Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 18, 2001
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 645 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
557
Mixed:
33
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LeahM.Oct 28, 2002
When i first went to see, my date and i wanted to leave during the movie but we decided to stay and you know what? it was worth it!! i must admit though, the beginning is so wierd and confusing, but if you finished the whole thing,When i first went to see, my date and i wanted to leave during the movie but we decided to stay and you know what? it was worth it!! i must admit though, the beginning is so wierd and confusing, but if you finished the whole thing, you'll want to watch it more than once!! i love it!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielleG.Jan 31, 2002
Though the beginning made me doubtful in Luhrmann's talents.. you really warm up to it after 20 minutes. I'ts wonderful absolutely wonderful. If you haven't seen it, please do, you won't regret it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyG.Jan 31, 2002
I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie. It is the most heart warming and heart breaking movie I have ever seen in my life. I give my compliments to the director. I loved it with all my heart, thank you for this experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyM.Feb 14, 2002
This movie, left me wanting to have been in 19th century Paris, in the Moulin Rouge. This film is a feast of extravagance, rich costumes, history, music and dance. Can't wait to get the vid!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeA.Feb 15, 2002
I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AquairlFeb 18, 2002
I am so in love with this movie!!! It is the best movie I have seen in my entire life!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaliK.Feb 19, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS. I am absolutely IN LOVE with this movie. I am watching it now, for the sixth time in three days. It is just amazing, I bet I am the only person to sob through nearly the entire movie. I absolutely love the songs they sing, OH MY GOODNESS. I am absolutely IN LOVE with this movie. I am watching it now, for the sixth time in three days. It is just amazing, I bet I am the only person to sob through nearly the entire movie. I absolutely love the songs they sing, especially "Come What May" It's the most beautiful song I have ever heard, my boyfriend even dedicated it to me... Just an awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandieC.Feb 23, 2002
Awesome movie!!!! Smiled, cried, and went out and bought it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LyndsayK.Feb 27, 2002
All that I can say is that this movie is phenomenally created and presented. It is definitely one of the best movies I have seen in my life!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelC.Mar 19, 2002
Exceptionally artistic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanD.Mar 21, 2002
This movie is great, it's kinda weird in the beginning, but once it gets to the story and singing its a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PinduP.Mar 23, 2002
This film screams originality, even if you didn't like it you have to give it that at least!!! It's bizarre and random, which makes it so great. A good job all the way , well done baz :-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaJ.Mar 23, 2002
Spectacular, Spectacular!! Best movie ever created!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshB.Mar 23, 2002
This movie is excellent from the music to the actors. I happen to like the fact that they put modern music into the 1900's. Anyway, I love it, it is a good mix of everything. A good movie for everyone except for Nancy l. I don't This movie is excellent from the music to the actors. I happen to like the fact that they put modern music into the 1900's. Anyway, I love it, it is a good mix of everything. A good movie for everyone except for Nancy l. I don't knw how you could not like it. --jbo-- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilieR.Apr 16, 2002
This is the best movie i've ever seen. I have seen it almost 40 times, and i STILL haven't gotten tired of it! It never gets boring, and the music is amazing. Nicole Kidman, Ewan Mcgregor, and every body else involved in making This is the best movie i've ever seen. I have seen it almost 40 times, and i STILL haven't gotten tired of it! It never gets boring, and the music is amazing. Nicole Kidman, Ewan Mcgregor, and every body else involved in making this film are spectacular (spectacular). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeW.Apr 25, 2002
Best movie EVER!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanW.May 23, 2002
It was the best movie I have ever seen!! Thats that! The actors were great, with great voices!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanMay 23, 2002
How anyone could rate it lower, I don't know, they must be crazy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleighB.May 27, 2002
It was amazing...i couldnt take my eyes off the screen. i loved how they used modern music. nicole and ewan were incredable. i cry every time i watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatiV.May 28, 2002
I love this movie. It is great, especially the music. It is also nice to have a happy and a sad ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaJun 13, 2002
This was the best movie!!!! I loved every minute of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlyP.Jun 14, 2002
BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!! Nic and Ewan were great in it, and it was sooo emotianal and I loved it!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraB.Jun 16, 2002
I loved this movie soo much and I can't stop listening to the soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathL.Jun 17, 2002
It was the best movie that has been made in a really long time! Baz Luhrmann is amazing! Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor were wonderful and can both sing so well!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerS.Jun 17, 2002
Best Movie ever! Nicole Kidman is such a good actress. Ewan McGregor is the best actor. Wait did I say such good actress I meant best! Baz Luhrmann is the best director. No one could hate this movie. The music is just the best. And Love is Best Movie ever! Nicole Kidman is such a good actress. Ewan McGregor is the best actor. Wait did I say such good actress I meant best! Baz Luhrmann is the best director. No one could hate this movie. The music is just the best. And Love is all You need. It is a Spectacular Spectacular movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KerrieW.Jun 19, 2002
Really, this movie should be a 20! A new and inspiring movie that makes you fall in love with love. Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor's fantastic acting and amazing voices creates an awesome atmosphere!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayaSep 23, 2002
All you need is LOVE.....and Moulin Rouge! Thank you for waking the movie musical from its long sleep. Your movie and vision is beautiful! If only people could learn that the most important thing you will ever learn is just to love, and be All you need is LOVE.....and Moulin Rouge! Thank you for waking the movie musical from its long sleep. Your movie and vision is beautiful! If only people could learn that the most important thing you will ever learn is just to love, and be loved in return. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeganP.Mar 21, 2003
I have found that I was never too interested in musicals. This movie, though, was absolutely brilliant. I fell in love with this movie. It was silly and charming. A very enjoyable movie. The cast was almost too perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieD.Apr 19, 2003
This movie was breathtaking! The songs lifted my heart up and made me what to dance! It touches your heart and makes you feel things about love that you never felt before! The colors of the sets were gorgeous and I truely recommend this to This movie was breathtaking! The songs lifted my heart up and made me what to dance! It touches your heart and makes you feel things about love that you never felt before! The colors of the sets were gorgeous and I truely recommend this to anyone that wants to love and be loved in return!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AntonioA.Jun 14, 2003
A brilliant film! Its been a while since a musical came out in theaters. Great set, costumes, music, acting, and wonderfully directed. Nicole Kidman is excellent in this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenS.Nov 25, 2001
Real and serious beneath its superficial superficiality. Ewan McGregor's vocals are amazingly affecting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuraS.Dec 11, 2001
The most wonderful and spectacular movie I have ever seen. The best actors. The most beutiful songs. Sound track is perfect. If they don't win Oscar, there is no truth in the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShellT.Dec 17, 2001
I love Moulin Rouge! It's so exciting and fast moving compared to most films and is a great love story with great songs!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaisyR.Dec 19, 2001
Amazing. I think it will win the 2002 Oscar for best picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Dec 27, 2001
One of the best movies I've seen this year! So far from what I've heard people either love it or hate it. According to my observations, you enjoy musicals, you love it; you don't like musicals, you think this movie's One of the best movies I've seen this year! So far from what I've heard people either love it or hate it. According to my observations, you enjoy musicals, you love it; you don't like musicals, you think this movie's rediculous. I LIKE MUSICALS, I LOVE IT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerseyGirlNov 27, 2002
I really love this movie. The reason why is because of all the love in it. But also I didn't like the beggining it seemed a little silly and it hardly made any sense, but when the middle came and the ending it seemed like I wanted to I really love this movie. The reason why is because of all the love in it. But also I didn't like the beggining it seemed a little silly and it hardly made any sense, but when the middle came and the ending it seemed like I wanted to see it over and over again. I just hope they make another movie of this with the same actors and with a lot of singing!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TargetF209Feb 8, 2011
Visually stunning and musically OTT, it may all be a bit much at times for some who aren't fully into either the romantic comedy or the musical genres. But for genre fans, it ticks every box and gives the target audience everything they askVisually stunning and musically OTT, it may all be a bit much at times for some who aren't fully into either the romantic comedy or the musical genres. But for genre fans, it ticks every box and gives the target audience everything they ask for by the bucket load. The only big downside, is McGregor and Kidman, two big stars used to promote the film, both of which can't really sing. If two unknowns who could sing were in the lead roles, it could have been a lot better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleFeb 8, 2015
Frenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird, Moulin Rouge! is a very good film directed by Baz Luhrmann who specializes in frenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird movies. With a very well done romantic element and very good musicalFrenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird, Moulin Rouge! is a very good film directed by Baz Luhrmann who specializes in frenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird movies. With a very well done romantic element and very good musical numbers, Moulin Rouge! avoids the traps that many "musicals" fall into and it makes all of the songs incredibly enjoyable, rather than leaving them with a feeling of being out of place and just unnecessary. Here, the songs are over the top as expected, but always enjoyable and always seemed to provide the most magical of movie moments found in this one. Ewan McGregor is great here (if what I saw online is true and he did do all of his singing, then wow am I impressed, he has an amazing voice), Nicole Kidman is very good too, as is John Leguizamo and the rest of the cast. This one is Baz Luhrmann at his very best and it shows. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeApr 5, 2016
"Moulin Rouge!" looks incredibly stupid and dumb... in a fashionably great way as possible. This makes dumb people look a lot smart with their movie-going experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
movie-princessFeb 15, 2016
My favorite musical of all time. Heartfelt and beautiful.. I Cried. Seen this like a hundred times. Nicole and Ewan surprises, both are perfection. 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews