Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In defiance of the Elder Gods, the evil Outworlders are back to wreak hell on Earth. Earth's last hope is the mighty Liu Kang and his explosive fighting friends. They're all that stand between life…and annihilation! (New Line)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 10 out of 12
  1. 60
    But the most stimulating, satisfying aspect of this action fantasy is the theme music.
  2. Its dazzling special effects make its combatants flip and fly, spin and soar, all the while punching and kicking each other like jackhammers, only to leave viewers utterly unmoved.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel M. Kimmel
    30
    Pic consists largely of choppily edited fight scenes (usually involving somersaults and back flips) combined with various computer graphic effects.
  4. Fragmented and monotonous, without a semblance of the gymnastic cleverness that at least made the first Mortal Kombat film into watchable trash, Mortal Kombat Annihilation is as debased as movies come.
  5. 12
    This film has no story, no characters, and no coherence.
  6. Here's the lowdown on the latest chapter in Mortal Kombat: deadly dull.
  7. It's cynical and it's depressing, and I would lock a child in a room before I'd show him Mortal Kombat: Annihilation.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 20 out of 31
  1. May 11, 2015
    10
    I fully enjoyed the first mortal kombat. However I prefer this one to the first. MK2 gets rights into the action,
    there are more characters
    I fully enjoyed the first mortal kombat. However I prefer this one to the first. MK2 gets rights into the action,
    there are more characters and the action scenes are expertly directed. The music is also as excellent in this sequel as it was in the original. This is one of the best martial arts movies I've seen and it is 100% faithful to the video game. This sequel has more intensity than the first and that is what makes it so enjoyable.
    Expand
  2. BrandonL.
    Feb 22, 2006
    8
    Why all the bad reviews? I found this movie entertaining, even though it isn't as good as the first.
  3. josak
    Feb 6, 2007
    6
    Not too bad... it had some cool fight scenes. I enjoyed it for what it is.
  4. EdgarV
    Nov 25, 2008
    2
    A very bad movie at all levels even though in my opinion is a little- but only a little- better than the first which was pretty awful A very bad movie at all levels even though in my opinion is a little- but only a little- better than the first which was pretty awful itself... From bad acting to ridiculous special effects the experience turns into un unbearable torment... This is definitely the movie you should be looking forward... to avoid! Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    1
    Quite possibly one of the worst sequels ever to be released in theaters, Mortal Kombat: Annihilation literally Destroyed All Expectations, theQuite possibly one of the worst sequels ever to be released in theaters, Mortal Kombat: Annihilation literally Destroyed All Expectations, the plot makes no sense, and they literally tried to cram inIn almost every single one of the characters from both the games Mortal Kombat II and MK3 without giving them sufficient screen-time nor development, aside from that, the film suffers from bad recasting and acting, lackluster fight scenes, cheap production values, and some of the worst CGI ever to assault cinema screens. My advice: stick to the original, and avoid this at all cost. Expand
  6. ChristianS.
    Aug 8, 2009
    1
    Hi, if you want to watch mortal kombat, watch the first one because it is so much better this garbage they call a sequel. even if it is Hi, if you want to watch mortal kombat, watch the first one because it is so much better this garbage they call a sequel. even if it is faithful to the video game that i played when i was 10, the whole film is brought down by terribly cheesy and outdated visual effects, corny dialouge, annoying characters, and a terrible script. Expand
  7. Sam
    Oct 20, 2005
    0
    I wouldn't nessecarily say I was dissapointed with this movie, but I was remotley surpised how truly awful it was. Lame acting, I wouldn't nessecarily say I was dissapointed with this movie, but I was remotley surpised how truly awful it was. Lame acting, characters, effects, need I go on? Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames Image
    Published: September 8, 2010
    This week's "Resident Evil: Afterlife" is yet another film adaptation of a popular videogame. Everything you've heard about the genre is true: there are a lot of terrible movies, and a lot of Uwe Boll movies. (And those categories are definitely not mutually exclusive.) We look at the "best" and worst examples of games-turned-movies.