User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 604 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 604
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    Frenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird, Moulin Rouge! is a very good film directed by Baz Luhrmann who specializes in frenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird movies. With a very well done romantic element and very good musical numbers, Moulin Rouge! avoids the traps that many "musicals" fall into and it makes all of the songs incredibly enjoyable, rather than leaving them with aFrenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird, Moulin Rouge! is a very good film directed by Baz Luhrmann who specializes in frenetic, over the top, and incredibly weird movies. With a very well done romantic element and very good musical numbers, Moulin Rouge! avoids the traps that many "musicals" fall into and it makes all of the songs incredibly enjoyable, rather than leaving them with a feeling of being out of place and just unnecessary. Here, the songs are over the top as expected, but always enjoyable and always seemed to provide the most magical of movie moments found in this one. Ewan McGregor is great here (if what I saw online is true and he did do all of his singing, then wow am I impressed, he has an amazing voice), Nicole Kidman is very good too, as is John Leguizamo and the rest of the cast. This one is Baz Luhrmann at his very best and it shows. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    This is my all-time favourite movie! I adore the fact that the whole movie is set around a love that can't really exist (kind of like Romeo and Juliet, i guess.) However, the songs are beautiful, the actors are amazing and the sets, scenery and colours of the film are really luxurious. The theme is such a refreshing change, all about the Bohemian revolution and their beliefs of beauty,This is my all-time favourite movie! I adore the fact that the whole movie is set around a love that can't really exist (kind of like Romeo and Juliet, i guess.) However, the songs are beautiful, the actors are amazing and the sets, scenery and colours of the film are really luxurious. The theme is such a refreshing change, all about the Bohemian revolution and their beliefs of beauty, freedom, truth and love, overcoming everything. This movie is perfect. No faults from me! Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    5
    If only the solidly composed second half matched the frantic, haphazard, and nearly unwatchable antics of its first. "Moulin Rouge!," with its generally unoriginal soundtrack stylings and chaotic editing, is mostly style over substance.
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    This movie was really great fun in my opinion. I hardly ever rate movies 10 out of 10, so this must be something. The music is great, the dialogue is very well written, the acting is fabulous, and the movie overall is spectacular spectacular. If you like musicals, this is for you.
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    One of my most-hated movies. Non-sensical. Anti-logical. Over-done. Pointless. Imbalanced. A visual orgy for people who do not like to think.
    Like an acid trip while having the flu.
  6. Sep 15, 2013
    5
    To be blunt, this movie is stupid.

    But, also allot of fun. The sheer level if idiocy is like looking at an abstract painting come to life. It makes little sense, it's very colorful, and comes off like it is high class garbage (ie like most art.) Overall: This movie is the embodiment of the saying, "it's so bad that it's good." Every moment is one WTF moment after the next, yet you
    To be blunt, this movie is stupid.

    But, also allot of fun. The sheer level if idiocy is like looking at an abstract painting come to life. It makes little sense, it's very colorful, and comes off like it is high class garbage (ie like most art.)

    Overall:
    This movie is the embodiment of the saying, "it's so bad that it's good." Every moment is one WTF moment after the next, yet you keep watching. Kind of like a car accident.
    Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    After a decade long, Moulin Rouge is still one of my all -time favorite movies. I never get bored of watching it. Ewan's singing and performance is amazing, and I like his version of Your Song the most!
  8. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    By the end of the 90's, the musical movie was dead in the water. That all changed when a little mad man from down under named Baz Luhrman helmed his attempt at "An English Language Bollywood-style re-imagining of La Traviata using contemporary songs". We expected a train wreck. What we got was one of the most original, striking, and heartbreaking romantic films of all time. Who doesn'tBy the end of the 90's, the musical movie was dead in the water. That all changed when a little mad man from down under named Baz Luhrman helmed his attempt at "An English Language Bollywood-style re-imagining of La Traviata using contemporary songs". We expected a train wreck. What we got was one of the most original, striking, and heartbreaking romantic films of all time. Who doesn't still swoon when Christian sings "Your Song"? Expand
  9. May 26, 2012
    10
    Moulin Rouge it's perfect. Why 66 points only?!!? God, It deserves more than that. The passion that it's seen by the way they sing their songs it's unbelievable. Ewan McGregor's work is excellent, and nicole's too. Their are perfect.
  10. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    Moulin Rouge is and unbearably long movie that was so bad I rather sit around my house and stare at the walls. The music was absolutely terrible and I seriously can't say 1 good thing about the movie other than the fact I will never see it again.
  11. Mar 3, 2012
    1
    They disguise how terrible the sets look by covering them up with an endless barrage of open-mouthed sweaty faces in extreme close-up. However, nothing can mask the god-awful squealing that passes as singing or the amateurish camerawork.
  12. Zal
    Jan 11, 2012
    1
    This movie is a complete and utter mess. The camerawork is all over the place, the singing isn't that good, the characters are very flat and have no depth whatsoever and the message about love is incredibly pretentious.
    My biggest grip is with the message. This movie is supposedly about love. But we never really learn what love really means according to this movie. Saying the word "love" a
    This movie is a complete and utter mess. The camerawork is all over the place, the singing isn't that good, the characters are very flat and have no depth whatsoever and the message about love is incredibly pretentious.
    My biggest grip is with the message. This movie is supposedly about love. But we never really learn what love really means according to this movie. Saying the word "love" a bunch of times does not count as talking about it. Love is arguably the most complex emotion. It's something that should be talked about in great lengths. But this movie never tells us what love is. The type of love that is stressed is the love you have with a significant other. That's not to say that that isn't a type of love worth talking about, but that's not the only type of love there is. What about love for a family member or love for your friends? Even this wouldn't be a problem but the love between the two leads is spontaneous and is not that interesting.
    The story itself is incredibly thin and worn out.
    None of the characters are interesting or complex.
    The camera can never sit still for five seconds.
    For me, nothing about this movie worked. But it still gets a 1 because the costumes were nice and I cannot stop listening to "El Tango de Roxanne."
    Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    Good as a musical, bad as a movie, the story is a little simply but its ok, is a good movie to have a good time, but the pint is that is has to be a love story and its too far of it
  14. Aug 25, 2011
    2
    Moulin Rouge is so contrived, so lame, so up-its-own-a**, and so insultingly unoriginal, it really does make Titanic look like Casablanca. The characters are written horribly, the story is absolute crap, and the movie seems to think it's profound, and no, we are not at least able to enjoy the spectacle, because the movie is shot in such a way that the sets and costumes escape our vision asMoulin Rouge is so contrived, so lame, so up-its-own-a**, and so insultingly unoriginal, it really does make Titanic look like Casablanca. The characters are written horribly, the story is absolute crap, and the movie seems to think it's profound, and no, we are not at least able to enjoy the spectacle, because the movie is shot in such a way that the sets and costumes escape our vision as fleeting as possible. Let's imagine an incredibly shallow movie as a hollow eggshell covered in glitter. Now let's imagine self-importance and pretentiousness as a giant hand around the eggshell, pushing harder the more it believes the movie is spectacular. Do the math. Expand
  15. May 27, 2011
    10
    Truthfully, the best movie I have ever seen. In my entire life. WOW!
  16. Feb 8, 2011
    7
    Visually stunning and musically OTT, it may all be a bit much at times for some who aren't fully into either the romantic comedy or the musical genres. But for genre fans, it ticks every box and gives the target audience everything they ask for by the bucket load. The only big downside, is McGregor and Kidman, two big stars used to promote the film, both of which can't really sing. If twoVisually stunning and musically OTT, it may all be a bit much at times for some who aren't fully into either the romantic comedy or the musical genres. But for genre fans, it ticks every box and gives the target audience everything they ask for by the bucket load. The only big downside, is McGregor and Kidman, two big stars used to promote the film, both of which can't really sing. If two unknowns who could sing were in the lead roles, it could have been a lot better. Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    VincentV. Is obviously a close-minded individual because this film was a wickedly unique and creative display of art. The fact the entire cast sang throughout the whole movie was marvelous in itself. And as if the song selection and delivery weren't entertaining enough, they added a ton of visually stimulating wardrobes and set designs. I am not a person that enjoys musicals very much,VincentV. Is obviously a close-minded individual because this film was a wickedly unique and creative display of art. The fact the entire cast sang throughout the whole movie was marvelous in itself. And as if the song selection and delivery weren't entertaining enough, they added a ton of visually stimulating wardrobes and set designs. I am not a person that enjoys musicals very much, but this movie is so much more than a musical. I could sit here and type on and on pointing out the many reasons why Moulin Rouge is fabulous movie, but I don't think I would do justice to the movie. I never get tired if seeing this movie, its always just as entertaining as the first time I saw it. Stubborn people like VincentV. will probably always give horrible reviews to movies where there's no over-the-top mayhem and/or nudity. Expand
  18. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Moulin Rouge is definitely the best film I have ever seen! First of, I must applaud Baz Luhrmann's great vision and direction - it surely was superb! The technical aspect of the film is extraordinary: amazing film editing, breath-taking cinematography, perfect music and just overall an excellently made film. The actors, though, make the film what it is. Nicole Kidman is ABSOLUTELY PERFECTMoulin Rouge is definitely the best film I have ever seen! First of, I must applaud Baz Luhrmann's great vision and direction - it surely was superb! The technical aspect of the film is extraordinary: amazing film editing, breath-taking cinematography, perfect music and just overall an excellently made film. The actors, though, make the film what it is. Nicole Kidman is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT as Satine, and has become my favourite actress ever since I first watched this masterpiece. One of the best performances I've ever seen on-screen: she sings, she dances, she dies. Perfect summary. But it's also so much more! And Ewan McGregor - who would have thought he could sing like that??? Amazing voice and one just falls in love with him. The supporting cast is also brilliant, especially Jim Broadbent who deservingly took the BAFTA award home for 'Moulin Rouge.'

    Overall, Moulin Rouge is an eye-candy film for people who truly believe in freedom, beauty, truth, and above all things - love.
    Expand
  19. CARLD
    May 30, 2009
    10
    I saw it--several times. I luv it! I bought it-DVD...where is Blu-Ray version?....stunning visual work....filmmakers art masterpiece....Not for the artistically deprived !...which may explain some bewildered comments.
  20. KristiJ.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Wonderful movie, just a little dizzying at times.
  21. VincentV.
    Oct 24, 2008
    1
    Awful special effects, poor music, poor singing, poor acting, poor storyline... total suck.
  22. C?hatT.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    The Best Thing You Will Ever Learn is to love and be loved in return... This movie will always be my best.
  23. SteveE.
    Jul 11, 2008
    0
    What on earth is all the fuss about? How can so many people give 10/10 to this load of rubbish? I would have given it -1 if I coukld! We turned it off after 30 minutes - never to re-visit - and regret wasting those 30 minutes and the price of the DVD. I wouldn't even give this unwatched trash to my worst friend.
  24. MadisonR.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    My all time favorite movie! It allows the watcher to feel as though he or she is actually in the night club. The anachronistic music allows the audience member to really feel the emotions that were experienced during the time that the club was at it's early 20th century high points. The characters are well thought out and deep, and unlike many musicals, it seems believable that these My all time favorite movie! It allows the watcher to feel as though he or she is actually in the night club. The anachronistic music allows the audience member to really feel the emotions that were experienced during the time that the club was at it's early 20th century high points. The characters are well thought out and deep, and unlike many musicals, it seems believable that these people really would just break out into song together. Everyone should watch this movie several times, because it does take getting used to the hyper activity that is the Moulin Rouge. Expand
  25. GodyP.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    The best of 2001! A masterpiece!
  26. Nicki
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie it deserves way over a ten! It was so much fun to watch, I could watch it over and over again. Definetly is my favorite movie, the music, the acting, the costumes, everything was amazing and definetly worth your time!
  27. JuanP.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Fantastic film, great cast, great music. Nicole K. is spectacular spectacular.
  28. DrunkenMaster
    Feb 19, 2007
    0
    This is a film for people who know nothing of history and don't mind seeing one of the most talented and tragic artists of all time portrayed as a singing and dancing life-of-the-party midget. Never mind that the REAL star of the Moulin Rouge was an obese redhead (a far cry from Kidman) nicknamed "The Glutton", never mind that the film is chock full of ridiculous anachronism (who the This is a film for people who know nothing of history and don't mind seeing one of the most talented and tragic artists of all time portrayed as a singing and dancing life-of-the-party midget. Never mind that the REAL star of the Moulin Rouge was an obese redhead (a far cry from Kidman) nicknamed "The Glutton", never mind that the film is chock full of ridiculous anachronism (who the hell sold these jerks the rights to "Smells like Teen Spirit", fer chrissakes??? they should be found and punished. Severely.), never mind that the entire film is directed to look exactly like an extended music video: Ewan MacGregor is SO DREAMY WHEN HE SINGS and that is all that matters! (Ugh, excuse me for just a second: I feel ill.) A lot of people defend this move because they think it's "romantic". Well, if your ideal of love and romance is this gaudy, this detached from reality, this superficial, you can keep it. I'll stick with the real thing. This film is strictly for fourteen year old girls. Even a guest appearance by the Green Fairy can't cover the stink of this turd. Expand
  29. JamieS.
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    This movie combined the best of musical theatre and modern cinema. The p.d. technology and charming antiquity meet and blend beautifully in this piece. Kudos!
  30. Alex
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    It's by far the best movie that I've ever seen. The whole cast is perfect, Ewan McGregor in particular. He has the voice of an angel. The chemistry between each cast member is palpable...just amazing. Costumes, setting, plot, script...everything was phenomenal.
  31. KristinaB.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Ewan McGrego has one of the most wonderful voices I've ever heard. I absolutely love it. I love this story. It shows how people can truelly fall in love at first site. It's just absolutely beautiful. Anyone that can bring an Elton John love song and make it sound more beautiful than the original is wonderful. Baz Luhrmann chose the perfect man for that job. And Nicole Kidman Ewan McGrego has one of the most wonderful voices I've ever heard. I absolutely love it. I love this story. It shows how people can truelly fall in love at first site. It's just absolutely beautiful. Anyone that can bring an Elton John love song and make it sound more beautiful than the original is wonderful. Baz Luhrmann chose the perfect man for that job. And Nicole Kidman wasn't so bad herself. He chose a beautiful actress for Satine. Don't think anyone could've pulled it off better than her. Expand
  32. GodyP.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    The best of 2001! A masterpiece!
  33. CameronC
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Love it. Used this site for years and this is the only thing I've ever voted on. LOVE IT.
  34. TonyB.
    Sep 24, 2005
    8
    Beautifully acted, directed, designed, photographed, scored and edited, Moulin Rouge is also exciting and quite moving.
  35. BrandonH.
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite movie i could watch it over and over again its the bomb.comb, close friend ginny sites has only seen a few scenes from it and is in love as am I one of the best movies ever created and ever will be ewan mcgregor and nicole kidman are hot togther i love them, there amazing this movie was cast perfectly i would suggest it to everyone.
  36. LayneW.
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This is a frenzied, messy movie musical, but it is highly enjoyable. Nicole Kidman exhibits a range that is almost too astonishing for words: she succeeds in high melodrama, camp, subtlety, comedy, and her singing is just so beautiful. Personally, Jill S., I don't think she falls flat with her comic bits at all. She has perfect timing; the scene in the elephant dressing room in This is a frenzied, messy movie musical, but it is highly enjoyable. Nicole Kidman exhibits a range that is almost too astonishing for words: she succeeds in high melodrama, camp, subtlety, comedy, and her singing is just so beautiful. Personally, Jill S., I don't think she falls flat with her comic bits at all. She has perfect timing; the scene in the elephant dressing room in particular really showcases her gifts for comedy. The way she shifts her eyes, raises her eyebrows, and adds that hilariously seductive tone to her voice is pure comic genius. And she's gorgeous beyond belief. Expand
  37. AdamS
    Jun 23, 2005
    0
    Reckon on having seen literally 1000's of films and being decently objective but this film has to be bottom of the pile. An absolute and utter shocker. To think this is the director who brought us Strictly Ballroom and Romeo + Juliet. Couldn't stop laughing at Ewen McGregor trying to sing. Hysterical for all the wrong reasons
  38. JillS.
    May 15, 2005
    9
    Love it! Nicole kidman falls a bit flat when she tries to be funny, but Ewan McGregor pours himself wholly into every scene. Positively charming.
  39. ElkinsA.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    Unique.
  40. DaveC.
    Sep 19, 2004
    6
    As far as other Baz Luhrmann films go, this is a far cry from the charm of Strictly Ballroom or the beautifully shot 1996 version of Romeo + Juliet. Instead what we have here is a slab of of hideously overblown pretentiousness, a post-modern wankfest chock full of embarrassing, awkward pop music references (in both the script and the music), bad singing, laughable acting performances As far as other Baz Luhrmann films go, this is a far cry from the charm of Strictly Ballroom or the beautifully shot 1996 version of Romeo + Juliet. Instead what we have here is a slab of of hideously overblown pretentiousness, a post-modern wankfest chock full of embarrassing, awkward pop music references (in both the script and the music), bad singing, laughable acting performances (primarily from those who AREN'T trying to ham it up, namely... erm, the two leads), attempts to merge such disparate film genres as 90's post-post-modernist cinema, the Bollywood musical, the melodrama, Italian neo-realism and God knows what else into a two hour film set in Paris.... so why the Hell do I still like Moulin Rouge? Well, firstly where Moulin Rouge fails at being compelling, it succeeds at being lavish and opulent, the film is nothing less than a feast for the eyes and Nicole Kidman has never looked more ravishing. Furthermore, there is plenty of delightful over-the-top humour in the film's first half to keep you entertained and the film's more downbeat second half is complemented by a thrilling emotional climax. It won't be everyone's cup of tea (it wasn't mine) but for those who like their films camp as Christmas and trashy as an Amsterdam brothel should find plenty to admire here. Expand
  41. SlavisaM.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Moulin Rouge is the best movie and the best musical ever! Nicole Kidman is simply terrific, and stunning. Also McGregor and Broadbent put exellent acting! Baz Luhrmann is for sure, the best director of 2001! Exellent music-from Madonna to Elton John...super! Cinematography...what am i talking about...just watch it, and you will see it's the best ever!
  42. JennyN.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    This movie is "SPECTACULAR".
  43. BraeG.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    One of my favorite movies of all time! Up there with Sense and Sensibility and Shakespeare in Love as one of the most romantic movies I have ever seen. Ewan MacGregor and Nicole Kidman are pure magic together. I cry everytime I watch it.
  44. BobB.
    May 10, 2004
    10
    This movie is hilarious and REALLY good and i loved every minute..... plus Ewan McGregor's voice is the sexiest there ever was.
  45. KristenW.
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    The absolute best movie I have ever seen! Baz Luhrmann is a genius, and Ewan and Nicole are very talented.
  46. CaseyM.
    Apr 29, 2004
    9
    I thought it was a great movie but it was just to sad but if that was not the ending i would have like it more.
  47. RobertA.
    Apr 10, 2004
    8
    Special in so many different ways. tangles music like a box of chocolates. it is still amazing Smells Like Teen Spirit is in this movie. awesome. very nice visuals. this movie's music is quite great. love the sounds. hope you did too! ^_^ tata.
  48. FlorentG.
    Mar 13, 2004
    2
    Ridiculous, a movie for people loosing in their life, people thinking that love would save them. It sounds like wasting both time and money both for spectator and producer, it should take place in a theatre. The saddest thing is the references to british popular music in a "movie" dedicated to the very french Moulin Rouge... à bon entendeur.
  49. SarahS.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    Fantastic !! One of the best musicals since forever.
  50. MonicaH.
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    This movie was fantastic!!!Those who think otherwise need more experience thinking outside the box!
  51. VeronicaQ.
    Jan 15, 2004
    8
    "Different!"
  52. GustavoH.R.
    Jan 11, 2004
    6
    Ridiculous, over-the-top, nonsensical, overrated.
  53. ChristinaH.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    Absolutely the best movie ever created!
  54. PatC.
    Dec 5, 2003
    3
    No movie deserves a lower rating more than one that pretends to be better than it is. Depth and meaning cannot be experienced simply by maintaining depth and meaning is present. Well, intentioned, lavishly constructed, but in the end a parody of what it could have been.
  55. BenW.
    Nov 1, 2003
    8
    It started out absolutely fantastically, or, if you will, spectacular spectacular, with terrific acting, wonderful singing, and some of the most amazing set and costume design I had ever seen. Too bad it quickly plunged into tired melodrama, but it never seemed to lose it's zing. Watch it, definitely, but don't watch it expecting the Best Picture calibur film the Academy led you It started out absolutely fantastically, or, if you will, spectacular spectacular, with terrific acting, wonderful singing, and some of the most amazing set and costume design I had ever seen. Too bad it quickly plunged into tired melodrama, but it never seemed to lose it's zing. Watch it, definitely, but don't watch it expecting the Best Picture calibur film the Academy led you to believe this movie was. Expand
  56. JustinN.
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    An emotional masterpiece that will heighten your spirit then leave you heartbroken in the end. I Love it!
  57. AllyE.
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    Spectacular, Spectacular...With only a few cheesy moments, this movie is a spectle of bright colors, raw human emotion, and a dazzling masque that toys with every human heart. This and Chicago are of the top ten movies ever made
  58. YoonC.
    Sep 23, 2003
    1
    A dumb, disgusting mess, an embarassing and cluttered mishmash of styles. A garbage of heap of past and present cultures tossed together like dirty laundry. Awful performances dramatically, comically, and musically. This is what gives postmodernism a bad name.
  59. Ash
    Aug 28, 2003
    10
    Fine movie. Ewan sing it baby.
  60. Layne
    Aug 7, 2003
    8
    Nicole's powerhouse performance in this film is almost worthy enough to stand alongside her immeasurable performance in The Others. I can't praise her talent enough. To simply call her a wonderful actress would be a huge understatement. The movie is a good musical ressurection, but I'm sure Chicago may do better.
  61. KimG.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    Ewan McGregor's voice was enough to make me want to watch Moulin Rouge time and time again. This movie was both a story of a love worth fighting for, a love overcoming all obstacles, and a tragedy that cuts a live short.
  62. AntonioA.
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    A brilliant film! Its been a while since a musical came out in theaters. Great set, costumes, music, acting, and wonderfully directed. Nicole Kidman is excellent in this film!
  63. StephanieD.
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    This movie was breathtaking! The songs lifted my heart up and made me what to dance! It touches your heart and makes you feel things about love that you never felt before! The colors of the sets were gorgeous and I truely recommend this to anyone that wants to love and be loved in return!!!
  64. EmilyW.
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    EWAN CAN SING! and for those of you who gave it 9 or under 'what drivel do you watch'. I did happen to notice that those who gave it a low rate were male and what sense do they have.Thouroghly enjoyable film. EWAN RULES.
  65. MeganP.
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    I have found that I was never too interested in musicals. This movie, though, was absolutely brilliant. I fell in love with this movie. It was silly and charming. A very enjoyable movie. The cast was almost too perfect.
  66. RosemarieC.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I love Nicole Kidman. I love the Moulin Rouge And 4 those that gave it a 3 then you suck! this movie rules! it changed my life! it went from sad to happy to sad to happy and to sad to happy! Its cool! it made me cry. i never cried for a movie before.
  67. Satine
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    If I could I'd rate this movie a 15. But it doesn't go that high so I'll have to say 10. I LOVE this movie so much and I think Ewan is "Spectacular, Spectacular!" He is so perfect as Christian!
  68. HeidiK.
    Feb 22, 2003
    10
    This movie was Spectacular! It touched and inspired me in ways I've never felt before. The music, storyline and actors were excellent. Ewan and Nicole performed beautifully together. I think I'm obsessed with Moulin Rouge, Montmartre and Bohemian Life.
  69. SamanthaB.
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    A movie that grabs your attention from the first note & keeps it until the bittersweet end. The music provides a link to contemporary culture & makes it universal across all ages.
  70. Elliot
    Dec 31, 2002
    3
    Though it is occasionally moving and memorable, the vast majority of Moulin Rouge is a pretentious, emotionless, jumbled, discordant mess that should qualify as sensory assault. The musical numbers are cut into what seems like 3 billion pieces, then spliced together into one excrutiating whole, which could only appeal to those who suffer horribly from ADD. Luhrmann leaves the audience no Though it is occasionally moving and memorable, the vast majority of Moulin Rouge is a pretentious, emotionless, jumbled, discordant mess that should qualify as sensory assault. The musical numbers are cut into what seems like 3 billion pieces, then spliced together into one excrutiating whole, which could only appeal to those who suffer horribly from ADD. Luhrmann leaves the audience no room to breathe. Expand
  71. Kristy
    Dec 29, 2002
    10
    This movie has the suspence and everything, it is a feast for the eyes and mind. it makes you think about yourself and your love for everything. this is by far my favorite movie. Every one should think about this and go to the person they love and remember how much they mean to you. Don't ever take it for granted!!!
  72. LauraK.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Fantastic! gripped me from the beginning. the symbolism diggs deep and makes you think.
  73. Ev'ryTimeWeSayMulroneycakes
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Oh, it is remotely a 10. It is a 10 very hard in the face. The only word to describe the damn thing properly is "sumptuous" - those who scrabbled for things to criticise could only find shallowness, hollowness. To which the reply must be: "it's a god-damn MUSICAL, nimrod, and no more shallow or hollow than any other. The emotion is fake because real emotion sits uneasily with show Oh, it is remotely a 10. It is a 10 very hard in the face. The only word to describe the damn thing properly is "sumptuous" - those who scrabbled for things to criticise could only find shallowness, hollowness. To which the reply must be: "it's a god-damn MUSICAL, nimrod, and no more shallow or hollow than any other. The emotion is fake because real emotion sits uneasily with show stoppin' musical numbers with spurious exclamation marks! Look at Dancer In The Dark - only a partial success. So you see my point, don't you, eh?" That and the fact that none of the songs are by Porter, or Sondheim, or Rogers 'n' Hammerstein. Which is just stupid. This is some musical. Oo, I've thought of another word: opulent. Very opulent indeed. And Ewan MacGregor CAN SO SING. SO THERE. Expand
  74. JerseyGirl
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    I really love this movie. The reason why is because of all the love in it. But also I didn't like the beggining it seemed a little silly and it hardly made any sense, but when the middle came and the ending it seemed like I wanted to see it over and over again. I just hope they make another movie of this with the same actors and with a lot of singing!!
  75. AmandaC.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    Weeks later you will still be singing the songs, and everytime I see it I enjoy it more. The singing, the costumes, the energy, the story-so poignant and yet so uplifting. Great!
  76. MarkR.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    I've never seen a film that got my hopes up so high and manages to surpass those expectations until now :) I must say it's a very pleasant experience. The mise-en-scène blew me and the importance of an impressive narrative away, and the story wasn't worse than your average feature film. At least it didn't alter the truth like the movie that stole this one's I've never seen a film that got my hopes up so high and manages to surpass those expectations until now :) I must say it's a very pleasant experience. The mise-en-scène blew me and the importance of an impressive narrative away, and the story wasn't worse than your average feature film. At least it didn't alter the truth like the movie that stole this one's oscar did.... Expand
  77. BrittanyB.
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    This movie is my new favorite movie. I love it so much. I always sing a long to the songs. This film is definitely an art!
  78. LeahM.
    Oct 28, 2002
    10
    When i first went to see, my date and i wanted to leave during the movie but we decided to stay and you know what? it was worth it!! i must admit though, the beginning is so wierd and confusing, but if you finished the whole thing, you'll want to watch it more than once!! i love it!!!
  79. DianaC.
    Oct 20, 2002
    10
    It's the most WONDERFUL movir I've ever seen and the best songs I've ever heard. And above all things, Christian (not Ewan) is the most BEAUTIFUL and PERFECT man I've ever known.
  80. KryssyF.
    Oct 15, 2002
    10
    This movie is awesome!
  81. HollyW.
    Oct 13, 2002
    10
    This movie is the BEST!!! The music, the suspence, and the dances! Nicole Kidman is as sexy as she can get, and can sing well too! And let's not forget about Ewan McGregor! He is F-I-N-E! Both did spectacular performances!
  82. KierstenJ.
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    This movie was so good and ewan and nicoles' voices sound great together. this was the best movie ever!! and if you dont like it you SUCK!!
  83. SteveM.
    Oct 5, 2002
    5
    The movie was entertaining to a certain degree. I and the person I went to the movie with wanted to leave half way through the film, it got so wearying. Why you people give this film such a high ranking, has me boggled. The majority of the important critics definitely disagree with you. So do I and I also have a lot of experience watching musicals of all sorts. This is not even remotely a 10.
  84. KatK.
    Sep 27, 2002
    10
    Everytime I see this movie I love it a little more. It is so powerful and full of emotion. I laugh and cry everytime I see it, and I always see something new. Anyone who didn't watch past the first 20 minutes is an idiot!
  85. Kaya
    Sep 23, 2002
    10
    All you need is LOVE.....and Moulin Rouge! Thank you for waking the movie musical from its long sleep. Your movie and vision is beautiful! If only people could learn that the most important thing you will ever learn is just to love, and be loved in return. :)
  86. Eileen
    Aug 29, 2002
    1
    It was extreamly bad. The 2nd worst movie I have ever seen. I don't know why you people give it tens. The movie sucked.
  87. Randy
    Aug 27, 2002
    9
    I ran out and bought the sound track! Ewen and Nicole give surpizing singing performances which added a lot of emotion to the movie as a whole. I loved the incorperation of the tribute songs! The movie is visually stunning.
  88. CloverR.
    Aug 21, 2002
    10
    I thought it was the best movie i have ever seen. All the actors and actresses did an awesome job, especially Ewan and Nicole if you guys are reading this you are great and you pulled together the best movie i have ever seen in my life! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!
  89. IreneB.
    Aug 19, 2002
    10
    A musical entertainment that touches hearts.. it made me cry to my heart's content.
  90. Allan
    Aug 12, 2002
    1
    Quite possibly the worst movie I've ever seen. Its only redeeming feature is that its awfulness is apparent after about the first twenty minutes so that I could fast forward through the rest.
  91. TrishaD.
    Aug 6, 2002
    10
    I loved it. It was the best musical drama I've seen since West Side Story!
  92. AlishaV.
    Aug 5, 2002
    10
    This was a wonderful movie. It was filled with beautiful people, tremendous energy, great remakes of classic songs and love. They do sing a lot but Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor have beautiful voices. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and bought the DVD the first chance that I got.
  93. CinnamonFisher
    Jul 31, 2002
    10
    Spellbinding, magical, fun, and tragic all rolled into one "Spectacular, Spectacular" film. I've seen it about 10 times and have not tired of it yet! Nicole Kidman is amazing; Ewan McGreggor is adorable. Love this film!
  94. PhoebeG.
    Jul 30, 2002
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've seen. Thought it would be some flick 4 mah old folks . . .but it's fresh. (especially the music) Great performances! Some good graphics. It's a tear-jerker!
  95. IlzeS.
    Jul 29, 2002
    10
    This movie is very dynamic and musical. I loved it. Nicole Kidman's Satine and Ewan McGregor's Cristian are very beautiful. I think this movie is great film. I liked Kidman's and McGregor's voices.
  96. IlzeS.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    This movie is very dynamic and musical. I loved it. Nicole Kidman's Satine and Ewan McGregor's Cristian are very beautiful. I think this movie is great film. I liked Kidman's and McGregor's voices.
  97. MatthewH.
    Jul 25, 2002
    10
    Undescribable....
  98. RachealO.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    I absolutely LOVED this movie as soon as I watched it I was hooked and I love the soundtrack. Ewan McGregor has an amazing voice and being a singer myself I've heard a lot of voices...he is brilliant!!!! Not to mention incredibly gorgeous. Nicole Kidman has got a great voice as well and the whole film is an emotional rollercoaster and left me sobbing at the end. And by my second I absolutely LOVED this movie as soon as I watched it I was hooked and I love the soundtrack. Ewan McGregor has an amazing voice and being a singer myself I've heard a lot of voices...he is brilliant!!!! Not to mention incredibly gorgeous. Nicole Kidman has got a great voice as well and the whole film is an emotional rollercoaster and left me sobbing at the end. And by my second viewing I knew all of the songs! Expand
  99. FayeP.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    A fantastic film that can be watched over and over again with just as much enjoyment.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. 60
    It's the kind of flourish that makes you smile -- that makes you believe in the power of movies.
  2. 70
    McGregor, the movie's most engaging performer, is convincing enough to sell the mutual attraction. The "Trainspotting" star is usually playing some kind of freak, and this is a nice stretch for him.
  3. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    50
    The film musical is at the moment an even more devitalized art form than the Broadway musical. But Moulin Rouge doesn't revive it. It only rearranges the bones.