User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 580 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 580
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    I don't say this lightly: this is Wes Anderson's best film. I won't even waste time trying to describe it, because I know I won't be able to. The child actors were perfect, and Bruce Willis was surprisingly delightful. Edward Norton pleases, as always, as do the other big names (I don't even need to mention Bill Murray). To anyone who didn't like Moonrise Kingdom: I love you but you don'tI don't say this lightly: this is Wes Anderson's best film. I won't even waste time trying to describe it, because I know I won't be able to. The child actors were perfect, and Bruce Willis was surprisingly delightful. Edward Norton pleases, as always, as do the other big names (I don't even need to mention Bill Murray). To anyone who didn't like Moonrise Kingdom: I love you but you don't know what you're talking about. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    The film is a no-doubt signature Wes Anderson film. It's got the primary color palate, the vintage look, the interestingly quirky yet depressing characters. And yet, Moonrise Kingdom holds more in store for us. We find, among all other qualities of the the film, one of the strongest and most beautiful love stories to exist in all of cinema. Sam and Suzy go so hand in hand that it'sThe film is a no-doubt signature Wes Anderson film. It's got the primary color palate, the vintage look, the interestingly quirky yet depressing characters. And yet, Moonrise Kingdom holds more in store for us. We find, among all other qualities of the the film, one of the strongest and most beautiful love stories to exist in all of cinema. Sam and Suzy go so hand in hand that it's remarkable to watch. Also, supporting performances by Bill Murray, Bruce Willis, and Ed Norton help to keep this love boat afloat. Although many may find this unorthodox romantic comedy to quirky to function, let alone enjoy, it's probably because they are obsessing over te main picture of the film, and not appreciating its intricate details. For example, the innocent and sweet yet undoubtedly destined relationship between Sam and Suzy is perfected after what seems to be endless (but what seems to be effortless) editing, until the flawless adolescent relationship is concocted. Overall, this film exudes both intelligently crafted cerebral humor and dark and looming depression (your generic Anderson film) in a masterful way, leaving us with a compelling compassion for our innocent spotlight couple. A must watch. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    Funny and delightful even on the surface. I remember laughing at the fantastic deadpan humor of this ensemble cast. This film endears at every turn, making this a worthy experience for your money.
  4. May 28, 2012
    9
    Fantastic film from Wes Anderson. I hope Moonrise Kingdom should get an Oscar for Best Picture next year. One of the best films since Fantastic Mr. Fox.
  5. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    Over the course of his career, director Wes Anderson has developed a loyal cult following. His films explore adult matters with a refreshing sense of childlike innocence and wonder. Moonrise Kingdom offers little variation on this approach, but utilizes it to perhaps its best effect. The plot centers around young Sam and Suzy (Gilman and Hayward) who exist as misfits in their small islandOver the course of his career, director Wes Anderson has developed a loyal cult following. His films explore adult matters with a refreshing sense of childlike innocence and wonder. Moonrise Kingdom offers little variation on this approach, but utilizes it to perhaps its best effect. The plot centers around young Sam and Suzy (Gilman and Hayward) who exist as misfits in their small island society, which itself consists of various outcasts. These include affable if daft Scout Master Ward (Norton), Sam's khaki troop leader; lawyer couple Laura and Walt Bishop (McDormand and Murray), whose idea of sweet nothings consist of legal jargon; mild-mannered police captain Sharp (Willis); and various khaki scouts and Bishop children. Sam and Suzy decide to take flight in search of something more meaningful, possibly love. Soon just about everyone else is searching for them. Though the premise seems simple, Anderson and company excel at delivering unexpected and rewarding payoffs. Each actor finds the right note to play his or her character. In particular, the younger actors are astonishing, capturing in their performances the heightened emotions of one's preteen years. The production is highlighted by beautiful locations and excellent cinematography. This is not to say the film is without its (admittedly minor) problems; the early flashback sequences interrupt the overall flow, and Tilda Swinton is woefully underused as Social Services. Still Moonrise Kingdom fits in with the best of Anderson's work. Fans and newcomers should find plenty to enjoy. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Wes Anderson , he has an unique way to direct a film . And i thing this was him best direction . it was an amazing movie . Good story , there were some really funny moments but i they could make it more funnier with all those things happened . Good acting good location good idea but above of all its Wes Anderson's amazing direction . it was like a live action stop motion movie . soWes Anderson , he has an unique way to direct a film . And i thing this was him best direction . it was an amazing movie . Good story , there were some really funny moments but i they could make it more funnier with all those things happened . Good acting good location good idea but above of all its Wes Anderson's amazing direction . it was like a live action stop motion movie . so freaking love that style ! Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    A very likable movie. It made me feel like I was a teenage again, The movie captured the whole idea, of how young people think. They both ran away from home, and the director filmed it in a way, that it seemed like they were on this great adventure! I only had a problem with the films ending, other then that, great movie!
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    After the lightning, I felt like the movie started loosing it's originality and perfect awkwardness. Overall, it's one of the most captivating, unique movies I've ever seen
  9. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    This is classic Wes Anderson right here. He takes his unique style to the next level with this odd yet charming coming of age tale. For me, the best part of Moonrise was the beautiful photography as well as the amazing score (shout out to Alexandre Desplat). The cast was phenomenal especially Edward Norton. The many child actors held their own against the veterans, however I thoughtThis is classic Wes Anderson right here. He takes his unique style to the next level with this odd yet charming coming of age tale. For me, the best part of Moonrise was the beautiful photography as well as the amazing score (shout out to Alexandre Desplat). The cast was phenomenal especially Edward Norton. The many child actors held their own against the veterans, however I thought the two main kids (played by Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman) were a little too monotone. We never really got to see any real passion from the kids. Overall, it's quite good. Expand
  10. Zal
    Dec 20, 2012
    9
    This is definitely one of those movies you either love or hate. Personally, I loved it. Admittedly, it's kind of kitschy, but that's not always a bad thing. It's a colorful movie both in its color pallet and its characters. I especially loved seeing Bruce Willis playing a cop who's nothing like John McClane.

    Moonrise Kingdom is sweet and simple. I haven't seen Wes Anderson's other
    This is definitely one of those movies you either love or hate. Personally, I loved it. Admittedly, it's kind of kitschy, but that's not always a bad thing. It's a colorful movie both in its color pallet and its characters. I especially loved seeing Bruce Willis playing a cop who's nothing like John McClane.

    Moonrise Kingdom is sweet and simple. I haven't seen Wes Anderson's other movies but if they're anything like this, I definitely will.
    Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Why did I watch it?
    I've never seen a Wes Anderson film before. There, I said it. The trailers for Moonrise Kingdom made it look like a quirky, fun film with a great cast and worth a look.
    What's it all about? Set on a peacefully quiet island off the coast of New England, two children, having only met once, set their pen-mail devised plan to runaway together into action. This leads to
    Why did I watch it?
    I've never seen a Wes Anderson film before. There, I said it. The trailers for Moonrise Kingdom made it look like a quirky, fun film with a great cast and worth a look.

    What's it all about?
    Set on a peacefully quiet island off the coast of New England, two children, having only met once, set their pen-mail devised plan to runaway together into action. This leads to the islands eccentric inhabitants launching their own search and rescue mission to track down the wayward pair before a storm closes in. Should you watch it?
    Quite simply, yes. Moonrise Kingdom is beautifully shot, Anderson uses rich warm colours throughout and the film has such a retro feel to go with the 60s setting. The opening credits sequence was spellbinding and the film rarely lets go from there onwards. The cast is fantastic, the two young leads give performances that belies their youth and are supported by a brilliantly deadpan Bruce Willis character, Edward Norton, Billy Murray, Tilda Swinton and cameos from Jason Schwartzmann and Harvey Keitel.

    The budding runaways

    The screenplay is charming yet not without some serious undertones, in particular each child's motives for leaving but the film's offbeat humour (Swinton plays a character literally called 'Social Services') never lets the mood fall away from any other than pure adventure. Make no doubt that the children's naivety and innocence are the highlight of the film. The moment they meet up, Sam orders an inventory their equipment which includes an air rifle, a cat and six books before handing over some flowers to his young love. He later warns Suzy that he may wet the bed inside their tent. I'm reluctant to say anything further so as not to spoil the film for others.

    Kingdom is supported by a score of classical music that fits perfectly with the eccentric nature of most characters and the old feel of the film.

    A must see, and not just for Wes Anderson fans (as I mentioned I hadn't seen any of his films beforehand).
    Expand
  12. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    A gem of a movie! Visually stunning with a warm and genuine story and every character absolutely lovable. This movie strengthens the hope that Hollywood can still offer something new. Excellent acting and I'm glad to see that all of the actors gave maximum, even though most of the roles have short screen time. I have also found the two young leads very believable. Every scene of the movieA gem of a movie! Visually stunning with a warm and genuine story and every character absolutely lovable. This movie strengthens the hope that Hollywood can still offer something new. Excellent acting and I'm glad to see that all of the actors gave maximum, even though most of the roles have short screen time. I have also found the two young leads very believable. Every scene of the movie is like a precious miniature in itself. Also, the scenery is unbelievably beautiful and at some moments I had a feeling that I was inside a landscape. The music was well chosen. This is one of those movies that you can watch again immediately after you finish it. Expand
  13. May 27, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I entered the cinema in a dyer, melancholy mood. Truthfully, I was expecting that Wes Anderson's latest release would lift that mood judging purely from the quirkiness of the trailer, and I was not mistaken. Immediately, I was struck by the fluency of the shots in the opening scene and vibrant setting of which it was shot, yet it was obvious from the build-up to the movie that it would be a fresh and innovative piece of art. What struck me most was the social depth of the film; character relationships reflected aspects of our western culture in sexual awareness, rejection of the different and strange, the relentlessness of authoritative figures in following the 'regime' and our (the peoples') despise at these particular figures, and the list can lengthen to however far you would like to think.
    It was great how characters like Bruce Willis and Edward Norton were in their standard roles, a cop and a leader of a group respectively, yet the characters they played would be judged upon by their typical caricatures as pathetic and laughable - subtly showing how they were willing to place a comedic value on those roles and literally 'take the piss' out of them/themselves. Wes Anderson placed other subtle referenced jokes aimed at big movies (such as Shawshank and The Big Lebowksi), personifying the film, as if it was saying "Hey, i'm good too, but I don't have to be serious." I found the comedic value of the film light, witty and pleasant and it genuinely placed a smile upon my face.
    On a personal level, what I took from the movie was a simple, and somewhat obvious message, of love can be obtained between the most different and weird people and in the end, it will always manage to blossom. This, in a way, I found enlightening being an 18 year old who desires love and affection but feels out of place in present day society, and this film told me "look, that is a good thing, a great thing, hope remains."
    Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    Quirky, whimsical and charming does not begin to describe, Moonrise Kingdom, which is one of the year's finest films and Wes Anderson's personal best (in my opinion). The movie follows a mature romance between people that are barely even mature yet (in terms of age). These kids elope from their damaged homes and have become the subject of a town-wide search to rescue them before "theQuirky, whimsical and charming does not begin to describe, Moonrise Kingdom, which is one of the year's finest films and Wes Anderson's personal best (in my opinion). The movie follows a mature romance between people that are barely even mature yet (in terms of age). These kids elope from their damaged homes and have become the subject of a town-wide search to rescue them before "the storm" hits. The kids are played very well and with incredible maturity by Kara Hayward and Jared Gilman, and the all-star supporting cast, particularly Bruce Willis, did a fantastic job in their respective roles. They had a lot to chew on, thanks to Wes Anderson and his brilliant screenplay, which brimmed with colorful, distinct and flawed characters; and also deep story arcs. Despite the film's charming exterior, there was something deeply melancholic underlying its surface. It tackles some impressive themes like bullying, dysfunctional households and adultery (just to name a few) in an unapologetic and sometimes deadpan fashion. The perfectly symmetrical flow of the film will please any fan of the director and the grainy cinematography resembles a beautiful vintage postcard. I really have no complaints about this movie. I'm just hoping this gem does well in awards season. Expand
  15. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    The sets, photography were all from the point of view of a 13 year old. And it was done with a great sense of humor, and good eye for artful viewing. The movie was as much a Sendak style adventure as it was a teen's internal quest for autonomy, intimacy, and love.
  16. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Wes is rapidly becoming one of the most talented individual filmmakers of this generation. The visuals are dazzling and the acting is extremely heartfelt. You will undergo a thrill of innocence and it is impossible to not ponder your own little child while watching this remarkable film. Wes' imaginative movie reaches all age groups and will undeniably be released wide very soon andWes is rapidly becoming one of the most talented individual filmmakers of this generation. The visuals are dazzling and the acting is extremely heartfelt. You will undergo a thrill of innocence and it is impossible to not ponder your own little child while watching this remarkable film. Wes' imaginative movie reaches all age groups and will undeniably be released wide very soon and hopefully appear as a strong contender during oscar season. Expand
  17. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    I'd probably give this a 9.5 as it's a solid A movie, but that wasn't available. I was never a big Wes Anderson fan even though I liked some of his earlier films, but I'm not sure there is any director alive (at least American as I know there are a ton of great "Foregin" directors) who has a better back to back combo of movies in the last decade than Mr. Anderson (Matrix voice). II'd probably give this a 9.5 as it's a solid A movie, but that wasn't available. I was never a big Wes Anderson fan even though I liked some of his earlier films, but I'm not sure there is any director alive (at least American as I know there are a ton of great "Foregin" directors) who has a better back to back combo of movies in the last decade than Mr. Anderson (Matrix voice). I thought Fantasitic Mr. Fox and now Moonrise Kingdom were both solid A movies that have great replay value. Very Funny, touching, great cinematography (unique camera shots/angles), extremely unique, sweet.

    MUST SEE movie......FYI some of my fav movies of all time are Pulp Fiction, Goodfellas, Big Lebowski, City of God, Shawshank, The Lives of Others, Godfather 1 & 2, Pinocchio/Bambi/Dumbo/Beauty & the Beast, Hoosiers (Indy born and raised who went to IU so a little biased), Casablanca, Schindler's List, Jaws, District 9, Fantstic Mr. Fox, Taxi Driver, Oldboy, Apocalypse Now, Monsters Inc/Incredibles/Finding Nemo, Deer Hunter, House of Flying Daggers/Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Pans Labyrnith, Avengers/The Dark Knight (great summer blockbusters), and honestly Moonrise Kingdom may be added to my list. Need a 2nd watch, but wow AWESOME flick
    Expand
  18. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    Wes Anderson is fascinated with childhood and dysfunctional families- both of which are showcased at their awkward finest in Moonrise Kingdom. Of course the photography is composed beautifully and setting the film in the 60's was a great choice given Anderson's affinities towards a certain color palette. I would expect nothing less visually from an Anderson film. Where the film goes beyondWes Anderson is fascinated with childhood and dysfunctional families- both of which are showcased at their awkward finest in Moonrise Kingdom. Of course the photography is composed beautifully and setting the film in the 60's was a great choice given Anderson's affinities towards a certain color palette. I would expect nothing less visually from an Anderson film. Where the film goes beyond the norm is in the script. Anderson and Coppola really capture adolescent love as well as the parents reactions to said love. It delves into each character deeply enough for it to be fulfilling though not enough for it to drag into boredom. Every actor does a great job especially the two newcomers. Some of the animation sections are strange and mildly out of place. I'm not sure from one viewing where I would put it in the echelon of Anderson films but nonetheless it is a great addition to an already magical career. Expand
  19. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Although i usually like to troll directors inert to stylistic changes and evolution, W. Anderson always manages to sneak up. And now, i must confirm that Moonrise Kingdom is an extra quality piece of Anderson's craftsmanship.
  20. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    This movie, straight up, is just really enjoyable. The way it was filmed makes it feel like your in some grey area between reality and a fairy tale, and it worked wonderfully. One of my favorite things about the movie was how goofy, quirky, and irrational most of the characters are. I thought maybe the reason for this was because the movie was filmed from the perspective of 2 kids, whoThis movie, straight up, is just really enjoyable. The way it was filmed makes it feel like your in some grey area between reality and a fairy tale, and it worked wonderfully. One of my favorite things about the movie was how goofy, quirky, and irrational most of the characters are. I thought maybe the reason for this was because the movie was filmed from the perspective of 2 kids, who were sort of outcasts; and so they perceive all these adults and other kids as really weird and irrational because of how different they are from themselves. I don't know, just a thought. But overall, a really great movie that doesn't drag on any longer than it needs to (about an hour and a half). Expand
  21. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    I'm going to start with a list of movies, and you are going to tell me if you've seen them. Here it goes:

    Bottle Rocket Rushmore The Royal Tenenbaums The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou The Darjeeling Limited Fantastic Mr. Fox Seen any of them? If you said no, I wouldn't be surprised: they all are rather quirky and aren't necessarily mainstream, though they have garnered quite a
    I'm going to start with a list of movies, and you are going to tell me if you've seen them. Here it goes:

    Bottle Rocket
    Rushmore
    The Royal Tenenbaums
    The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
    The Darjeeling Limited
    Fantastic Mr. Fox

    Seen any of them? If you said no, I wouldn't be surprised: they all are rather quirky and aren't necessarily mainstream, though they have garnered quite a bit of praise over the years. Each of these films, like Moonrise Kingdom, is written and directed by Wes Anderson, the guy whom I believe must have the most interesting, colorful, and crazy imagination in the history of the world, or at least in Hollywood. Take out colorful, and he's the Coen brothers.

    That's, of course, not a bad thing. After all, the brothers Coen have given us Fargo, The Big Lebowski, O Brother Where Art Thou?, No Country For Old Men, and True Grit, among others. But I say that more to give you a ballpark for what to expect out of Wes Anderson's movies. They are inherently weird, to put it bluntly. And Moonrise Kingdom is no different.

    Moonrise Kingdom is the story of Suzy and Sam, two 12-year-olds who meet, fall in love, and agree to run away together and embark on an adventure that they won't soon forget.

    Suzy Bishop (Kara Hayward ) is the eldest of 4 children, a problem child with a super power that is aided by her treasured binoculars.

    Sam Shakusky (Jared Gilman) is an unpopular member of the Khaki Scouts, an orphan and expert cartographer with a great interest in the Chickchaw Harvest Migration Trail.

    The two meet at a church performance of Noye's Fludde - the story of Noah and the Ark - and become pen pals who live at opposite ends of an island. One year later, in the summer of 1965, the two decide to run away together - Sam from the Khaki Scouts' summer camp, and Suzy from her parents' vacation lighthouse at Summer's End - and leave their dismal, lonely lives behind them.

    This prompts the entire island, including Sam's scout master (Edward Norton) and fellow scouts, Suzy's parents (Bill Murray and Frances McDormand) and brothers, and the island police captain (Bruce Willis), to act as a search party to find the two missing young lovers.

    Is there a lot of character development? Not really. Is there a twist ending? Nope. Are there a bunch of awesome special effects? Negative. Do you need to spend two or more hours in the theater and then even longer afterwards to figure out "what it all means?" Nay.

    It's a simple story, but it creates so many funny, interesting, and delightful situations that you'd be hard-pressed to want much more from it. Is it weird? Sure. There are all sorts of odd story and character quirks that you wouldn't find in other movies, so many unique and interesting touches that just set this film apart. In no way does that make Moonrise Kingdom any less likable or any less accessible.

    While the two films are extremely different, I find myself comparing Moonrise Kingdom to last year's magical Midnight in Paris. Both are stories of love - one of a city and a time, the other of a person and an adventure - and both are extremely light-hearted and fun. Both are directed by the same person that wrote them. Both are set (at least partially) in a time before our own. And both have their fair share of quirks, though admittedly Wes Anderson's caricatures and whimsy are far different from Woody Allen's neuroticism. But even better than those comparisons is that, like Midnight in Paris, Moonrise Kingdom is a darling of a film.

    I was initially going to preface this review with this statement: this movie may not be for everyone. But, my mom went with me and she liked it, so I guess that statement doesn't really hold up. Often Wes Anderson's stories are so whimsical, quirky, and unabashedly odd that unless you are into "weird" movies, you may not find much to like within his repertoire. All of those things - whimsy, quirk, and oddity - are present here, and not so much in moderation, but there is something - I don't know what, but something - about this movie that just made me delighted as I sat in my chair and watched it all unfold. It's really a movie that you should see for yourself.

    With a star-studded cast, memorable cameos, and a gaggle of talented young actors reminiscent of The Goonies, Wes Anderson has created a film that I don't think you'll want to miss. If you ever had a childhood crush or fell in love, ever felt like an outsider, ever hoped to embark on an adventure, well, this movie is certainly for you. All you need to do is come to the theater, sit back, and enjoy the show.
    Expand
  22. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    If 'Moonrise Kingdom' falls short of being a masterpiece, it isn't by much. It is a quirky, idiosyncratic work from one of the best directors working today, Wes Anderson, whom I believe should never stop making movies. Striking to look at and meticulously crafted, Anderson also gets points for capturing young love with a sense of innocence and intimacy that I haven't seen in any other filmIf 'Moonrise Kingdom' falls short of being a masterpiece, it isn't by much. It is a quirky, idiosyncratic work from one of the best directors working today, Wes Anderson, whom I believe should never stop making movies. Striking to look at and meticulously crafted, Anderson also gets points for capturing young love with a sense of innocence and intimacy that I haven't seen in any other film before. Not to mention that it happens to be one of the funniest films to come out this year. Amazing performances are abound, but the most affecting one comes from Bruce Willis in an against type, more subdued role that was intriguing to watch him dig into. There is a warmth and sacrifice to this man, a grace in his outlook on life, that makes him quite the unexpected hero (not in the action-movie sense that one would assume coming from Willis). And if only one thing could be said, 'Moonrise Kingdom' is hugely entertaining. It's a real crowd-pleaser when you get down to it, especially for those who are unassociated with most of Anderson's work before this. I would even say that it is THE Anderson movie, both for fans of him and those who are looking to get into his style. One of the best films of 2012, and is the most heartwarming and funny by a mile. Expand
  23. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    I love the cinema of Wes Anderson, as I feel that he expresses much of the things I hold dearest, and I consider his movies so close to me that it feels as if I'm looking at a mirror that reminds me of my best feelings ever.Up to now, my favorite ones used to be Rushmore, Battle rocket and, perhaps, The life aquatic. But Moonrise kingdom is the new candidate for my almost favorite one. II love the cinema of Wes Anderson, as I feel that he expresses much of the things I hold dearest, and I consider his movies so close to me that it feels as if I'm looking at a mirror that reminds me of my best feelings ever.Up to now, my favorite ones used to be Rushmore, Battle rocket and, perhaps, The life aquatic. But Moonrise kingdom is the new candidate for my almost favorite one. I would like to live in the world of this film;not because of what's happening(there 's a certain sadness in the relations of almost everyone to everyone in the film); but because Anderson manages to take me to a place where I feel things I was longing for and I was tending to forget. A unique film, which I instantly adored! Expand
  24. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Moonrise Kingdom is a Wes Anderson film, and so it is not for everyone, but for fans of Wes Anderson, this movie exceeds any expectations you could have coming in. It is shot beautifully, the acting is excellent, it is perfectly cast, and the plot moves with perfect suspense and pace. Anderson attempts to capture the essence of the island, the essence of love, and the essence of childhoodMoonrise Kingdom is a Wes Anderson film, and so it is not for everyone, but for fans of Wes Anderson, this movie exceeds any expectations you could have coming in. It is shot beautifully, the acting is excellent, it is perfectly cast, and the plot moves with perfect suspense and pace. Anderson attempts to capture the essence of the island, the essence of love, and the essence of childhood enthusiasm, and succeeds in doing so, the result being a beautiful, entertaining, and emotional film that moviegoers will remember as Wes Anderson's best effort. While it retains all the Wes Anderson charm that his fans admire, Moonrise Kingdom does not spend time documenting the lives of nihilistic middle aged men, nor does it waste a frame of its length. It is edited perfectly. At one hour and thirty four minutes, Moonrise Kingdom is a film that anyone can enjoy, Wes Anderson lovers and haters alike, and is perhaps Anderson's best film to date. Expand
  25. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Directed by: Wes Anderson
    Written by: Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
    Running Time: 94 min Rated: PG-13 Starring: Bill Murray as Walt Bishop Frances McDormand as Laura Bishop Bruce Willis as Captain Sharp Edward Norton as Scout Master Randy Ward Tilda Swinton as Social Services Jared Gilman as Sam Shakusky Kara Hayward as Suzy Bishop Jason Schwartzman as Cousin Ben In 1965,
    Directed by: Wes Anderson
    Written by: Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
    Running Time: 94 min
    Rated: PG-13

    Starring:
    Bill Murray as Walt Bishop
    Frances McDormand as Laura Bishop
    Bruce Willis as Captain Sharp
    Edward Norton as Scout Master Randy Ward
    Tilda Swinton as Social Services
    Jared Gilman as Sam Shakusky
    Kara Hayward as Suzy Bishop
    Jason Schwartzman as Cousin Ben In 1965, two 12 year olds decide to leave their lives behind and run away to a hidden inlet on the island of Penzance. Or so goes the plot for Wes Anderson's latest film, Moonrise Kingdom. The two kids, Sam and Suzy, meet when Sam sneaks backstage at a play and finds Suzy dressed as a raven. When she tells him that she cut her hand on a mirror when she lost her temper, you can see in Sam's eyes that he is smitten. The two are pen pals for a year and hatch a plan to run away together.

    Sam is an orphan and is a member of the Khaki Scouts, a very serious group of campers that appear to be modeled on the military and, of course, the Boy Scouts of America. He and his troop are camping at Camp Ivanhoe when his scout master, Randy Ward, notices that Sam has "flown the coop". An APB is put out on Sam, and the troop, along with the local police captain, begin a thorough search of the island.

    Meanwhile, Suzy has also fled from her home, carrying with her the necessities: a kitten, kitten food, a record player and her favorite record, a suitcase full of stolen library books, her lefty scissors, and her binoculars. She meets Sam in a meadow and follows him to an inlet where they set up camp. Both on the line between childhood and puberty, the two settle into life together. Sam impresses Suzy with his camping ability, and Suzy is compassionate when Sam reveals he sometimes wets the bed. After discovering Suzy's stash of letters from Sam, the search party steps up their efforts to find the two lovebirds.

    I have always been a fan of Wes Anderson's films for their unique style. Each time I see one, I spend days afterward contemplating his approach. The camera pans from one room to the other in the houses as if you are looking into a dollhouse. The nature of living right next to other people and yet separate at the same time is clearly demonstrated with this technique. The settings looks like old fashioned paintings that have come to life with the characters. The colors are antiqued, almost sepia toned. The actors have their usual expressionless faces we have come to expect from Anderson's films, and yet so much emotion is being conveyed.

    Once again, he has assembled a first class cast. Bill Murray and Frances McDormand played two attorneys who are married but just going through the motions. Bruce Willis is the local unmarried police captain having an affair with Frances McDormand's character. Edward Norton is sincere as the serious scout master. But the breakout performances of the film come from the actors playing Sam and Suzy, the star crossed lovers. I was mesmerized as I watched them fall in love for the first time in their young lives, as they carefully navigated the delicate balance between childhood and adulthood.

    Another area in which I feel that Wes Anderson's excels is in his choice of music. After watching this film 4 times in a row (yes, I love it that much!), I downloaded the soundtrack. I'm not sure it holds up as a whole, but the parts are excellent. First there is the song that Sam and Suzy dance to on the beach, Francoise Hardy's Le Temp de L'Amour. I know it sounds silly but I love to put it on and act like I know what I'm saying when I try to sing along. Then there is the Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra. I put this on for my 6 year old and he loved it. It reminds me of how much I used to love listening to Peter and The Wolf when I was a kid. I love watching him as he discovers the nuances of each instrument and how they come together to make magic.

    I highly recommend both the movie and the soundtrack. This is one movie I'm going to purchase to watch again and again. It's like a good book. In fact, I'm going to purchase all of Wes Anderson's movies and revisit them. Let me know what you think of the movie after you watch it.
    Expand
  26. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Moonrise Kingdom tells a mythological tale of social chaos (symbolized by the storm and Noah's Ark play) that gets resolved in a peaceful way rather than through a violent expulsion or sacrifice (except for the poor dog). Those methods are the kneejerk solutions to social confusion we expect in most communities/myths/movies. The movie begins with the chaos of adults acting like children while training the children to be adults prematurely. The orphan boy and Susie personally experience this lack of order and are trying to find peace and be prematurely adult because the island's adults are failing to provide proper care. The two teenagers accept their difference and try to leave the disorder around them for the best kind of natural and normal life and relationship they're capable of. This makes them outsiders who are blamed for the chaos that the adults have created for themselves and their children. The scouts who attack the young couple, the social service system lady, and Susie's parents use the usual blame, expulsion, and injuring/killing of these odd ones so society can return to its "normal" disorder that the adults take for order. But the Ed Norton scout leader and Bruce Willis police chief undergo personal change to take responsibility to help the children. These adults in official roles of order choose to resolve the conflict peacefully by recognizing the young couples' desparate, forced attempt to find their own sense of good order for themselves by just withdrawing from the community's disorder. And by choosing not to go through with their suicide the couple eschew the role of victims. They take the chance to live peacefully in a truly more healthy order where responsible adults care effectively for growing children. The new, true order is symbolized in the childrens' changed name of the inlet to Moonrise Kingdom following the island's great storm/chaos that's untypically been resolved peacefully. This is a simple innocent movie myth indeed that gifts us with an alternative to more common violent myths. These myths presume the necessity for a violence that gains a mere temporary peace, just the reconstituting of a still fundamentally chaotic "order." It will require repeated violence to keep chaos at bay, but never resolved. If my interpretation is sound then Wes Anderson may, like me, have been reading the cultural theorist Rene Girard. Girard has accomplished a startling unmasking of the myths, prohibitions and sacrifices that go along with the violent expulsion at the foundation of all societies. From whatever source, Wes Anderson has created a counter myth that presents a community's alternative choice to re-form/re-found itself through personal and social changes that lead to a peaceful social reconciliation. Moonrise Kingdom portrays adults learning wisdom from the mouth of babes. Expand
  27. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    All well(direction,actors and screenplay).The boy made mistakes but he solved it too fast;it's a great character.It's better than Skyfall and one of the best romance movies I ever seen.
  28. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    A vedere il miglior film per ragazzi dell
  29. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    A film filled with simple pleasures. Wes Anderson films are an acquired taste. Like all acquired tastes, you can understand why other people don't enjoy them, but you pity them for it.
  30. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This movie is great, I went in not knowing anything about it, and was very glad I saw it. Its certainly different and very interesting. Recommend to anyone
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2012
    83
    These characters don't realize they're funny, and the actors are determined not to push it. Willis fares best, playing against in-control type; Murray fans expecting a comedy explosion won't find it here.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 22, 2012
    100
    A thoroughly endearing journey, and one of the most enjoyable and touching movies to land in theaters so far this year.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 21, 2012
    100
    The film is precious and adorable, but it isn't naïve, and the movie breathes so deep that Anderson even gets a real performance out of Willis (this is his best work in years).