Mortal Kombat: Annihilation

Mortal Kombat: Annihilation Image
Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 392 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In defiance of the Elder Gods, the evil Outworlders are back to wreak hell on Earth. Earth's last hope is the mighty Liu Kang and his explosive fighting friends. They're all that stand between life…and annihilation! (New Line)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 10 out of 12
  1. 60
    But the most stimulating, satisfying aspect of this action fantasy is the theme music.
  2. Its dazzling special effects make its combatants flip and fly, spin and soar, all the while punching and kicking each other like jackhammers, only to leave viewers utterly unmoved.
  3. 30
    Pic consists largely of choppily edited fight scenes (usually involving somersaults and back flips) combined with various computer graphic effects.
  4. Fragmented and monotonous, without a semblance of the gymnastic cleverness that at least made the first Mortal Kombat film into watchable trash, Mortal Kombat Annihilation is as debased as movies come.
  5. 12
    This film has no story, no characters, and no coherence.
  6. Here's the lowdown on the latest chapter in Mortal Kombat: deadly dull.
  7. It's cynical and it's depressing, and I would lock a child in a room before I'd show him Mortal Kombat: Annihilation.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 27 out of 39
  1. May 11, 2015
    10
    I fully enjoyed the first mortal kombat. However I prefer this one to the first. MK2 gets rights into the action,
    there are more characters
    I fully enjoyed the first mortal kombat. However I prefer this one to the first. MK2 gets rights into the action,
    there are more characters and the action scenes are expertly directed. The music is also as excellent in this sequel as it was in the original. This is one of the best martial arts movies I've seen and it is 100% faithful to the video game. This sequel has more intensity than the first and that is what makes it so enjoyable.
    Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2014
    7
    I'll get this out of the way early, the movie sucked.
    However, it is a little endearing. The plot is questionable and the writing is
    I'll get this out of the way early, the movie sucked.
    However, it is a little endearing. The plot is questionable and the writing is terrible. The acting however, is not that bad and the fight scenes are great. The music is amazing. As for plot, since when in the Ps2 era did MK have a good plot?
    The special effects are great until they're not.(Good Sub-Zero's Ice, Bad- Kung-Fu fighting Dragons(Don't ask...))
    This movie is enjoyable though, if you watch it for the fights and fan-service.
    7 out of 10
    Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2011
    5
    Horrible,just horrible,as a MK fan i should give this movie a o...............................
    but the music is good and its kinda cool to see
    Horrible,just horrible,as a MK fan i should give this movie a o...............................
    but the music is good and its kinda cool to see the all the characters in a movie!
    Expand
  4. GabboE
    Oct 2, 2008
    2
    Mortal Kombat: Annihilation, that's pretty much the description of this sequel, it annihilated the opportunity of New Line ever doing Mortal Kombat: Annihilation, that's pretty much the description of this sequel, it annihilated the opportunity of New Line ever doing another Mortal Kombat movie, i really liked the first Mortal Kombat movie, but i did not like this one as much as i liked the first one, what went wrong with this one was that almost everyone of the original cast has been replaced except for Robin Shou as Liu Kang and Talisa Soto as Kitana, the costumes were terrible, the special effects were vomit, the dialogue was absolutely cheesy, the fights were not as good as the fights in the first MK movie and there were too many characters jumping in and out, bottomline: the original Mortal Kombat movie is an excellent masterpiece, but the sequel Mortal Kombat: Annihilation is a waste of time. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2015
    1
    I'll give it 1 because it's **** FUNNY !!
    OMG the effects, i cried from laughter... BEST MOVIE EVERRRR !
    I bet the positive reviews are
    I'll give it 1 because it's **** FUNNY !!
    OMG the effects, i cried from laughter... BEST MOVIE EVERRRR !
    I bet the positive reviews are people who laugh all the way until the ending and they think it's a comedy movie about Mortal Kombat....
    Expand
  6. ChristianS.
    Aug 8, 2009
    1
    Hi, if you want to watch mortal kombat, watch the first one because it is so much better this garbage they call a sequel. even if it is Hi, if you want to watch mortal kombat, watch the first one because it is so much better this garbage they call a sequel. even if it is faithful to the video game that i played when i was 10, the whole film is brought down by terribly cheesy and outdated visual effects, corny dialouge, annoying characters, and a terrible script. Expand
  7. Sam
    Oct 20, 2005
    0
    I wouldn't nessecarily say I was dissapointed with this movie, but I was remotley surpised how truly awful it was. Lame acting, I wouldn't nessecarily say I was dissapointed with this movie, but I was remotley surpised how truly awful it was. Lame acting, characters, effects, need I go on? Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 22 Truly Terrible Video Game Movies, Ranked

    22 Truly Terrible Video Game Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: April 26, 2016
    We rank 22 movies based on videogames from bad to slightly less bad.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames Image
    Published: September 8, 2010
    This week's "Resident Evil: Afterlife" is yet another film adaptation of a popular videogame. Everything you've heard about the genre is true: there are a lot of terrible movies, and a lot of Uwe Boll movies. (And those categories are definitely not mutually exclusive.) We look at the "best" and worst examples of games-turned-movies.
  3. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  4. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.