User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 567 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 567

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    I thought the best thing about this film was the big name talent in the small character roles. The story was cute and held my attention but it wasn't that funny as some in the audience found it. Still, I enjoyed it despite not being enthralled by a movie about preteens.My rating of this film is more a commentary on the lack of good films that are available for viewing today. HopefullyI thought the best thing about this film was the big name talent in the small character roles. The story was cute and held my attention but it wasn't that funny as some in the audience found it. Still, I enjoyed it despite not being enthralled by a movie about preteens.My rating of this film is more a commentary on the lack of good films that are available for viewing today. Hopefully that will change as we head into the Fourth! I was excited to see Edward Norton back and to see that he is in the new Borne film. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    5
    This is a cute movie, with some witty dialogue, and some mild emotion attached to it. However, like most Wes Anderson movies, it is pretentious, self-indulgent, and tries to be a deep, profound statement, not realizing that it's merely just a cute, quirky comedy. That honestly takes away a lot of its appeal for me, and that's why I docked it a points. I would put this movie in the sameThis is a cute movie, with some witty dialogue, and some mild emotion attached to it. However, like most Wes Anderson movies, it is pretentious, self-indulgent, and tries to be a deep, profound statement, not realizing that it's merely just a cute, quirky comedy. That honestly takes away a lot of its appeal for me, and that's why I docked it a points. I would put this movie in the same boat as something like Crazy, Stupid, Love. It was cute, funny in some parts, and heartfelt in others, yet there was nothing groundbreaking about it. I would have given this movie a slightly higher score if Wes just allowed the movie to just be the cute little movie that it was. When it's reaching to be a profound statement about the lives of these kids, it fails to do so, and it just leaves a bad taste. The most emotional moments have all been done before in many other movies. It does feature a cast of strong, respected actors, like Frances McDormand, Edward Norton, Tilda Swinton, and Bill Murray, although I wouldn't put this in the discussion for being one of the betters performances, or one of the better movies, for any of those people. They were cute and quirky, just like the script. Something both Wes Anderson and his pal Noah Baumbach need to work on is knowing their limits though. That haughtiness they seem to have comes across in their movies, and ruins their appeal. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    2
    I know this guy is the critics' favorite and has a dedicated groupie following; but I just don't get it. The few I've watched, or tried to watch, were bland and droll. Seems to be his syle. What really amazes me is his ability to get so many big name actors to appear in these financial bombs. I would think they wouldn't want one of his box office disasters on their resume.

    This one made
    I know this guy is the critics' favorite and has a dedicated groupie following; but I just don't get it. The few I've watched, or tried to watch, were bland and droll. Seems to be his syle. What really amazes me is his ability to get so many big name actors to appear in these financial bombs. I would think they wouldn't want one of his box office disasters on their resume.

    This one made less than $46,000,000 worldwide according to MOJO. None of his movies have actually made much more than that, and some a lot less. Why? Because no one likes what he is putting out. It's remarkable that he can keep getting financing for these bombs. Having said all that, I at least was able to finish this one before turning it off like I have done with some of his other films.
    Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    4
    Moonrise Kingdom is certainly unique, but it's ultimately an extremely slight, and morally confused film. Anderson's quirky style couldn't be more evident throughout. His visuals are striking, but the pretentiousness becomes grating after a while. The movie can be funny and sweet, but this is all tarnished with one shocking scene. The young couple starts French kissing in theirMoonrise Kingdom is certainly unique, but it's ultimately an extremely slight, and morally confused film. Anderson's quirky style couldn't be more evident throughout. His visuals are striking, but the pretentiousness becomes grating after a while. The movie can be funny and sweet, but this is all tarnished with one shocking scene. The young couple starts French kissing in their underwear. Inappropriate, but whatever, I can deal with it. I thought it wouldn't go any further. How could it? But it did. The boy fondles the girl's chest, and the girl comments on how hard a certain thing is and how she likes it. What!!!????!! Are you kidding me?! How could Anderson put two young kids into this situation? The movie's a perfect example of how immoral Hollywood has become. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2013
    4
    Wes Anderson films are just not for me. This one has some really good performances including my favorite Edward Norton, but for me like all of Anderson's movies I got bored.
  6. May 19, 2013
    4
    i know everyone has different taste .but the 2 movies that have been the least entertaining to me in my life are american beauty and moonrise kingdom i really enjoyed true blood and rushmore
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    2
    Genuinely the first film I fell asleep in, the start of the film seemed to be kicking off well, but the story is beyond boring and at times is really creepy. Especially a scene where they are dancing together/kissing. They're both barely out of the womb
  8. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    It's clear from the reviews that you either like Wes Anderson movies or you don't. If you're not a fan, this will not turn you into one. If you are a fan, then you've been waiting a long time for this movie and you won't be disappointed. It's got a lot of familiar quirks: the colorful tableaux filming style, the eccentric characters, etc, but it's got new stuff as well. There's moreIt's clear from the reviews that you either like Wes Anderson movies or you don't. If you're not a fan, this will not turn you into one. If you are a fan, then you've been waiting a long time for this movie and you won't be disappointed. It's got a lot of familiar quirks: the colorful tableaux filming style, the eccentric characters, etc, but it's got new stuff as well. There's more genuine emotion in the movie than probably any of his films since Rushmore (although, as usual, it's a little subdued). He did interesting things with the relationship between Suzy and Sam, too - pushing the boundaries a bit while still ultimately keeping things "innocent". My only disappointment with the movie was that I felt he marginalized Bill Murray a bit. If you've seen the trailer, you've seen pretty much every good line he has. One the other hand, it was nice to see some new faces in the movie. In addition to the kids, Edward Norton looked like he was born to be in these movies, and Bruce Willis and Harvey Keitel (!) fit in quite nicely, too.

    Definitely worth seeing.
    Expand
  9. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    I can't get past the robotic delivery of the dialog...or the perfect wardrobe on everyone, or the perfect camera shot symmetry, or every delivery and set piece in perfect time. I'm dying in the rigidity. It bleaches the emotion out of the picture. I'm just not built that way.
  10. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Very cute movie. Definitely different! Thought acting was great and the story was quite funny. Can never understand why it is so important for the film industry to blaspheme the Name of God, but the do several times in this movie.
  11. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Quirky, well acted, and amusing. Wes Anderson's films are not for the masses, as they are subtle and, quite frankly, more intelligent than the fodder we are fed by corporate Hollywood. I imagine his movies don't cost that much to make, that the actors all work for much less because they like him, and that because of these financial assets, make enough money to let him make the next one.Quirky, well acted, and amusing. Wes Anderson's films are not for the masses, as they are subtle and, quite frankly, more intelligent than the fodder we are fed by corporate Hollywood. I imagine his movies don't cost that much to make, that the actors all work for much less because they like him, and that because of these financial assets, make enough money to let him make the next one. I have liked them all to one extent or another. That's how it is with his films. If you don't like the quirky pathos infused humor, you just won't like his movies. He has his own voice and clearly his own aesthetic vision. I loved it. Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    6
    Wes Anderson's latest takes place on a New England island in the 60s. A pre-pubescent couple runs off, while a group of family and others tries to find them. The director has taken his deadpan style and dense visual statements to it's extreme. I kept waiting to be charmed and amused, while everyone around me was delighted. It's an interesting stylistic escape, but just too twee for my taste.
  13. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Moonrise Kingdom is a peculiar and beautiful movie, treats the story of a boy and a girl who met on a school play and fall in love, so they start to sending letters to each other and one day plan to escape together, in order to have a new life, far away from the adult world, which they both hate. It is interesting the dynamic that is generated between these two characters, because theyMoonrise Kingdom is a peculiar and beautiful movie, treats the story of a boy and a girl who met on a school play and fall in love, so they start to sending letters to each other and one day plan to escape together, in order to have a new life, far away from the adult world, which they both hate. It is interesting the dynamic that is generated between these two characters, because they both give to the other what their family does not provide; he compensates the understanding and support that needs the girl, and she pay off with attention and love. This story is so charming and magic because is the one that everyone wanted to have during their first love, although is not a complete happy ending; it has the precise end to make the story believable. Another exciting topic of the picture is the contrast and comparison between the child and the adult world. We see that the children do whatever they want and live guided by their imagination; however the adults do want they have to do and live guided by social conventions. Then we notice that the roles are change, the grown-ups cannot have a relationship or manage the children, but the boys have relationships and do not care of what the adults say. All of this happens because the story develops in the moonrise kingdom, a mixture between dreamland and neverland (the idea that the island where they live is fictional, also contributes to this concept). The performance of the protagonist couple is just brilliant. Expand
  14. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    The film has strong and weak elements. On the positive side, it is really, really easy on the eyes. I could watch it with the mute on. But you don't want to miss the music. Hank Williams and classical music on an old phonograph took me back to my childhood. The quirkiness is amusing. Negatives: Amusing is not the same thing as funny. I chuckled maybe twice. It might be funnier withThe film has strong and weak elements. On the positive side, it is really, really easy on the eyes. I could watch it with the mute on. But you don't want to miss the music. Hank Williams and classical music on an old phonograph took me back to my childhood. The quirkiness is amusing. Negatives: Amusing is not the same thing as funny. I chuckled maybe twice. It might be funnier with friends. The movie was not very emotionally involving. It seemed a bit formal, somewhat two dimensional. Sometimes the plot seemed to be just going through the motions. The movie was not boring but was far from engrossing. Quirkiness, audiovisual perfection, and good acting keep the canoe afloat. Expand
  15. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    Definitely an Oscar film, Wes Anderson's offbeat (and at times, dark) sense of humor sets this comedy apart, as do wonderful performances by both the name actors AND younger cast members.
  16. May 26, 2012
    10
    Wes Anderson's best movie in years - right up there with Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore. (Fantastic Mr. Fox, Life Aquatic, and Darjeeling each fell well short of my own expectations.) He nails the time period, the locations are perfect, the young actors are amazing (not over or underplaying anything) , the cadence is on the money, and the adults are much more genuine and sincere than theyWes Anderson's best movie in years - right up there with Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore. (Fantastic Mr. Fox, Life Aquatic, and Darjeeling each fell well short of my own expectations.) He nails the time period, the locations are perfect, the young actors are amazing (not over or underplaying anything) , the cadence is on the money, and the adults are much more genuine and sincere than they have been in other W.A. films. There is nary a dull moment in the film. Best of all, it brought back warm memories of my own time in the Khaki Scouts. It's my easiest recommendation in a while. Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Unrestrained whimsey does not a narrative make. Self-conscious directing, formal presentational acting and a broad sense of humor that shifts gears in an ungainly way makes character after character into unlikable buffoons. Last time I'm bothering to watch a Wes Anderson film. If you loved The Life Aquatic, this is more of the same with more of everything except story.
  18. Rod
    May 27, 2013
    1
    I'm sorry, I try to appreciate Wes Anderson's work, and for some of his movies, there is some entertainment value. But this movie was just a waste of time and effort. I really hoped it would go somewhere, but "quirky and offbeat" for it's own sake, does not, in my opinion, make for a good movie or story. If you are not familiar with and already a fan of Anderson's work, this movie willI'm sorry, I try to appreciate Wes Anderson's work, and for some of his movies, there is some entertainment value. But this movie was just a waste of time and effort. I really hoped it would go somewhere, but "quirky and offbeat" for it's own sake, does not, in my opinion, make for a good movie or story. If you are not familiar with and already a fan of Anderson's work, this movie will have you shaking your head and asking, "Why?". Expand
  19. Jul 29, 2012
    0
    pe·do·phil·i·a/ˌpedəˈfilēə/
    Noun:
    Sexual feelings directed toward children

    Can someone please explain how watching 11 year-olds kissing and fondling one another is NOT pedophelia? This movie was disgusting.
  20. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    Wes anderson must be the most over praised writer/Director working in films today. I didn't care much for Rushmore or The Life Aquatic. I hated the Royal Tenembaums and I absolutely hate this pointless
    drivel. I keep coming back for more because the majority of critics keep turning out superlatives for his work. All I can say is It won't happen again. Anyone who derives any enjoyment from
    Wes anderson must be the most over praised writer/Director working in films today. I didn't care much for Rushmore or The Life Aquatic. I hated the Royal Tenembaums and I absolutely hate this pointless
    drivel. I keep coming back for more because the majority of critics keep turning out superlatives for his work. All I can say is It won't happen again. Anyone who derives any enjoyment from this questionable film cannot have a clue about what real art is. Of one thing I'm certain it isn't this junk.
    Expand
  21. May 25, 2012
    9
    The best word I can think of to describe Moonrise Kingdom would have to be "Beautiful." The trailer is one of the greatest examples where a trailer is actually honest about the film. This film was really worth the trouble of finding the New York theater and I even skipped part of a class and I don't regret it, definitely a must-see, wether you're a Wes Anderson fan or not.
  22. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The premise seemed very interesting, an orphan loner escapes from scout camp to elope with a young girl. The authority figures (police, scout masters) search the island trying to find them, with the help of the girls parents and the rest of the scouts. It sounds like a classic coming of age story between two socially inept outcasts, were it conjures the isolation of adolescence and theThe premise seemed very interesting, an orphan loner escapes from scout camp to elope with a young girl. The authority figures (police, scout masters) search the island trying to find them, with the help of the girls parents and the rest of the scouts. It sounds like a classic coming of age story between two socially inept outcasts, were it conjures the isolation of adolescence and the awkwardness of youth as it enters into sexual maturity. But the film wasn't really about the story at all and this is were it fell massively short. Moonrise kingdom is basically about how many visually symmetrical shots Wes Anderson can put onto a screen within 1 hour and 30 minutes. The colour scheme is typical Wes Anderson, vibrant red, greens, yellows and blue's, little bobble hats on most of the characters. The man has a 5 minute sequence at the start of dolly shots going up and down a house. Then followed by a dolly shot that travels left to right tediously for about three minutes with Edward Norton as he wakes up and goes outside for breakfast. He repeats this shot about 3-4 times during the film for similar lengths of time. When a letter appears on screen it's shot from birds eye view from above, when the main character reads a map it's shot from a birds eye view from above....everything is perfectly symmetrical. When they go to open a tent it's shot dead centre, then it's shot inside perfect symmetry as you see the zip being opened Expand
  23. May 26, 2012
    10
    This is the best of Wes Anderson's films, everything feels and looks just right. You may or may not like what Anderson does, but if you do, you will definitely enjoy this, and that's and understatement.
  24. Nov 2, 2012
    5
    A great story but Wes Anderson's trademark tweeness and arty shannanigans just take me out of the moment. There's that air of unrealism that typifies most of his films. Also a bit dissapointed to see great actors like Bill Murray being wasted in shallow roles. I switched this film off when the two kids started dancing on the beach. Was too cheesy and made me want to vomit.
  25. May 25, 2012
    10
    This is a beautiful film deserving of your attention. If you are a fan of Wes' previous work then you will love it. It encapsulates everything he excels at as an artist. "Moonrise" might be the most thematically clear and rich of all his films as well. Everyone involved shows a lot of discipline in bringing this tale to the screen and that includes a lot of child actors who had to riseThis is a beautiful film deserving of your attention. If you are a fan of Wes' previous work then you will love it. It encapsulates everything he excels at as an artist. "Moonrise" might be the most thematically clear and rich of all his films as well. Everyone involved shows a lot of discipline in bringing this tale to the screen and that includes a lot of child actors who had to rise to the material. Every actor is given their time to shine, and Wes proves once again that he has a prodigious talent for casting the right actors in the right roles and getting brilliant performances out of them. Even Bruce Willis fits right in here. Bruce Willis. In a Wes Anderson movie. Think about that. Expand
  26. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic in every aspect of film making! Just about every element that goes into production that I can think of was spot-on. Whether it be the characters, music, story, tone, look of the film, or anything else really. This was my first Wes Anderson film, and he's acquired one more fan. A joy from start-to-finish, this is not a recommendation, this is a must-see.
  27. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Moonrise Kingdom is an absolutely adorable film superbly written by Wes Anderson (who also gorgeously directed it) and Roman Coppola about two kids from completely different familial situations who find a connection in their shared sense of loss, either from parents who were deceased or parents who were alive, yet never present.  The struggles to survive their individualMoonrise Kingdom is an absolutely adorable film superbly written by Wes Anderson (who also gorgeously directed it) and Roman Coppola about two kids from completely different familial situations who find a connection in their shared sense of loss, either from parents who were deceased or parents who were alive, yet never present.  The struggles to survive their individual childhoods are soothed by each other.  In one another they find the support to move through their pain, progress into adult situations and give each other comfort they couldn't receive from adults.  The quirkiness of the script's situations are typical of Anderson films, but the "yellowing" of the film's color and the exquisite use of children as the main characters add to the depth of perspective, showing the adults as the goofy, clueless, immature element of the cast.  In their own chaos, the kids appear to have it together much more than the adults.  Throughout this wonderful film, the kids deal with the adult scenarios with maturity and logic while the adults come across as trained monkeys.  The children come together as a strong, empathetic team while the adults are miserable robots succumbing to the rigidity of their mundane lives, clinging to every vice there is, from cheating, lying, drinking, smoking, etc. while all the kids want is to be loved and happy.  The simple things we all set out to obtain. Expand
  28. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I had to travel to L.A. (one hour) to see this film and it was worth it. When I saw "Fantastic Mr. Fox" I had a smile on my face the entire time, and this live action film captures the same quirkiness of that classic animated film. I can't say enough about how great the two lead child actors this film are - Wes Anderson likes a certain style that requires both timing and a certain way ofI had to travel to L.A. (one hour) to see this film and it was worth it. When I saw "Fantastic Mr. Fox" I had a smile on my face the entire time, and this live action film captures the same quirkiness of that classic animated film. I can't say enough about how great the two lead child actors this film are - Wes Anderson likes a certain style that requires both timing and a certain way of conversing, and everyone in the film captured it perfectly. The story was kind of a modern day Huck Finn (although set in the 1960s). I already look forward to his next film, and that is the best compliment I can give any director. Collapse
  29. Jan 10, 2013
    0
    Moonrise Kingdom isn't a movie, its is a disgrace to movies. Never has a movie been so brainless coupled with one of the worst directing jobs i have ever seen. The movie ask if the boy and girl need mental help, the real question is whether the people who made the movie need mental help. A movie i never want to lay eyes on again.
  30. May 30, 2012
    6
    This film will obviously have Wes Anderson's fans drooling all over... It had all the ingredients to become my favourite Wes Anderson's movie too, and yet the overloaded music (which really never stops for a single second!) and more importantly, the cartoony nature of everything else around the central heartfelt story of adolescent love pulled the film in too many directions and actuallyThis film will obviously have Wes Anderson's fans drooling all over... It had all the ingredients to become my favourite Wes Anderson's movie too, and yet the overloaded music (which really never stops for a single second!) and more importantly, the cartoony nature of everything else around the central heartfelt story of adolescent love pulled the film in too many directions and actually took a lot away from what could have been a very moving and sweet story.
    This is my review
    http://wp.me/p19wJ2-z8
    Expand
  31. Jun 30, 2012
    4
    Always a warning when people really like the acting. MK is just such a movie. Several superb actors hamstrung by the script. (Spoiler alert: there are no characters that you really care about.) Go and enjoy the quirkiness but it will be like a meal that still leaves you hungry. Then re-watch Napoleon Dynamite, Donny Darko, Little Miss Sunshine, Coraline.
  32. Sep 30, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To depart from the other comments Ive read on this movie. I will not use this as a way 2 love or hate Wes Anderson. The people who say their in love with it, and Anderson classic style is nothing shrt of genius n this film.... These people r phony. They r followng a trend of seemingly hving 2 comment on Andersons work on this film and make some lofty type of remark 2 make sure ther not berated by the artsy crowd who worship Wes. And 4 those who say they hate it b/c Anderson took his style of film n used it 2 cmptly take out any persnality or character formation b/c of his need 2 stay ironic above all else, incld. the script. These people r phony. They wnt 2 slam Wes as hard as they can by trying 2 come up w/ a lofty type of remark tht makes them above all the artsy types who will no doubt love this film. As 4 me I will jst make simple comments on the movie tht I watchd. It was a coming of age film based on a classic love story of boy meets girl. After they meet they keep in touch from a far but they realize their both outcast types and bond on this commonality. Eventually they hatch a plan 2 run away together. Trapped on a small but well to do Island the boy, Sam has to escape a boy scout platoon where he is constantly picked on and bullied. The leader of the troop, Scout Master Ward is a naive math teacher who feels the Khaki Scouts is his real work in life. Its a purposely overblown way of life on the island. In the sense The Khaki Scouts are a very well, very regimented group of 10-13 year old boys, who eat, sleep, and live the scouts. Suzys challenge isnt as bad. She is the spoiled girl in a family of individuals who is prone to being overlooked and does as she pleases with no real parental involvement. So the plan is hatched n Suzy meets Sam n the designated spot that he plannd for her using his skills from the scouts. He has a plan to go to a certain part of the island, but 1st they have to pitch camp at another spot b/c the destination is futher off. Once S. M. Ward learns of a scout gone missing he contacts the authority since its a 1 cop town. Along with Ward Caption Sharp set out on a search for the boy. Ward makes plans with his troops for a rescue mission and Capt. Sharp learns of Suzys escape from home from Suzie's parents. Along with S. M. Ward, Capt. Sharp and the troops, the parents, n a tour guide of sorts from the Island set out on a massive search for the two star crossed lovers. Set as a satirical comedy the movie follows a supposedly innocent trail of two kids finding love for the first time and goes even further for no apparent reason. Through the clumsy run ins with their would b captures, and dark humor moments like Suzy stabbing a scout with her lefty scissors. The film takes a inappropriate and careless turn into what can only be described as soft core child porn. I understand that when your 12 or 13 years old or you first start your curiosity of the other sex, (or same sex) its a very innocent n sacred process Weather your 1st kiss or 1st touch a girls body and vice-versa for the girl feeling through a boys pants when he is aroused. Is something that most of us go through. And I am not saying thers anythng wrong with this process of innocence and curiosity of ones sexuality. But Im not sure what the point of it is in this film other than to push the envelope and stand behind the protection of artistic integrity. The only reason it bothers me is because of the two child actors, especially the 13 year old Kara Hayward have to act out their delicate sexuality for the camera and for the enjoyment of the filmaker and everyone else involved. He (the director) could have easily gotten his point across without going as far as he did. The only reason for someone to take a scene further is for information purposes. To let the audience know what the characters are going through. But I dont think ther is a lack of understanding of what happens between a boy and a girl, we know what happens w/o him havng to strip a 13 y.o. Suzy is the love interest in the film and the boy Sam finds a way to run away w her for a night or 2. She is wearing a short school girl dress with stockings and Sam is in his scout outfit. So as they set up camp their talking n interacting when u get ur 1st shot of n up-skirt of this 13 y.o. Ok not that big of deal but whatever But when he decides to later play out their first kiss and him touching her breast from the outside of her training bra, and then commenting on Sams hard-on I think he went to far. By what standard. The standard of protecting childrens innocence, mind, body and soul. I think they could hve kissd n he could hve touched her breast on the outside of her dress, rather tht hve her n her training bra and panties for a few mins. of tha film. Thers even 1 scene where she pushes her undevlp Expand
  33. Jul 6, 2012
    2
    This movie is pointless. One of the worst films I have ever seen. Simple metaphors made lifeless and absurd. I can't believe that this cast chose this script; maybe the problem was with directing? The kids are smarter than adults formula made even more unpleasant than usual because the kids in this movie are just as unpleasant as the adults. This is not art, it's fools gold. JustThis movie is pointless. One of the worst films I have ever seen. Simple metaphors made lifeless and absurd. I can't believe that this cast chose this script; maybe the problem was with directing? The kids are smarter than adults formula made even more unpleasant than usual because the kids in this movie are just as unpleasant as the adults. This is not art, it's fools gold. Just being weird is not enough. Ugh. Expand
  34. Jan 9, 2013
    3
    While its beyond quirky and weird script, acting, and direction has been applauded by many, I fail to see what is exceptionally great about this film. The entire concept honestly seemed intriguing, but it just felt too...well that's just it...I don't know how to describe this film. I am not sure whether I thought it was a unique mediocre film or a complete blunder.
  35. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    Watching this movie I felt like a Democrat stuck in a Republican convention. I understood that everybody seemed to be liking what was going on in the movie but for the life of me couldn't figure out why. Liking whimsy and fair tales is a must for all Wes Anderson fans who, in my opinion is Tim Burton lite. Chacun a son goute.
  36. Jul 14, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A pre-teen's fantasy of rebellion and how adults might act in reaction to a runaway by two unlikely misfits. A failed satire of military organizations that tries way too hard to be precious-cutesy at the same time. We're given scenes from "Peter Pan" wtih the ersatz Wendy reading to the "Lost Boys" and every military movie in which the soldier "busted" before the group with his emblems ceremoniously removed, who later commits acts of heroism in defense of the group and the clueless leader who 'busted' him. The 'adults' alternately act realistically in one scene, then as caricatures in the next. This is a disappointing mess of a movie. Expand
  37. Feb 8, 2013
    4
    Didn't like the characters (the lead boy and girl), the flat 2D cinematography was nauseating (every shot is either side on, front on, top down, no angles, no depth), and the story was just a little too quirky for me, although I appreciate the attempt :)

    Great cast, but ultimately the whole thing just felt like it was a movie made by a hipster, featuring hipsters, for hipsters.
  38. Jul 7, 2012
    4
    Not particularly sweet or charming or clever, but rather a fairly stilted, posturing attempt to be all three (or at least the first two). A waste of a lot of talented (adult) actors. I loved the music, though (which, of course, was from Britten and others), and I thought the musical joke/take off during the credits was the best part (and maybe reason enough to stay to the end).
  39. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    Quirky for the sake of being quirky. Too cute for its own good. Take the star talent from the film and it never makes the screen. I have to give this film a weak six. It is interesting enough to keep your attention, but weak enough to have your mind wandering on a regular basis.
  40. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This was the first Wes Anderson movie I have seen, and I loved it. You know, it just shows you love can start at any age and last for an eternity. The filming was great. The actors were outstanding. The boy, Jared Gilman and the girl, Kara Hayward were so funny and I hope I see them in more films. Its just a fun filled loving movie that I will definitely watch again sometime.
  41. Jun 8, 2014
    0
    In a scene, the boy grabs both breasts of the girl and she says it'll grow. Killing a poor dog. Overall nothing interesting from Wes other than Child porn and cruelty movie.
  42. Oct 20, 2012
    4
    This was an odd film across the board mainly due to the visuals, the actors, and their acting. First, the story is just a run-of-the-mill coming of age story centered on some 11 year olds. It's the type of story you've seen a dozen times before on Lifetime, A&E, CW, etc. But this particular film stands apart from them because of the elements I noted above, but doesn't apart in a good way.This was an odd film across the board mainly due to the visuals, the actors, and their acting. First, the story is just a run-of-the-mill coming of age story centered on some 11 year olds. It's the type of story you've seen a dozen times before on Lifetime, A&E, CW, etc. But this particular film stands apart from them because of the elements I noted above, but doesn't apart in a good way. The film is set in 1965 and the film is quality is intentionally set to be grainy with yellow tinting, so my Blu-ray experience was obviously dampened. Then the actors - the principal stars (two kids) are unknowns but the supporting adult cast are all-stars. You'd think that would be great, but not so much. In fact, none do any better than unknowns could've but then this would've been an art-house flick instead of mainstream. Finally, I have to agree with "dafuq" below who notes that there's no emotion or passion in any of the performances. Much of the dialogue is done in emotionless monotones and it's just a horrible shame. Obviously director Wes Anderson did this intentionally but why ?? It's not a fully wasted effort but it could've been so much better. Expand
  43. Jun 4, 2012
    1
    This movie is just another sad excuse for Anderson to waste time and money of decent film enthusiasts with his asinine and deluded films. I have yet to enjoy any of his films to date but everytime he makes a new one I try to give him the benefit of the doubt only to be let down everytime.
  44. Jul 4, 2012
    0
    One of the worst movies I have seen recently. It is as though these talented actors intentionally acted as amateurish as possible. This is another example that "the emperor has no clothes."
  45. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    Moonrise Kingdom by Ivette Fred-Rivera

    I loved the movie, I recommend it. Excellent ambience of the sixties era, great music used as a narrative element adding drama and rhythm, the use of the reading of the letters by Sam (Jared Gilman) and Susy (Kara Hayward) to show how their friendship as pen pals progresses into love in a linear sequence, actually, excellent performances of
    Moonrise Kingdom by Ivette Fred-Rivera

    I loved the movie, I recommend it.

    Excellent ambience of the sixties era, great music used as a narrative element adding drama and rhythm, the use of the reading of the letters by Sam (Jared Gilman) and Susy (Kara Hayward) to show how their friendship as pen pals progresses into love in a linear sequence, actually, excellent performances of both, dynamic and unusual camera angles such as the ones seen when two scenes in different places are presented simultaneously because the screen is visually divided in half, and how we spectators identify with the left side of the screen where the good and concerned characters about the welfare of Sam are located because we have already identified ourselves with orphan Sam! (how could we not)? Exquisite composition and use of light. Very careful visual arrangements to advance the plot. I have to say that the detail of the mother
    Expand
  46. Jun 22, 2012
    3
    Can you walk into a movie theatre, park your logic at the door, and accept that a boy could be struck directly with lightning and just wind up with a dirty face and clothes? Do you think a 12 year old boy, not 15-16, would listen to a 12 year old girl describe a French kiss and ask for one without his going
  47. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    This movie is really Anderson's best. Everyone in the theatre was laughing hysterically. MK is really movie of the year material.................................................................................................................................................................................................
  48. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The year was 1955. Thereupon Ngo Dinh Diem's launching of a propagandist campaign("Denounce the Communists") against the Viet Cong, his collectivist-minded opponent, the war began, in earnest. During the intervening time, before our boys entered the fray, the South Vietnamese president killed 12,000 of these so-called commies, and for good measure, imprisoned 40,000, no doubt, innocent men, but still we supported the ROV despot. Ten years later, our consortium with a nation that allegedly shared the same democratic principles and ideals with our forefathers continued, bombing Diem's enemy to the north in the process, as part of an operation called Flaming Dart, which knocked out North Vietnam's industrial infrastructure. 1965 was also the year that President Johnson deployed the 3rd Marine Division(the first Americans to arrive in the Southeast Asian country) to quell the uprising of North Vietnamese insurgents at Da Nang Airport. Meanwhile, Keith Richards was dating Linda Keith, the groupie who would serve as his muse when the debauched musician penned "Ruby Tuesday", an elegiac ballad from The Rolling Stones album Between the Buttons. The song serves as the soundtrack of forbidden love in The Royal Tennenbaums, when Richie declares himself to his adopted sister Margo, and has the razor cuts on both wrists to prove it. They lie down in Richie's tent, sharing the same sleeping bag they used as children, when the pair ran away from home and camped out in a museum. Not for nothing does the on-screen narrator establish the year in Moonrise Kingdom, since this period piece film is a humanist riff on the French New Wave classic Pierrot le fou, Godard's polemic against the Vietnam War. The exposition is stealthily laid out in The Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra, the Benjamin Britten album that Suzy's brother plays on his phonograph, which indirectly explains how the film could be interpreted as Francois Truffaut's take on the 1965 film, when the scratchy female voice deconstructs art, explaining how an artist can play variations of the same theme. Similar to the self-aware French gangsters, Sam and Suzy are lovers on the lam, who end up occupying a coastline. Although the children lack their adult counterparts' pessimistic worldview, Moonrise Kingdom has more than Small Change on its mind. Its romanticism is barbed. This seemingly comic film is also politically-charged, sharing with Pierrot le fou, the same anti-Vietnam sentiment, best-exemplified in Sam's resignation from the Khaki Scouts, a thinly-veiled reference to our armed forces, which makes the small boy a conscientious objector. Scout Master Ward runs Camp Ivanhoe with the bombast of a four-star general, treating the boys as subordinates with a regimented severity that is uncannily military-like. When the scout master emerges from his sleeping quarters, it's with ceremony, demanding reports from the Khakis about their respective projects and threatening them with demeritorious citations like a cartoon version of Patton, as he advances incrementally towards the dining area, where the tight ship he commandeers is suddenly undermined by Sam's disappearance. Alone in the tent, Ward dictates his memoirs into a tape recorder, as one would during wartime. (Later, he saves a superior officer's life, which is pure war movie hokum.) When the search party discovers the children's encampment on the beach, and the children themselves, caught, perhaps, under post-coital conditions, reverberations of The Royal Tennenbaums can be felt. This time, the forbidden love, of course, isn't attributed to any quasi-blood relation, but rather, their prepubescence. A manifesto, however, is embedded in the children's actions that transcends the illicitness of their love. Juxtaposed against the representative military base, Fort Lebanon, whose Vietnam iconography can be glimpsed in the background as Cousin Ben walks the underage couple to the chapel, the children's affinity for each other seems like a revolutionary act. It's more than a case of puppy love, more than your typical boy meets girl narrative. Their romance is symbolic, of the anarchic sort, both personal and political, bringing to mind the late-sixties catchphrase: "Make love, not war," due to their preternatural maturity, and what such a relationship entails contextually. Sam is a lover, not a killer. In Pierrot le fou, Ferdinand tells the story of the man in the moon's exile from his sphere, after an American astronaut shoves a Coke bottle in the lunar being's mouth. In Melody, Alan Parker makes the same critique against capitalism when Daniel knocks over a Coca-Cola bottle during a dinner party thrown by his bourgeoisie parents. Not working in the Truffaut spirit, Parker has his students attacking the teachers, in order for Daniel and Melody, the newlyweds, to get away by trolley car. Sam and Suzy are romantics, but they won't be bricks in a wall. Expand
  49. Lyn
    Dec 30, 2012
    9
    The more I see of the end-of-year blockbusters destined for awards, the more I appreciate this quirky, sweet film destined to be enjoyed and eventually watched again. The actors seemed to have fun and the viewer does, too. Giving it a 9 only because (in my opinion) it's not as great as "The Royal Tenenbaums."
  50. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    beautiful film. The people that are talking smack about this film are so stupid it makes me sick to my stomach. Someone even talked about pedophilia. OMG people can be so stupid I just want to punch them in the face.
  51. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    Absolutely the must see summer movie for 2012: sweet, funny, quirky, nails the time period (so for those of you 50+, you will walk back in time), great music choices and visually stunning - took my breath away over and over and over again. The acting by both adults and especially children is pitch perfect. You must see this movie!
  52. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    Another Wes Anderson movie. Another excellent film. Moonrise Kingdom is about as typical of his style as you could ever want; static cuts, purposely awful (aka- charming) special effects and his trademarked breezy comedy. This time around, though, the emotional thrust is a little less subdued and has a more visceral kick to it. And Edward Norton, an actor I've previously been nonplussedAnother Wes Anderson movie. Another excellent film. Moonrise Kingdom is about as typical of his style as you could ever want; static cuts, purposely awful (aka- charming) special effects and his trademarked breezy comedy. This time around, though, the emotional thrust is a little less subdued and has a more visceral kick to it. And Edward Norton, an actor I've previously been nonplussed on, is absolutely brilliant here. Expand
  53. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    I'm hard-pressed to find a bad thing about this movie. Well-written and well-executed. As always with Anderson, the cinematography is outstanding. Enjoy. (I'd put this in the top two for Wes's films.)
  54. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This absolutely a wonderful piece of art. I am still in shock it was snubbed by the academy. Beautifully shot, magical art direction, well cast and portrayed, intelligent score and charming story.
  55. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Quirky and high-concept, this film could easily become an exercise in style over substance. It is both beautifully mannered and unreal but it's also unexpectedly engaging. The soundtrack, featuring Benjamin Britten, Hank Williams and in one key scene Francoise Hardy, is a joy. The actors hold the story together even when the action becomes quite overwhelming. This film well exceeded myQuirky and high-concept, this film could easily become an exercise in style over substance. It is both beautifully mannered and unreal but it's also unexpectedly engaging. The soundtrack, featuring Benjamin Britten, Hank Williams and in one key scene Francoise Hardy, is a joy. The actors hold the story together even when the action becomes quite overwhelming. This film well exceeded my expectations. Expand
  56. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Wes Anderson's best in my opinion. Typical style with the weird quirky humor and oddness but done amazingly well. Love his movies and this one is his masterpiece I think.
  57. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    Although I was immediately grabbed by the trailer and the stellar ensemble cast, I haven't been a fan Wes Anderson's work in the past, and therefore was concerned that I would be (once again) disappointed and possibly frustrated with this film, as I was with his Rushmore and Royal Tenenbaum's. However,...I found Moonrise Kingdom to be one of the must unique, creative, and artisticallyAlthough I was immediately grabbed by the trailer and the stellar ensemble cast, I haven't been a fan Wes Anderson's work in the past, and therefore was concerned that I would be (once again) disappointed and possibly frustrated with this film, as I was with his Rushmore and Royal Tenenbaum's. However,...I found Moonrise Kingdom to be one of the must unique, creative, and artistically directed films I've seen in a while. Exquisite art direction (those over 50 will particularly appreciate the attention to detail), clever cinematography, crisp editing, and touching performances from all involved. This is truly a one-of-a-kind movie experience that most over the age of 18 should enjoy. Expect the unexpected. Also - as usual, I highly recommend staying through the end titles, but this time for a wonderful narration to the instrumentation of the soundtrack. I expect Oscar noms next February for Best Screenplay, Director, and (possibly) Best Pic for this quirky, summer surprise. Grade = A- Expand
  58. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    I loved this film and laughed the whole way through. Wes Anderson's poetic moonrise kingdom will pull some in and make them laugh their heads off while others will feel alienated and cold. I was completely transported into the world of the characters through Anderson's great choice of music and poetic imagery. The only thing I could say is that it's the best film of the year so far.
  59. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    I don't say this lightly: this is Wes Anderson's best film. I won't even waste time trying to describe it, because I know I won't be able to. The child actors were perfect, and Bruce Willis was surprisingly delightful. Edward Norton pleases, as always, as do the other big names (I don't even need to mention Bill Murray). To anyone who didn't like Moonrise Kingdom: I love you but you don'tI don't say this lightly: this is Wes Anderson's best film. I won't even waste time trying to describe it, because I know I won't be able to. The child actors were perfect, and Bruce Willis was surprisingly delightful. Edward Norton pleases, as always, as do the other big names (I don't even need to mention Bill Murray). To anyone who didn't like Moonrise Kingdom: I love you but you don't know what you're talking about. Expand
  60. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    The film is a no-doubt signature Wes Anderson film. It's got the primary color palate, the vintage look, the interestingly quirky yet depressing characters. And yet, Moonrise Kingdom holds more in store for us. We find, among all other qualities of the the film, one of the strongest and most beautiful love stories to exist in all of cinema. Sam and Suzy go so hand in hand that it'sThe film is a no-doubt signature Wes Anderson film. It's got the primary color palate, the vintage look, the interestingly quirky yet depressing characters. And yet, Moonrise Kingdom holds more in store for us. We find, among all other qualities of the the film, one of the strongest and most beautiful love stories to exist in all of cinema. Sam and Suzy go so hand in hand that it's remarkable to watch. Also, supporting performances by Bill Murray, Bruce Willis, and Ed Norton help to keep this love boat afloat. Although many may find this unorthodox romantic comedy to quirky to function, let alone enjoy, it's probably because they are obsessing over te main picture of the film, and not appreciating its intricate details. For example, the innocent and sweet yet undoubtedly destined relationship between Sam and Suzy is perfected after what seems to be endless (but what seems to be effortless) editing, until the flawless adolescent relationship is concocted. Overall, this film exudes both intelligently crafted cerebral humor and dark and looming depression (your generic Anderson film) in a masterful way, leaving us with a compelling compassion for our innocent spotlight couple. A must watch. Expand
  61. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    Funny and delightful even on the surface. I remember laughing at the fantastic deadpan humor of this ensemble cast. This film endears at every turn, making this a worthy experience for your money.
  62. May 28, 2012
    9
    Fantastic film from Wes Anderson. I hope Moonrise Kingdom should get an Oscar for Best Picture next year. One of the best films since Fantastic Mr. Fox.
  63. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    Over the course of his career, director Wes Anderson has developed a loyal cult following. His films explore adult matters with a refreshing sense of childlike innocence and wonder. Moonrise Kingdom offers little variation on this approach, but utilizes it to perhaps its best effect. The plot centers around young Sam and Suzy (Gilman and Hayward) who exist as misfits in their small islandOver the course of his career, director Wes Anderson has developed a loyal cult following. His films explore adult matters with a refreshing sense of childlike innocence and wonder. Moonrise Kingdom offers little variation on this approach, but utilizes it to perhaps its best effect. The plot centers around young Sam and Suzy (Gilman and Hayward) who exist as misfits in their small island society, which itself consists of various outcasts. These include affable if daft Scout Master Ward (Norton), Sam's khaki troop leader; lawyer couple Laura and Walt Bishop (McDormand and Murray), whose idea of sweet nothings consist of legal jargon; mild-mannered police captain Sharp (Willis); and various khaki scouts and Bishop children. Sam and Suzy decide to take flight in search of something more meaningful, possibly love. Soon just about everyone else is searching for them. Though the premise seems simple, Anderson and company excel at delivering unexpected and rewarding payoffs. Each actor finds the right note to play his or her character. In particular, the younger actors are astonishing, capturing in their performances the heightened emotions of one's preteen years. The production is highlighted by beautiful locations and excellent cinematography. This is not to say the film is without its (admittedly minor) problems; the early flashback sequences interrupt the overall flow, and Tilda Swinton is woefully underused as Social Services. Still Moonrise Kingdom fits in with the best of Anderson's work. Fans and newcomers should find plenty to enjoy. Expand
  64. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Wes Anderson , he has an unique way to direct a film . And i thing this was him best direction . it was an amazing movie . Good story , there were some really funny moments but i they could make it more funnier with all those things happened . Good acting good location good idea but above of all its Wes Anderson's amazing direction . it was like a live action stop motion movie . soWes Anderson , he has an unique way to direct a film . And i thing this was him best direction . it was an amazing movie . Good story , there were some really funny moments but i they could make it more funnier with all those things happened . Good acting good location good idea but above of all its Wes Anderson's amazing direction . it was like a live action stop motion movie . so freaking love that style ! Expand
  65. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    A very likable movie. It made me feel like I was a teenage again, The movie captured the whole idea, of how young people think. They both ran away from home, and the director filmed it in a way, that it seemed like they were on this great adventure! I only had a problem with the films ending, other then that, great movie!
  66. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    After the lightning, I felt like the movie started loosing it's originality and perfect awkwardness. Overall, it's one of the most captivating, unique movies I've ever seen
  67. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    This is classic Wes Anderson right here. He takes his unique style to the next level with this odd yet charming coming of age tale. For me, the best part of Moonrise was the beautiful photography as well as the amazing score (shout out to Alexandre Desplat). The cast was phenomenal especially Edward Norton. The many child actors held their own against the veterans, however I thoughtThis is classic Wes Anderson right here. He takes his unique style to the next level with this odd yet charming coming of age tale. For me, the best part of Moonrise was the beautiful photography as well as the amazing score (shout out to Alexandre Desplat). The cast was phenomenal especially Edward Norton. The many child actors held their own against the veterans, however I thought the two main kids (played by Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman) were a little too monotone. We never really got to see any real passion from the kids. Overall, it's quite good. Expand
  68. Zal
    Dec 20, 2012
    9
    This is definitely one of those movies you either love or hate. Personally, I loved it. Admittedly, it's kind of kitschy, but that's not always a bad thing. It's a colorful movie both in its color pallet and its characters. I especially loved seeing Bruce Willis playing a cop who's nothing like John McClane.

    Moonrise Kingdom is sweet and simple. I haven't seen Wes Anderson's other
    This is definitely one of those movies you either love or hate. Personally, I loved it. Admittedly, it's kind of kitschy, but that's not always a bad thing. It's a colorful movie both in its color pallet and its characters. I especially loved seeing Bruce Willis playing a cop who's nothing like John McClane.

    Moonrise Kingdom is sweet and simple. I haven't seen Wes Anderson's other movies but if they're anything like this, I definitely will.
    Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Why did I watch it?
    I've never seen a Wes Anderson film before. There, I said it. The trailers for Moonrise Kingdom made it look like a quirky, fun film with a great cast and worth a look.
    What's it all about? Set on a peacefully quiet island off the coast of New England, two children, having only met once, set their pen-mail devised plan to runaway together into action. This leads to
    Why did I watch it?
    I've never seen a Wes Anderson film before. There, I said it. The trailers for Moonrise Kingdom made it look like a quirky, fun film with a great cast and worth a look.

    What's it all about?
    Set on a peacefully quiet island off the coast of New England, two children, having only met once, set their pen-mail devised plan to runaway together into action. This leads to the islands eccentric inhabitants launching their own search and rescue mission to track down the wayward pair before a storm closes in. Should you watch it?
    Quite simply, yes. Moonrise Kingdom is beautifully shot, Anderson uses rich warm colours throughout and the film has such a retro feel to go with the 60s setting. The opening credits sequence was spellbinding and the film rarely lets go from there onwards. The cast is fantastic, the two young leads give performances that belies their youth and are supported by a brilliantly deadpan Bruce Willis character, Edward Norton, Billy Murray, Tilda Swinton and cameos from Jason Schwartzmann and Harvey Keitel.

    The budding runaways

    The screenplay is charming yet not without some serious undertones, in particular each child's motives for leaving but the film's offbeat humour (Swinton plays a character literally called 'Social Services') never lets the mood fall away from any other than pure adventure. Make no doubt that the children's naivety and innocence are the highlight of the film. The moment they meet up, Sam orders an inventory their equipment which includes an air rifle, a cat and six books before handing over some flowers to his young love. He later warns Suzy that he may wet the bed inside their tent. I'm reluctant to say anything further so as not to spoil the film for others.

    Kingdom is supported by a score of classical music that fits perfectly with the eccentric nature of most characters and the old feel of the film.

    A must see, and not just for Wes Anderson fans (as I mentioned I hadn't seen any of his films beforehand).
    Expand
  70. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    A gem of a movie! Visually stunning with a warm and genuine story and every character absolutely lovable. This movie strengthens the hope that Hollywood can still offer something new. Excellent acting and I'm glad to see that all of the actors gave maximum, even though most of the roles have short screen time. I have also found the two young leads very believable. Every scene of the movieA gem of a movie! Visually stunning with a warm and genuine story and every character absolutely lovable. This movie strengthens the hope that Hollywood can still offer something new. Excellent acting and I'm glad to see that all of the actors gave maximum, even though most of the roles have short screen time. I have also found the two young leads very believable. Every scene of the movie is like a precious miniature in itself. Also, the scenery is unbelievably beautiful and at some moments I had a feeling that I was inside a landscape. The music was well chosen. This is one of those movies that you can watch again immediately after you finish it. Expand
  71. May 27, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I entered the cinema in a dyer, melancholy mood. Truthfully, I was expecting that Wes Anderson's latest release would lift that mood judging purely from the quirkiness of the trailer, and I was not mistaken. Immediately, I was struck by the fluency of the shots in the opening scene and vibrant setting of which it was shot, yet it was obvious from the build-up to the movie that it would be a fresh and innovative piece of art. What struck me most was the social depth of the film; character relationships reflected aspects of our western culture in sexual awareness, rejection of the different and strange, the relentlessness of authoritative figures in following the 'regime' and our (the peoples') despise at these particular figures, and the list can lengthen to however far you would like to think.
    It was great how characters like Bruce Willis and Edward Norton were in their standard roles, a cop and a leader of a group respectively, yet the characters they played would be judged upon by their typical caricatures as pathetic and laughable - subtly showing how they were willing to place a comedic value on those roles and literally 'take the piss' out of them/themselves. Wes Anderson placed other subtle referenced jokes aimed at big movies (such as Shawshank and The Big Lebowksi), personifying the film, as if it was saying "Hey, i'm good too, but I don't have to be serious." I found the comedic value of the film light, witty and pleasant and it genuinely placed a smile upon my face.
    On a personal level, what I took from the movie was a simple, and somewhat obvious message, of love can be obtained between the most different and weird people and in the end, it will always manage to blossom. This, in a way, I found enlightening being an 18 year old who desires love and affection but feels out of place in present day society, and this film told me "look, that is a good thing, a great thing, hope remains."
    Expand
  72. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    Quirky, whimsical and charming does not begin to describe, Moonrise Kingdom, which is one of the year's finest films and Wes Anderson's personal best (in my opinion). The movie follows a mature romance between people that are barely even mature yet (in terms of age). These kids elope from their damaged homes and have become the subject of a town-wide search to rescue them before "theQuirky, whimsical and charming does not begin to describe, Moonrise Kingdom, which is one of the year's finest films and Wes Anderson's personal best (in my opinion). The movie follows a mature romance between people that are barely even mature yet (in terms of age). These kids elope from their damaged homes and have become the subject of a town-wide search to rescue them before "the storm" hits. The kids are played very well and with incredible maturity by Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman, and the all-star supporting cast, particularly Bruce Willis, did a fantastic job in their respective roles. They had a lot to chew on, thanks to Wes Anderson and his brilliant screenplay, which brimmed with colorful, distinct and flawed characters; and also deep story arcs. Despite the film's charming exterior, there was something deeply melancholic underlying its surface. It tackles some impressive themes like bullying, dysfunctional households and adultery (just to name a few) in an unapologetic and sometimes deadpan fashion. The perfectly symmetrical flow of the film will please any fan of the director and the grainy cinematography resembles a beautiful vintage postcard. I really have no complaints about this movie. I'm just hoping this gem does well in awards season. Expand
  73. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    The sets, photography were all from the point of view of a 13 year old. And it was done with a great sense of humor, and good eye for artful viewing. The movie was as much a Sendak style adventure as it was a teen's internal quest for autonomy, intimacy, and love.
  74. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Wes is rapidly becoming one of the most talented individual filmmakers of this generation. The visuals are dazzling and the acting is extremely heartfelt. You will undergo a thrill of innocence and it is impossible to not ponder your own little child while watching this remarkable film. Wes' imaginative movie reaches all age groups and will undeniably be released wide very soon andWes is rapidly becoming one of the most talented individual filmmakers of this generation. The visuals are dazzling and the acting is extremely heartfelt. You will undergo a thrill of innocence and it is impossible to not ponder your own little child while watching this remarkable film. Wes' imaginative movie reaches all age groups and will undeniably be released wide very soon and hopefully appear as a strong contender during oscar season. Expand
  75. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    I'd probably give this a 9.5 as it's a solid A movie, but that wasn't available. I was never a big Wes Anderson fan even though I liked some of his earlier films, but I'm not sure there is any director alive (at least American as I know there are a ton of great "Foregin" directors) who has a better back to back combo of movies in the last decade than Mr. Anderson (Matrix voice). II'd probably give this a 9.5 as it's a solid A movie, but that wasn't available. I was never a big Wes Anderson fan even though I liked some of his earlier films, but I'm not sure there is any director alive (at least American as I know there are a ton of great "Foregin" directors) who has a better back to back combo of movies in the last decade than Mr. Anderson (Matrix voice). I thought Fantasitic Mr. Fox and now Moonrise Kingdom were both solid A movies that have great replay value. Very Funny, touching, great cinematography (unique camera shots/angles), extremely unique, sweet.

    MUST SEE movie......FYI some of my fav movies of all time are Pulp Fiction, Goodfellas, Big Lebowski, City of God, Shawshank, The Lives of Others, Godfather 1 & 2, Pinocchio/Bambi/Dumbo/Beauty & the Beast, Hoosiers (Indy born and raised who went to IU so a little biased), Casablanca, Schindler's List, Jaws, District 9, Fantstic Mr. Fox, Taxi Driver, Oldboy, Apocalypse Now, Monsters Inc/Incredibles/Finding Nemo, Deer Hunter, House of Flying Daggers/Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Pans Labyrnith, Avengers/The Dark Knight (great summer blockbusters), and honestly Moonrise Kingdom may be added to my list. Need a 2nd watch, but wow AWESOME flick
    Expand
  76. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    Wes Anderson is fascinated with childhood and dysfunctional families- both of which are showcased at their awkward finest in Moonrise Kingdom. Of course the photography is composed beautifully and setting the film in the 60's was a great choice given Anderson's affinities towards a certain color palette. I would expect nothing less visually from an Anderson film. Where the film goes beyondWes Anderson is fascinated with childhood and dysfunctional families- both of which are showcased at their awkward finest in Moonrise Kingdom. Of course the photography is composed beautifully and setting the film in the 60's was a great choice given Anderson's affinities towards a certain color palette. I would expect nothing less visually from an Anderson film. Where the film goes beyond the norm is in the script. Anderson and Coppola really capture adolescent love as well as the parents reactions to said love. It delves into each character deeply enough for it to be fulfilling though not enough for it to drag into boredom. Every actor does a great job especially the two newcomers. Some of the animation sections are strange and mildly out of place. I'm not sure from one viewing where I would put it in the echelon of Anderson films but nonetheless it is a great addition to an already magical career. Expand
  77. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Although i usually like to troll directors inert to stylistic changes and evolution, W. Anderson always manages to sneak up. And now, i must confirm that Moonrise Kingdom is an extra quality piece of Anderson's craftsmanship.
  78. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    This movie, straight up, is just really enjoyable. The way it was filmed makes it feel like your in some grey area between reality and a fairy tale, and it worked wonderfully. One of my favorite things about the movie was how goofy, quirky, and irrational most of the characters are. I thought maybe the reason for this was because the movie was filmed from the perspective of 2 kids, whoThis movie, straight up, is just really enjoyable. The way it was filmed makes it feel like your in some grey area between reality and a fairy tale, and it worked wonderfully. One of my favorite things about the movie was how goofy, quirky, and irrational most of the characters are. I thought maybe the reason for this was because the movie was filmed from the perspective of 2 kids, who were sort of outcasts; and so they perceive all these adults and other kids as really weird and irrational because of how different they are from themselves. I don't know, just a thought. But overall, a really great movie that doesn't drag on any longer than it needs to (about an hour and a half). Expand
  79. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    I'm going to start with a list of movies, and you are going to tell me if you've seen them. Here it goes:

    Bottle Rocket Rushmore The Royal Tenenbaums The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou The Darjeeling Limited Fantastic Mr. Fox Seen any of them? If you said no, I wouldn't be surprised: they all are rather quirky and aren't necessarily mainstream, though they have garnered quite a
    I'm going to start with a list of movies, and you are going to tell me if you've seen them. Here it goes:

    Bottle Rocket
    Rushmore
    The Royal Tenenbaums
    The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
    The Darjeeling Limited
    Fantastic Mr. Fox

    Seen any of them? If you said no, I wouldn't be surprised: they all are rather quirky and aren't necessarily mainstream, though they have garnered quite a bit of praise over the years. Each of these films, like Moonrise Kingdom, is written and directed by Wes Anderson, the guy whom I believe must have the most interesting, colorful, and crazy imagination in the history of the world, or at least in Hollywood. Take out colorful, and he's the Coen brothers.

    That's, of course, not a bad thing. After all, the brothers Coen have given us Fargo, The Big Lebowski, O Brother Where Art Thou?, No Country For Old Men, and True Grit, among others. But I say that more to give you a ballpark for what to expect out of Wes Anderson's movies. They are inherently weird, to put it bluntly. And Moonrise Kingdom is no different.

    Moonrise Kingdom is the story of Suzy and Sam, two 12-year-olds who meet, fall in love, and agree to run away together and embark on an adventure that they won't soon forget.

    Suzy Bishop (Kara Hayward ) is the eldest of 4 children, a problem child with a super power that is aided by her treasured binoculars.

    Sam Shakusky (Jared Gilman) is an unpopular member of the Khaki Scouts, an orphan and expert cartographer with a great interest in the Chickchaw Harvest Migration Trail.

    The two meet at a church performance of Noye's Fludde - the story of Noah and the Ark - and become pen pals who live at opposite ends of an island. One year later, in the summer of 1965, the two decide to run away together - Sam from the Khaki Scouts' summer camp, and Suzy from her parents' vacation lighthouse at Summer's End - and leave their dismal, lonely lives behind them.

    This prompts the entire island, including Sam's scout master (Edward Norton) and fellow scouts, Suzy's parents (Bill Murray and Frances McDormand) and brothers, and the island police captain (Bruce Willis), to act as a search party to find the two missing young lovers.

    Is there a lot of character development? Not really. Is there a twist ending? Nope. Are there a bunch of awesome special effects? Negative. Do you need to spend two or more hours in the theater and then even longer afterwards to figure out "what it all means?" Nay.

    It's a simple story, but it creates so many funny, interesting, and delightful situations that you'd be hard-pressed to want much more from it. Is it weird? Sure. There are all sorts of odd story and character quirks that you wouldn't find in other movies, so many unique and interesting touches that just set this film apart. In no way does that make Moonrise Kingdom any less likable or any less accessible.

    While the two films are extremely different, I find myself comparing Moonrise Kingdom to last year's magical Midnight in Paris. Both are stories of love - one of a city and a time, the other of a person and an adventure - and both are extremely light-hearted and fun. Both are directed by the same person that wrote them. Both are set (at least partially) in a time before our own. And both have their fair share of quirks, though admittedly Wes Anderson's caricatures and whimsy are far different from Woody Allen's neuroticism. But even better than those comparisons is that, like Midnight in Paris, Moonrise Kingdom is a darling of a film.

    I was initially going to preface this review with this statement: this movie may not be for everyone. But, my mom went with me and she liked it, so I guess that statement doesn't really hold up. Often Wes Anderson's stories are so whimsical, quirky, and unabashedly odd that unless you are into "weird" movies, you may not find much to like within his repertoire. All of those things - whimsy, quirk, and oddity - are present here, and not so much in moderation, but there is something - I don't know what, but something - about this movie that just made me delighted as I sat in my chair and watched it all unfold. It's really a movie that you should see for yourself.

    With a star-studded cast, memorable cameos, and a gaggle of talented young actors reminiscent of The Goonies, Wes Anderson has created a film that I don't think you'll want to miss. If you ever had a childhood crush or fell in love, ever felt like an outsider, ever hoped to embark on an adventure, well, this movie is certainly for you. All you need to do is come to the theater, sit back, and enjoy the show.
    Expand
  80. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    If 'Moonrise Kingdom' falls short of being a masterpiece, it isn't by much. It is a quirky, idiosyncratic work from one of the best directors working today, Wes Anderson, whom I believe should never stop making movies. Striking to look at and meticulously crafted, Anderson also gets points for capturing young love with a sense of innocence and intimacy that I haven't seen in any other filmIf 'Moonrise Kingdom' falls short of being a masterpiece, it isn't by much. It is a quirky, idiosyncratic work from one of the best directors working today, Wes Anderson, whom I believe should never stop making movies. Striking to look at and meticulously crafted, Anderson also gets points for capturing young love with a sense of innocence and intimacy that I haven't seen in any other film before. Not to mention that it happens to be one of the funniest films to come out this year. Amazing performances are abound, but the most affecting one comes from Bruce Willis in an against type, more subdued role that was intriguing to watch him dig into. There is a warmth and sacrifice to this man, a grace in his outlook on life, that makes him quite the unexpected hero (not in the action-movie sense that one would assume coming from Willis). And if only one thing could be said, 'Moonrise Kingdom' is hugely entertaining. It's a real crowd-pleaser when you get down to it, especially for those who are unassociated with most of Anderson's work before this. I would even say that it is THE Anderson movie, both for fans of him and those who are looking to get into his style. One of the best films of 2012, and is the most heartwarming and funny by a mile. Expand
  81. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    I love the cinema of Wes Anderson, as I feel that he expresses much of the things I hold dearest, and I consider his movies so close to me that it feels as if I'm looking at a mirror that reminds me of my best feelings ever.Up to now, my favorite ones used to be Rushmore, Battle rocket and, perhaps, The life aquatic. But Moonrise kingdom is the new candidate for my almost favorite one. II love the cinema of Wes Anderson, as I feel that he expresses much of the things I hold dearest, and I consider his movies so close to me that it feels as if I'm looking at a mirror that reminds me of my best feelings ever.Up to now, my favorite ones used to be Rushmore, Battle rocket and, perhaps, The life aquatic. But Moonrise kingdom is the new candidate for my almost favorite one. I would like to live in the world of this film;not because of what's happening(there 's a certain sadness in the relations of almost everyone to everyone in the film); but because Anderson manages to take me to a place where I feel things I was longing for and I was tending to forget. A unique film, which I instantly adored! Expand
  82. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Moonrise Kingdom is a Wes Anderson film, and so it is not for everyone, but for fans of Wes Anderson, this movie exceeds any expectations you could have coming in. It is shot beautifully, the acting is excellent, it is perfectly cast, and the plot moves with perfect suspense and pace. Anderson attempts to capture the essence of the island, the essence of love, and the essence of childhoodMoonrise Kingdom is a Wes Anderson film, and so it is not for everyone, but for fans of Wes Anderson, this movie exceeds any expectations you could have coming in. It is shot beautifully, the acting is excellent, it is perfectly cast, and the plot moves with perfect suspense and pace. Anderson attempts to capture the essence of the island, the essence of love, and the essence of childhood enthusiasm, and succeeds in doing so, the result being a beautiful, entertaining, and emotional film that moviegoers will remember as Wes Anderson's best effort. While it retains all the Wes Anderson charm that his fans admire, Moonrise Kingdom does not spend time documenting the lives of nihilistic middle aged men, nor does it waste a frame of its length. It is edited perfectly. At one hour and thirty four minutes, Moonrise Kingdom is a film that anyone can enjoy, Wes Anderson lovers and haters alike, and is perhaps Anderson's best film to date. Expand
  83. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Directed by: Wes Anderson
    Written by: Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
    Running Time: 94 min Rated: PG-13 Starring: Bill Murray as Walt Bishop Frances McDormand as Laura Bishop Bruce Willis as Captain Sharp Edward Norton as Scout Master Randy Ward Tilda Swinton as Social Services Jared Gilman as Sam Shakusky Kara Hayward as Suzy Bishop Jason Schwartzman as Cousin Ben In 1965,
    Directed by: Wes Anderson
    Written by: Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
    Running Time: 94 min
    Rated: PG-13

    Starring:
    Bill Murray as Walt Bishop
    Frances McDormand as Laura Bishop
    Bruce Willis as Captain Sharp
    Edward Norton as Scout Master Randy Ward
    Tilda Swinton as Social Services
    Jared Gilman as Sam Shakusky
    Kara Hayward as Suzy Bishop
    Jason Schwartzman as Cousin Ben In 1965, two 12 year olds decide to leave their lives behind and run away to a hidden inlet on the island of Penzance. Or so goes the plot for Wes Anderson's latest film, Moonrise Kingdom. The two kids, Sam and Suzy, meet when Sam sneaks backstage at a play and finds Suzy dressed as a raven. When she tells him that she cut her hand on a mirror when she lost her temper, you can see in Sam's eyes that he is smitten. The two are pen pals for a year and hatch a plan to run away together.

    Sam is an orphan and is a member of the Khaki Scouts, a very serious group of campers that appear to be modeled on the military and, of course, the Boy Scouts of America. He and his troop are camping at Camp Ivanhoe when his scout master, Randy Ward, notices that Sam has "flown the coop". An APB is put out on Sam, and the troop, along with the local police captain, begin a thorough search of the island.

    Meanwhile, Suzy has also fled from her home, carrying with her the necessities: a kitten, kitten food, a record player and her favorite record, a suitcase full of stolen library books, her lefty scissors, and her binoculars. She meets Sam in a meadow and follows him to an inlet where they set up camp. Both on the line between childhood and puberty, the two settle into life together. Sam impresses Suzy with his camping ability, and Suzy is compassionate when Sam reveals he sometimes wets the bed. After discovering Suzy's stash of letters from Sam, the search party steps up their efforts to find the two lovebirds.

    I have always been a fan of Wes Anderson's films for their unique style. Each time I see one, I spend days afterward contemplating his approach. The camera pans from one room to the other in the houses as if you are looking into a dollhouse. The nature of living right next to other people and yet separate at the same time is clearly demonstrated with this technique. The settings looks like old fashioned paintings that have come to life with the characters. The colors are antiqued, almost sepia toned. The actors have their usual expressionless faces we have come to expect from Anderson's films, and yet so much emotion is being conveyed.

    Once again, he has assembled a first class cast. Bill Murray and Frances McDormand played two attorneys who are married but just going through the motions. Bruce Willis is the local unmarried police captain having an affair with Frances McDormand's character. Edward Norton is sincere as the serious scout master. But the breakout performances of the film come from the actors playing Sam and Suzy, the star crossed lovers. I was mesmerized as I watched them fall in love for the first time in their young lives, as they carefully navigated the delicate balance between childhood and adulthood.

    Another area in which I feel that Wes Anderson's excels is in his choice of music. After watching this film 4 times in a row (yes, I love it that much!), I downloaded the soundtrack. I'm not sure it holds up as a whole, but the parts are excellent. First there is the song that Sam and Suzy dance to on the beach, Francoise Hardy's Le Temp de L'Amour. I know it sounds silly but I love to put it on and act like I know what I'm saying when I try to sing along. Then there is the Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra. I put this on for my 6 year old and he loved it. It reminds me of how much I used to love listening to Peter and The Wolf when I was a kid. I love watching him as he discovers the nuances of each instrument and how they come together to make magic.

    I highly recommend both the movie and the soundtrack. This is one movie I'm going to purchase to watch again and again. It's like a good book. In fact, I'm going to purchase all of Wes Anderson's movies and revisit them. Let me know what you think of the movie after you watch it.
    Expand
  84. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Moonrise Kingdom tells a mythological tale of social chaos (symbolized by the storm and Noah's Ark play) that gets resolved in a peaceful way rather than through a violent expulsion or sacrifice (except for the poor dog). Those methods are the kneejerk solutions to social confusion we expect in most communities/myths/movies. The movie begins with the chaos of adults acting like children while training the children to be adults prematurely. The orphan boy and Susie personally experience this lack of order and are trying to find peace and be prematurely adult because the island's adults are failing to provide proper care. The two teenagers accept their difference and try to leave the disorder around them for the best kind of natural and normal life and relationship they're capable of. This makes them outsiders who are blamed for the chaos that the adults have created for themselves and their children. The scouts who attack the young couple, the social service system lady, and Susie's parents use the usual blame, expulsion, and injuring/killing of these odd ones so society can return to its "normal" disorder that the adults take for order. But the Ed Norton scout leader and Bruce Willis police chief undergo personal change to take responsibility to help the children. These adults in official roles of order choose to resolve the conflict peacefully by recognizing the young couples' desparate, forced attempt to find their own sense of good order for themselves by just withdrawing from the community's disorder. And by choosing not to go through with their suicide the couple eschew the role of victims. They take the chance to live peacefully in a truly more healthy order where responsible adults care effectively for growing children. The new, true order is symbolized in the childrens' changed name of the inlet to Moonrise Kingdom following the island's great storm/chaos that's untypically been resolved peacefully. This is a simple innocent movie myth indeed that gifts us with an alternative to more common violent myths. These myths presume the necessity for a violence that gains a mere temporary peace, just the reconstituting of a still fundamentally chaotic "order." It will require repeated violence to keep chaos at bay, but never resolved. If my interpretation is sound then Wes Anderson may, like me, have been reading the cultural theorist Rene Girard. Girard has accomplished a startling unmasking of the myths, prohibitions and sacrifices that go along with the violent expulsion at the foundation of all societies. From whatever source, Wes Anderson has created a counter myth that presents a community's alternative choice to re-form/re-found itself through personal and social changes that lead to a peaceful social reconciliation. Moonrise Kingdom portrays adults learning wisdom from the mouth of babes. Expand
  85. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    All well(direction,actors and screenplay).The boy made mistakes but he solved it too fast;it's a great character.It's better than Skyfall and one of the best romance movies I ever seen.
  86. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    A vedere il miglior film per ragazzi dell
  87. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    A film filled with simple pleasures. Wes Anderson films are an acquired taste. Like all acquired tastes, you can understand why other people don't enjoy them, but you pity them for it.
  88. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This movie is great, I went in not knowing anything about it, and was very glad I saw it. Its certainly different and very interesting. Recommend to anyone
  89. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Moonrise Kingdom is probably Wes Anderson's most accomplished movie... Everything is beautiful : the colors are dreamlike, the music is exuding the 60 's and the scenario joyfully childish. Did I forget to mention how good every actor ?

    If I had one movie to take on a desert island, it would definitely be this one !
  90. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    I found this a rather odd movie, but a good one nonetheless. The characters and the plot are unique and memorable. Superb acting in my honest opinion from both the known actors and the younger ones. Well-paced and a fitting environment with nice scenery add to the mix. Won't say it's a must watch, but definitely something that people should look into if they like intelligent and quirky movies.
  91. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    A visually stunning work of art and perhaps Wes Anderson's best film yet. Every shot in this movie is breathtaking, every performance is starling, every piece of dialogue is wittym and every character is likble. It's the perfect balance of style and substance. The cinematography just compliments the the film in every way possible. It's not your average Oscar contender film, it's moreA visually stunning work of art and perhaps Wes Anderson's best film yet. Every shot in this movie is breathtaking, every performance is starling, every piece of dialogue is wittym and every character is likble. It's the perfect balance of style and substance. The cinematography just compliments the the film in every way possible. It's not your average Oscar contender film, it's more unique, more relatable, less boring. However, the only thing I can say that will take away from the film is that some people who do not like ofver the top artsy films, you may want to skip this one. Expand
  92. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Moonrise Kingdom is one of those movies that sticks with you or a long time, if not forever. The performances and sweet, quirky themes just leave you feline hint melancholy and a hint of happiness. And it's also fun to watch a critically-acclaimed movie where the lead actor lives behind one of your best friends!
  93. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    This movie was funny all the way throughout. It did center everything with corny acting from the kids, but so what? Much better than some other ones, I'll give you that. It's a love story, so some may find it unentertaining.
  94. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Being young is not the complicated phase in the film but following your heart in every decision. This film gives a lot of colors that enable everyone to come in to and feel the chills and thrills.
  95. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite movie of all time. It's beautifully shot, impeccably scripted, and perfectly acted. I've easily seen this 7 times and can't wait until the next viewing.
  96. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    As one should expect from a Wes Anderson movie, it has quirky characters, a classic yet unique plot, that certain style of editing that no one else does (if you have watched a Wes Anderson movie, in particular Fantastic Mr. Fox, you know what I am talking about), and Bill Murray (seriously, he is in almost every movie Wes Anderson has done). However, past the deadpan lines, deliberatelyAs one should expect from a Wes Anderson movie, it has quirky characters, a classic yet unique plot, that certain style of editing that no one else does (if you have watched a Wes Anderson movie, in particular Fantastic Mr. Fox, you know what I am talking about), and Bill Murray (seriously, he is in almost every movie Wes Anderson has done). However, past the deadpan lines, deliberately outrageous action, and surreal visuals is a story that actually proves to be quite touching, and universally appealing. Therefore, the movie left me in tears by the conclusion, and I could not tell if it was the comedy or the heartfelt story that was the cause. Expand
  97. Mar 11, 2014
    3
    moonrise kingdom is 1965 craziness two campers have disorders and then go camping as they go camping they find what they have in common they both have disorders the girl has an anger problem . the boy scout has been rejected into foster homes and the other scotts thinks he werid . i find the girl insane in this wes anderson film including the fact that this is a 2012 film and it is a 1965moonrise kingdom is 1965 craziness two campers have disorders and then go camping as they go camping they find what they have in common they both have disorders the girl has an anger problem . the boy scout has been rejected into foster homes and the other scotts thinks he werid . i find the girl insane in this wes anderson film including the fact that this is a 2012 film and it is a 1965 film . go see the dark shadows instead Expand
  98. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    I love the look and feel of this film; yes, it’s got a lot of quirkiness, but that’s not allowed to overrun the narrative too much. The soundtrack also adds to the enjoyment in a way; it becomes part of the world these people inhabit. The very black and white sensibilities of children are explored here; everything it taken as a matter of fact and accepted without question. I found it quiteI love the look and feel of this film; yes, it’s got a lot of quirkiness, but that’s not allowed to overrun the narrative too much. The soundtrack also adds to the enjoyment in a way; it becomes part of the world these people inhabit. The very black and white sensibilities of children are explored here; everything it taken as a matter of fact and accepted without question. I found it quite refreshing in a way; it made a nice change from the brainless comedies I’m usually subjected to. All the performances were excellent with my top awards going to the two youngsters; Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman. Well worth a look if you haven’t seen it and (probably) well worth a re-watch if you have!

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

    My score: 8.2/10
    Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2012
    83
    These characters don't realize they're funny, and the actors are determined not to push it. Willis fares best, playing against in-control type; Murray fans expecting a comedy explosion won't find it here.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 22, 2012
    100
    A thoroughly endearing journey, and one of the most enjoyable and touching movies to land in theaters so far this year.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 21, 2012
    100
    The film is precious and adorable, but it isn't naïve, and the movie breathes so deep that Anderson even gets a real performance out of Willis (this is his best work in years).