User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 339 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 339
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    I give this an 8 not because this movie is one of the best movies of the year, but because this movie is something you would have never seen in your life unless you watch it. Yes, it slaps you in the face, as offensive as it is. It challenges your thoughts and opinions on different aspects of society. Of course it's mostly far fetched and exaggerated, but it is what it is. To most peopleI give this an 8 not because this movie is one of the best movies of the year, but because this movie is something you would have never seen in your life unless you watch it. Yes, it slaps you in the face, as offensive as it is. It challenges your thoughts and opinions on different aspects of society. Of course it's mostly far fetched and exaggerated, but it is what it is. To most people it's just going to waste their time, but for those of you looking for something way beyond "normal", watch Movie 43, it will demonstrate the limitless capacity of human ideas. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    The film is basically a dirty, raunchy episode of SNL. Each sketch is one simple idea stretched to it's grossest capacity. Many viewers will be unsatisfied with this, but rating the movie 0 is just absurd. There's no way this film is as bad as 'Jack and Jill' or 'Biodome.' The question of every comedy is not whether or not it's high brow - it's whether people laugh. I saw this film inThe film is basically a dirty, raunchy episode of SNL. Each sketch is one simple idea stretched to it's grossest capacity. Many viewers will be unsatisfied with this, but rating the movie 0 is just absurd. There's no way this film is as bad as 'Jack and Jill' or 'Biodome.' The question of every comedy is not whether or not it's high brow - it's whether people laugh. I saw this film in a small art/independent theatre and guess what - people laughed. Intelligent people may be embarrassed that they laughed, but they did. Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Look this film is stupid. It's a stupid film, and obviously if you judge it by regular film standards then it's terrible. However, it is still hilarious. You have to go in with the right mindset, and only then can you enjoy it's gross humour. Even though at some points I was very much laughing so much I was falling on the floor, this film does have a lot more misses than hits. But worthLook this film is stupid. It's a stupid film, and obviously if you judge it by regular film standards then it's terrible. However, it is still hilarious. You have to go in with the right mindset, and only then can you enjoy it's gross humour. Even though at some points I was very much laughing so much I was falling on the floor, this film does have a lot more misses than hits. But worth watching if you are into that kind of humour, like Family Guy, Southpark, Jackass. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Movie 43... what can I say? I have NO IDEA why this is getting such bad reviews. Obviously the reviewers didn't see who stars in it. Em, Wolverine?? He's in the Oscars for next week. Kate Winslet. She's in loads of good movies. Uma Thurman anyone?? She Killed Bill. TWICE!! Anyway, not only are all these amazing stars in it, they also have a good laugh at themselves. I don't see anyMovie 43... what can I say? I have NO IDEA why this is getting such bad reviews. Obviously the reviewers didn't see who stars in it. Em, Wolverine?? He's in the Oscars for next week. Kate Winslet. She's in loads of good movies. Uma Thurman anyone?? She Killed Bill. TWICE!! Anyway, not only are all these amazing stars in it, they also have a good laugh at themselves. I don't see any reviewers doing that. It might be about poos, wees and spunk but who doesn't love that?? The mind boggles. See this amazing movie. See it twice. No, see it 43 times!! I can't wait to see it. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    Movie 43 just offended the sensibilities of every fart smelling critic and Eddie Murphy loving user on the Interbutt. The current movie goer just can't comprehend Hugh Jackman with a scrotum chin. And Halle Berry making guacamole with her boobs is simply beyond the average mouth breather. A cartoon cat sobbing shamefully as he masturbates to his master with a hairbrush is just somethingMovie 43 just offended the sensibilities of every fart smelling critic and Eddie Murphy loving user on the Interbutt. The current movie goer just can't comprehend Hugh Jackman with a scrotum chin. And Halle Berry making guacamole with her boobs is simply beyond the average mouth breather. A cartoon cat sobbing shamefully as he masturbates to his master with a hairbrush is just something the world isn't ready for. But to those who loved Movie 43 I say: EXCELSIOR! Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    The plot of the movie is painful, but the comedy and the cast are spectacular. The bad thing about the movie is that it is very short but it makes you spend a very good time. Movie recommended for adolescents.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Vulgar, offensive, and disgusting humor is at the center of this comedy that features a large and talented cast of actors starring in various short sketches. I am more than a little ashamed to say that I found this hilarious. Watching these talented, big-named actors star in some of the weirdest, immature, and outrageous skits makes it even more enjoyable. It's gross-out humor at itsVulgar, offensive, and disgusting humor is at the center of this comedy that features a large and talented cast of actors starring in various short sketches. I am more than a little ashamed to say that I found this hilarious. Watching these talented, big-named actors star in some of the weirdest, immature, and outrageous skits makes it even more enjoyable. It's gross-out humor at its finest, and if you've got a vulgar and immature sense of humor than you will love this. It's not smart, it's not appropriate, but it is very funny. Maybe I'm just immature and rude but this movie made me laugh-out-loud numerous times. So in my book it's a winner. Collapse
  8. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    do you know the end scenes on the hangover movies, where Stu always makes something hilarious that you just cant stop laughing? be it the tooth scene, the face tattoo or the epic breast implants scene?
    Well this movie is a collection of lil stories like that one, they make no sense but you laugh your ass off!!
  9. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    Insanely funny parody movie. If you're one of the ever increasing number of Americans who are appalled or offended by everything - you'll hate it most likely. If you can pull the stick out your ass and drop the pretense - you'll love it.
  10. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    Mostly funny and can of predictable but the writing was amazing.
  11. Feb 15, 2013
    7
    This wasn't necessarily a good film, and a lot of the jokes were hit miss, but it was funny and certainly got laughs out of me and most of the audience I saw it with. A group of short stories thrown together with a list of our favourite actors playing the roles was a rather interesting concept; and it worked well in some of the skits and not so well in others. I personally found HalleThis wasn't necessarily a good film, and a lot of the jokes were hit miss, but it was funny and certainly got laughs out of me and most of the audience I saw it with. A group of short stories thrown together with a list of our favourite actors playing the roles was a rather interesting concept; and it worked well in some of the skits and not so well in others. I personally found Halle Berry's the best, Gerard Butler's the worst. Overall it's funny but its obvious why it didn't please everyone. Expand
  12. May 4, 2013
    8
    Movie 43; it might be the worst movie you'll ever see, or the best.
    To start: the idea itself is great; having different directors creating short "scenes" with the most famous actors/actress's in it. Now, the movie doesn't has the tight structure most Hollywood movie have, but that is just wat makes it so great! It's original!
    And that's exactly how Farrelly, the mind behind the movie,
    Movie 43; it might be the worst movie you'll ever see, or the best.
    To start: the idea itself is great; having different directors creating short "scenes" with the most famous actors/actress's in it. Now, the movie doesn't has the tight structure most Hollywood movie have, but that is just wat makes it so great! It's original!
    And that's exactly how Farrelly, the mind behind the movie, defends his work:
    "You always complain that Hollywood never gives you new stuff, and then when you get it, you flip out.'
    And he's right! Movie 43 is something new.
    And movies are here for entertainment, aren't they? Well, movie 43 sure made me laugh!
    I think its one of the funniest and most original movies recently made, go watch it!
    Expand
  13. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    How does this get such bad reviews? It's hilarious! And the fact that its filled with celebrities, how don't you like it? It's very inappropriate, but still...
  14. AGK
    Feb 10, 2014
    7
    Ok, most of the people and the critics don't know what they're saying! this movie was all around hilarious! I'm really getting sick and tired of people rewarding garbage over pure movie gold (the great gatsby, all those other boring and overrated movies) the only bad thing(s) about movie 43 is that the comedy sketches were a bit short and and watching the non-comedy bits was also a bitOk, most of the people and the critics don't know what they're saying! this movie was all around hilarious! I'm really getting sick and tired of people rewarding garbage over pure movie gold (the great gatsby, all those other boring and overrated movies) the only bad thing(s) about movie 43 is that the comedy sketches were a bit short and and watching the non-comedy bits was also a bit stail but a good offensive, comedy movie to watch
    .
    Expand
  15. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I have no idea what any of the people who negatively reviewed the movie were expecting. Of course it's tasteless and vulgar. The previews told you that was the case.
    This movie was hilarious. My wife and I laughed out loud and still reference a number of the bits. I watched a few of the shorts at work, and the whole office was rolling. Now, I just need to see the Dennis Quaid part in the
    I have no idea what any of the people who negatively reviewed the movie were expecting. Of course it's tasteless and vulgar. The previews told you that was the case.
    This movie was hilarious. My wife and I laughed out loud and still reference a number of the bits. I watched a few of the shorts at work, and the whole office was rolling. Now, I just need to see the Dennis Quaid part in the theatrical release...
    Expand
  16. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    he poor reviews are really annoying me. I'm all for "everyone has the right to their own opinion", but I do think people have been very unfair to this movie. It's actually a very funny watch, featuring very risqué performances from A-list actors and even Oscar-winners. Halle Berry is without a doubt the most shocking (and equally hilarious) cast member as she truly shines in her 'Truth orhe poor reviews are really annoying me. I'm all for "everyone has the right to their own opinion", but I do think people have been very unfair to this movie. It's actually a very funny watch, featuring very risqué performances from A-list actors and even Oscar-winners. Halle Berry is without a doubt the most shocking (and equally hilarious) cast member as she truly shines in her 'Truth or Dare' segment with Stephen Merchant. Emma Stone, Kate Winslet, Naomi Watts, Gerard Butler and Elizabeth Banks give incredibly funny performances, Butler in particular had me crying. The comedy is silly, but I've seen much, much worse. Movie 43 is silly within reason, it's not slapstick, it's just a funny and I wish people hadn't so quick to call it the worst movie ever made. Expand
  17. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    This is a funny funny movie. I avoided it like the plague with all the bad reviews but happened to catch it on TV so figured i would give it 10 minutes to see how bad it was. It wasnt. It was funny funny funny. The part with the Mum and Son and the sons' first awkward kiss. That is priceless.
  18. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    I think it should be illegal in all countries to watch and rate comedies if you have no sense of humor or if you watch the trailer and don't like it. A review here said: "I love immature comedy, but this takes it too far". What are you talking about, immature comedy has no boundaries. If you get easily offended, don't watch comedies! In fact, don't even leave your house, because you mightI think it should be illegal in all countries to watch and rate comedies if you have no sense of humor or if you watch the trailer and don't like it. A review here said: "I love immature comedy, but this takes it too far". What are you talking about, immature comedy has no boundaries. If you get easily offended, don't watch comedies! In fact, don't even leave your house, because you might overhear a swear word outside!

    The trailer shows exactly what you should expect, except it had to be a bit censored obviously. So if you don't like it, don't watch it and don't spam all review sites with how bad it is. I feel sorry for you guys, I really do. Can't even begin to image how sad your lives are if you get so angry over a movie.

    The story is great for it's purpose. You can't tie unrelated situations with huge movie stars in a better way than this.

    You would assume that a person of average intellect can decide what would be enjoyable for him and what wouldn't. Apparently not.
    Expand
  19. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This has to be, without a doubt, the best dirty comedy movie I have seen. Some scenes from Jackass 3d made me almost throw up...but this movie is about small skits about taking the awkward situations and turning them dirty. Perfect for those that just want to relax and watch silly bathroom humor. It's not for everyone, but people that can laugh at these situations will have a good time.This has to be, without a doubt, the best dirty comedy movie I have seen. Some scenes from Jackass 3d made me almost throw up...but this movie is about small skits about taking the awkward situations and turning them dirty. Perfect for those that just want to relax and watch silly bathroom humor. It's not for everyone, but people that can laugh at these situations will have a good time. People complain for the sake of complaining... and this is one movie that is not suppose to be serious... it's to make people laugh. Job well done. Expand
  20. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    I give it a ten partly because everybody else is giving it undeservedly low ratings for no other reason I think other than they are crowd followers. this movie is a series of sketches that are very funny and has huge stars in it, so the only thing I don't like about it are it's bad ratings
  21. May 16, 2015
    7
    Is Movie 43 that bad? Hell yes! all of these brilliant stars can rise above this crappy not funny material; producer Charles Wessler knows the big stars and decides to crush these actors abilities of fame and talent. Director Peter Farrelly (who produced the film and directed a segment), who has made funny comedies but decides to waste his talent I don't know how these people can be proudIs Movie 43 that bad? Hell yes! all of these brilliant stars can rise above this crappy not funny material; producer Charles Wessler knows the big stars and decides to crush these actors abilities of fame and talent. Director Peter Farrelly (who produced the film and directed a segment), who has made funny comedies but decides to waste his talent I don't know how these people can be proud of their work. Positives: the film is funny but 'it's so bad that it's so good' all of these failed sketches (that are mean't for Saturday night live) are really funny and absurd I laugh throughout the film. But don't see this film! it is an atrocity towards cinema. But as a result is funny. Grade C- Expand
  22. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Hilarious throughout. Absolutely brilliant stuff from director Bob Odenkirk. Would highly recommend this film to anyone and everyone. Devastated that it wasn't nominated for an Oscar.
  23. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    People hate this movie a lot, but honestly it is much better than I expected. I like SNL, and this is much funnier than SNL and is overall a great movie. I love most of the actors involved and find this movie absolutely rewatchable. Great movie if you want to see a bunch of raunchy skits.
Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 18 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Dec 24, 2013
    20
    After watching Peter Farrelly’s Movie 43, I was immediately overcome with a sudden rush of emotion: not amusement, anger or even mild irritation, but a profound and faintly tragic sense of pity.
  2. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    An epically miserable viewing experience, go ahead and skip this one unless you’re seeking to answer the riddle of what happens when people don’t try at their jobs.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 3, 2013
    40
    Movie 43 is sketchy, in every sense. It's a collection of short comedy films in the manner of the 70s cult classic "Kentucky Fried Movie," each with a separate director, in which many very famous actors have been persuaded to take part.