Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 19, 1998
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 176 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
156
Mixed:
14
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
Disney's "Mulan" simply represents two things; first, its one of the original Disney princess animations, and second, its a superb masterpiece in the world of cinema and animation alike.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
YoshipieNov 15, 2011
Mulan is simply stunning. I love how the makers of this movie has decided to set this in China and lets viewers subtly experience some characteristics and cultures of the Chinese people. Other than that, it provides fantastic themes, likeMulan is simply stunning. I love how the makers of this movie has decided to set this in China and lets viewers subtly experience some characteristics and cultures of the Chinese people. Other than that, it provides fantastic themes, like family, self-sacrifice, bravery etc. Brilliant, always a great family classic. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Feb 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just saw this recently, and here's what I thought. While the movie starts off slowly, it isn't until the part when Mulan's father volunteers to fight in the army do things really get interesting. Now I can't stop myself from singing "I'll Make a Man Out of You" over and over again. I really loved that song! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
My favorite childhood movie
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 29, 2015
A visually wonderful animation made with gorgeous colors and a simple design in watercolor like the style of Chinese painting, and in addition to a great score it finds a most delicate balance between a refreshing humor and themes like war,A visually wonderful animation made with gorgeous colors and a simple design in watercolor like the style of Chinese painting, and in addition to a great score it finds a most delicate balance between a refreshing humor and themes like war, honor and the bravery of women. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SimbahhAug 9, 2011
Its great , Its really well put together. It shows women can do whatever men can and do it BETTER ;) Geat movie to watch in todays day and age with all the female disrespect going on.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
A great, comedic, daring film with an amazing original song and original score make this film easily one of Disney's most original pieces of art. And boy is it very entertaining. I give this film a 85% of a good movie.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
OfficialNov 3, 2013
"Mulan" is good in its own ways, but I was slightly disappointed by the fact that the studio did not raise the animation standards to another level. But the movie, just like all Disney movies, has a good moral at the end.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Dangerman1973Nov 24, 2012
Sure the movie has a strong heroine, but it would have been a lost stronger if it weren't for the unmemorable songs, weak villain, tolerable supporting characters and the movie's version of Jar Jar Binks in Eddie Murphy's dragon sidekickSure the movie has a strong heroine, but it would have been a lost stronger if it weren't for the unmemorable songs, weak villain, tolerable supporting characters and the movie's version of Jar Jar Binks in Eddie Murphy's dragon sidekick Mushu. Although there are worst Disney animated features than this, this movies is one of the least enjoyable ones I've watched. Definitely a disappointment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Bob123456789Jan 28, 2015
Nope. . .
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
JayHJul 5, 2009
Very entertaining Disney film, beautifully animated with a story that will please both adults and children. Good score, well written and an excellent pace. The humorous touches are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Christopher_G2Jul 31, 2014
Mulan came out towards the end of Disney’s peak era of animated musicals, which began in 1989 with The Little Mermaid and ended in 1999 with Tarzan. The company released 9 major feature films of that genre in that period, and I rank Mulan isMulan came out towards the end of Disney’s peak era of animated musicals, which began in 1989 with The Little Mermaid and ended in 1999 with Tarzan. The company released 9 major feature films of that genre in that period, and I rank Mulan is somewhere about 5th or 6th in that pack: a quite entertaining, beautiful film, with very good musical numbers, which only lacks in a few story elements and a central heroine not quite as well-rounded as the likes of Ariel, Belle or Jasmine from past films. On balance the good stuff in this film far outweighs the minor issues I had. Mulan, even if it isn’t one of the better Disney musicals, is certainly one that should satisfy those of all ages looking for a rousing and inspirational tale. The strangest thing though is the first song in the closing credits: I'm not sure what they were thinking with that; doesn’t fit at all with the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JudddyApr 22, 2011
Action-packed, funny, and featuring terrific voice-overs, 'Mulan' is one of Disney's finest films and is sure to keep young kids, and people who are older, satisfied and entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
meizhenJan 18, 2011
Beautifully animated a poetic and idealized Chinese society; the movie profoundly reflected gender inequalities, beautifully incorporated Chinese aesthetics, and eulogized female heroism in a similar fashion comparable to the original poem itBeautifully animated a poetic and idealized Chinese society; the movie profoundly reflected gender inequalities, beautifully incorporated Chinese aesthetics, and eulogized female heroism in a similar fashion comparable to the original poem it was based upon. Pretty costumes, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 24, 2012
I cannot really fault this movie. The animation, the story, the characters, the excitement and the feeling are just incredible............................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 3, 2012
Not a bad thing to say about it really. The story captures exactly what the Mulan story should be. The animation is beautiful. The characters are really interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
Mulan is some of Disney's finest work from the late 1990s. Filled with extravagant music and an adventure unparalleled--an instant classic. Not to mention Disney's first non-Caucasian princess, can this be?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jeff_reviewsJul 5, 2013
With a grand tale and a fresh, strong princess, "Mulan" has moments to make it a wonderful addition to its strongest films. With "Mulan", you get the strong character "Mulan" who doesn't rely on a mighty prince to always help her out inWith a grand tale and a fresh, strong princess, "Mulan" has moments to make it a wonderful addition to its strongest films. With "Mulan", you get the strong character "Mulan" who doesn't rely on a mighty prince to always help her out in situations, and its great to see a warrior in the role of a female. While it may have that kid-quality within it, maybe it's best that it is, as its fun for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysFeb 16, 2014
A so-so movie, but it's oddly memorable. The animation is great, and the story is interesting. But the overall feel of the film and the movie itself aren't the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CameraBounceGodMar 16, 2015
im only giving it a five because I would be much cooler of a guy had I not watched this so many times i bet... Great to have a top quality movie with a female lead character....even though the singing about reflections is lame and the corsetim only giving it a five because I would be much cooler of a guy had I not watched this so many times i bet... Great to have a top quality movie with a female lead character....even though the singing about reflections is lame and the corset part is weird and the singing about the girls they want is kinda weird...this movie is great due to the avalanche scene....and the wall scene...the theme is fun great so a female lead character....in a disney film after all that micky mouse with minnie being all weird i bet......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
teddylukeApr 9, 2015
mulan is pretty good. the charter are good. the pilot is good mulan is good. and is do not have a lot to say about this film its a really good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
An adventure where Mulan is a woman of ancient Chinese have courage and boldness to face all this other Disney classic . Great to see!, to addition, the Disney classics have a variety of princesses deb movies to such Disney princesses areAn adventure where Mulan is a woman of ancient Chinese have courage and boldness to face all this other Disney classic . Great to see!, to addition, the Disney classics have a variety of princesses deb movies to such Disney princesses are beautiful and has its own story , and you believed in fairy tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanBurritoJan 9, 2016
A Disney Classic. Eddie Murphy does a great vocal performance as Mushu the dragon, the film's best character. The movie is full of heart and humour with a great soundtrack too. I loved this when I was small and having rewatched it relativelyA Disney Classic. Eddie Murphy does a great vocal performance as Mushu the dragon, the film's best character. The movie is full of heart and humour with a great soundtrack too. I loved this when I was small and having rewatched it relatively recently, I'll say it's as good as I remember. The Disney Renaissance brought us many classics and this is one of them. And at least it's not on Disney's slate of unnecessary live action remakes-wait, they ARE remaking it? Oh, lord WHY!?!?!? They may as we'll rename it "Moolah". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
A very good Disney classic for everyone to enjoy. It's just decently good that I don't have any more words to say but this limit's preventing me to enter without typing in a review that has less than 150 characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KatiexxxApr 12, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love the film and music was brilliant in it. Have watched many times and would watch again. A very good message that woman are just as capable as men are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews