User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarcK.
    Oct 14, 2002
    8
    I can see why some would have considered this movie to be a bit heavy-handed, but I thought the movie was good enough to override some of the more preening, self-indulgent aspects of the picture. First rate acting, especially from Susan Sarandon (whom I usually dislike) and Ellen Pompeo, who steals just about every scene that she's in. If Pompeo doesn't at least get a Supporting I can see why some would have considered this movie to be a bit heavy-handed, but I thought the movie was good enough to override some of the more preening, self-indulgent aspects of the picture. First rate acting, especially from Susan Sarandon (whom I usually dislike) and Ellen Pompeo, who steals just about every scene that she's in. If Pompeo doesn't at least get a Supporting Actress nomination for this role, then I don't see the point of even having this category. Expand
  2. MichaelR.
    Oct 23, 2002
    9
    This near perfect movie features Oscar worthy performance from Dustin Hoffman, Susan Sarandon, Jake Gyllenhaal, and newcomer Ellen Pompeo. The film is smart enough not to judge the characters for the feelings that they have after the death of a woman which we never meet (another smart decision of the filmmakers).
  3. BlancoA.
    Oct 5, 2002
    7
    I really enjoyed this film. Every now and then, I was worried that the mood might veer into the "In the Bedroom" territory, but the vibe actually reminded me much more of "Wonder Boys." The relationship between Susan Sarandon's character and Jake's was a bit like that between Douglass and Maguire in "Boys." If you're a Sarandon fan, this is a must-see. She is clearly the I really enjoyed this film. Every now and then, I was worried that the mood might veer into the "In the Bedroom" territory, but the vibe actually reminded me much more of "Wonder Boys." The relationship between Susan Sarandon's character and Jake's was a bit like that between Douglass and Maguire in "Boys." If you're a Sarandon fan, this is a must-see. She is clearly the highlight of this film. Her irreverent attitude is refreshing. Jake doesn't really have to do much acting, but his one "big" scene toward the end is handled quite well. I guess the reasons why I didn't give it a higher score would be that there are pacing problems (a bit slow), and it doesn't have a whole lot to say. Still, I would recommend it. Expand
  4. Harry
    Oct 19, 2002
    10
    Loved it, those who don't just didn't get it.
  5. CarmenB.
    Apr 5, 2003
    10
    I loved this movie and want to tell anyone who did not want to open their eyes up because it's such a beautiful and touching story made from the heart!!!!
  6. JeffM.
    May 1, 2003
    6
    There are several aspects of this film to admire (the performances, the soundtrack), but the movie gets off to horrible start, which hobbles the story so that it never fully recovers. How are we supposed to believe that the 3 leads can be so mellow and lighthearated just days after their loved one was brutally murdered?? This movie isn't set in the 70's -- it must take place in There are several aspects of this film to admire (the performances, the soundtrack), but the movie gets off to horrible start, which hobbles the story so that it never fully recovers. How are we supposed to believe that the 3 leads can be so mellow and lighthearated just days after their loved one was brutally murdered?? This movie isn't set in the 70's -- it must take place in some alternate universe conceived by David E. Kelly. Collapse
  7. ChadS.
    Aug 24, 2004
    7
    When the victims' families talk about their need for closure on courthouse steps as they await the verdict of an ongoing murder trial, you know it's a learned response from countless interviews before them. If you asked the original person who invented the notion that a conviction would give their family closure, that person would probably say, "No, it did not." "Moonlight Mile" When the victims' families talk about their need for closure on courthouse steps as they await the verdict of an ongoing murder trial, you know it's a learned response from countless interviews before them. If you asked the original person who invented the notion that a conviction would give their family closure, that person would probably say, "No, it did not." "Moonlight Mile" knows this. Writer/director Brad Silberling sets us up for a series of courthouse scenes when the family attends pre-trial interviews with Mona (Holly Hunter), but quite brilliantly, there is only two, and we never learn about the murderer's fate. Susan Sarandon, who is better here than in her Oscar award-winning performance in "Dead Man Walking", plays a greiving mother who hides behind a strong, sardonic woman mask, to absolute perfection. In one of her many great scenes, she tells Joe that it doesn't matter if her daughter's executioner is innocent or guilty. Jojo knows that it won't change the fact that her child is dead. The movie knows it, too, which is why "Moonlight Mile" doesn't get bogged down by "Law & Order", because order is a state of mind from your own making, not the state's. It's infinitely more interesting to see this trio of survivors get on with their lives. What's problematic for me about "Moonlight Mile", however, is the relatively short period of time it takes Joe(Jake Gyllenhall) to rebound with Bertie (Ellen Pompeo, who'd might've been Renee Zelwegger if she didn't beat her to it). For me, this relationship is vaguely obscene, so when Joe tries to woo Bertie back, his voiceovers that convey the contents of his make-up letter becomes annoying. What works magnificently is how Joe becomes a twilight son-in-law for the Floss'. Expand
  8. MattA.
    Oct 16, 2002
    8
    In my opinion Siberling is a mediocre director at best. However this did not ruin the film. The script redeemed Siberling's inneptitudes in the pacing. Yes thes film was heavy-handed but it is still quality. The irreverent humor factor was great. The main four actors were dead on. This movie is very much a product of Hollywood. It lacks any serious attempt at angst. But it remains In my opinion Siberling is a mediocre director at best. However this did not ruin the film. The script redeemed Siberling's inneptitudes in the pacing. Yes thes film was heavy-handed but it is still quality. The irreverent humor factor was great. The main four actors were dead on. This movie is very much a product of Hollywood. It lacks any serious attempt at angst. But it remains thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
  9. EricS.
    Oct 4, 2002
    10
    It's my privilege to be the first visitor to rate this film. In a year that's brought us the joys of "Road To Perdition," "Signs," and "Minority Report," we now get a film that better than anything post-Academy Awards. "Moonlight Mile" is poignant, real, unfeigned, and brilliantly acted. Jake Gyllenhaal, remarkably, outshines everybody but Dustin Hoffmann, who gives his best It's my privilege to be the first visitor to rate this film. In a year that's brought us the joys of "Road To Perdition," "Signs," and "Minority Report," we now get a film that better than anything post-Academy Awards. "Moonlight Mile" is poignant, real, unfeigned, and brilliantly acted. Jake Gyllenhaal, remarkably, outshines everybody but Dustin Hoffmann, who gives his best performance in years. I had a maddening canker sore the night I went to see this jewel. Usually canker sores keep me from enjoying movies, but "Moonlight Mile" is the rare exception to that. It's perfect. Expand
  10. NadaD.
    Oct 5, 2002
    6
    Loved the acting. The pace, however, was SLOOOOOOW to the point of distraction. Also, the ending was to cutsey for my taste.
  11. TahoeGirl
    Oct 5, 2002
    6
    Great individual performances by Sarandon and Gyllenhaal. Somehow, though, the whole was a lot less than the sum of the parts.
  12. JonathanP.
    Oct 7, 2002
    5
    A mess of a film that's only redeeming factor is its fairly strong performances (Sarandon's in particular is excellent). It's mired in poorly written jokes and is completely lackadaisical in displaying that the film is set in the early 70s. Not recommended.
  13. YoonMinC.
    Oct 11, 2003
    5
    The opening scene takes its cue from the Graduate except people are gathered for a funeral. The parents and the fiance of the dead girl have different ways of expressing and coping with grief, further complicated by the fact that their ties to her were strained in varying degrees. There are three subplots involving the fiance's involvment with his would-be-father-in-law's realty The opening scene takes its cue from the Graduate except people are gathered for a funeral. The parents and the fiance of the dead girl have different ways of expressing and coping with grief, further complicated by the fact that their ties to her were strained in varying degrees. There are three subplots involving the fiance's involvment with his would-be-father-in-law's realty firm, the trial of the killer, and his rediscovery of love with a young woman who has lost someone in Vietnam. The tone of the movie ranges from earnest to satirical. Hoffman and Sarandon rely on their usual schtick which may be old but still in working order. Jake Gyllenhaal, with his dopey baboon face, is insufferable and annoying. One wonders if he has a personality problem or is just plain stupid. The story with its revelations and key realizations has moments of fine writing and acting but these are islands amidst a pool of familiarity filled on all sides. And, isn't this movie's portrayal of small town manners a bit tired by now? Expand
  14. FaithS.
    Jan 8, 2003
    9
    Beautifully acted; honest and heartfelt performances by Susan Sarandon, Jake Gyllenhaal, and Dustin Hoffman. The honesty of this film, by many has been mistaken for a slow paced plot structure, but those who think this clearly did not understand the film. The grief the family feels is protrayed well, and the humor juxtaposed with the intensity reminds us all of how strong denial can be.
  15. Richard
    Apr 14, 2003
    7
    It's a strange movie, not what I expected. Marketed as your usual "survivors cope with loss" flick, it's certainly not that. These people don't mourn in your average TV-movie-of-the-week fashion. Their feelings seem to be much more complicated. So it's a bit of a drag when the movie wraps up so tidily. Still, you've got magnificent performances by the three leads It's a strange movie, not what I expected. Marketed as your usual "survivors cope with loss" flick, it's certainly not that. These people don't mourn in your average TV-movie-of-the-week fashion. Their feelings seem to be much more complicated. So it's a bit of a drag when the movie wraps up so tidily. Still, you've got magnificent performances by the three leads and a soundtrack that can't be bettered. It's a bizarre experience altogether, though - you get what you expect and you don't at the same time. For that alone, worth checking out. Expand
  16. DildoBaggins
    Jul 25, 2003
    2
    Made no sense whatsoever. The only good thing was Susan Sarandon's humour. The rest of the movie was complete bullsh.t. It was disgustingly predictable and unrealistic.
  17. ChristieL.
    Oct 14, 2002
    2
    This movie was awful. Joe was making out with Bertie before his ex-fiance's body was even cold! I was so disappointed by this movie. The courtroom scene was nonsense, the fact that Joe dumped his poor dead fiance six months after he decided he did not love her also really annoyed me. And I did not even reaslize it took place in the 1970s until the Vietnam comment. I thought the This movie was awful. Joe was making out with Bertie before his ex-fiance's body was even cold! I was so disappointed by this movie. The courtroom scene was nonsense, the fact that Joe dumped his poor dead fiance six months after he decided he did not love her also really annoyed me. And I did not even reaslize it took place in the 1970s until the Vietnam comment. I thought the Flosses just had outdated furniture. Really stupid movie and it does not deserve to win any awards. And, Jake G is a worthless actor enjoying the fruits of Hollywood's nepotism. I feel better now. Expand
  18. SteveD.
    Dec 6, 2002
    8
    Yes the courtroom scene was poorly written, but I thought that was the only time the movie really crossed the line into cloying. Hoffmann and Sarandon are good but it was the performances of Gyllenhaal and Pompeo that made the movie memorable. So it was no In the Bedroom. It wasn't trying to be.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Moonlight Mile leavens the mood occasionally, but it cheapens things by insisting that everybody onscreen and in the audience leavethe theater smiling.
  2. 50
    A movie about grief for people who don't want to be upset too badly. It's a half-a-hankie tearjerker, a meek, polite weepie.
  3. 75
    The first half of Moonlight Mile feels like the runaway trailer for a movie that can't wait to jerk your tears. But to quote Joe in a moment of epiphany, there's a ''truth enema'' out there, and, boy, it really brings this movie around.