Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 26, 2013
    100
    Watching Mud unfold, one suspects that the Arkansas-reared Nichols remembers exactly what it was like to be a boy of the Southern wilds.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 26, 2013
    100
    That Nichols is able to orchestrate this entire journey with steady tension and lyrical imagery is a testament to his storytelling capabilities.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Apr 25, 2013
    88
    Mud runs over two hours, climaxing with a shootout that belongs in a different movie. It’s a rare misstep in an art-house movie that will pull mainstream audiences along as inexorably as the Mississippi River. Go see it.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 24, 2013
    75
    Reese Witherspoon's unglamorous, understated supporting work recalls the kinds of films she made before becoming a movie star. Other recognizable faces include Sam Shepard, Joe Don Baker, Michael Shannon, and Sarah Paulson.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Apr 25, 2013
    75
    Endearing and believable, the two actors playing Ellis and Neckbone are pitch-perfect.
  6. 70
    Jeff Nichols’ much-anticipated follow-up to his breakthrough second feature Take Shelter feels less adventurous and unsettling but remains a well carpentered piece of work marked by some fine performances and resilient thematic fiber.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 25, 2013
    40
    Stripped of his former pretty-boy image, the Texas-born actor is snarly and gnarled, and understands what Nichols is aiming for. That’s crucial, as Mud needs something to stick to.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Mud is a gripping film from start to finish, marking itself as a modern classic, reminiscent of Stand By Me. McConaughhey delivers his best performance yet as Mud, the man camping out on an island that two boys discover when exploring. Tye Sheridan (Ellis) makes his breakout performance as one of the boys. His friend, Neckbone (played by Jacob Lofland), is excellent as well. Mud captures every emotion with pure accuracy, strategically placing seeds for the audience to feed off of. I could tell you more about Mud, but this is a film you need to experience yourself. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Understated and beautiful, this film brings you gently into the character's world, and then grips you. The writer/director Jeff Nichols gave the cast plenty to work with, and they didn't let him down. Compelling and honest throughout, this is my favourite film of the year so far. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Mud is one of the best movies of late. Many stars are here, and they are anything but wasted. It starts off a little slow, but once Mud gets going, it's thrillingly alive. Even after it's ending, I wanted more. McConaughey's performance in this well-executed drama is one of the best of his career. However, it's the kid, Tye Sheridan, who steals the show here. Even for a teenage actor, Sheridan shows depth to the character, and won't be a "one-hit wonder". This kid has real potential, and I would love to see him in more movies. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Mud is one of the most unexpected surprises of 2013.It is a great coming-of-age film which manages to never feel sappy or overly-sentimental. It features an incredible performance by Mathew McConaughey as well as the child actors plus great cinematography and an engaging script that entertains you from start to finish. McConaughey has made a huge turn around with his career, and i applaud him for that. Mud is a prime example of the man's acting skill, and I can't wait to see what other projects he will take as his career continues. I usually don't praise child actors, but the kids in this movie were great.With a movie like this it's easy to become cliche and derivative, but Mud never becomes that. It's a great film, one of my 5 favorite of 2013 and some people are even hailing it as a modern classic. 2013 has been a great year for films, and Mud is a perfect example of why it has been such a good year. Very much worth a watch. Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    Mud has great acting, great writing, a great story, and a powerful message. I can see this movie being up for a couple academy awards. It doesn't have much action, but when it the action happens it hits you hard. Awesome Flick! Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    It was a bit slow, but it`s a movie with characters you learn to care about.I thought it was a good movie overall. I did not expect it to be about love as much as it was, but it was interesting Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    1
    The most over rated movie of the year and quite possibly history. They finally figured out how to make McConaughey shine as an actor surround him with other horrific actors. He plays a homeless, starving vagrant. At one point, they mention his shirt and I thought, here it comes, he's going to take his damn shirt off (mandatory in all his movies). Of course, they contrive a way and he takes his shirt off and he's all ripped he can't find food but manages to hit the gym 3 times a day. Absurd Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers