User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 380 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 380
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ReenaG.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    nothing more than a fun ride...finally.
  2. DougC.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Yes! Great Flick!
  3. B.R.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Great!!
  4. GeorgeK.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    the coolest, sexiest movie in years. i saw a preview screening, and i'm going back when it opens. this is a truly great movie.
  5. Aqualines78
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Excellent Movie! Amazing Background score and obviously a hot pair!
  6. AlexK.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    The perfect Summer film. It isn't Lawrence of Arabia, but it is a great, fun, exciting, good to look at film!
  7. BryanN.
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    A great movie with lots if action and great sounds, not forgetting extremely humorous and good acting. An enjoyable experience. Seductive too.
  8. ChrisB
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Great funny, had funny momements and then kept you similing all the way through. Some of the fights were shot far to close up for you to see anything but that seems to be common now. As for the realism of Bogota, its just a film for christ's sake! get a grip.
  9. Amanda
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Omg i loved it expecially the dance scene when angelina checks brad for guns .. lol that was hilarious.
  10. caralines.
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    It was really good i really enjoyed watching it in the film there were lots of funny bit i'm hoping to buy it on dvd when it aventually come out.
  11. ToddM.
    Aug 2, 2005
    10
    This movie had tons of action and laughs. Angelena is hotter than ever. This is the first summer in a long time that I have seen movies I have liked and this one is on the top of my list. I went with a few people who thought they were going to hate it and loved it.
  12. K
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    Loved the action in the movie.
  13. Jom
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    Saw it in a packed theater sitting next to a stinking guy and still stayed glued to my seat. Totally great.
  14. SaraV.
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    Great! The two hottest people EVER!!
  15. alberots.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    My opinion.
  16. NikkiG
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    I thought this was great!
  17. ElizabethH.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    This movie is very good. The concept is great and the actors are good looking.
  18. CMONEY
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Brad and angelina i heart you guys!!
  19. Breanna
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    This movie was great, one of my favorites, angelina and brad work so well together.
  20. [Anonymous]
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    This is my new favorite movie, they work so well together!
  21. HishamI.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Watched this movie and I thing it is great!!!
  22. LollyDoll
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Exactly what it promised - fun, sexy, thrilling - this isn't meant to be Shakespeare - it is a fun summer romp that is already over the top in casting anyways. If you went to this movie thinking you had to believe the plot to enjoy it, you were a chump BEFORE you got there. It's eye candy in the best way. Probably would have been a better film without some overblown action Exactly what it promised - fun, sexy, thrilling - this isn't meant to be Shakespeare - it is a fun summer romp that is already over the top in casting anyways. If you went to this movie thinking you had to believe the plot to enjoy it, you were a chump BEFORE you got there. It's eye candy in the best way. Probably would have been a better film without some overblown action stuff, but hey, they already MADE "War of the Roses". Expand
  23. MaganY.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This is an incredible film, It's creatively laced with action, comedy and romance The acting is on point the visuals are enticing and the stars shine throughout three words: go see it!
  24. DoGood
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    I don't know what's up with all of my fellow reviewers, but I for one was greatly surprised at just how good this movie was. Sure it's not Oscar material, but this movie had to be one of the best movies of the summer. I can't remember another movie in which the rest of the theater was laughing as much as I did. Both Pitt and Angelina gave enjoyable performances and I don't know what's up with all of my fellow reviewers, but I for one was greatly surprised at just how good this movie was. Sure it's not Oscar material, but this movie had to be one of the best movies of the summer. I can't remember another movie in which the rest of the theater was laughing as much as I did. Both Pitt and Angelina gave enjoyable performances and were perfectly cast. An action-packed movie with nonstop thrills and laughs that will keep you wanting more. A GREAT movie! Expand
  25. StevenWang
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    Hilariously entertaining.
  26. JohnS.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This film is a fun and thouroughly entertaining action puff piece. It is not meant as a thought-provoking, deeply insightful, Oscar release film. Its a popcorn comedy that brings all the comedy and all the popcorn. A great ride and funny the whole way.
  27. AnonymousBill
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    I LOVED it!!! It was a movie worth seeing a hundred times!!! Vince Vaughn was really funny!!! not to mention, Brad Pitt is DEAD SEXY!!!
  28. timp.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Rad.
  29. Pablo
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    Awesome!! This movie is a mixtture of good acting action. Nice as hell team of Angelina jolie and Brad pitt. The movie i will never forget.
  30. DaveB.
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    The most fun i've had at the movies since Sin City. Great action scenes and some good humor. A great summer popcorn flick !
  31. MatthieuR.
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    I ended up liking this a lot more than I'd expected. This movie isn't so much about the plot as it is about the characters, and Pitt and Jolie deliver. Sure, it's unbelievable, but lambasting this movie for not being "true-to-life" is like complaing about Star Wars being too "futuristic"... That's the whole point! This is really a romance film with action flick I ended up liking this a lot more than I'd expected. This movie isn't so much about the plot as it is about the characters, and Pitt and Jolie deliver. Sure, it's unbelievable, but lambasting this movie for not being "true-to-life" is like complaing about Star Wars being too "futuristic"... That's the whole point! This is really a romance film with action flick trappings, and it works as such. Expand
  32. Alex
    Jun 17, 2005
    9
    I knew that this was going to be good, but not as good as this. the only part i didn't like is the coordinated dance shooting scene. other wise, it was quite good. a very funny romp with an extreme look at typical married couples. one of the more original stories i've seen in a long time.
  33. FeleciaS.
    Jun 17, 2005
    9
    Jolie and Pitt had a touch of comedic greatness of Colbert/Gable and the intensity of Bacall/Bogart. The movie was 21st century paced. Jolie and Pitt are breathtaking. I hope they consider workjng together on a remake of an ealry 20th century comedy-romance. I give this a 9, because their next adventure together will be even better.
  34. LenaB.
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    HUGELY entertaining and satisfying. A dark comedy done right! It's really popcorn therapy for couples with a quirky story that serves as a perfect metaphor for modern married life.
  35. HarrisonB.
    Jul 16, 2005
    9
    Awesome! Mr. and Mrs. Smith is the best action comedy of the year. At first I didn't entirely like Angelina Jolie, but now I think she's hot! Very good movie.
  36. TimK
    Jun 12, 2005
    9
    My wife and I both enjoyed this movie. It was a blast. I just don't understand why some don't like this movie. We sure did. It has action, romance and was funny. Great story line and the chemistry makes this movie hum. It was better than I thought it was going to be.
  37. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This movie is a great action flick that is also funny. It actually shows real chemistry between the two throughout the movie, you really get the feel of how those two are around each other.
  38. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    This movie isn't going to change your life but that wasn't it's purpose. Sit back and watch two actors at the height of their powers have some fun, blow off some steam and bring us along for the ride. A movie with the rare gift of allowing multiple viewings without a thought of boredom creeping in (see also MI3). A classic in the vein of 1950s comedies/action pictures. ENJOY
  39. BrianS.
    Jun 4, 2005
    8
    More interesting writing than most action films.
  40. MarioS.
    Jun 19, 2005
    8
    I would suggest that Holywood could turn this Mr and Mrs Smith into a series to rival/replace the aging James Bond series. Subtlety, sarcasm, class, comedy, action, spies... etc everything James Bond have and specialy don't have.
  41. JimS.
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    The movie plot, while pressed to the limits of probability, is semi-unique. The characters protrayed by the actors are believeable and fresh. It is a movie of mainly gratutitous action, but that isn't all bad for many of us.
  42. JoeX.
    Jun 11, 2005
    8
    This was a great summer action/ love story. It had it all, action/ and a plot. This movie was well thought out, story line, comedy, ect. Much better than what you may expect. I didnt expect too much from this movie but walked away very very please. Worth admission.
  43. JoyS.
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    The end got a little messy (figuratively speaking), but for the most part this is a great ride, with some amazing chemistry between the two stars. It also provided quite a few laughs. Great matinee movie.
  44. DavidA.
    Jun 13, 2005
    8
    Not a bad movie but it depends on what you're looking for. If you want an action movie with some romantic scenes watch it.
  45. [Anonymous]
    Jun 27, 2005
    8
    Just plain fun. No twists, no heavy lifting. I had a blast.
  46. PatH
    Jun 29, 2005
    8
    There is nothing wrong with this film. Not spectacular, but very good.
  47. BillR.
    Jun 3, 2005
    8
    Actually, I thought it was an 8.5! It was one of the best "shoot-em-ups" I've seen in years. Dialog was tight and funny, Angelina and Brad were well correographed and it was just great fun.
  48. Sandy
    Jul 3, 2005
    8
    It is what it is. Go see the film without much expectation, and leave the cinema enthrilled! True that lots of things don't make any sense, it is not a film for class discussion. But comparing to others pop corn film, this belongs to the fun ones!
  49. GordoA.
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    Mr and Mrs Smith has everything you want in a movie. Pitt and Jolie worker great together.
  50. WilliamG.
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    MR. AND MRS. SMITH is a terrific summer movie, which can have fun without insulting your intelligence. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie have great chemistry, often sparring with words and weapons. Director Doug Liman (THE BOURNE IDENTITY) keeps the pace fast and furious, as several action sequences, including an incredible car chase, blow the audience away. Thankfully, the film has a great MR. AND MRS. SMITH is a terrific summer movie, which can have fun without insulting your intelligence. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie have great chemistry, often sparring with words and weapons. Director Doug Liman (THE BOURNE IDENTITY) keeps the pace fast and furious, as several action sequences, including an incredible car chase, blow the audience away. Thankfully, the film has a great sense of humor, for better (THE OC's Adam Brody sports a FIGHT CLUB T-shirt opposite Brad Pitt) or for worse (while the film takes place in New York, signs marking Los Angeles city limits appear during the car chase). MR. AND MRS. SMITH is a total blast, and probably one of the better offerings this summer at the cineplex. Expand
  51. Graham
    Jun 12, 2005
    8
    My wife and I saw this movie on opening weekend. It was pretty much what we expected - fun, moderately witty, not particularly deep. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed it. This movie was just plain fun to watch. You didn't have to think about the plot and the pace was quick throughout. Iexpect that this will be an enduring rental for years to come. It's violent but not bloody or too My wife and I saw this movie on opening weekend. It was pretty much what we expected - fun, moderately witty, not particularly deep. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed it. This movie was just plain fun to watch. You didn't have to think about the plot and the pace was quick throughout. Iexpect that this will be an enduring rental for years to come. It's violent but not bloody or too graphic, and there are lots of weapons as toys. I could have done without Vince Vaugn, but at least he didn't have a major role in the film. Expand
  52. Tonydannie
    Jun 15, 2005
    8
    First off.. I have to say I walked into this movie hoping for a good time. At least that. I did not want to feel like i had wasted my time .... But guess what.. this movie actually entertained me. Jolie Is not as anoying as i thought she would be And Pitt.. well..lets put it this way.. this is his most fun to watch performance since tyler durden.. There could have been a tad more action First off.. I have to say I walked into this movie hoping for a good time. At least that. I did not want to feel like i had wasted my time .... But guess what.. this movie actually entertained me. Jolie Is not as anoying as i thought she would be And Pitt.. well..lets put it this way.. this is his most fun to watch performance since tyler durden.. There could have been a tad more action and the home shoot out felt like War of the Roses 2.. but yet it was still a good fun time and i recomend you go see it..if you want to have a good time. or kill 2 hours of your time. Expand
  53. RobertM.
    Jun 16, 2005
    8
    I can't believe how low this movie is scoring. I thoguht it had enough action and comedy for standard summer movie blockbusters. The only gripe I can see is the lull that the beginning had (my friend passed out in the theaters) But you could definately see the chemistry between Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie. Plus the dialog (although basic) was pretty funny. I'd definately I can't believe how low this movie is scoring. I thoguht it had enough action and comedy for standard summer movie blockbusters. The only gripe I can see is the lull that the beginning had (my friend passed out in the theaters) But you could definately see the chemistry between Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie. Plus the dialog (although basic) was pretty funny. I'd definately recommend it out, and besides: FELLAS - The movie is being watched by mostly women ages 25 and up. Git yo ass to the movieplex. You're welcome for that one. Expand
  54. JenBen
    Jun 22, 2005
    8
    A great summer movie. If you are really on Team Aniston, please don't see it or review it. You are not giving an accurate review and are missing the point. The movie, taken on its own merits, separate from tabloid fodder, is very good. It is clever, darkly humorous, and contains better action sequences than in movies actually marketed as action movies. If you didn't like this, A great summer movie. If you are really on Team Aniston, please don't see it or review it. You are not giving an accurate review and are missing the point. The movie, taken on its own merits, separate from tabloid fodder, is very good. It is clever, darkly humorous, and contains better action sequences than in movies actually marketed as action movies. If you didn't like this, you probably didn't like the Bourne movies either. Expand
  55. JeffW.
    Jun 23, 2005
    8
    A very good movie. Funny, action, clever, and total fantasy. A fun time. Married people will be more likely than singles to enjoy and appreciate this movie. My wife and I elbowed each other laughing through the whole thing.
  56. ArthurF.
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    Such great fun!! Both Brad and Angelina are stunning.
  57. PhilS.
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    A fast moving action film that is also a biting commentary on the pitfalls assailing modern marriage. The only weakness is that the ending leaves a major plot issue unreasolved.
  58. MartinvanW.
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    While the film doesn't shine with thematical material, it goes high with good laughs and good time in general. Jolie and Pitt team up to shoot and blow off anything in sight, including each other, in both performances and as John and Jane Smith. Kingberg's script has lots of well-thought jokes and Liman lays his best effort to keep the summer fun vehicle together, although the While the film doesn't shine with thematical material, it goes high with good laughs and good time in general. Jolie and Pitt team up to shoot and blow off anything in sight, including each other, in both performances and as John and Jane Smith. Kingberg's script has lots of well-thought jokes and Liman lays his best effort to keep the summer fun vehicle together, although the stars alone can carry every line written. Still, Liman's better work was seen in Go, as the humour and athmosphere in Smith is more mild and less darknessy. This time, less twists in the plot actually gives more room for the stars to explore their character and the essence of the film, their marriage (when they're killing each other, which makes the film lot more fun). A summer film worth seeing. Expand
  59. KevinB
    Jul 29, 2005
    8
    Unexpectedly good. You have to suspend belief for most of it, but Liman is good at making you forget how preposterous much of this is. Pitt is decent, for once, and Jolie reminds that she is a good actress. A silly, TOO-LONG third act spoils what could have been a perfect action flick.
  60. Danyelle
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    Everything about this movie was good except for plot. Normally, plot is everything and without it a movie dies. But this one is good b/c it's funny, the characters are developed very well, and the first 2/3 of it you don't know the plot sucks. So, its a fabulous movie until you get to the part where you realize nothing is going to happen, it just sort of ends. There is really no Everything about this movie was good except for plot. Normally, plot is everything and without it a movie dies. But this one is good b/c it's funny, the characters are developed very well, and the first 2/3 of it you don't know the plot sucks. So, its a fabulous movie until you get to the part where you realize nothing is going to happen, it just sort of ends. There is really no real bad guy and no real conflict. It just kind of IS. Expand
  61. Olivier
    Sep 13, 2005
    8
    what pleasure! from the beginning until the end, the couple give us legendary comic scenes of tensions in couple. If the length of the movie is a little bit long, actions scenes whil discussing about couple problems are very exciting. How not to adopt the scene (hilariting) when they discover at table the truth abouth the other one! Angleina Jolie is a lot more than "Jolie", she is a what pleasure! from the beginning until the end, the couple give us legendary comic scenes of tensions in couple. If the length of the movie is a little bit long, actions scenes whil discussing about couple problems are very exciting. How not to adopt the scene (hilariting) when they discover at table the truth abouth the other one! Angleina Jolie is a lot more than "Jolie", she is a "grande actrice" Expand
  62. WallyS.
    Dec 8, 2005
    8
    The best thing about this movie is the chemistry between Jolie and Pitt, they are stylish and make the material so elegant that the over exagerated plot only seems entertaining, and the climax is just wonderfully surprising.
  63. DavidW.
    Jun 12, 2005
    8
    Fun comedy film. The action is simply part of the joke and the fun. What a comment on marriage today! A little too long, but a fun summer film.
  64. OCuculiza
    Jun 13, 2005
    8
    I was highly expecting thois movie for a long time, specially because of Jolie and because it looked like a nice mixture between The War Of The Roses and some summer action flick. And it's all that. Though I felt the screenplay wasn't thaaaaat good, the movie manages to get extremely entertaining and with a lot of hilarious moments of satyrical humor. I enjoyed very very much, I was highly expecting thois movie for a long time, specially because of Jolie and because it looked like a nice mixture between The War Of The Roses and some summer action flick. And it's all that. Though I felt the screenplay wasn't thaaaaat good, the movie manages to get extremely entertaining and with a lot of hilarious moments of satyrical humor. I enjoyed very very much, and should be taken just as a nice summer blockbuster action movie. Expand
  65. WAKOJAKO
    Jun 14, 2005
    8
    What have the dumbass critics been smoking??? This is the hotest romantic black comedy since The War of the Roses. It's funny, sexy, action packed and pretty romantic. There's something here for the ladies and the gents. I don't like either Jolie or Pitt on their own (or at least have not in the past) but I think they really pull it off in this movie.
  66. VictoriaS.
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    An unexpected delight -- despite some flabbiness toward the end. Not a brilliant, neo-screwball confection, not a non-stop dazzler, but simply fun -- and, courtesy of its magnetic and stunning stars, incredible to look at.
  67. Luke
    Jul 25, 2005
    8
    Anyone who makes out that this movie was rubbish obviously just didnt understand. I walked in thinking it would be terrible and was very pleasantly surprised.
  68. FredBob
    Oct 17, 2006
    8
    Jolie is the hottest woman in the world, and...... well......... thats about ll i can say. The movie is well done, but has a couple of boring spots. Pitt and Jolie are great!
  69. Freddy
    Jun 15, 2006
    8
    Indeed , a genius premise. I liked the contrast of restrained acting and humor vs. amps at 11 action. There is good chemistry b/w you know who. The desert, elevator and car chase action scenes are funny and well-executed. The motel interrogation scene was a stitch. Main flaw--Pitt's acting failed to deliver the impulsivity his character claims to have. After a similarly too-reserved Indeed , a genius premise. I liked the contrast of restrained acting and humor vs. amps at 11 action. There is good chemistry b/w you know who. The desert, elevator and car chase action scenes are funny and well-executed. The motel interrogation scene was a stitch. Main flaw--Pitt's acting failed to deliver the impulsivity his character claims to have. After a similarly too-reserved performance in Troy, he needs to show he can cut loose (at least on occassion) like he did in Twelve Monkeys. The dialogue gets repetitive in the second half, and the final action scene, despite the clever setting, is a dud. All that being said, for me, this movie is good times. Expand
  70. DudeKins
    Nov 12, 2005
    8
    Some of the scene is so fake...that it cannot give us the action of this movie.
  71. Unagiboy
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    I was skeptical going into the film, but I was pleasantly surprised about how fun it was. Both Pitt & Jolie gave solid performances. This is no Oscar contender, but it was an enjoyable movie.
  72. May 17, 2012
    8
    i think it a great achievement for a film if it's equally much fun to see the characters talk to one another and shoot one another. screenplay is one of the best i've seen in a long time, and you can teach a class on the mixing of action and romance.
  73. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    When people say there is lack of chemistry between Jolie and Pitt I think it is ridiculous. There is obviously chemistry as there was a real relationship building on set. The film may be sloppy and in some parts forgettable, but when it's great it is truly really fun to watch. Where there is comedy, it is funny and where there is action it's visually pleasing. I think the film is fun forWhen people say there is lack of chemistry between Jolie and Pitt I think it is ridiculous. There is obviously chemistry as there was a real relationship building on set. The film may be sloppy and in some parts forgettable, but when it's great it is truly really fun to watch. Where there is comedy, it is funny and where there is action it's visually pleasing. I think the film is fun for all, at times clumsy, but overall a great popcorn flick. Expand
  74. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    Mr. & Mrs. Smith is one of those completely implausible, yet completely fun action-comedy romps that can be watched over and over again without boredom. The chemistry between Pitt and Jolie is (obviously) great, which makes the movie a special treat for the viewer.
  75. AaronL.
    Aug 1, 2006
    7
    it's not that bad, i thought the story is cleverly told and it's great visually, i think the people who voted on this film are, people who actually watch films, people who loves pitt and hates jolie, or people who loves jolie and hates pitt, both due to jealousy, obviously.
  76. MonicaM.
    Jun 12, 2005
    7
    It's a very entertaining ride, and the chemistry between Jolie & Pitt is definitely the main attraction. However, I have to state for the record that Bogota, Colombia is not in the jungle and the weather is cool all year round. I would love Hollywood to care just a bit and do research when they are writing about foreign countries. How hard would it have been for them to crack open an It's a very entertaining ride, and the chemistry between Jolie & Pitt is definitely the main attraction. However, I have to state for the record that Bogota, Colombia is not in the jungle and the weather is cool all year round. I would love Hollywood to care just a bit and do research when they are writing about foreign countries. How hard would it have been for them to crack open an almanac? Please, please, your movies are exported all over the world- get it right. Expand
  77. Stephanie
    Jun 17, 2005
    7
    It was entertaining. I liked it. I laughed. I don't understand the low scores. It's good for what it is.
  78. PoofyLipped
    Dec 27, 2005
    7
    Oh my God - I actually liked this film. I'm sorry and I'm just as shocked as you might be by reading a positive review but gosh darn it, I honestly liked it. I was ready for some horrible formulaic mindless garbage and what I saw was an ostensibly Hollywood film attempting sophistication. I thought the Director did a very good job in building tension and framing the lives of the Oh my God - I actually liked this film. I'm sorry and I'm just as shocked as you might be by reading a positive review but gosh darn it, I honestly liked it. I was ready for some horrible formulaic mindless garbage and what I saw was an ostensibly Hollywood film attempting sophistication. I thought the Director did a very good job in building tension and framing the lives of the two principles. And it was kind of oddly inspiring to watch such incredibly beautiful people in such action. Was it perfect? Heavens no. But as a rental I found it to be very entertaining. I found myself actually rooting for the two perfect people. I would've given it a higher score if they hadn't lost it in the final act when they are in the mini van. Prior to that, the script showed remarkable reserve and constraint in releasing tension without relying on the standard Hollywood-script-in-a-box fare. Anyhow, to sum up...I bought it (the story) and found myself to be pleasantly entertained by the film. Believe it or not. Expand
  79. ChrisB.
    Jun 12, 2005
    7
    My fiance and I really enjoyed ourselves watching this movie. Its not high art, its not a great "film" but it is lovely summer entertainment. It's pretty well paced, the banter between Jolie and Pitt is fun and effective and the cinemetography makes it easy to watch. Overall, a good popcorn munching, soda swilling summer afternoon/evening at the theater. Oh, is it just me or does My fiance and I really enjoyed ourselves watching this movie. Its not high art, its not a great "film" but it is lovely summer entertainment. It's pretty well paced, the banter between Jolie and Pitt is fun and effective and the cinemetography makes it easy to watch. Overall, a good popcorn munching, soda swilling summer afternoon/evening at the theater. Oh, is it just me or does pretty much every movie get rated 9/10 or 0/1 at this point. It'd be great to see some actual thought given to a post rather than just "this is the worst movie ever" or "this is the best movie ever"...just not helpful. Expand
  80. Jun 1, 2015
    7
    Mr. and Mrs. Smith is a film that was incredibly popular thanks to the blossoming relationship between its two attractive stars. The film is fun, that's the best way to describe it. There is some pretty good chemistry between Brad and Angelina which is kind of expected. The action is really great throughout and I like the addition of a little humour. I found Vince Vaughn stood out inMr. and Mrs. Smith is a film that was incredibly popular thanks to the blossoming relationship between its two attractive stars. The film is fun, that's the best way to describe it. There is some pretty good chemistry between Brad and Angelina which is kind of expected. The action is really great throughout and I like the addition of a little humour. I found Vince Vaughn stood out in scenes he was in and he was funny. I would've liked to have seen more of him. Another issue I had was the film is a little too long, the story takes a little to long to get underway. Other than that this movie can be enjoyed by males and females and would make an excellent date movie. Expand
  81. ericy.
    Jun 12, 2005
    6
    An enjoyable film. There was some good, albeit unrealistic, action and some great comic relief from Vince Vaughn. Pitt and Jolie were a good team. Not the best film that I've seen this year, or this month for that matter, but worth the time.
  82. VetaN.
    Jul 13, 2005
    6
    I enjoyed this movie. The rappor between Jolie and Pitt made the film worth watching: it reminded me of some of the great romantic comedies of bygone eras and it brought up some interesting questions about the war between the sexes. Jolie was totally hot! She plays a bitchin' babe, a tough gal who can dish it out, and compete in a man's world. Her performance wanted me to watch I enjoyed this movie. The rappor between Jolie and Pitt made the film worth watching: it reminded me of some of the great romantic comedies of bygone eras and it brought up some interesting questions about the war between the sexes. Jolie was totally hot! She plays a bitchin' babe, a tough gal who can dish it out, and compete in a man's world. Her performance wanted me to watch Laura Croft Tomb Raider on video. In spite of the rappor of Jolie and Pitt and the mod, cynical twist of the movie's take on marriage, I was bored toward the last half of the movie. The action sequences re-directed the focus of the movie, and I found that distracting. I liked the movie when it was a take off on a Hitchcock thriller with a modern and cynical edge; I liked it less when it digressed into a special effects fest. Expand
  83. KevinD.
    Aug 3, 2006
    6
    Jolie and Pitt are hot on their own, but they can't seem to connect. There's no plot and character development. Only lots of sex and guns, but hey, isn't that what it's about?
  84. GabeJ.
    Jun 18, 2005
    6
    This movie was pretty decent. Just your typicaly hollywoood summer action flick. It'll probably make money due to Angelina Jolie's enormous lesbian following, although I don't see Brad Pitt as the huge box office draw he used to be, even though he's still a good actor. If you like the stars go see this, but they've both been in better movies (actually I take that This movie was pretty decent. Just your typicaly hollywoood summer action flick. It'll probably make money due to Angelina Jolie's enormous lesbian following, although I don't see Brad Pitt as the huge box office draw he used to be, even though he's still a good actor. If you like the stars go see this, but they've both been in better movies (actually I take that back, I can't honestly think of any Angelina Jolie movie that you could call good). Expand
  85. DanaM.
    Jun 26, 2005
    6
    Good mindless entertainment. I can't understand why people give zero's to any movie, never mind multiple zeros. I guess it makes them feel empowered. This one has alot of shoot-em-up action with the focus of course on Angelina and those wonderful lips. It won't win an Oscar but it was entertaining.
  86. EdRM
    Jul 10, 2005
    6
    The first half is quite good. Some expert jokes about marriage nowadays , and the "war" it has become. Quick paced and fun. But from the middle to the end it ss just as any other mindless action movie that populates the summer.
  87. chrisd
    Jul 31, 2005
    6
    Better than I was expecting for a good part of the film, but it seems to lose direction towards the end. Then suddenly it's over - presumably because everyone is dead, which seems like a bit of a cop out ending to me.
  88. ChadS.
    Sep 19, 2005
    6
    In the first big action set-piece, couldn't the screenwriter find a less convoluted way for both parties to kill each other? For symbolism's sake, sure, an all-out war in their own home makes sense. But, for crying out loud, they both drive back home to do it. All of sudden, the assasins adopt a moral code of ethics, something akin to the Old West, in which both parties have an In the first big action set-piece, couldn't the screenwriter find a less convoluted way for both parties to kill each other? For symbolism's sake, sure, an all-out war in their own home makes sense. But, for crying out loud, they both drive back home to do it. All of sudden, the assasins adopt a moral code of ethics, something akin to the Old West, in which both parties have an equal chance to blow each other away. Why do they have to go back home for weapons? But stuff gets blown up, so nobody cares, right? Well, sort of. "Mr and Mrs. Smith" is a good film, that is, if you conceed the art of screenwriting, and champion spectacle over a coherent narrative. Expand
  89. ZakT.
    Nov 26, 2005
    6
    There were some entertaining moments.
  90. RachelH.
    Dec 22, 2005
    6
    Eh. I've never been a big fan of Angelina Jolie, and I can't stand Brad Pitt, but despite all this Mr. and Mrs. Smith was a decent movie. The ending felt like it dragged out forever, but Pitt and Jolie had excellent chemistry on screen. Plus, the chase scene and the many shootouts are fun to watch, and random bits of comedy thrown in keep you entertained.
  91. JulienC.
    Jun 15, 2005
    6
    Great start, pretty original and full of great ideas. the middle of the movie is very Hollywood and thus not so great (producer was lacking ideas it's obvious). then the end of the movie is good again. It's not a great movie but you will spend a good time, probably can wait for the DVD though.
  92. BD
    Jul 29, 2005
    6
    It was entertaining most of the time, but some of the action scenes were endless and got a little boring because you know the Smiths weren't getting killed. I did notice that Angolie is not aging well. She to get more sleep and get to the gym more often.
  93. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    The chemistry between our two leads is astonishing--it's quite easy to see why they moved on to marry one another. Mr. & Mrs. Smith is a nod to marriage and secrets--just wait until all is revealed.
  94. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    There are some hugely entertaining action sequences and the chemistry between the two leads is undoubtedly strong, but it just lacks a certain dose of humanity within its characters.
  95. Apr 6, 2014
    6
    Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie's Performance is badder then ever an okay violent film . and of the 88% enjoyable . Grade B..........................................................................
  96. Jul 29, 2014
    6
    Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt have an undeniable chemistry that is often more than satisfying, but the result is nothing more than a stereotypical action flick. There is a bit of originality in the plot, but in the end it feels generic, even though enjoyable.
  97. ChristopherB.
    Jun 17, 2005
    5
    It was okay. Reminded me of "True Lies" This movie would have been straight to DVD if not for it's Star Power.
  98. CodyO.
    Jun 30, 2005
    5
    When i first saw the trailer for this movie, i though wow, great action movie coming, but what i found was a couple of good action scenes, and while the story around it was not horrible, i thought that it really got bogged down on itself and took away from the action experience.
  99. Devyn
    Aug 4, 2005
    5
    Action Packed but Tiresome...I kept wanting it to hurry up and show credits.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Pitt coasts through the movie in second gear. I have no idea what he's trying to accomplish with his tight-lipped, low-key performance; maybe he's angling to replace Tom Cruise in "Mission: Impossible IV."
  2. 50
    It's a perfect role for Jolie, whose seductive looks always seem to be concealing something dangerous, even predatory, and she brings out a looseness in Pitt, who fares much better in comedic roles than when playing things straight and stoic (i.e. Troy).
  3. Mr. & Mrs. Smith kicks off with panache and star power - and quickly wears out its welcome.