Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Shakespeare’s classic comedy is given a contemporary spin by director Joss Whedon. Shot in just 12 days, the story of sparring lovers Beatrice and Benedick offers a dark, sexy and occasionally absurd view of the intricate game that is love. As matchmaking schemes are put into play andShakespeare’s classic comedy is given a contemporary spin by director Joss Whedon. Shot in just 12 days, the story of sparring lovers Beatrice and Benedick offers a dark, sexy and occasionally absurd view of the intricate game that is love. As matchmaking schemes are put into play and disguises are donned, loathing and love soon prove to be close cousins. [Lionsgate] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    Would the magic hold? The magic holds. It holds from beginning to end.
  2. 90
    The movie’s singular acting triumph is Nathan Fillion’s Constable Dogberry, one of Shakespeare’s simpler buffoons made poetic by understatement. Fillion speaks softly, with ­uninflected sincerity, a brilliant departure from the standard gregarious-­hambone Dogberry. It’s his insularity — his imperviousness to the interjections of more observant people — that makes him such a touchingly credible clown.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jun 20, 2013
    83
    It's a pleasant, engaging version of probably the closest thing to a sitcom the Bard ever penned.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jun 4, 2013
    80
    With its interrogations of gender, feminism, and marriage, Shakespeare's comedy is an apt vehicle for Whedon's own storytelling agenda.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    With Much Ado About Nothing, Whedon has crafted an endearing bagatelle, made with equal parts brio and love, ambition and pared-down modesty.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 5, 2013
    75
    The film isn't as fast and funny as it could be, although Nathan Fillion's easily offended constable injects some sorely needed comic relief.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 3, 2013
    50
    The film is nothing without the physicality of the performers, as Joss Whedon's script handles the transition of Shakespeare's language to modern day indifferently.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Brilliant! Rarely have I enjoyed a film this much. "Much Ado" was funny, beautiful and held the audience rapt. The cast was captivating.Brilliant! Rarely have I enjoyed a film this much. "Much Ado" was funny, beautiful and held the audience rapt. The cast was captivating. The artistic and directorial choices in tone, setting, photography, staging, and pace were all spot on. I guess a little less camera shake would have been OK. Collapse
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    joss whedon once again proves he is a good director and he must be good after avengers , clark gregg did well and so does the rest of cast.joss whedon once again proves he is a good director and he must be good after avengers , clark gregg did well and so does the rest of cast. always good movie Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    What an amazing home! Whedon's Much Ado is fantastic, mostly because of its lead actors the consistently amazing Amy Acker and theWhat an amazing home! Whedon's Much Ado is fantastic, mostly because of its lead actors the consistently amazing Amy Acker and the criminally under-cast Alexis Denisof. Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2014
    7
    Josh Whedon's take on Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing retains the original script but updates the setting to the modern day.

    Truth be
    Josh Whedon's take on Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing retains the original script but updates the setting to the modern day.

    Truth be told it's not always easy to follow the 17th Century dialogue but the bard had a way with words that few others can match and his tales still largely stand up today, even if some of the humour is lost in translation. The performances, including a host of Whedon favourites, are excellent and help belay the movies small budget.
    Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    Saying anything bad about Shakespeare or an adaptation of one of his works is a quick and easy way for people to jerk their knees and call youSaying anything bad about Shakespeare or an adaptation of one of his works is a quick and easy way for people to jerk their knees and call you an uncultured heathen. Doing one of his works is the fast track to get great reviews because syndicated snob critics really, REALLY don't want to look uncultured. Joss Whedon's adaptation of "Much Ado About Nothing" doesn't do much wrong but it isn't doing much to stand out either. Most of the acting is decent and the heart of the play is there, so it's funny. But it doesn't change the fact that it looked cheap to me. Modern day retellings always come off cheap to me because it looks like a film student's last minute project. It's like they forgot the movie was due so they just filmed their friends reading the lines, excused the modern day attire by saying it's a "modern retelling" and put it in black and white so it looks, "you know, deep and stuff." This movie looks less like it was done by Joss Whedon and more like it was done by a student who's semester got away from him and decided to make this the Sunday afternoon before the Monday it was due. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    Unless you are a Shakespeare lover this movie is not for you. For me, combining a Shakesperian theme in today's world (even if it was meantUnless you are a Shakespeare lover this movie is not for you. For me, combining a Shakesperian theme in today's world (even if it was meant to be a comedy) just didn't work. Also didn't care that it was in black and white but that's just me. It didn't provide any authenticity. I don give it points for the quality of actors in the movie. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    0
    Thank you, Mike_M. After trying to watch this god awful movie I searched desperately to see if others felt the same way. The critics areThank you, Mike_M. After trying to watch this god awful movie I searched desperately to see if others felt the same way. The critics are idiots and have truly disappointed me. What is worse, they made me feel as though I was taking crazy pills. This movie was terrible. Thank you for the very accurate and well written review. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers