Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 10, 2005
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 610 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
483
Mixed:
80
Negative:
47
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
RaywaterJan 17, 2011
This movie isn't going to change your life but that wasn't it's purpose. Sit back and watch two actors at the height of their powers have some fun, blow off some steam and bring us along for the ride. A movie with the rare gift of allowingThis movie isn't going to change your life but that wasn't it's purpose. Sit back and watch two actors at the height of their powers have some fun, blow off some steam and bring us along for the ride. A movie with the rare gift of allowing multiple viewings without a thought of boredom creeping in (see also MI3). A classic in the vein of 1950s comedies/action pictures. ENJOY Expand
15 of 15 users found this helpful150
All this user's reviews
9
PusakAug 31, 2010
This movie is a great action flick that is also funny. It actually shows real chemistry between the two throughout the movie, you really get the feel of how those two are around each other.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
5
annbdMay 9, 2018
Just because this are the two most beautiful women and man in the world, doesn't make the film good. They are also both very talented, but this movie is nothing special. First time watch could be funny and not that boring, but it doesn'tJust because this are the two most beautiful women and man in the world, doesn't make the film good. They are also both very talented, but this movie is nothing special. First time watch could be funny and not that boring, but it doesn't worth second watch. I remember, one day, wondering what to watch with my fellas and suddenly this film cross my mind (I have already watched it and in my head it was exciting). So boring it was. You can't feel it neither as a comedy, nor as a serious film, because of the banal unrealistic unfunny replies. So it was decent, but far from real score 8.4.. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
bram29May 17, 2012
i think it a great achievement for a film if it's equally much fun to see the characters talk to one another and shoot one another. screenplay is one of the best i've seen in a long time, and you can teach a class on the mixing of action and romance.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
charlotteydwiApr 30, 2013
When people say there is lack of chemistry between Jolie and Pitt I think it is ridiculous. There is obviously chemistry as there was a real relationship building on set. The film may be sloppy and in some parts forgettable, but when it'sWhen people say there is lack of chemistry between Jolie and Pitt I think it is ridiculous. There is obviously chemistry as there was a real relationship building on set. The film may be sloppy and in some parts forgettable, but when it's great it is truly really fun to watch. Where there is comedy, it is funny and where there is action it's visually pleasing. I think the film is fun for all, at times clumsy, but overall a great popcorn flick. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
The chemistry between our two leads is astonishing--it's quite easy to see why they moved on to marry one another. Mr. & Mrs. Smith is a nod to marriage and secrets--just wait until all is revealed.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
There are some hugely entertaining action sequences and the chemistry between the two leads is undoubtedly strong, but it just lacks a certain dose of humanity within its characters.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
axelkochJan 3, 2013
The action is unlogical - just like the plot - and officious, the comedy isn't there. The punchlines got punched so weak by Mr. Pitt & Mrs. Jolie, I was impressed by how bad they are able to play. Most of that is because of the unbelievablyThe action is unlogical - just like the plot - and officious, the comedy isn't there. The punchlines got punched so weak by Mr. Pitt & Mrs. Jolie, I was impressed by how bad they are able to play. Most of that is because of the unbelievably stupid screenplay that snitches ideas from pretty much every action comedy before this one. Some parts can be considered okay and the scene where Adrian Brody is kidapped even made me smirk. However, 95% of this overlong and completely dull flick got me surprised of how poor Hollywood movies can get nowadays. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysJun 10, 2014
Mr. & Mrs. Smith is one of those completely implausible, yet completely fun action-comedy romps that can be watched over and over again without boredom. The chemistry between Pitt and Jolie is (obviously) great, which makes the movie aMr. & Mrs. Smith is one of those completely implausible, yet completely fun action-comedy romps that can be watched over and over again without boredom. The chemistry between Pitt and Jolie is (obviously) great, which makes the movie a special treat for the viewer. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
kingshahidJul 27, 2011
After hearing about the hype of this couple since I don't pay attention to celebrity gossip I decided to see them in action. This movie was a complete joke and made them both look as terrible actors. If their relationship is as interesting asAfter hearing about the hype of this couple since I don't pay attention to celebrity gossip I decided to see them in action. This movie was a complete joke and made them both look as terrible actors. If their relationship is as interesting as this movie.... Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
[Anonymous] Apr 12, 2006
This is my new favorite movie, they work so well together!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HishamI.Jan 13, 2008
Watched this movie and I thing it is great!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
lukechristianscApr 6, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie's Performance is badder then ever an okay violent film . and of the 88% enjoyable . Grade B..........................................................................
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
MattNov 30, 2005
More unforgiveable than the lack of chemistry between Jolie and Pitt is that a film that thinks it's an all-out action caper is actually horrendously dull. Jolie looks hot, but then she always does, yet still can't act to save her More unforgiveable than the lack of chemistry between Jolie and Pitt is that a film that thinks it's an all-out action caper is actually horrendously dull. Jolie looks hot, but then she always does, yet still can't act to save her life. Pitt hams it up effectively enough and deserves much, much better than what this high-concept, low-thrills movie delivers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronL.Aug 1, 2006
it's not that bad, i thought the story is cleverly told and it's great visually, i think the people who voted on this film are, people who actually watch films, people who loves pitt and hates jolie, or people who loves jolie and it's not that bad, i thought the story is cleverly told and it's great visually, i think the people who voted on this film are, people who actually watch films, people who loves pitt and hates jolie, or people who loves jolie and hates pitt, both due to jealousy, obviously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WackyWherehouseJul 2, 2007
What a long commercial, gin, jonhnny , mercedes benz., and super watches . Be sure to read credits, written by, simon kinberg AKA smoking erb, went to school with the fool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MovieGoerJun 14, 2008
This was a bit of a lame film, it just doesn't have that quality like True Lies or Romancing the Stone/War of Roses movies. It was overhyped using Brangelina, the story/script was a little weak and some 'comedic' moments This was a bit of a lame film, it just doesn't have that quality like True Lies or Romancing the Stone/War of Roses movies. It was overhyped using Brangelina, the story/script was a little weak and some 'comedic' moments weren't funny and too cliche. Some of it was kinda cringeworthy, Brad and Angelina's acting were good considering the bad script they were working with, although some of that acting was a bit too superficial/cliche too. Some parts of the film was not that bad, but some of it really was crap. It wouldn't be a film I'd see again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimS.Nov 29, 2005
The movie plot, while pressed to the limits of probability, is semi-unique. The characters protrayed by the actors are believeable and fresh. It is a movie of mainly gratutitous action, but that isn't all bad for many of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamL.Nov 30, 2005
Just another sex and Fight film...how cliche!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavidSDec 2, 2005
So so bad, just horrible. The people who like this film must be part of an elaborate conspiracy to try and con people into watching total trash so it makes more money in dvd sales. No plot, ridiculous "action" scenes, not funny at So so bad, just horrible. The people who like this film must be part of an elaborate conspiracy to try and con people into watching total trash so it makes more money in dvd sales. No plot, ridiculous "action" scenes, not funny at all.....pure drivel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CritcsRmadSep 9, 2005
I thought having two incredibly hot people as the stars would make a movie at least enjoyable to watch. Unfortunately that isn't the case. The movie of course has its moments, but in whole it is tedious to watch and I couldn't wait I thought having two incredibly hot people as the stars would make a movie at least enjoyable to watch. Unfortunately that isn't the case. The movie of course has its moments, but in whole it is tedious to watch and I couldn't wait for it to end. Which it took forever to do... Why does hollywood mess up such cool ideas? Could have been a really cool movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlessandraJan 10, 2006
Absolutely ridiculous premise. Violence for the sheer sake of violence. If Brad & Angelina were not the starring roles, I wonder whether anyone would go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanC.Jan 4, 2006
A point for the perfomance of Vince Vaughn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CharlesRB.Jan 8, 2006
Started out as "cool", and then went to "childish".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Feb 20, 2006
Has some cute moments, but getting us to mindlessly laugh along with these mass-murdering sex objects is not the nominal aspiration of any serious film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StephenS.Feb 8, 2006
Dreadful. One point for chutzpah. Straight fantasy violence. No subtext. No comedy (above knock-knock level). Nothing but pandering to sublevel drone mentality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KApr 7, 2006
Loved the action in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ShelleyN.Jul 20, 2006
I dont understand what kind of mindless person would like this movie. I give it a ine instead of a zero because Brads hot. Angelina was so dumb in this movie they didnt play well at all. Its one of those movies that you would fall asleep I dont understand what kind of mindless person would like this movie. I give it a ine instead of a zero because Brads hot. Angelina was so dumb in this movie they didnt play well at all. Its one of those movies that you would fall asleep while watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinD.Aug 3, 2006
Jolie and Pitt are hot on their own, but they can't seem to connect. There's no plot and character development. Only lots of sex and guns, but hey, isn't that what it's about?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
sylvainbOct 3, 2007
Flat, empty. A good movie for brainless who just wanna see "hot" people on screen and pay for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
chrisJan 5, 2008
Great premise, horrible delivery. this is the only movie i've ever walked out on. i didn't even walk out on Gigli, which is definetely saying something. The "soundtrack" to this movie was terrible. i've heard better music in Great premise, horrible delivery. this is the only movie i've ever walked out on. i didn't even walk out on Gigli, which is definetely saying something. The "soundtrack" to this movie was terrible. i've heard better music in an amateur porno. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KoRW.Nov 13, 2005
Rather boring and the plot isn't very good - they dragged everything out a bit much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
QuincyN.Nov 29, 2005
The final action sequence is insulting to anyone who has ever handled a weapon or has an IQ over 70.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jaumeNov 30, 2005
So booooooooooooooooring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RoyM.Oct 16, 2005
I saw this movie as in-flight entertainment on a plane and it was basically flip a coin for me as to whether to watch this free movie or take a nap. Both of the principals are entirely unbelievable as world's best assassins. I I saw this movie as in-flight entertainment on a plane and it was basically flip a coin for me as to whether to watch this free movie or take a nap. Both of the principals are entirely unbelievable as world's best assassins. I didn't find they had much chemistry that came across despite real world evidence to the contrary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PoofyLippedDec 27, 2005
Oh my God - I actually liked this film. I'm sorry and I'm just as shocked as you might be by reading a positive review but gosh darn it, I honestly liked it. I was ready for some horrible formulaic mindless garbage and what I saw Oh my God - I actually liked this film. I'm sorry and I'm just as shocked as you might be by reading a positive review but gosh darn it, I honestly liked it. I was ready for some horrible formulaic mindless garbage and what I saw was an ostensibly Hollywood film attempting sophistication. I thought the Director did a very good job in building tension and framing the lives of the two principles. And it was kind of oddly inspiring to watch such incredibly beautiful people in such action. Was it perfect? Heavens no. But as a rental I found it to be very entertaining. I found myself actually rooting for the two perfect people. I would've given it a higher score if they hadn't lost it in the final act when they are in the mini van. Prior to that, the script showed remarkable reserve and constraint in releasing tension without relying on the standard Hollywood-script-in-a-box fare. Anyhow, to sum up...I bought it (the story) and found myself to be pleasantly entertained by the film. Believe it or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
J.A.CambeceDec 2, 2005
Nothing too ground breaking, the only good part is the eye candy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PabloDec 3, 2005
Awesome!! This movie is a mixtture of good acting action. Nice as hell team of Angelina jolie and Brad pitt. The movie i will never forget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JJGutierrezJun 28, 2005
They don't have any right to show Bogota- Colombia like that. With explosions only old cars with bullet marks, ugly people and people speaking with Mexican accent. I think they cannot see how it affect one country, it's affecting They don't have any right to show Bogota- Colombia like that. With explosions only old cars with bullet marks, ugly people and people speaking with Mexican accent. I think they cannot see how it affect one country, it's affecting the Economy of our country, they are only thinking in the movie but you know if you go down to the link maybe you can see the real Bogota - Colombia. Or when you need one scene in Paris you go to Chiapas - Mexico? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanyelleAug 30, 2005
Everything about this movie was good except for plot. Normally, plot is everything and without it a movie dies. But this one is good b/c it's funny, the characters are developed very well, and the first 2/3 of it you don't know the Everything about this movie was good except for plot. Normally, plot is everything and without it a movie dies. But this one is good b/c it's funny, the characters are developed very well, and the first 2/3 of it you don't know the plot sucks. So, its a fabulous movie until you get to the part where you realize nothing is going to happen, it just sort of ends. There is really no real bad guy and no real conflict. It just kind of IS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OlivierSep 13, 2005
what pleasure! from the beginning until the end, the couple give us legendary comic scenes of tensions in couple. If the length of the movie is a little bit long, actions scenes whil discussing about couple problems are very exciting. How what pleasure! from the beginning until the end, the couple give us legendary comic scenes of tensions in couple. If the length of the movie is a little bit long, actions scenes whil discussing about couple problems are very exciting. How not to adopt the scene (hilariting) when they discover at table the truth abouth the other one! Angleina Jolie is a lot more than "Jolie", she is a "grande actrice" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
IlzeS.Sep 17, 2005
In The beginning I really liked this jam, but it gets on my nerves. Angelina Jolie was perfect, but movie have too much action, bum,bum,bum!Yes,its entertaining, but makes no sense.Overall:pretty bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Sep 19, 2005
In the first big action set-piece, couldn't the screenwriter find a less convoluted way for both parties to kill each other? For symbolism's sake, sure, an all-out war in their own home makes sense. But, for crying out loud, they In the first big action set-piece, couldn't the screenwriter find a less convoluted way for both parties to kill each other? For symbolism's sake, sure, an all-out war in their own home makes sense. But, for crying out loud, they both drive back home to do it. All of sudden, the assasins adopt a moral code of ethics, something akin to the Old West, in which both parties have an equal chance to blow each other away. Why do they have to go back home for weapons? But stuff gets blown up, so nobody cares, right? Well, sort of. "Mr and Mrs. Smith" is a good film, that is, if you conceed the art of screenwriting, and champion spectacle over a coherent narrative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnnyBSep 7, 2005
I guess when you walk out of a movie theatre half way through its bad? right?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CMONEYJan 8, 2006
Brad and angelina i heart you guys!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BreannaFeb 23, 2006
This movie was great, one of my favorites, angelina and brad work so well together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LollyDollNov 11, 2005
Exactly what it promised - fun, sexy, thrilling - this isn't meant to be Shakespeare - it is a fun summer romp that is already over the top in casting anyways. If you went to this movie thinking you had to believe the plot to enjoy it, Exactly what it promised - fun, sexy, thrilling - this isn't meant to be Shakespeare - it is a fun summer romp that is already over the top in casting anyways. If you went to this movie thinking you had to believe the plot to enjoy it, you were a chump BEFORE you got there. It's eye candy in the best way. Probably would have been a better film without some overblown action stuff, but hey, they already MADE "War of the Roses". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaganY.Nov 21, 2005
This is an incredible film, It's creatively laced with action, comedy and romance The acting is on point the visuals are enticing and the stars shine throughout three words: go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZakT.Nov 26, 2005
There were some entertaining moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TonyB.Dec 13, 2005
With a discount coupon, my wife and I saw this on VHS for $.99 instead of paying about $20 in a theater. We agree that we wasted $.99 and two hours of our lives. What a piece of junk this over sold, over rated and over seen film is. How can With a discount coupon, my wife and I saw this on VHS for $.99 instead of paying about $20 in a theater. We agree that we wasted $.99 and two hours of our lives. What a piece of junk this over sold, over rated and over seen film is. How can anyone mention it in the same sentence as The War of the Roses? Those claiming Brad Pitt is playing the whole thing in an understated style are confusing understatement with boredom and indifference. And isn't it time for Angelina Jolie to stop her pouting and sneering? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WesselK.Dec 13, 2005
Two actors without chemistry, this had to go wrong. The movie to long, therefore very boring. With Vince Vaughn taking this movie further down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RachelH.Dec 22, 2005
Eh. I've never been a big fan of Angelina Jolie, and I can't stand Brad Pitt, but despite all this Mr. and Mrs. Smith was a decent movie. The ending felt like it dragged out forever, but Pitt and Jolie had excellent chemistry on Eh. I've never been a big fan of Angelina Jolie, and I can't stand Brad Pitt, but despite all this Mr. and Mrs. Smith was a decent movie. The ending felt like it dragged out forever, but Pitt and Jolie had excellent chemistry on screen. Plus, the chase scene and the many shootouts are fun to watch, and random bits of comedy thrown in keep you entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
paulv.Dec 27, 2005
The premise is great; the actaul movie unfortunately is anything but.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DoGoodOct 23, 2005
I don't know what's up with all of my fellow reviewers, but I for one was greatly surprised at just how good this movie was. Sure it's not Oscar material, but this movie had to be one of the best movies of the summer. I I don't know what's up with all of my fellow reviewers, but I for one was greatly surprised at just how good this movie was. Sure it's not Oscar material, but this movie had to be one of the best movies of the summer. I can't remember another movie in which the rest of the theater was laughing as much as I did. Both Pitt and Angelina gave enjoyable performances and were perfectly cast. An action-packed movie with nonstop thrills and laughs that will keep you wanting more. A GREAT movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregT.Dec 6, 2005
Contrived and corny. Only somewhat engaging. He has 50 guns hidden in the basement or what it the garage? She has 50 knives hidden under the oven. And they never noticed this? But then Brad is purty fer a boy and Angelina is purty fer a Contrived and corny. Only somewhat engaging. He has 50 guns hidden in the basement or what it the garage? She has 50 knives hidden under the oven. And they never noticed this? But then Brad is purty fer a boy and Angelina is purty fer a gurl. So.. What the hell, eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
The best thing about this movie is the chemistry between Jolie and Pitt, they are stylish and make the material so elegant that the over exagerated plot only seems entertaining, and the climax is just wonderfully surprising.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
shawnOct 29, 2005
Aweful movie!!!! I fell asleep!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FredBobOct 17, 2006
Jolie is the hottest woman in the world, and...... well......... thats about ll i can say. The movie is well done, but has a couple of boring spots. Pitt and Jolie are great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FreddyJun 15, 2006
Indeed , a genius premise. I liked the contrast of restrained acting and humor vs. amps at 11 action. There is good chemistry b/w you know who. The desert, elevator and car chase action scenes are funny and well-executed. The motel Indeed , a genius premise. I liked the contrast of restrained acting and humor vs. amps at 11 action. There is good chemistry b/w you know who. The desert, elevator and car chase action scenes are funny and well-executed. The motel interrogation scene was a stitch. Main flaw--Pitt's acting failed to deliver the impulsivity his character claims to have. After a similarly too-reserved performance in Troy, he needs to show he can cut loose (at least on occassion) like he did in Twelve Monkeys. The dialogue gets repetitive in the second half, and the final action scene, despite the clever setting, is a dud. All that being said, for me, this movie is good times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DudeKinsNov 12, 2005
Some of the scene is so fake...that it cannot give us the action of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UnagiboyNov 29, 2005
I was skeptical going into the film, but I was pleasantly surprised about how fun it was. Both Pitt & Jolie gave solid performances. This is no Oscar contender, but it was an enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LomaxH.Dec 19, 2005
This "film" epitomizes all that is wrong with our celebrity-focused society. Mr. and Mrs. Smith was an absolute abomination, BUT Pitt and Jolie are famous and an item so it gets a pass despite having an incoherent story, z-list quality This "film" epitomizes all that is wrong with our celebrity-focused society. Mr. and Mrs. Smith was an absolute abomination, BUT Pitt and Jolie are famous and an item so it gets a pass despite having an incoherent story, z-list quality acting, and some of the most unfunny "comedic" moments ever filmed. There was a time when I would have stated, "I don't understand how people can actual say this was even an acceptable or movie" but I know I why audiences are willing to pay 10 bucks to see garbage. They are stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
D.L.BrunnerDec 19, 2005
Worse than I imagined it could be, Horrible ending battle scene. Where's the chemistry?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpangleJan 6, 2017
One of my favorite sub-genres has to be the high budget adult action comedy. Unfortunately, it is mostly dead nowadays aside from the release of films such as The Nice Guys this year. They do not resort to low brow humor, put the charactersOne of my favorite sub-genres has to be the high budget adult action comedy. Unfortunately, it is mostly dead nowadays aside from the release of films such as The Nice Guys this year. They do not resort to low brow humor, put the characters in adult situations, and are perfect examples of the fact that even adults can appreciate some well executed explosions. Plus, there is just something right about Angelina Jolie in a dominatrix outfit snapping a guy's neck. In Mr. & Mrs. Smith, director Doug Liman takes a married couple and makes them both assassins who have been contracted to kill one another. With well executed action set pieces and great comedy, the film's appeal largely rides on it being about a married couple assigned to kill one another. As such, they try to outwit and outsmart another while doing doing so as a married couple living in the suburbs, thus they fight about curtains, comment about homegoods stores, eat bad dinners together, and the man breaks stuff in the house accidentally. For many, this humor may become tiresome, but it always felt fresh and acted as a larger comment on marriage, rather than just a source of comedy.

Pairing together Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie in the film that brought them together, Mr. & Mrs. Smith depicts a married couple that is going through a rough patch. With a lack of sex and chemistry at the time, the duo are having troubles. What better way to fix a marriage than by blowing up your home and trying to kill one another in the process? Honestly, it seemed pretty cathartic and makes you wonder why more couples do not try this strategy out. While a bit absurd, Liman laces the action and silly plot with witty and quick jabs and banter between the couple. As a result, their antics become incredibly endearing and deeply funny. Of course, this would not be possible without top-notch performances from Pitt and Jolie who not only have great chemistry with one another, but have tremendous charisma.

Of course, it is hard to defend this film. Inherently stupid and over-the-top, Mr. & Mrs. Smith is hardly a classic. That said, it is a terrific blend of action and comedy. For somebody that has been accused of hating fun, this review should defeat those accusations. At the end of the day, I like good action and good comedy. If an action scene thrills me and jokes make me laugh, then I am satisfied. While its gags are silly and it has far too many explosions, its tongue-in-cheek action scenes that parody marriage, relationship warfare, and other action films, it was hard to not fall into the film's charm. Its jokes are well-written, smart, and incredibly witty. They may be a bit silly, but they are never trying too hard, being raunchy for the sake of being raunchy, or giving into lowest common denominator type humor (Deadpool or Kingsman as negative examples here). Instead, it takes an adult approach and finds a balance in appealing to both adults and action junkies along the way. Hardly the pinnacle of cinema, Mr. & Mrs. Smith is a fun, well plotted, funny, and action-packed summer action flick. With top-notch performances from the always charismatic Brangelina, the film has a lot of fun with its over-the-top action, well-timed comedy, and smart/witty jokes. Gleefully boisterous and absurd throughout, the film's pacing is excellent and keeps the speed at cruise control. It is never distractingly fast, nor is it ever too slow. Instead, it flies by at the right speed to allow full enjoyment of its infectious energy and joy. While many do not like Mr. & Mrs. Smith, count me as one of its supporters, though its flaws are certainly readily apparent and the film is hardly as well manicured as its stars.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Jun 1, 2015
Mr. and Mrs. Smith is a film that was incredibly popular thanks to the blossoming relationship between its two attractive stars. The film is fun, that's the best way to describe it. There is some pretty good chemistry between Brad andMr. and Mrs. Smith is a film that was incredibly popular thanks to the blossoming relationship between its two attractive stars. The film is fun, that's the best way to describe it. There is some pretty good chemistry between Brad and Angelina which is kind of expected. The action is really great throughout and I like the addition of a little humour. I found Vince Vaughn stood out in scenes he was in and he was funny. I would've liked to have seen more of him. Another issue I had was the film is a little too long, the story takes a little to long to get underway. Other than that this movie can be enjoyed by males and females and would make an excellent date movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SrPepeFeb 9, 2018
La película no es buena, pero la escena de la pelea en la casa es memorable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FilipeNetoApr 25, 2018
Romantic comedies usually not please everyone, much less when disguised as action films like this. The basic idea of ​​this film is a fight between husband and wife, secret agents of rival agencies have to kill each other. The idea isRomantic comedies usually not please everyone, much less when disguised as action films like this. The basic idea of ​​this film is a fight between husband and wife, secret agents of rival agencies have to kill each other. The idea is excellent for a film of this genre, but Simon Kinberg's script was not able to develop in a natural and effective way. The result is a rather scrappy movie where every scene look like a sort of "excuse" to justify the action scenes, quite hilarious, between the couple.

The couple is played by Bradd Pitt and Angelina Jolie. About them can be said that they knew not disappoint the audience and were at the height of the characters and the film. They are two extremely talented actors who combine talent to physical beauty, and scenes where both participate, interacting with each other, in a more or less friendly but always passionate way, are worthy of anthology, not only because they can combine and comedy and action but also by showing excellent meshing with one another.

The special visual and sound effects are basically the standard of Hollywood, not the least bit surprised the public. Guns, shooting everywhere, explosions, martial arts, car chases ... in a way, the film looks like a parody of action films, exhibiting comically most of its cliche's. If that was the intention, it is excellent. Moreover, the film is basically pure entertainment, without great concern for anything else other than the right mix of action and comedy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews