Mr. Nobody

Mr. Nobody Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Oct 31, 2013
    100
    Van Dormael has crafted a saga that, even at two-plus hours, is endlessly, enormously watchable.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Oct 31, 2013
    83
    van Dormael’s vivid visual sense and genuine curiosity about the nature of love and life, time and death, make it well worth surrendering to his imagination for a while.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Van Dormael's intriguing script is more than matched in his flamboyant direction of this 2-hour-plus tale, heroically edited by Matyas Veress and Susan Shipton into a fluid, generally understandable narrative.
  4. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Sep 13, 2013
    60
    Though a lot of it is well written and directed and, quite often, funny or poignant, the individual scenes rarely become part of a larger whole.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Oct 1, 2013
    60
    In the end, Mr. Nobody’s title is simply too apt.
  6. 50
    An ambitious, if uneven, experimental sci-fi romance that is less a thought-provoker than a dazzling juggling act.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    Mr. Nobody is simply a failure.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A beautiful history combined with a marvelous cinematography and a really interesting point of view: The circumstances of life, parallelA beautiful history combined with a marvelous cinematography and a really interesting point of view: The circumstances of life, parallel universes... The difference that different choices make in our lives. Worth watching. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2016
    10
    Audiovisually, the movie reminded me of Danny Boyle's "Slumdog Millionaire", Tarsem Singh's "The Fall", Sean Ellis's "Cashback", VincenzoAudiovisually, the movie reminded me of Danny Boyle's "Slumdog Millionaire", Tarsem Singh's "The Fall", Sean Ellis's "Cashback", Vincenzo Natali's "Cypher" and even Alex Proyas's "Dark City". The use of colors, music, camera angles and other audiovisual aspects are amazing, innovative and harmonious to say the least.

    Emotionally, I can't think of a movie to have touched me since Paul Thomas Anderson's "Magnolia" and Craig Brewer's "Black Snake Moan"... yet it remains fairly lighthearted most of the time.

    Storywise, this movie takes elements from those same movies and mixes it with the parallel storytelling of Peter Howitt's "Sliding Doors". The themes are diverse, compelling, deep and imaginative.

    All these elements combined leads to a wonderfully confusing surreal movie that feels warm and touching, inspiring and nostalgic. The only problem I have with the movie is that it's a bit too confusing in some areas and that it tries to take on so many different themes it seems a bit too much for a single movie... but I can't deduct more than a single point from a maximum rating because IMO everything else about this movie is simply perfect....

    This movie should have gotten numerous awards.....
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    A great film, well written & well directed . .
  4. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    This movie is not for every mood, but this is the best movie I have ever seen that fits a relaxed, but perceptive philosophical state in whichThis movie is not for every mood, but this is the best movie I have ever seen that fits a relaxed, but perceptive philosophical state in which one can focus more on things like love and interconnection in general rather than action (quick moving plots, suspense, violence and ostentatious sex).

    Now I like your action movies as much as the next guy and love things like the Riddick movies and "adult" fare when my mind and mood matches those things. Nobody would not be a good pick, unless you have introverted friends or something, for watching socially- you need to watch it closely not be chatting, to catch how it all fits together, the little visual details, the slight changes from scene to scene etc. You also won't enjoy Nobody if you're using some sort of "action" oriented mood modifier like alcohol or cocaine. I first watched this on psychedelics and it fits that state of mind *perfectly*, however!

    No movie is perfect for every state of mind, natural or extranaturall, so Nobody gets a 10/10 from me due to the fact that, for me, it is perfect for a state of mind. Other movies might be enjoyable, or even excellent for their respective moods, but it's very rare that I find something that at any point I can think it "perfect". I was thinking about it for weeks and had some related dreams! Just watched it sober and it still stands up.

    You'll be most likely to agree with my opinion if you're someone that really likes to think about life and the big questions who likes to look at things from many angles. Nobody is a great meditation on meaning, love, and our collective existential ignorance. This is the first time I've taken the time to write a review of a movie anywhere on the net, so that says something as I've watched a lot of movies in a lot of different states of mind. Had to "correct" the critics with, to be nice, very "different" taste.
    Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2014
    9
    Despite the time lapse photography this was a success. Mr. Nobody creates a depth of curiosity in this genuine sci-fi drama that expressesDespite the time lapse photography this was a success. Mr. Nobody creates a depth of curiosity in this genuine sci-fi drama that expresses life and love in multiple aspects. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    An extremely interesting look into the act of making different decisions can change ones life.
    Seeing all the possibilities unfold is the
    An extremely interesting look into the act of making different decisions can change ones life.
    Seeing all the possibilities unfold is the driving force behind "Mr.Nobody", and the variations of character development behind Leto's character is phenomenal.
    Excellent.
    Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2015
    1
    My God what an awful confusing mess this movie is. The positive reviewers had to be on very strong drugs to like this thing. Two hours andMy God what an awful confusing mess this movie is. The positive reviewers had to be on very strong drugs to like this thing. Two hours and eighteen minutes I can not get back, avoid at all costs! Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers