Mortal Kombat

Mortal Kombat Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 246 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Summoned to a mysterious island, three martial arts warriors engage in the ultimate battle of good vs. evil. (New Line Cinema)

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Kevin Thomas
    90
    A martial arts action-adventure with wondrous special effects and witty production design, it effectively combines supernatural terror, a mythical slay-the-dragon, save-the-princess odyssey and even a spiritual quest for self-knowledge. [21 Aug 1995 Pg. F3]
  2. It is one continuous fight sequence from opening scene to final credits, but lacks the blood, profanity, and gore that would have merited a more adult rating.
  3. The movie's extensive martial arts sequences, in which combatants bounce off each other doing triple handsprings, suggest a slightly more earthbound version of the aerial ballets in Hong Kong action-adventure films.
  4. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    60
    The filmmakers try to solve the problem of turning an experience which merely consists of a series of fights into a story by... ignoring it, presenting a film which merely consists of a series of fights.
  5. And although director Paul Anderson treats the story with appropriate deadpan respect, there are enough sparks of humor (particularly generated by Linden Ashby as a shallow martial-arts actor who worries that he's a fake, with good reason) to amuse the adults accompanying the 10-year-old boys in the audience.
  6. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    50
    Just like the popular (and more graphically violent) video game it's spun from, kung-fooy and kartoony Kombat shoves plot and personality aside to focus on action cloaked in mystic mumbo-jumbo and gloomy mock-gothic graphics. [21 Aug 1995 Pg. 03.D]
  7. 50
    It is, in essence, the video game transferred part and parcel to the screen, and very well at that.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. GeorgeK.
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Sure it is an old movie now but still it has lavish production design. Everything is created in full detail, good acting, Absolutely amazing. Sure it is an old movie now but still it has lavish production design. Everything is created in full detail, good acting, nice injections shots of humor, fascinating fights, excellent editing and one unfuzzy direction from Anderson. Plus the exotic locations. Maybe the story is not serious-which it isn't-but it is presented in a way that makes the movie serious. Another plus-the exotic-atmospheric score by George S.Clinton, the techno soundtrack and the photography. It 's good to see locations that they have a blue feeling(Stage with SubZero), a hellish one(Scorpion) etc.. Cary Hiroyuki Tagawa is simply fantastic! Collapse
  2. McGee
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    One of my top 10 movies of all time. And, the first Movie Based on the Video Game, that captures everything the Game was ment to be.
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Unlike it's sequel, this movies plot is respectable. The fight scenes are better than its sequel and the special effects are great for itsUnlike it's sequel, this movies plot is respectable. The fight scenes are better than its sequel and the special effects are great for its age. If you are a fan of action movies, this is a must have. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Expand
  4. KevinM
    Mar 13, 2009
    7
    I liked this movie too, but I'm surprised it got this good of reviews, especially from critics.
  5. Aug 8, 2015
    7
    Disastrously cheesy but eerily intriguing/nostalgic like futa porn overall.
    Acting was hammy but Lambert and Ashby's performance did stand
    Disastrously cheesy but eerily intriguing/nostalgic like futa porn overall.
    Acting was hammy but Lambert and Ashby's performance did stand out. I feel it was more the fault of the script rather than the cast (for the most part), like the special effects, it had '90 s' written all over it. Tagawa, the actor everyone know though few can name managed to pull off the serious side to an otherwise comedic role if handed to another. What I did like were two of the fight scenes which the original MK soundtrack complimented so perfectly and charged our anticipation, alas it didn't last long. In the end it's not a bad movie but just a sign of the time's limits as well as extensive boundaries in film. You can just tell straight off if a certain production have a cultist following, and this does for good reason. It does have little nods to the game but nothing overly satisfying. Fans; don't expect it to be anything like the game. (PS. dank soundtrack)
    Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I rented Mortal Kombat on Boxing Day 2013 so I could fill the extra hours of boredom. At the first cutscene when a boy called Chan Kang was killed by Shang Tsung, I was confused but I soon realised that it was a flashback so I continued the movie. The plot is based on the first Mortal Kombat, but then I was thrown off with the fact that there were characters from Mortal Kombat 2. The plot was not constructed or written very well because at the ending when Shao Kahn appears, I was thinking "Which Mortal Kombat game are they basing the movie on? Mortal Kombat or Mortal Kombat 2??"

    I liked the fight scenes in the game with my favorite being Johnny Cage vs Scorpion and I also liked some of the jokes that certain characters make in the movie. The funniest part of the movie for me was when Johnny Cage punched Goro in the nuts. The environments were awesome as well for a 90's movie. However, the awful dialogue and the acting that ranged from bad like Christopher Lambert (Raiden) to hilaribad like Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa (Shang Tsung) who was laughably awful at the role. Memorable quotes from Shang Tsung included "Your soul is MINE!", "Fatality!" and "Finish him/her!". And let's not forget his weird screw face that he does in certain parts of the movie!!! LOL XD

    Overall, it is an alright movie, but it would have been better if the acting was great, the dialogue wasn't cheesy and the plot was re-worked. I am not a fan of Mortal Kombat but I kinda liked the movie.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely the worst movie I've ever seen. I was unfortunately dragged to see this instead of some other cool movie at the time that was R-rated because my best friend was asked to take his younger siblings along with him to the movie theater and they were not old enough to see an R-rated movie. So, like a trooper I stuck with to endure this movie while our more scumbag friends ran off to see a better movie. Going in, I didn't have any expectations really. I had played countless hours of Mortal Kombat the video game in the arcade while in high school, and that was a cool game, so I thought, hey, this might not be so bad. Man, was I wrong. Now why would you take a video game filled with extreme graphic violence and then try to turn it into a movie for a General audience aimed at young children? Because you're an idiot without any common sense, that's why! The only "fatality" is when one of the fighters stupidly slips and falls off the side of the mountain, there is no blood, no gore, nothing. This was one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. And this is supposed to be an action movie? I'd rather watch somebody play the video game than watch this movie, seriously, watching somebody play the video game is way more entertaining! What a waste of money and time. Don't ever see this movie. Don't rent it. If it comes on TV change the channel! because if you see it, you're gonna have a bad time! Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames Image
    Published: September 8, 2010
    This week's "Resident Evil: Afterlife" is yet another film adaptation of a popular videogame. Everything you've heard about the genre is true: there are a lot of terrible movies, and a lot of Uwe Boll movies. (And those categories are definitely not mutually exclusive.) We look at the "best" and worst examples of games-turned-movies.