Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 17, 2011
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 112 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
47
Mixed:
48
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
HfahmyJul 8, 2011
Nice movie, makes you smile, just smile. The penguins are the main roles, without them there is nothing, it is a funny idea to have ice in an apartment, thanks to them. Jim Carrey (Mr. popper) is less exaggerating, his ex-wife and two kidsNice movie, makes you smile, just smile. The penguins are the main roles, without them there is nothing, it is a funny idea to have ice in an apartment, thanks to them. Jim Carrey (Mr. popper) is less exaggerating, his ex-wife and two kids are doing their acting without too much effort, the movie doesn't need or excite super acting. The audience is comfortable after a tense week, that's the main goal of this movie, no more. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
WinstonoboogieJun 29, 2011
Inoffensive family comedy starring Jim Carrey, Angela Lansbury, and a half dozen really, REALLY cute little penguins. If that isn't enough to scare you off, you may have just stumbled into the right theatre.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscApr 9, 2014
"Jim Carey is lovely at playing mr . popper" . as always jim carey in comedies is always a jackass . It is funny but this movie is okay . sometimes carrey's comedies are funny , stupid , retarted . Grade B maybe a C+
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ShiiraJul 4, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Comedy is drama in disguise. It's no wonder that the penguins stand in rapt attention at the sight of Charlie Chaplin's "The Gold Rush" playing on the television. The flightless birds sense a kindred spirit with the mustached man sporting a bowler hat and cane. Like "The Tramp", the penguins want to go home. About his craft, Chaplin once said, "Life is a tragedy when seen in close-up, but a comedy in long shot." "Mr. Popper's Penguins" knows this. When the penguins escape from their master's apartment, the silent comic's theory proves to be ever so true, as the filmmaker gives us crowd-pleasing shots of the Antarctica natives out in the city, looking adorable and full of high spirits, although the truth of the matter reflects the dichotomy embedded in Chaplin's words. These penguins, unused to the city sounds and innumerable amount of passing New Yorkers(in cars, or on foot), are undergoing a great deal of trauma, no thanks to the master's explorer father who stole them from their home at the end of the world. In an almost Chaplin-esque moment, Nimrod stops to look at a stuffed penguin(a homage to "City Lights"), which hints at the yearning this group has for their families back at Cape Royds, or some other gentoo colony. But in the meantime, Tom Popper will suffice. As surrogate parents go, he's not bad, even though the birds are being used to regain the divorcee's children's love. Because of the penguin's stature, their social anxiety, especially at the Guggenheim, gets misconstrued as comedy, which is not the case for a larger animal, like Buddy, the titular ape in the 1997 film about Trudy Lintz. Size matters. The moviegoer understands right away that the socialite's pet belongs in the wild, whereas the penguin, made human through the anthropomorphism of an enviro-propagandist doc like "March of the Penguins", as a result, seems more adaptable to civilization. To Popper's children, they're exotic lapdogs. At the museum(in a scene similar to "Buddy" where the ape goes mad at the Chicago World's Fair), the penguins abase themselves through the filmic language of slapstick comedy. While Popper tries to woo a new client, the rattled birds take advantage of the spilled water of an overturned champagne bucket by belly-sliding down the corkscrew-shaped museum layout. It's a cry for help, this seeming playfulness. The demented bunch transform the Guggenheim into a banal marine animal park. But this penguin act is filled with latent pathos. One after another, the birds utilize a sculpture as a ramp to help launch themselves over the retaining wall, landing haphazardly into the crowd below with total disregard for their own safety. It's a mass suicide attempt, played for laughs. There's a precedent for such nihilism. In "Encounters at the End of the World", the 2007 documentary about Antarctica, which features a segment on penguins(not the "fluffy" kind), filmmaker Werner Herzog elicits darker laughs from he moviegoer when he asks an ornithologist about the possibility of a gay penguin(no, but there is such a thing as penguin prostitutes; they're sluts about nesting rocks), or an insane penguin. True to Chaplin's words, the filmmaker captures a comic moment, albeit in the blackest sense, in long shot, of a penguin gone mad, as he races toward the mountains, away from the colony and feeding grounds, where his insatiable wanderlust will end in death from exhaustion and frostbite. No explanation is given for the bird's mental collapse, but in "Mr. Popper's Penguins", the first bird, Captain, sent ahead of the others, loses the egg he was put in charge of incubating, and becomes more distraught than the audience(and the movie itself) realizes. In his grief, the penguin, harboring delusions of being an eagle, leaps from a rooftop to avert capture from zoo authorities. It's only happenstance that the bird had previously entangled himself with hang-gliding equipment during the chase. Obviously, a penguin wouldn't know he has the wherewithal to fly, so his jumping, in a sense, is a decision he makes unilaterally from the anthropomorphic demands of the script(that supposes the bird knows he won't fall). To the scientists and other oddballs in the Herzog film, Antarctica is the end of the world, but to the Captain, it's simply home. As for Popper himself, he's no less crazy than Rene Russo in "Buddy". Like the "terra bus" driver at McMurdo Station who quit his cushy banking job to become a world traveler, the profit-minded realtor has the same epiphany about the world. It's not all about money. Reminiscent of "Close Encounters...", in which a man builds the Devil's Tower in the family home, Popper transforms his house into a slice of Antarctica. Like Roy, he slips into madness, choosing his obsession(saving the Captain's egg) over the family(he loses his job). Perhaps he had confused the northern lights for a close encounter of the first kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DarkCriticJun 19, 2011
I'm just gonna say that this movie is really enjoyable to see Jim Carrey and the penguins are having fun to each other, but unfortunately it's not that spectacular great or good it is. My problem is that the penguins are having too much CGII'm just gonna say that this movie is really enjoyable to see Jim Carrey and the penguins are having fun to each other, but unfortunately it's not that spectacular great or good it is. My problem is that the penguins are having too much CGI in each scene that goes everywhere that the penguin can do. I don't know? It's just nothing to see the penguin could be more realistic in CGI, and I was thinking to myself that why couldn't use real penguins and make it work like training the penguin to be real and friendly. Here we see that the penguin can use too much CGI as uncomfortable way that it's just fake. The penguins are so much annoying that they do farts and screams a lot with getting catchphrase in our heads. The story is not developed (not compare to the book), the characters are pointless, and the scenes are so dumb and so silly. Jim Carrey did okay as the character of Mr Popper, and I could only say for that actor could be choice for putting him in the movie and sometimes could be funny for him. The movie is just a plain mediocre film that could be fun for kids, but I'm sure that this movie is more funny, but stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MoviebuffreviewJul 13, 2011
There is nothing fantastic, fresh, or very original about Mr. Popper's Penguins, but there is enough good humor and a solid performance by Jim Carrey which makes it worth a look. It was much better than I expected it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Khunter4382Jan 4, 2012
An unbelievable, innocent film that is just plain fun to watch. Carrey is excellent as usual. The question here is not the performances.....they are all good, and how awesome was it to see Angela Lansbury back on screen? My main issue wasAn unbelievable, innocent film that is just plain fun to watch. Carrey is excellent as usual. The question here is not the performances.....they are all good, and how awesome was it to see Angela Lansbury back on screen? My main issue was that this film was so completely unbelievable, or rather, the things that happened in the film have nearly no chance of happening. One could forgive this if the film dealt with say magic, fantasy or even if the film was animated. Such an unbelievable plot would be forgiven easily if it fell into one of the aforementioned categories, but it doesn't. It plays itself off to be true......that it could and would actually happen. Come on! Turning a New York apartment into an icey penguin sanitary populated with 6 loud penguins that are disturbing the neighbors? A penguin flying with a kite on its back? I could go on, but I won't. Regardless, this is an innocent ridiculous film that can be a blast for a family to watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hollyvictoria19Aug 17, 2011
I'm a teenager and I thought this film was quite good. Not the best film i have ever seen but its not bad. It has a few funny bits but there's not much to laugh about tbh. I wouldn't buy it on DVD but I dont regret going to see it because itI'm a teenager and I thought this film was quite good. Not the best film i have ever seen but its not bad. It has a few funny bits but there's not much to laugh about tbh. I wouldn't buy it on DVD but I dont regret going to see it because it was alright. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
YoshipieDec 14, 2011
Nice effort, great modern translation from the original novel. Decent selection of cast. Excellent humour and keeps kids tuned in. However, this movie seems just like another family movie. Nothing special to make it stand out from the others.Nice effort, great modern translation from the original novel. Decent selection of cast. Excellent humour and keeps kids tuned in. However, this movie seems just like another family movie. Nothing special to make it stand out from the others. For me, it slightly resembles Disney's "Bedtime Stories". Overall, good attempt. Definitely recommended for some good-quality family time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DilaronAug 13, 2013
The movie is okay- and that pretty much bares it all. I enjoyed it a bit- it's humorous and heartwarming. Jim Carrey is nice comic and he shows his skills in this film. The scenario is pretty predictable. Still, it's not half bad- and kidsThe movie is okay- and that pretty much bares it all. I enjoyed it a bit- it's humorous and heartwarming. Jim Carrey is nice comic and he shows his skills in this film. The scenario is pretty predictable. Still, it's not half bad- and kids are going to love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tall_But_ShortJul 8, 2012
Based on the children's book, Mr. Popper's penguin delivered for what it was. A children's movie. This movie is nothing and will never be anything more than this. The penguins are cute and Jim Carrey is funny at times and kids will just eatBased on the children's book, Mr. Popper's penguin delivered for what it was. A children's movie. This movie is nothing and will never be anything more than this. The penguins are cute and Jim Carrey is funny at times and kids will just eat this movie up. It has that cheesy family value "theme" to it which is in nearly all children's films nowadays. I recommend this film for anyone ten or under. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
For some reason I watched this film, I had really expectations, but it actually okay. It was entertaining and had some funny moments. I thought it was a pretty cute family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
kevinhooksJan 20, 2013
It's a film with a good heart and has everything you'd expect from the comedian goofball himself, Jim Carrey. The only problem, though, is the penguins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticMay 8, 2014
Unfunny, awkward, and, in general, mundane and uneventful. With an incredibly loose adaptation that soils the plot into a long-winded family comedy about a father's cool relationship with his ex-wife and children. Jim Carrey is done. Officially.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
diogomendesDec 26, 2014
Its story has good intentions and Jim Carrey is always welcome, but "Mr Popper's Penguins" is bereft of the laughs that made previous Carrey's outputs (The Mask, Liar Liar) a hit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
russiangamerApr 27, 2017
Главная проблема фильма - весь основной сюжет был уже десятки раз. Тут и не очень хороший в начале, но изменившийся под конец главный герой, трудное детство, конфликты с родными, стандартная мораль, хэппи энд. Если бы не старина Джим и,Главная проблема фильма - весь основной сюжет был уже десятки раз. Тут и не очень хороший в начале, но изменившийся под конец главный герой, трудное детство, конфликты с родными, стандартная мораль, хэппи энд. Если бы не старина Джим и, всё-таки, наличие реально хороших шуток, то фильм можно было бы спустить в унитаз. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeFeb 16, 2016
A lowest-common denominator family slapstick comedy filled with family fun for your entire family. This movie adaption based on the 1938 book of the same name tries to entertain me but generally fails at that part. Most likely enjoyable withA lowest-common denominator family slapstick comedy filled with family fun for your entire family. This movie adaption based on the 1938 book of the same name tries to entertain me but generally fails at that part. Most likely enjoyable with your family, but you'd hardly get any treats if you're going to see this movie alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FuturedirectorFeb 22, 2017
Unfortunately, Mr. Popper's Penguins is only a coformist and flawed picture as any other of its kind. Anyway, Carrey comes back again, a funny picture arrives and a satisfying conclusion is notable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews