User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 586 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 586
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    I thought the best thing about this film was the big name talent in the small character roles. The story was cute and held my attention but it wasn't that funny as some in the audience found it. Still, I enjoyed it despite not being enthralled by a movie about preteens.My rating of this film is more a commentary on the lack of good films that are available for viewing today. HopefullyI thought the best thing about this film was the big name talent in the small character roles. The story was cute and held my attention but it wasn't that funny as some in the audience found it. Still, I enjoyed it despite not being enthralled by a movie about preteens.My rating of this film is more a commentary on the lack of good films that are available for viewing today. Hopefully that will change as we head into the Fourth! I was excited to see Edward Norton back and to see that he is in the new Borne film. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    5
    This is a cute movie, with some witty dialogue, and some mild emotion attached to it. However, like most Wes Anderson movies, it is pretentious, self-indulgent, and tries to be a deep, profound statement, not realizing that it's merely just a cute, quirky comedy. That honestly takes away a lot of its appeal for me, and that's why I docked it a points. I would put this movie in the sameThis is a cute movie, with some witty dialogue, and some mild emotion attached to it. However, like most Wes Anderson movies, it is pretentious, self-indulgent, and tries to be a deep, profound statement, not realizing that it's merely just a cute, quirky comedy. That honestly takes away a lot of its appeal for me, and that's why I docked it a points. I would put this movie in the same boat as something like Crazy, Stupid, Love. It was cute, funny in some parts, and heartfelt in others, yet there was nothing groundbreaking about it. I would have given this movie a slightly higher score if Wes just allowed the movie to just be the cute little movie that it was. When it's reaching to be a profound statement about the lives of these kids, it fails to do so, and it just leaves a bad taste. The most emotional moments have all been done before in many other movies. It does feature a cast of strong, respected actors, like Frances McDormand, Edward Norton, Tilda Swinton, and Bill Murray, although I wouldn't put this in the discussion for being one of the betters performances, or one of the better movies, for any of those people. They were cute and quirky, just like the script. Something both Wes Anderson and his pal Noah Baumbach need to work on is knowing their limits though. That haughtiness they seem to have comes across in their movies, and ruins their appeal. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    2
    I know this guy is the critics' favorite and has a dedicated groupie following; but I just don't get it. The few I've watched, or tried to watch, were bland and droll. Seems to be his syle. What really amazes me is his ability to get so many big name actors to appear in these financial bombs. I would think they wouldn't want one of his box office disasters on their resume.

    This one made
    I know this guy is the critics' favorite and has a dedicated groupie following; but I just don't get it. The few I've watched, or tried to watch, were bland and droll. Seems to be his syle. What really amazes me is his ability to get so many big name actors to appear in these financial bombs. I would think they wouldn't want one of his box office disasters on their resume.

    This one made less than $46,000,000 worldwide according to MOJO. None of his movies have actually made much more than that, and some a lot less. Why? Because no one likes what he is putting out. It's remarkable that he can keep getting financing for these bombs. Having said all that, I at least was able to finish this one before turning it off like I have done with some of his other films.
    Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    4
    Moonrise Kingdom is certainly unique, but it's ultimately an extremely slight, and morally confused film. Anderson's quirky style couldn't be more evident throughout. His visuals are striking, but the pretentiousness becomes grating after a while. The movie can be funny and sweet, but this is all tarnished with one shocking scene. The young couple starts French kissing in theirMoonrise Kingdom is certainly unique, but it's ultimately an extremely slight, and morally confused film. Anderson's quirky style couldn't be more evident throughout. His visuals are striking, but the pretentiousness becomes grating after a while. The movie can be funny and sweet, but this is all tarnished with one shocking scene. The young couple starts French kissing in their underwear. Inappropriate, but whatever, I can deal with it. I thought it wouldn't go any further. How could it? But it did. The boy fondles the girl's chest, and the girl comments on how hard a certain thing is and how she likes it. What!!!????!! Are you kidding me?! How could Anderson put two young kids into this situation? The movie's a perfect example of how immoral Hollywood has become. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2013
    4
    Wes Anderson films are just not for me. This one has some really good performances including my favorite Edward Norton, but for me like all of Anderson's movies I got bored.
  6. May 19, 2013
    4
    i know everyone has different taste .but the 2 movies that have been the least entertaining to me in my life are american beauty and moonrise kingdom i really enjoyed true blood and rushmore
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    2
    Genuinely the first film I fell asleep in, the start of the film seemed to be kicking off well, but the story is beyond boring and at times is really creepy. Especially a scene where they are dancing together/kissing. They're both barely out of the womb
  8. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    It's clear from the reviews that you either like Wes Anderson movies or you don't. If you're not a fan, this will not turn you into one. If you are a fan, then you've been waiting a long time for this movie and you won't be disappointed. It's got a lot of familiar quirks: the colorful tableaux filming style, the eccentric characters, etc, but it's got new stuff as well. There's moreIt's clear from the reviews that you either like Wes Anderson movies or you don't. If you're not a fan, this will not turn you into one. If you are a fan, then you've been waiting a long time for this movie and you won't be disappointed. It's got a lot of familiar quirks: the colorful tableaux filming style, the eccentric characters, etc, but it's got new stuff as well. There's more genuine emotion in the movie than probably any of his films since Rushmore (although, as usual, it's a little subdued). He did interesting things with the relationship between Suzy and Sam, too - pushing the boundaries a bit while still ultimately keeping things "innocent". My only disappointment with the movie was that I felt he marginalized Bill Murray a bit. If you've seen the trailer, you've seen pretty much every good line he has. One the other hand, it was nice to see some new faces in the movie. In addition to the kids, Edward Norton looked like he was born to be in these movies, and Bruce Willis and Harvey Keitel (!) fit in quite nicely, too.

    Definitely worth seeing.
    Expand
  9. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    I can't get past the robotic delivery of the dialog...or the perfect wardrobe on everyone, or the perfect camera shot symmetry, or every delivery and set piece in perfect time. I'm dying in the rigidity. It bleaches the emotion out of the picture. I'm just not built that way.
  10. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Very cute movie. Definitely different! Thought acting was great and the story was quite funny. Can never understand why it is so important for the film industry to blaspheme the Name of God, but the do several times in this movie.
  11. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Quirky, well acted, and amusing. Wes Anderson's films are not for the masses, as they are subtle and, quite frankly, more intelligent than the fodder we are fed by corporate Hollywood. I imagine his movies don't cost that much to make, that the actors all work for much less because they like him, and that because of these financial assets, make enough money to let him make the next one.Quirky, well acted, and amusing. Wes Anderson's films are not for the masses, as they are subtle and, quite frankly, more intelligent than the fodder we are fed by corporate Hollywood. I imagine his movies don't cost that much to make, that the actors all work for much less because they like him, and that because of these financial assets, make enough money to let him make the next one. I have liked them all to one extent or another. That's how it is with his films. If you don't like the quirky pathos infused humor, you just won't like his movies. He has his own voice and clearly his own aesthetic vision. I loved it. Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    6
    Wes Anderson's latest takes place on a New England island in the 60s. A pre-pubescent couple runs off, while a group of family and others tries to find them. The director has taken his deadpan style and dense visual statements to it's extreme. I kept waiting to be charmed and amused, while everyone around me was delighted. It's an interesting stylistic escape, but just too twee for my taste.
  13. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Moonrise Kingdom is a peculiar and beautiful movie, treats the story of a boy and a girl who met on a school play and fall in love, so they start to sending letters to each other and one day plan to escape together, in order to have a new life, far away from the adult world, which they both hate. It is interesting the dynamic that is generated between these two characters, because theyMoonrise Kingdom is a peculiar and beautiful movie, treats the story of a boy and a girl who met on a school play and fall in love, so they start to sending letters to each other and one day plan to escape together, in order to have a new life, far away from the adult world, which they both hate. It is interesting the dynamic that is generated between these two characters, because they both give to the other what their family does not provide; he compensates the understanding and support that needs the girl, and she pay off with attention and love. This story is so charming and magic because is the one that everyone wanted to have during their first love, although is not a complete happy ending; it has the precise end to make the story believable. Another exciting topic of the picture is the contrast and comparison between the child and the adult world. We see that the children do whatever they want and live guided by their imagination; however the adults do want they have to do and live guided by social conventions. Then we notice that the roles are change, the grown-ups cannot have a relationship or manage the children, but the boys have relationships and do not care of what the adults say. All of this happens because the story develops in the moonrise kingdom, a mixture between dreamland and neverland (the idea that the island where they live is fictional, also contributes to this concept). The performance of the protagonist couple is just brilliant. Expand
  14. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    The film has strong and weak elements. On the positive side, it is really, really easy on the eyes. I could watch it with the mute on. But you don't want to miss the music. Hank Williams and classical music on an old phonograph took me back to my childhood. The quirkiness is amusing. Negatives: Amusing is not the same thing as funny. I chuckled maybe twice. It might be funnier withThe film has strong and weak elements. On the positive side, it is really, really easy on the eyes. I could watch it with the mute on. But you don't want to miss the music. Hank Williams and classical music on an old phonograph took me back to my childhood. The quirkiness is amusing. Negatives: Amusing is not the same thing as funny. I chuckled maybe twice. It might be funnier with friends. The movie was not very emotionally involving. It seemed a bit formal, somewhat two dimensional. Sometimes the plot seemed to be just going through the motions. The movie was not boring but was far from engrossing. Quirkiness, audiovisual perfection, and good acting keep the canoe afloat. Expand
  15. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    Definitely an Oscar film, Wes Anderson's offbeat (and at times, dark) sense of humor sets this comedy apart, as do wonderful performances by both the name actors AND younger cast members.
  16. May 26, 2012
    10
    Wes Anderson's best movie in years - right up there with Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore. (Fantastic Mr. Fox, Life Aquatic, and Darjeeling each fell well short of my own expectations.) He nails the time period, the locations are perfect, the young actors are amazing (not over or underplaying anything) , the cadence is on the money, and the adults are much more genuine and sincere than theyWes Anderson's best movie in years - right up there with Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore. (Fantastic Mr. Fox, Life Aquatic, and Darjeeling each fell well short of my own expectations.) He nails the time period, the locations are perfect, the young actors are amazing (not over or underplaying anything) , the cadence is on the money, and the adults are much more genuine and sincere than they have been in other W.A. films. There is nary a dull moment in the film. Best of all, it brought back warm memories of my own time in the Khaki Scouts. It's my easiest recommendation in a while. Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Unrestrained whimsey does not a narrative make. Self-conscious directing, formal presentational acting and a broad sense of humor that shifts gears in an ungainly way makes character after character into unlikable buffoons. Last time I'm bothering to watch a Wes Anderson film. If you loved The Life Aquatic, this is more of the same with more of everything except story.
  18. Rod
    May 27, 2013
    1
    I'm sorry, I try to appreciate Wes Anderson's work, and for some of his movies, there is some entertainment value. But this movie was just a waste of time and effort. I really hoped it would go somewhere, but "quirky and offbeat" for it's own sake, does not, in my opinion, make for a good movie or story. If you are not familiar with and already a fan of Anderson's work, this movie willI'm sorry, I try to appreciate Wes Anderson's work, and for some of his movies, there is some entertainment value. But this movie was just a waste of time and effort. I really hoped it would go somewhere, but "quirky and offbeat" for it's own sake, does not, in my opinion, make for a good movie or story. If you are not familiar with and already a fan of Anderson's work, this movie will have you shaking your head and asking, "Why?". Expand
  19. Jul 29, 2012
    0
    pe·do·phil·i·a/ˌpedəˈfilēə/
    Noun:
    Sexual feelings directed toward children

    Can someone please explain how watching 11 year-olds kissing and fondling one another is NOT pedophelia? This movie was disgusting.
  20. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    Wes anderson must be the most over praised writer/Director working in films today. I didn't care much for Rushmore or The Life Aquatic. I hated the Royal Tenembaums and I absolutely hate this pointless
    drivel. I keep coming back for more because the majority of critics keep turning out superlatives for his work. All I can say is It won't happen again. Anyone who derives any enjoyment from
    Wes anderson must be the most over praised writer/Director working in films today. I didn't care much for Rushmore or The Life Aquatic. I hated the Royal Tenembaums and I absolutely hate this pointless
    drivel. I keep coming back for more because the majority of critics keep turning out superlatives for his work. All I can say is It won't happen again. Anyone who derives any enjoyment from this questionable film cannot have a clue about what real art is. Of one thing I'm certain it isn't this junk.
    Expand
  21. May 25, 2012
    9
    The best word I can think of to describe Moonrise Kingdom would have to be "Beautiful." The trailer is one of the greatest examples where a trailer is actually honest about the film. This film was really worth the trouble of finding the New York theater and I even skipped part of a class and I don't regret it, definitely a must-see, wether you're a Wes Anderson fan or not.
  22. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The premise seemed very interesting, an orphan loner escapes from scout camp to elope with a young girl. The authority figures (police, scout masters) search the island trying to find them, with the help of the girls parents and the rest of the scouts. It sounds like a classic coming of age story between two socially inept outcasts, were it conjures the isolation of adolescence and theThe premise seemed very interesting, an orphan loner escapes from scout camp to elope with a young girl. The authority figures (police, scout masters) search the island trying to find them, with the help of the girls parents and the rest of the scouts. It sounds like a classic coming of age story between two socially inept outcasts, were it conjures the isolation of adolescence and the awkwardness of youth as it enters into sexual maturity. But the film wasn't really about the story at all and this is were it fell massively short. Moonrise kingdom is basically about how many visually symmetrical shots Wes Anderson can put onto a screen within 1 hour and 30 minutes. The colour scheme is typical Wes Anderson, vibrant red, greens, yellows and blue's, little bobble hats on most of the characters. The man has a 5 minute sequence at the start of dolly shots going up and down a house. Then followed by a dolly shot that travels left to right tediously for about three minutes with Edward Norton as he wakes up and goes outside for breakfast. He repeats this shot about 3-4 times during the film for similar lengths of time. When a letter appears on screen it's shot from birds eye view from above, when the main character reads a map it's shot from a birds eye view from above....everything is perfectly symmetrical. When they go to open a tent it's shot dead centre, then it's shot inside perfect symmetry as you see the zip being opened Expand
  23. May 26, 2012
    10
    This is the best of Wes Anderson's films, everything feels and looks just right. You may or may not like what Anderson does, but if you do, you will definitely enjoy this, and that's and understatement.
  24. Nov 2, 2012
    5
    A great story but Wes Anderson's trademark tweeness and arty shannanigans just take me out of the moment. There's that air of unrealism that typifies most of his films. Also a bit dissapointed to see great actors like Bill Murray being wasted in shallow roles. I switched this film off when the two kids started dancing on the beach. Was too cheesy and made me want to vomit.
  25. May 25, 2012
    10
    This is a beautiful film deserving of your attention. If you are a fan of Wes' previous work then you will love it. It encapsulates everything he excels at as an artist. "Moonrise" might be the most thematically clear and rich of all his films as well. Everyone involved shows a lot of discipline in bringing this tale to the screen and that includes a lot of child actors who had to riseThis is a beautiful film deserving of your attention. If you are a fan of Wes' previous work then you will love it. It encapsulates everything he excels at as an artist. "Moonrise" might be the most thematically clear and rich of all his films as well. Everyone involved shows a lot of discipline in bringing this tale to the screen and that includes a lot of child actors who had to rise to the material. Every actor is given their time to shine, and Wes proves once again that he has a prodigious talent for casting the right actors in the right roles and getting brilliant performances out of them. Even Bruce Willis fits right in here. Bruce Willis. In a Wes Anderson movie. Think about that. Expand
  26. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic in every aspect of film making! Just about every element that goes into production that I can think of was spot-on. Whether it be the characters, music, story, tone, look of the film, or anything else really. This was my first Wes Anderson film, and he's acquired one more fan. A joy from start-to-finish, this is not a recommendation, this is a must-see.
  27. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Moonrise Kingdom is an absolutely adorable film superbly written by Wes Anderson (who also gorgeously directed it) and Roman Coppola about two kids from completely different familial situations who find a connection in their shared sense of loss, either from parents who were deceased or parents who were alive, yet never present.  The struggles to survive their individualMoonrise Kingdom is an absolutely adorable film superbly written by Wes Anderson (who also gorgeously directed it) and Roman Coppola about two kids from completely different familial situations who find a connection in their shared sense of loss, either from parents who were deceased or parents who were alive, yet never present.  The struggles to survive their individual childhoods are soothed by each other.  In one another they find the support to move through their pain, progress into adult situations and give each other comfort they couldn't receive from adults.  The quirkiness of the script's situations are typical of Anderson films, but the "yellowing" of the film's color and the exquisite use of children as the main characters add to the depth of perspective, showing the adults as the goofy, clueless, immature element of the cast.  In their own chaos, the kids appear to have it together much more than the adults.  Throughout this wonderful film, the kids deal with the adult scenarios with maturity and logic while the adults come across as trained monkeys.  The children come together as a strong, empathetic team while the adults are miserable robots succumbing to the rigidity of their mundane lives, clinging to every vice there is, from cheating, lying, drinking, smoking, etc. while all the kids want is to be loved and happy.  The simple things we all set out to obtain. Expand
  28. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I had to travel to L.A. (one hour) to see this film and it was worth it. When I saw "Fantastic Mr. Fox" I had a smile on my face the entire time, and this live action film captures the same quirkiness of that classic animated film. I can't say enough about how great the two lead child actors this film are - Wes Anderson likes a certain style that requires both timing and a certain way ofI had to travel to L.A. (one hour) to see this film and it was worth it. When I saw "Fantastic Mr. Fox" I had a smile on my face the entire time, and this live action film captures the same quirkiness of that classic animated film. I can't say enough about how great the two lead child actors this film are - Wes Anderson likes a certain style that requires both timing and a certain way of conversing, and everyone in the film captured it perfectly. The story was kind of a modern day Huck Finn (although set in the 1960s). I already look forward to his next film, and that is the best compliment I can give any director. Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2013
    0
    Moonrise Kingdom isn't a movie, its is a disgrace to movies. Never has a movie been so brainless coupled with one of the worst directing jobs i have ever seen. The movie ask if the boy and girl need mental help, the real question is whether the people who made the movie need mental help. A movie i never want to lay eyes on again.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2012
    83
    These characters don't realize they're funny, and the actors are determined not to push it. Willis fares best, playing against in-control type; Murray fans expecting a comedy explosion won't find it here.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 22, 2012
    100
    A thoroughly endearing journey, and one of the most enjoyable and touching movies to land in theaters so far this year.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 21, 2012
    100
    The film is precious and adorable, but it isn't naïve, and the movie breathes so deep that Anderson even gets a real performance out of Willis (this is his best work in years).