Moulin Rouge! Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 640 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Against the backdrop of 19th Century Paris and the famed Montmartre cabaret, this is the story of the doomed love affair between Christian (McGregor), a young poet, and Satine (Kidman), a courtesan and performer at the Moulin Rouge.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. A landmark musical movie -- controversial, mercurial, even cheeky. It's the kind of film that wildly divides audiences and critics -- people tend to either love or hate it. I loved it.
  2. 89
    A crazed, lovestruck, wholly original (and yet amazingly referential) beast, part pop-culture wasteland, part glowing tribute, and part wild-eyed roller coaster (of love).
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A tour de force of artifice, a dazzling pastiche of musical and visual elements at the service of a blatantly artificial story.
  4. You can go with it or resist it, be exhilarated or worn out. But forgetting the experience is not one of your options.
  5. It doesn't, as they say, really work -- but it's enjoyable enough in spots to leave one feeling passably entertained.
  6. Diverting, energetic, and even reasonably satisfying, so long as you aren't looking for a real musical to take its place.
  7. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    30
    Ends up leaving you starved for a single moment of unhyped emotion. You can barely see the characters for Luhrmann screaming.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 282
  1. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Moulin Rouge is definitely the best film I have ever seen! First of, I must applaud Baz Luhrmann's great vision and direction - it surely wasMoulin Rouge is definitely the best film I have ever seen! First of, I must applaud Baz Luhrmann's great vision and direction - it surely was superb! The technical aspect of the film is extraordinary: amazing film editing, breath-taking cinematography, perfect music and just overall an excellently made film. The actors, though, make the film what it is. Nicole Kidman is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT as Satine, and has become my favourite actress ever since I first watched this masterpiece. One of the best performances I've ever seen on-screen: she sings, she dances, she dies. Perfect summary. But it's also so much more! And Ewan McGregor - who would have thought he could sing like that??? Amazing voice and one just falls in love with him. The supporting cast is also brilliant, especially Jim Broadbent who deservingly took the BAFTA award home for 'Moulin Rouge.'

    Overall, Moulin Rouge is an eye-candy film for people who truly believe in freedom, beauty, truth, and above all things - love.
    Expand
  2. GodyP.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    The best of 2001! A masterpiece!
  3. SerhanY.
    Sep 10, 2001
    10
    Very well organized, a musical audiences were craving for. Beautiful, spectacular.
  4. May 27, 2011
    10
    Truthfully, the best movie I have ever seen. In my entire life. WOW!
  5. ArnoW.
    Oct 2, 2001
    9
    A dream, a wonderful composition of music (the most powerful language used in the movie) and almost surrealistic photographic scenes. It A dream, a wonderful composition of music (the most powerful language used in the movie) and almost surrealistic photographic scenes. It balances between heaven and hell . A beautiful historical drama shown in a very special way. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2011
    7
    Visually stunning and musically OTT, it may all be a bit much at times for some who aren't fully into either the romantic comedy or theVisually stunning and musically OTT, it may all be a bit much at times for some who aren't fully into either the romantic comedy or the musical genres. But for genre fans, it ticks every box and gives the target audience everything they ask for by the bucket load. The only big downside, is McGregor and Kidman, two big stars used to promote the film, both of which can't really sing. If two unknowns who could sing were in the lead roles, it could have been a lot better. Expand
  7. SteveE.
    Jul 11, 2008
    0
    What on earth is all the fuss about? How can so many people give 10/10 to this load of rubbish? I would have given it -1 if I coukld! We What on earth is all the fuss about? How can so many people give 10/10 to this load of rubbish? I would have given it -1 if I coukld! We turned it off after 30 minutes - never to re-visit - and regret wasting those 30 minutes and the price of the DVD. I wouldn't even give this unwatched trash to my worst friend. Expand

See all 282 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.