New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 18, 1995
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 279 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
233
Mixed:
36
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GeorgeK.Mar 1, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Sure it is an old movie now but still it has lavish production design. Everything is created in full detail, good acting, nice injections shots of humor, fascinating fights, excellent editing and one unfuzzy direction Absolutely amazing. Sure it is an old movie now but still it has lavish production design. Everything is created in full detail, good acting, nice injections shots of humor, fascinating fights, excellent editing and one unfuzzy direction from Anderson. Plus the exotic locations. Maybe the story is not serious-which it isn't-but it is presented in a way that makes the movie serious. Another plus-the exotic-atmospheric score by George S.Clinton, the techno soundtrack and the photography. It 's good to see locations that they have a blue feeling(Stage with SubZero), a hellish one(Scorpion) etc.. Cary Hiroyuki Tagawa is simply fantastic! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Dec 21, 2010
this is way better than other horrible video game movies
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
billrullerMar 21, 2012
I understand why some people say that this is a mixed bag type of movie. But myself, I honestly thought this was a very cool movie. Sure it's PG-13 and not as gory as the video games, but I still give it credit for some Fatalities, FlawlessI understand why some people say that this is a mixed bag type of movie. But myself, I honestly thought this was a very cool movie. Sure it's PG-13 and not as gory as the video games, but I still give it credit for some Fatalities, Flawless Victories, really cool fight scenes, and very good choice of casting. My most favorite MK character, Johnny Cage was funny and awesome. The best part was Goro looked great! The animatronics with the face and arms were fantastic that time in 1995. If this movie was made today, it would probably be CG. Sure there are a few problems with the movie, but its still a very good Video Game Based Motion Picture. Out of all of them, this is probably my most favorite out of VG films. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JamyzDec 22, 2011
It's a fun movie to watch and to makes jokes of but it will be remembered for being the best live action video game movie it may not be a great movie but its a pretty ok movie with some awesome fight scenes and colorful characters like subIt's a fun movie to watch and to makes jokes of but it will be remembered for being the best live action video game movie it may not be a great movie but its a pretty ok movie with some awesome fight scenes and colorful characters like sub zero and scorpion. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 2, 2011
Best video game movie ever! I feel this is the only movie where the filmmakers actually respected the video game source material. I've watched this movie many times as a kid, and I always shout "MORTAL KOMBAT!" whenever I feel like it.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MKfan95Mar 1, 2012
4 years since my first review on this movie, and still the best video game movie ever made, Mortal Kombat is what a fighting game movie should be; faithful to the game with a group of well-choreographed fight scenes and spot-on casting that4 years since my first review on this movie, and still the best video game movie ever made, Mortal Kombat is what a fighting game movie should be; faithful to the game with a group of well-choreographed fight scenes and spot-on casting that resembles the characters very well, plus, the overall concept is cool, the plot is well-paced, the actors do a great job (especially Robin Shou and Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa), the cinematography and set designs are wonderful, and for a film released in 1995, the special fx are actually nice to look at, I easily recommend this film to any hardcore gamer (especially those who are fans of the MK franchise). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CastleGhost666Apr 29, 2011
This is by far the best video game movie ever made!
The plot is enjoyable,the fighting is awesome,the acting is good a little cheesy but good.Every fan of MK will be pleased with this movie!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
josakFeb 6, 2007
Cool movie. If you liked the games at all, your going to enjoy this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanieruMay 13, 2008
Pure fun. And also the best film based on game. I think it really deserves its 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabboE.Sep 2, 2008
Mortal Kombat is the greatest movie based on a video game ever made, everything about it was great, it followed the game really well, it was well casted, the special effects were pretty decent for it's time, the fight sequences were Mortal Kombat is the greatest movie based on a video game ever made, everything about it was great, it followed the game really well, it was well casted, the special effects were pretty decent for it's time, the fight sequences were excellent and the soundtrack was superb, this movie is definately one of my favorite movies of all-time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FredBobOct 18, 2006
This movie has it's good spots, but the acting could be a little better. It does a great job capturing the intensity and creativity of the Mortal Kombat world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
McGeeJul 12, 2006
One of my top 10 movies of all time. And, the first Movie Based on the Video Game, that captures everything the Game was ment to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinMMar 13, 2009
I liked this movie too, but I'm surprised it got this good of reviews, especially from critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Phail3dOct 27, 2006
Alhtough the plot went a little too complicated and seperated from the main idea in it's latter parts, I still found Mortal Kombat fun to watch. Because the plot follows one of the original video games kind of well, I have the strange Alhtough the plot went a little too complicated and seperated from the main idea in it's latter parts, I still found Mortal Kombat fun to watch. Because the plot follows one of the original video games kind of well, I have the strange feeling that people who have played the video game(s) get more out of the movie; hence the better rating by users. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheQuietGamerJul 19, 2015
Cheesy martial arts fun. It's got overacting, plenty of goofy one-liners, and over-the-top action galore. The plot falls short thanks to simplicity and a lack of focus so the movie just comes off as one long fight scene. That's not really aCheesy martial arts fun. It's got overacting, plenty of goofy one-liners, and over-the-top action galore. The plot falls short thanks to simplicity and a lack of focus so the movie just comes off as one long fight scene. That's not really a bad thing. Even with the crappy CGI and bad special effects the movie is still a treat to look at thanks to the fact that it looks almost exactly like the videogames it's based on.

Admittedly if this wasn't based off of the Mortal Kombat games it probably wouldn't have been watchable. Had they have gone with original characters and themes the issues the movie has wouldn't have been so forgivable. It really is the faithfulness to the source material that keeps it afloat. The only thing it is missing are the series signature gory finishers. The action is noticeably tame in comparison to the games.

Still, fans of the series should definitely check this out. It might not be the most high-quality film out there, but it's enjoyable and probably the best movie adaption a videogame series like Mortal Kombat could hope for. Even if you are unfamiliar with the games it's based on the action and setting should still keep you entertained provided you like martial arts and don't mind putting up with all of the cheese.

I give "Mortal Kombat" an 8.5/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Libra85Jan 1, 2011
I noticed this movie has no bad reviews and I couldn't agree more. This movie today is still in my top ten and Is the best video game adaptation to date. The presentation was flawless and the acting was very impressive. One of the best moviesI noticed this movie has no bad reviews and I couldn't agree more. This movie today is still in my top ten and Is the best video game adaptation to date. The presentation was flawless and the acting was very impressive. One of the best movies I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cfergojrSep 23, 2013
Mortal Kombat is still to this day the greatest video game-to-movie adaptation yet! The story follows the first game pretty well, the locations, actors, special effects and stunts were all amazing for its time. Hard to believe the moviesMortal Kombat is still to this day the greatest video game-to-movie adaptation yet! The story follows the first game pretty well, the locations, actors, special effects and stunts were all amazing for its time. Hard to believe the movies almost 20 years old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Feb 13, 2013
While this movie is far from good, it is still one of the few video game to movie adaptations that is both good and fairly loyal to the source material. If anything this movie has an iconic soundtrack that pretty much any MK fan knows byWhile this movie is far from good, it is still one of the few video game to movie adaptations that is both good and fairly loyal to the source material. If anything this movie has an iconic soundtrack that pretty much any MK fan knows by heart. For it's time this movie was really good with some pretty decent fight scenes. A shame they went the PG route as a bit more blood and gore would have made it a bit more interesting. But, still that aside it still is pretty good. Acting is cheezy at times, but far better than can be expected. Overall: Far from perfect, but still a fun movie to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Voodoo123Sep 2, 2017
Guilty pleasure of mine please excuse....
+Made by a Director/production team who actually understood the 90's MK universe
+Fights include character moves from the original game +Well chosen cast execute the impressive martial arts
Guilty pleasure of mine please excuse....
+Made by a Director/production team who actually understood the 90's MK universe
+Fights include character moves from the original game
+Well chosen cast execute the impressive martial arts choreography with gusto
+Story feels like a 90's saturday morning cartoon
+Sets and locations breath life to the story
+Memorable soundtrack
-sequels are just not the same ratio of fun/quality
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeDec 9, 2014
While the special effects and story are not well made,The acting and the fight scenes are better that I expected.The tournament is well made,but unfortunately it's hard to get into the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
reconplayer9037Jan 30, 2015
Unlike it's sequel, this movies plot is respectable. The fight scenes are better than its sequel and the special effects are great for its age. If you are a fan of action movies, this is a must have. I thoroughly enjoyed it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TSDGApr 12, 2015
DECENT, Compared to the sequel, considering I found this movie at Walmart few days ago that had both the first and second MK movie on a single disc, I also saw both reviews by Nostalgia Critic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rehmedies97Oct 7, 2016
The previous three videogame movies ranged from mediocre (Street Fighter) to awful (Super Mario Bros. ,Double Dragon). But here we are with Mortal Kombat. I was actually pleasantly suprised by this film and how faithful it stays to games inThe previous three videogame movies ranged from mediocre (Street Fighter) to awful (Super Mario Bros. ,Double Dragon). But here we are with Mortal Kombat. I was actually pleasantly suprised by this film and how faithful it stays to games in terms of the story and the atmosphere. Though it's CGI has aged poorly.(CGI reptile anyone?) But the bombastic techno beats and impressive set design help save the film from it's uneven acting. The film serves as a decent martial arts flick, and as a good adaptation of the game in spite of it being PG-13. Overall 70/100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheJaggedShowJul 22, 2015
This is easily one of the better films based off of a video game. Though, it still has numerous flaws, as expected. If memory serves me well, it is the 4th highest grossing film based off of a video game ever. The presentation of theThis is easily one of the better films based off of a video game. Though, it still has numerous flaws, as expected. If memory serves me well, it is the 4th highest grossing film based off of a video game ever. The presentation of the characters were hit or miss. I do like Christopher Lambert's interpretation of Raiden, rather being wise and a little cocky than just the usual all-knowing thunder god. The action sequences were just okay, but when it came to any fight scenes with Goro, boy did it look clumsy. I know stop-motion can be unusual to work with, but I've seen more believable stuff from Monty Python. Obviously, this film did no favors for any of the actors' careers. Lambert was already established with the Highlander films, Robin Shou did Beverly Hills Ninja with Chris Farley and had a small role in DOA: Dead or Alive, and Bridgette Wilson was in Billy Madison with Adam Sandler....haven't heard anything from any of them since. A couple of the martial artists, like Chris Casamassa who played Scorpion and Hakim Alston who played Liu Kang's first opponent in the tournament, were on a short-live kids show called WMAC Masters and haven't really done anything since, unless you count what they do in their lives as martial artists. Overall, as any film, it was just okay. As a video game based film, it's definitely one of the much better ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CalcalousAug 8, 2015
Disastrously cheesy but eerily intriguing/nostalgic like futa porn overall.
Acting was hammy but Lambert and Ashby's performance did stand out. I feel it was more the fault of the script rather than the cast (for the most part), like the
Disastrously cheesy but eerily intriguing/nostalgic like futa porn overall.
Acting was hammy but Lambert and Ashby's performance did stand out. I feel it was more the fault of the script rather than the cast (for the most part), like the special effects, it had '90 s' written all over it. Tagawa, the actor everyone know though few can name managed to pull off the serious side to an otherwise comedic role if handed to another. What I did like were two of the fight scenes which the original MK soundtrack complimented so perfectly and charged our anticipation, alas it didn't last long. In the end it's not a bad movie but just a sign of the time's limits as well as extensive boundaries in film. You can just tell straight off if a certain production have a cultist following, and this does for good reason. It does have little nods to the game but nothing overly satisfying. Fans; don't expect it to be anything like the game. (PS. dank soundtrack)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
weskergamerApr 17, 2017
Mortal Kombat is one of the best martial-arts movie of all time. Based of the greatest fighting videogame franchise ever made, the movie has great kombats, lovely characters and the best music ever in any action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews