Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Oct 31, 2013
    100
    Van Dormael has crafted a saga that, even at two-plus hours, is endlessly, enormously watchable.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Oct 31, 2013
    83
    van Dormael’s vivid visual sense and genuine curiosity about the nature of love and life, time and death, make it well worth surrendering to his imagination for a while.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Van Dormael's intriguing script is more than matched in his flamboyant direction of this 2-hour-plus tale, heroically edited by Matyas Veress and Susan Shipton into a fluid, generally understandable narrative.
  4. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Sep 13, 2013
    60
    Though a lot of it is well written and directed and, quite often, funny or poignant, the individual scenes rarely become part of a larger whole.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Oct 1, 2013
    60
    In the end, Mr. Nobody’s title is simply too apt.
  6. 50
    An ambitious, if uneven, experimental sci-fi romance that is less a thought-provoker than a dazzling juggling act.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    Mr. Nobody is simply a failure.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A beautiful history combined with a marvelous cinematography and a really interesting point of view: The circumstances of life, parallel universes... The difference that different choices make in our lives. Worth watching. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    This movie is a masterpiece no matter which way you look at it. It is weird, weird, weird and weird. Now I know those two statements may contradict each other, however, that is what the movie does and does it well. This movie is complex, focusing on the duration of the human life from the perspective of Nemo the man protagonist. (Nemo meaning "no body") The boy who never maid a choice.
    Its fair to say that this is one of the best movies ever created and certainly is my favorite.
    As I have mentioned it the world of "Mr Nobody" is complex, after watching the movie you will find yourself asking question which have no simple questions. THIS IS DEFINITELY A MUST SEE MOVIE!
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    A great film, well written & well directed . .
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Mr Nobody is, for the record, my favourite film. Its a spiritual and philosophical journey of Nemo Nobody, a man who narrates his story to a journalist in the 22nd century as he approaches the final stage of life. His story concerns multiple lives based on the choices he makes throughout his life. It's an interesting concept, and it works extremely well; its beautifully filmed, has impressive performances (particularly from Jared Leto, who plays Nemo aged 35 and 118) and a delicate score by the director's late brother, the story whilst complex is both fascinating and thought-provoking. This is film-making at its finest. MASTERPIECE. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    This one is absolutely crazy. Throughout, I could feel my brain exploding as I tried to grasp what was going on. However, once I had an idea (and that idea was later confirmed), everything made a little more sense, but even then, the ending is still completely open to interepretation. In many ways, that is what makes this film so successful. It is confusing as all get out, then it shows a little "hint" and then as that sinks in, you realize that that may not be the answer we were looking for. Ultimately, it is a film of decisions and how those decisions will change the course that our lives take. From a technical standpoint, the cinematography is great and Jaco Van Dormael is able to really create some interesting things with this film without question and really helps you to feel sympathy and happiness and then symapthy and then happiness over-and-over throughout the film.. On top of that, Jared Leto is great as always in the lead role.

    In terms of negatives, the confusion is one of them. I love the confusion, but at times, it goes too far and you are left sitting there thinking "really?". On top of that, there are a few inconsistencies I noticed that disrupted the film slightly for me or left me more confused about the inclusion of a specific scene if it was not going to have an impact on other things. Other than that, I really enjoyed this film and it certainly makes you use your head.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie i have seen in a while, i don't understand how some critics can give it 25 score and score twilight higher, that just show how incompetent some critics are. This movie was brilliant, it makes you wonder about life and what we could have done with different choices in our life, it really made me cry at one point. I guess you have to be in some state of mind to really appreciate this movie, for me it was beautiful. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    2
    some very good cinematography paired with lazy writing with very little coherence, wrapping itself with arthouse editing and psuedo science philosophy; an extremely pretentious film. its a shame that that such good visuals are paired with bad writing.

    Casting Leto a poor choice with such disjointed plots. He doesn’t have the charisma to pull you through this kind of story. If we compare this to films in a similar vein, The Fountain, Run Lola Run, or butterfly effect; its apparent how inferior it is. As Leto progresses the movie, his stoicis and aloofness just turns you off to giving a **** about what’s happening to him. Have you seen a less convincing father? Compared to the frenetic, emotional performance of Lola, her desperation sucks you through the movie. Its important to for the protagonist to draw the audience in to maintain tension and drama.

    While this movie tries to pass itself off as something it’s not; interjecting itself with bill nye presentations throughout; it ironically is less logical and thought provoking than the “B” movie butterfly effect. Just one expample is the characters name Nemo Nobody, which the movie continuously hits your over the head with. They could’ve explained one time that Nemo means nobody. There’s reason why in 20,000 leagues, the name Nemo is used instead of “Nobody”. Nobody as a name is hokey and totally unconvincing.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers