Cineville | Release Date: November 25, 2005
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 18 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
0
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BarbaraB.Sep 30, 2007
Superb acting and lovely story. It just warms your heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobW.Jun 9, 2006
This is one of those films that can be seen again and again. It is entertaining, touching, humorous, sad, and none of it gratuitous. A real tale of young life and life in its final days and how the young can learn from older generations. This is one of those films that can be seen again and again. It is entertaining, touching, humorous, sad, and none of it gratuitous. A real tale of young life and life in its final days and how the young can learn from older generations. Well done and highly regarded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJJul 21, 2007
Poignant story of the beauty of human connections. Joan Plowright, as always, gave a superb performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickyG.Jan 5, 2006
Quality film, unfolds slowly, solid acting, even in the smallest roles, very moving. Maybe a tiny bit too long, but well worth viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanD.Jan 3, 2007
This was a wonderfully sweet movie about youth and old age coming together. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NadaD.Feb 10, 2007
Joan Plowright is incredible in this wonderful gem of a film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leonardP.Nov 25, 2005
A joy to watch.they don't make films like this anymore. how sad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScoutW.Sep 12, 2007
I have always admired Joan Plowright, but this film sealed it -- she is truly amazing. Her performance brought tears to my eyes and an ache to my chest. Rupert Friend was also superb as her kind, senstiive and creative young friend. What a I have always admired Joan Plowright, but this film sealed it -- she is truly amazing. Her performance brought tears to my eyes and an ache to my chest. Rupert Friend was also superb as her kind, senstiive and creative young friend. What a movie--best I've seen in a long while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
eval.Dec 11, 2005
Indeed it is a shame that more movies like this do not exist. Ms. Plowright's character reminded me of so many grandmothers I've met - dignified, despite the indignities visited upon them by their families. Ms. Plowright's Indeed it is a shame that more movies like this do not exist. Ms. Plowright's character reminded me of so many grandmothers I've met - dignified, despite the indignities visited upon them by their families. Ms. Plowright's voice was as sensitive as a musical instrument, and she played it like a master. Rupert Friend was a delight as well - how many of us have wished for olden times that may never have existed, and how lucky would we all be to have the opportunity to learn from the riches of old age. When we left the theater, people were on their cell phones calling home: "Hello Mom ...?" It's about time we woke up and realized the family love that awaits us if we would just notice. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.Dec 16, 2005
Wonderful film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful