Mulan

Mulan Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Mulan chronicles the daring adventures of a young Chinese woman whose irrepressible spirit clashes with her tradition-bound society.  [Disney]

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The payoff is a consistently rich piece with impressive visual vitality.
  2. Disney's latest animated feature hearkens back to its heyday fare, a sweet and captivating tale that pits gentle, enduring goodness against dark, malevolent forces.
  3. 88
    The film shines at capturing the watercolor delicacy of China's past.
  4. This high-quality Disney animation combines strong pictorial appeal with amiable voice-performances.
  5. 70
    Disney's retelling of the popular Chinese folktale, may seem its gutsiest choice yet, but on closer examination it's obviously less a matter of guts than careful calculation.
  6. Though Disney's animation department does deserve credit for shaking up its formula and delving into relatively mature drama, the movie is flawed in numerous aggravating ways.
  7. A film that not only breaks the cross-dressing barrier but also ratchets up the violence level for children's animation.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Mulan is simply stunning. I love how the makers of this movie has decided to set this in China and lets viewers subtly experience someMulan is simply stunning. I love how the makers of this movie has decided to set this in China and lets viewers subtly experience some characteristics and cultures of the Chinese people. Other than that, it provides fantastic themes, like family, self-sacrifice, bravery etc. Brilliant, always a great family classic. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Beautifully animated a poetic and idealized Chinese society; the movie profoundly reflected gender inequalities, beautifully incorporatedBeautifully animated a poetic and idealized Chinese society; the movie profoundly reflected gender inequalities, beautifully incorporated Chinese aesthetics, and eulogized female heroism in a similar fashion comparable to the original poem it was based upon. Pretty costumes, too. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    A Disney Classic. Eddie Murphy does a great vocal performance as Mushu the dragon, the film's best character. The movie is full of heart andA Disney Classic. Eddie Murphy does a great vocal performance as Mushu the dragon, the film's best character. The movie is full of heart and humour with a great soundtrack too. I loved this when I was small and having rewatched it relatively recently, I'll say it's as good as I remember. The Disney Renaissance brought us many classics and this is one of them. And at least it's not on Disney's slate of unnecessary live action remakes-wait, they ARE remaking it? Oh, lord WHY!?!?!? They may as we'll rename it "Moolah". Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2014
    8
    Mulan is some of Disney's finest work from the late 1990s. Filled with extravagant music and an adventure unparalleled--an instant classic.Mulan is some of Disney's finest work from the late 1990s. Filled with extravagant music and an adventure unparalleled--an instant classic. Not to mention Disney's first non-Caucasian princess, can this be? Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    A great, comedic, daring film with an amazing original song and original score make this film easily one of Disney's most original pieces ofA great, comedic, daring film with an amazing original song and original score make this film easily one of Disney's most original pieces of art. And boy is it very entertaining. I give this film a 85% of a good movie. Collapse
  6. Apr 9, 2015
    7
    mulan is pretty good. the charter are good. the pilot is good mulan is good. and is do not have a lot to say about this film its a really good movie.
  7. Jan 28, 2015
    0
    Nope. .Nope. . . Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.