Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 24, 1993
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 153 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
136
Mixed:
16
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EpicLadySpongeMar 4, 2016
Can't this just get a little funnier around here? Because it seems that users highly enjoyed it as in the same way as other people did outside Metacritic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 29, 2015
Mrs. Doubtfire is incredibly unique and winds up being a great blend of comedy and heartfelt family drama. Robin Williams manages to blend the two things he was great at in this one: being absolutely hilarious, but also just being a greatMrs. Doubtfire is incredibly unique and winds up being a great blend of comedy and heartfelt family drama. Robin Williams manages to blend the two things he was great at in this one: being absolutely hilarious, but also just being a great actor. Throughout, the film really pulls on your heart strings and makes you feel invested as you root for Williams' character to be able to see his children. The film is pretty well-written and is relatively well directed, which also help here. My main complaint is that it did get a little ridiculous at times. There were moments that just angered me with how stupid it was and how far-fetched it was. Sure, the premise is a little far-fetched, but not as out there as some of the stuff that happens in the film itself. Those moments aside, this one is quite funny and incredibly touching and makes for quite the entertaining film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysFeb 16, 2014
Hilarious and original, Mrs. Doubtfire is a great comedy. Robin Williams is in his glory as he plays a husband who wants to spend more time with his kids by being their new nanny. Unbeknownst to his wife and kids that it's really him, heHilarious and original, Mrs. Doubtfire is a great comedy. Robin Williams is in his glory as he plays a husband who wants to spend more time with his kids by being their new nanny. Unbeknownst to his wife and kids that it's really him, he tries to keep the jig up for as long as he can. This is a heartwarming family movie with some bitter and adult undertones. Anyone who says this movie is aimed at kids and gives it a bad review because of that didn't fully understand the movie or it's meaning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Not only is "Mrs. Doubtfire" a side-splittingly uproarious comedy, but it's affecting, boasting one of Robin Williams best and most diverse performances.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
Robin Williams' portrayal of Mrs. Doubtfire is one of the greatest comedic performances since the beginning of film. The film brings you through the laughs and the cries of a dysfunctional family--hitting home with each punch. It's magic!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
When you think of the name Robin Williams, movies like this come to mind, because without him, a film like this would never be on the radar. Williams is classically funny in a way that no one else is and he shows again in Mrs. Doubtfire.When you think of the name Robin Williams, movies like this come to mind, because without him, a film like this would never be on the radar. Williams is classically funny in a way that no one else is and he shows again in Mrs. Doubtfire. Separated from his children in a divorce, he needs a way to see his kids every day, and the idea of Mrs. Doubtfire is born. The cast is a mix of veteran comedy actors and young kids and they all do a phenomenal job. Williams of course is genius and makes the film, in a role that is clearly written for him. On the surface it seems like a kids movie, but it's not. There is a lot there for everyone and even thou it's only a PG film, it is genuinely funny. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMar 21, 2012
It is a beautiful film. With a perfect blend of comedy and heartwarming moments, its a winner. This is one of those movies that will change your life when you see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
I love this movie. Throughout my childhood, this movie game me hope, faith, and joy. This film has a special place in my heart and had a great impact on my childhood. I'll never forget out beloved Robin Williams, it's a shame that we lost himI love this movie. Throughout my childhood, this movie game me hope, faith, and joy. This film has a special place in my heart and had a great impact on my childhood. I'll never forget out beloved Robin Williams, it's a shame that we lost him so soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
chwAug 5, 2014
Mrs. Doubtfire was actually a great movie. Don't listen to the critics when it comes to this, they don't know what they're talking about. They say it's inappropriate for children even though it's aimed for children, but the children wouldn'tMrs. Doubtfire was actually a great movie. Don't listen to the critics when it comes to this, they don't know what they're talking about. They say it's inappropriate for children even though it's aimed for children, but the children wouldn't understand the inappropriate content. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyDec 11, 2016
Mrs. Doubtfire is a really funny and enjoyable comedy that people of all ages can appreciate. Robin Williams did an excellent job in the leading role and I also liked the kid actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sil3nt_nickMar 25, 2013
Robin Williams leads an exceptional cast for this hilarious comedy about a divorced father desperate to spend more time with his children to the point where he is willing to dress up as a sixty-year-old nanny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JmsbppAug 5, 2013
La pelicula es chistosa, entretenida y original, Robin Williams en uno de sus mas poderosos personajes logrando destacarlo en la comedia, recomendada para los que quieran pasar 2 horas de solo risas con una solo risas
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Tranquilbez22Mar 23, 2012
I love this movie, Best movie Robin williams has ever made and the supporting cast is wonderful, particuarly Sally field. It's as Hilarious as it is sad, why more movies be like this, if your parents have gone through a bitter divorce thenI love this movie, Best movie Robin williams has ever made and the supporting cast is wonderful, particuarly Sally field. It's as Hilarious as it is sad, why more movies be like this, if your parents have gone through a bitter divorce then this film is instantly relatable. It's got the Robin Williams humour we all know and love and it's always re-watchable. it's brilliant! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JUANPANBJun 17, 2013
Simplemente una buena comedia para ver en familia. En conclusion una buena pelicula. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ArceptafferJul 29, 2015
Critics don't know what they are talking about. This film is ammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaazzzzzz
iiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnng!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScottReidMar 4, 2013
Robin Williams plays a 60 year old nanny with a soft Scottish accent. There's literally no words to describe this. I'll just um give it a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JaredBartonMay 6, 2012
Don't know how I ever went so long without writing a review of this movie. Robin Williams is in top form as Daniel, a man whose wife asks for a divorce, leaving him with no chance to see his kids without supervision from the court.Don't know how I ever went so long without writing a review of this movie. Robin Williams is in top form as Daniel, a man whose wife asks for a divorce, leaving him with no chance to see his kids without supervision from the court. Thankfully, he finds out that his ex-wife Miranda, played by Sally Field, is advertising for a housekeeper. Seeing an opportunity, he, along with his brother Frank, and Frank's lover Jack, creates the character of Mrs. Doubtfire. Watching Daniel try to keep his true identity hidden is a scream! I don't think anyone could have played the role of Mrs. Doubtfire any better than Robin Williams. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
GerrickC.Nov 24, 2006
This movie allows for some seriousness along with some of William's comedic abilities. The movie has one overlying theme: family. Williams shows his sensitive side and his ability of portraying older women with funny accents. The movie This movie allows for some seriousness along with some of William's comedic abilities. The movie has one overlying theme: family. Williams shows his sensitive side and his ability of portraying older women with funny accents. The movie is funny, sad, and also very good. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PatrickOct 15, 2006
Reviewers really annoy me... This is a great, funny film. To think that this was rated lower than all the overrated crap like Star Wars and lord Of The Rings really annoys me. Robin Williams is great in this, go watch it.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
Myles#13Sep 8, 2006
Look... if you love Robin Williams's work (like I do), you will love this movie. Williams is at his very best in 'Mrs. Doubtfire'... every scene he's in will bring a smile and a laugh to your face. He manages to disappear Look... if you love Robin Williams's work (like I do), you will love this movie. Williams is at his very best in 'Mrs. Doubtfire'... every scene he's in will bring a smile and a laugh to your face. He manages to disappear within his disguise, the sign of a phenomenal actor... even though you know it's him, you'll have to think twice. MUST-SEE! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WindAerisDec 29, 2012
This is an incredibly heartwarming movie, you will absolutely fall in love with the heartwarming grandmother, I am absoulutely amazed at anyone who has not completely fallen in love with this film has surely no heart. It's the perfect film toThis is an incredibly heartwarming movie, you will absolutely fall in love with the heartwarming grandmother, I am absoulutely amazed at anyone who has not completely fallen in love with this film has surely no heart. It's the perfect film to just put a warm smile on your face.

Robin gave us a family member, you will absolutely fall in love with his "Mrs Doubtfire" character.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews