub-par, it was simply a joy to behold the return of thinking-man's science fiction. I cannot wait to see it again. Expand
  24. BobN
    Jun 21, 2009
    8
    Not much happens in this film. Most of it takes place in the station on the moon. Nonetheless, I liked it. It reminded me of Bradbury's short sci-fi stories, such as those in The Illustrated Man. To be honest, I cannot remember the last sci-fi film I enjoyed. This one is different. Is it great? No. Compared to the other crap sci-fi films of the past 20 years, it is fantastic. It was Not much happens in this film. Most of it takes place in the station on the moon. Nonetheless, I liked it. It reminded me of Bradbury's short sci-fi stories, such as those in The Illustrated Man. To be honest, I cannot remember the last sci-fi film I enjoyed. This one is different. Is it great? No. Compared to the other crap sci-fi films of the past 20 years, it is fantastic. It was like reading a short story, and I loved it for that. The plot is not schocking, and one can tell where it heads. Yet, I still enjoyed it, simply for its purity, for its lack of "here is the giant CGI shot" type filmmaking. This is sci-fi done well. Expand
  25. RyanM.
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Refreshing to see a sci-fi movie that's not all cgi and over-the-top action scenes. Done in an old style, Kubrick-esque, style proves effective in many ways. Moody, creepy, gorgeous and inventive.
  26. PaulM
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    This is real science fiction for people who like to read the stuff.
  27. JamesH.
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    Other movies have dealt with this subject (notably the very underrated "The Island") but this was a film for adults rather than the masses. Slow paced (a la "2001") which makes it totally believable, and good acting and writing. I was hooked the entire movie and loved the ending. Loved "Gertie" as well! :) Looking forward to seeing more movies from new director Duncan Jones. Hopefully he Other movies have dealt with this subject (notably the very underrated "The Island") but this was a film for adults rather than the masses. Slow paced (a la "2001") which makes it totally believable, and good acting and writing. I was hooked the entire movie and loved the ending. Loved "Gertie" as well! :) Looking forward to seeing more movies from new director Duncan Jones. Hopefully he will continue to make thought-provoking films and not get sucked into the Hollywood machine. BRAVO. Expand
  28. Plashingies
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Started off boring, but in the end, it was worth it. Characters have personalities, and develop according to that. Them dying off gives you emotions. Plot is amazing, creative, and very interesting. To fully enjoy this movie, you must think.
  29. David
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    This was definitely one of the best sci fi movies ever. one that seems like any other space suspense movie but turns out to be incredibly shocking and mind blowing. Sam Rockwell gives amazing performances and Kevin Spacey as the voice of GERTY was great casting. And if you think you know the plot twist or what happens, be ready for a surprise.
  30. AlexH
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    Mr. Rockwell makes it look easy to pull of two fantastic performances. Moon is sure to be one of the summers most engrossing and intelligent films.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Whitney Borup
    80
    Moon is one of those rare gems of the sci-fi genre that takes its acting as seriously as it treats its special effects.
  2. Reviewed by: Duane Byrge
    80
    Under Duncan Jones' kinetic direction, Moon also shines on the production front: Cinematographer Gary Shaw's shaded shots intensify the drama, and Clint Mansell's music heightens the psycho-scape.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Despite its handsome look and good thesping workout for Sam Rockwell, the story stretches a bit thin over feature length.