Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Summoned to a mysterious island, three martial arts warriors engage in the ultimate battle of good vs. evil. (New Line Cinema)
  • Director: Paul W.S. Anderson
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Fantasy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 101 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. A martial arts action-adventure with wondrous special effects and witty production design, it effectively combines supernatural terror, a mythical slay-the-dragon, save-the-princess odyssey and even a spiritual quest for self-knowledge. [21 Aug 1995 Pg. F3]
  2. It is one continuous fight sequence from opening scene to final credits, but lacks the blood, profanity, and gore that would have merited a more adult rating.
  3. The movie's extensive martial arts sequences, in which combatants bounce off each other doing triple handsprings, suggest a slightly more earthbound version of the aerial ballets in Hong Kong action-adventure films.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Harrington
    60
    A mix of martial-arts and special-effects magic, the film serves its nonstop confrontations either straight up or with a twist (as when they involve Kombatants with special powers, like Sub-Zero, Reptile and Scorpion).
  5. And although director Paul Anderson treats the story with appropriate deadpan respect, there are enough sparks of humor (particularly generated by Linden Ashby as a shallow martial-arts actor who worries that he's a fake, with good reason) to amuse the adults accompanying the 10-year-old boys in the audience.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Diones
    50
    But soon the movie falls flat under an uninspired good-versus-evil plot and pathetically simpleminded dialogue.
  7. Reviewed by: Laura Evenson
    50
    Mortal Kombat the movie has everything a teenage boy could want: snakes that jut out of a villain's palms, acrobatic kung- fu fighting and a couple of battling babes. Everything, that is, but an interesting plot, decent dialogue and compelling acting

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Best video game movie ever! I feel this is the only movie where the filmmakers actually respected the video game source material. I've watched this movie many times as a kid, and I always shout "MORTAL KOMBAT!" whenever I feel like it. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best video game movie ever made!
    The plot is enjoyable,the fighting is awesome,the acting is good a little cheesy but
    good.Every fan of MK will be pleased with this movie! Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    4 years since my first review on this movie, and still the best video game movie ever made, Mortal Kombat is what a fighting game movie should be; faithful to the game with a group of well-choreographed fight scenes and spot-on casting that resembles the characters very well, plus, the overall concept is cool, the plot is well-paced, the actors do a great job (especially Robin Shou and Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa), the cinematography and set designs are wonderful, and for a film released in 1995, the special fx are actually nice to look at, I easily recommend this film to any hardcore gamer (especially those who are fans of the MK franchise). Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    While this movie is far from good, it is still one of the few video game to movie adaptations that is both good and fairly loyal to the source material. If anything this movie has an iconic soundtrack that pretty much any MK fan knows by heart. For it's time this movie was really good with some pretty decent fight scenes. A shame they went the PG route as a bit more blood and gore would have made it a bit more interesting. But, still that aside it still is pretty good. Acting is cheezy at times, but far better than can be expected. Overall: Far from perfect, but still a fun movie to watch. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    It's a fun movie to watch and to makes jokes of but it will be remembered for being the best live action video game movie it may not be a great movie but its a pretty ok movie with some awesome fight scenes and colorful characters like sub zero and scorpion. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I rented Mortal Kombat on Boxing Day 2013 so I could fill the extra hours of boredom. At the first cutscene when a boy called Chan Kang was killed by Shang Tsung, I was confused but I soon realised that it was a flashback so I continued the movie. The plot is based on the first Mortal Kombat, but then I was thrown off with the fact that there were characters from Mortal Kombat 2. The plot was not constructed or written very well because at the ending when Shao Kahn appears, I was thinking "Which Mortal Kombat game are they basing the movie on? Mortal Kombat or Mortal Kombat 2??"

    I liked the fight scenes in the game with my favorite being Johnny Cage vs Scorpion and I also liked some of the jokes that certain characters make in the movie. The funniest part of the movie for me was when Johnny Cage punched Goro in the nuts. The environments were awesome as well for a 90's movie. However, the awful dialogue and the acting that ranged from bad like Christopher Lambert (Raiden) to hilaribad like Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa (Shang Tsung) who was laughably awful at the role. Memorable quotes from Shang Tsung included "Your soul is MINE!", "Fatality!" and "Finish him/her!". And let's not forget his weird screw face that he does in certain parts of the movie!!! LOL XD

    Overall, it is an alright movie, but it would have been better if the acting was great, the dialogue wasn't cheesy and the plot was re-worked. I am not a fan of Mortal Kombat but I kinda liked the movie.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely the worst movie I've ever seen. I was unfortunately dragged to see this instead of some other cool movie at the time that was R-rated because my best friend was asked to take his younger siblings along with him to the movie theater and they were not old enough to see an R-rated movie. So, like a trooper I stuck with to endure this movie while our more scumbag friends ran off to see a better movie. Going in, I didn't have any expectations really. I had played countless hours of Mortal Kombat the video game in the arcade while in high school, and that was a cool game, so I thought, hey, this might not be so bad. Man, was I wrong. Now why would you take a video game filled with extreme graphic violence and then try to turn it into a movie for a General audience aimed at young children? Because you're an idiot without any common sense, that's why! The only "fatality" is when one of the fighters stupidly slips and falls off the side of the mountain, there is no blood, no gore, nothing. This was one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. And this is supposed to be an action movie? I'd rather watch somebody play the video game than watch this movie, seriously, watching somebody play the video game is way more entertaining! What a waste of money and time. Don't ever see this movie. Don't rent it. If it comes on TV change the channel! because if you see it, you're gonna have a bad time! Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames Image
    Published: September 8, 2010
    This week's "Resident Evil: Afterlife" is yet another film adaptation of a popular videogame. Everything you've heard about the genre is true: there are a lot of terrible movies, and a lot of Uwe Boll movies. (And those categories are definitely not mutually exclusive.) We look at the "best" and worst examples of games-turned-movies.