Mrs. Doubtfire Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: An unemployed actor (Williams) loses custody of his children after his wife leaves him. Desperate to spend more time with the kids, the crafty thespian decides to dress up as a 60-year-old British woman and interview with his ex-wife for a nanny position. He lands the job, but he'll have toAn unemployed actor (Williams) loses custody of his children after his wife leaves him. Desperate to spend more time with the kids, the crafty thespian decides to dress up as a 60-year-old British woman and interview with his ex-wife for a nanny position. He lands the job, but he'll have to give the performance of his life to keep it. (Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    90
    Director Chris Columbus shrewdly brings together many of the same selling points as in his "Home Alone" movies, mixing broad comedic strokes with heavy-handed messages about the magical power of family.
  2. 80
    Although the broad comedy of the first half soon gives way to a tidal wave of entirely uncalled for sentimentality, this is still a laugh riot - the sight of our hero setting fire to his falsies never fails to amuse.
  3. Williams gives an inspired comic performance. Unfortunately, he outclasses the movie, which is basically a patchwork rip-off of Tootsie.
  4. Williams has to break out of a second-rate "Tootsie" imitation, ankles clamped in pathos and face covered in latex. He pulls it off in the end, but it's not pretty.
  5. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    50
    Anyone looking for the kind of comic brio that Dustin Hoffman and company brought to "Tootsie" will not find it here. [24 Nov 1993 Pg. F1]
  6. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    50
    That Mrs. Doubtfire, a Tootsie Poppins for our times, misfires in the plausibility department and mis-aims its well-meaning if muddled messages about divorce doesn't matter. [24 Nov 1993 Pg. 01.D]
  7. 20
    Mrs. Doubtfire is overlong, barely funny, and a surprisingly bitter movie especially for a film aimed at children.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Robin Williams' portrayal of Mrs. Doubtfire is one of the greatest comedic performances since the beginning of film. The film brings youRobin Williams' portrayal of Mrs. Doubtfire is one of the greatest comedic performances since the beginning of film. The film brings you through the laughs and the cries of a dysfunctional family--hitting home with each punch. It's magic! Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    Critics don't know what they are talking about. This film is ammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaazzzzzzCritics don't know what they are talking about. This film is ammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaazzzzzz
    iiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnng!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    Don't know how I ever went so long without writing a review of this movie. Robin Williams is in top form as Daniel, a man whose wife asks forDon't know how I ever went so long without writing a review of this movie. Robin Williams is in top form as Daniel, a man whose wife asks for a divorce, leaving him with no chance to see his kids without supervision from the court. Thankfully, he finds out that his ex-wife Miranda, played by Sally Field, is advertising for a housekeeper. Seeing an opportunity, he, along with his brother Frank, and Frank's lover Jack, creates the character of Mrs. Doubtfire. Watching Daniel try to keep his true identity hidden is a scream! I don't think anyone could have played the role of Mrs. Doubtfire any better than Robin Williams. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    I love this movie. Throughout my childhood, this movie game me hope, faith, and joy. This film has a special place in my heart and had a greatI love this movie. Throughout my childhood, this movie game me hope, faith, and joy. This film has a special place in my heart and had a great impact on my childhood. I'll never forget out beloved Robin Williams, it's a shame that we lost him so soon. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    Simplemente una buena comedia para ver en familia. En conclusion una buena pelicula.Simplemente una buena comedia para ver en familia. En conclusion una buena pelicula. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Expand
  6. GerrickC.
    Nov 24, 2006
    8
    This movie allows for some seriousness along with some of William's comedic abilities. The movie has one overlying theme: family. This movie allows for some seriousness along with some of William's comedic abilities. The movie has one overlying theme: family. Williams shows his sensitive side and his ability of portraying older women with funny accents. The movie is funny, sad, and also very good. Expand
  7. May 29, 2015
    7
    Mrs. Doubtfire is incredibly unique and winds up being a great blend of comedy and heartfelt family drama. Robin Williams manages to blend theMrs. Doubtfire is incredibly unique and winds up being a great blend of comedy and heartfelt family drama. Robin Williams manages to blend the two things he was great at in this one: being absolutely hilarious, but also just being a great actor. Throughout, the film really pulls on your heart strings and makes you feel invested as you root for Williams' character to be able to see his children. The film is pretty well-written and is relatively well directed, which also help here. My main complaint is that it did get a little ridiculous at times. There were moments that just angered me with how stupid it was and how far-fetched it was. Sure, the premise is a little far-fetched, but not as out there as some of the stuff that happens in the film itself. Those moments aside, this one is quite funny and incredibly touching and makes for quite the entertaining film. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.