Movie 43

Movie 43 Image
Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 349 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 18 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jan 26, 2013
    88
    Movie 43 is a near masterpiece of tastelessness. The anthology of 12 short, interconnected skits elevates the art form of gross-out comedy to a new height.
  2. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jan 25, 2013
    50
    An oddity recommended for only the most fervent, undemanding comedy junkies.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jan 26, 2013
    40
    It's the kind of thing you feel you should laugh at through a phlegmy, hacking cough-and it does get laughs, if inconsistently, predictable given the circumstances of production.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    Jan 25, 2013
    20
    Quite why A-listers Kate Winslet, Hugh Jackman and Emma Stone (among others) aligned themselves with this excruciatingly moronic compilation of shorts is anybody's guess.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 25, 2013
    20
    As sick-making sketch comedies go, this stupefyingly bad one-somehow rife with A-list talent-must rank near the very bottom.
  6. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 25, 2013
    0
    Despite the dizzying array of talent involved both in front of and behind the camera, this godawful exercise is so painfully unfunny, so screamingly bad that it immediately qualifies as one of the worst films of all time.
  7. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    An epically miserable viewing experience, go ahead and skip this one unless you’re seeking to answer the riddle of what happens when people don’t try at their jobs.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 113
  2. Negative: 76 out of 113
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Movie 43... what can I say? I have NO IDEA why this is getting such bad reviews. Obviously the reviewers didn't see who stars in it. Em,Movie 43... what can I say? I have NO IDEA why this is getting such bad reviews. Obviously the reviewers didn't see who stars in it. Em, Wolverine?? He's in the Oscars for next week. Kate Winslet. She's in loads of good movies. Uma Thurman anyone?? She Killed Bill. TWICE!! Anyway, not only are all these amazing stars in it, they also have a good laugh at themselves. I don't see any reviewers doing that. It might be about poos, wees and spunk but who doesn't love that?? The mind boggles. See this amazing movie. See it twice. No, see it 43 times!! I can't wait to see it. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    he poor reviews are really annoying me. I'm all for "everyone has the right to their own opinion", but I do think people have been very unfairhe poor reviews are really annoying me. I'm all for "everyone has the right to their own opinion", but I do think people have been very unfair to this movie. It's actually a very funny watch, featuring very risqué performances from A-list actors and even Oscar-winners. Halle Berry is without a doubt the most shocking (and equally hilarious) cast member as she truly shines in her 'Truth or Dare' segment with Stephen Merchant. Emma Stone, Kate Winslet, Naomi Watts, Gerard Butler and Elizabeth Banks give incredibly funny performances, Butler in particular had me crying. The comedy is silly, but I've seen much, much worse. Movie 43 is silly within reason, it's not slapstick, it's just a funny and I wish people hadn't so quick to call it the worst movie ever made. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2013
    4
    Just because it has a lot of famous stars it doesn't mean that it is a good film.
    I admit: some scenes were nice and I laughed, but most of
    Just because it has a lot of famous stars it doesn't mean that it is a good film.
    I admit: some scenes were nice and I laughed, but most of them were so stupid that i was embarrassed for the actors/actresses who played in.
    I can't say that it's so bad that it deserves 0 as scores because the idea was nice but just that.
    It seems to be written by a 16 years old guy.
    Probably they thought that just for the stars, they would have gain a lot of money... If they just worked more on it (and not just putting some trashy jokes in it) it would be the funniest movie of the year!
    Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    2
    I had zero hopes for this movie before viewing, based on the editor’s opening email to me, “Review Movie 43 apparently one of the worst filmsI had zero hopes for this movie before viewing, based on the editor’s opening email to me, “Review Movie 43 apparently one of the worst films of all time. Go on, I dare you.” A dare is a dare of course! Even with my low hopes, my first text when I left the movie was “Well mum, I think I should quit uni and go into script writing if Movie 43 can get made!”. Three people also walked out of the movie in the first 15 minutes. Movie 43 is a series of 13 short comedy skits framed around a washed up script-writer as he pitches his idea of a movie. Movie 43 is hated by nearly every film critic out there, rightly so, however if you are not easily offended, there are a few laughs. The opening scene of Davis (Hugh Jackman) and Beth (Kate Winslet) on a blind date is enough to satisfy anyone that they could be at a decent movie. When Davis removes his scarf though, to reveal testicles hanging from his chin, you do start to wonder where this movie is going! As it turns out, the movie is mostly downhill. As usual, Anna Faris and Emma Stone were very entertaining in their respective scenes, and an advertisement on how we shouldn’t abuse our day to day machines because it hurts the little children working inside them was funny, but still did not set the bar very high for an ensemble comedy. If there were not so many Hollywood stars, it is doubtful if it Movie 43 would have got general release, but the cast do give it some hope. So long as you are not easily offended, and can enjoy a movie that has no direct point or storyline, then this movie does have a few outrageously disturbing moments you have to see to believe, including discovering what the iBABE is! It does not deserve to be a box office hit though, so illegally stream it or wait until the $1 DVD rentals are out. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    1
    It would be safe to assume that at least a third of segments in a compilation piece are usually good but Movie 43 defies expectations byIt would be safe to assume that at least a third of segments in a compilation piece are usually good but Movie 43 defies expectations by providing one dull sequence after another with no stops and absolutely no laughs, its a shameless piece of garbage. Movie 43 isn't really about anything, its loads of little vignettes of comedy scenarios which get pushed to the absolute limits until they aren't funny at all. The film has a huge named cast and each segment has at least one huge name in it but it doesn't matter, it's just now A list actors working with dire material that there is no possible way to improve so they are just high paid actors annoying you by merely being in it. You don't care that its not their fault, you just hate watching this flaccid picture, this completely tone deaf, offensive, insulting and dull film. Movie 43 is directed by multiple people with real credits in actually good film but the direction in this film is awful, in every clip, its so badly constructed and framed that something must have gone wrong in the cinematography department. It's a film that despite its acting pedigree feels cheap, everything about it is cheap and the end result is one of disappointment and outright hatred thanks to some god awful comedy. Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    I think this film succeeds in what it wants to be, which is awful. It's an ugly satire of the movie industry, and it's really not that farI think this film succeeds in what it wants to be, which is awful. It's an ugly satire of the movie industry, and it's really not that far off. For the audience, who has been abused like this countless times, it's a hard rub. The irony isn't meant for the audience, it's meant to mock Hollywood studio execs and the crap they shovel out. The audience still gets the raw deal. Instead of watching ill-conceived crap, we are watching intentionally conceived crap. I understand the intent of this movie, but it sorta backfired by abusing it's audience and instead of sending an FU to Hollywood comes off as an FU to the viewer. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2013
    0
    Don't even bother to watch Movie 43. It's the most stupidest comedy ever made in 2013's history. If you want to watch a boring, stupid netDon't even bother to watch Movie 43. It's the most stupidest comedy ever made in 2013's history. If you want to watch a boring, stupid net comedy movie you can watch sketches on youtube! But this film carries you in to waste you money on something you can watch free on youtube! The only "meh" sketch was at the end but this film is overall stupid. Avoid this movie while you still can. 0/10 Expand

See all 113 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.