User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2014
    0
    So far in my life, I've reviewed almost every movie that I've seen. however, I cannot possibly review "Mulholland Drive" for the simple fact that it is not a movie. It is a collection of incoherent, unrelated scenes that director David Lynch (I'm not sure if that's the right word for him) has sloppily pasted together like a 3rd grade science project into this muddled, 2 1/2 hour mess.So far in my life, I've reviewed almost every movie that I've seen. however, I cannot possibly review "Mulholland Drive" for the simple fact that it is not a movie. It is a collection of incoherent, unrelated scenes that director David Lynch (I'm not sure if that's the right word for him) has sloppily pasted together like a 3rd grade science project into this muddled, 2 1/2 hour mess. That's all I have to say. I can't recommend it or not recommend it, simply because it just isn't really what it says it is. Anyone who can come up with an explanation for what I just witnessed must have a great imagination. Expand
  2. AlexM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    1
    I think that when it comes to this film it divides the audience into four groups of people. 1 People who actually understand what David Lynch is doing. 2 People who pretend they know what David Lynch is doing (and praise it to high heaven for fear of being thought stupid and ignorant). 3 People who can freely admit they have no idea what happened in that 147 minutes of their life. 4 I think that when it comes to this film it divides the audience into four groups of people. 1 People who actually understand what David Lynch is doing. 2 People who pretend they know what David Lynch is doing (and praise it to high heaven for fear of being thought stupid and ignorant). 3 People who can freely admit they have no idea what happened in that 147 minutes of their life. 4 People who fast forward to the raunchy scenes. Unfortunately, me being a No.3 I can't say I enjoyed anything about this film. Waste of time unless you are able to decipher David Lynch's other work or you happen to be David Lynch. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2014
    3
    I hated this movie. Now before everyone sends me off to the gallows I'd like to make a few things clear. I'm a very introspective filmgoer. My favorite movie's Inception. I also liked 12 Monkeys and with some effort was able to adequately follow it. Oh, I almost forgot how much I like The Usual Suspects. My point is I like densely plotted movies. I like thick atmosphere, and I enjoyI hated this movie. Now before everyone sends me off to the gallows I'd like to make a few things clear. I'm a very introspective filmgoer. My favorite movie's Inception. I also liked 12 Monkeys and with some effort was able to adequately follow it. Oh, I almost forgot how much I like The Usual Suspects. My point is I like densely plotted movies. I like thick atmosphere, and I enjoy cerebral concepts. Muholland Dr. though is in my opinion just pointless crap. The acting is for some reason purposefully unconvincing. I don't care if Lynch was making a statement about the insincerity of Hollywood, it just doesn't work. It also makes no sense. I'll admit that I fast forwarded a little once I got about an hour or so in, but I just couldn't take it. I couldn't grasp what was going on about 90% of the time. It tries so hard to be confusing and surreal that it becomes almost gag inducing. If it's all supposed to be a dream with no logic or rules to follow than at least make it interesting! This is in my opinion extremely pretentious trash. Sometimes it's moody and it's well shot, but it's not worth it. Will I ever see it again and change my opinions? I don't know, but rest assured that it won't be any time soon. Expand
  4. KelR.
    Dec 4, 2003
    0
    I can't even describe how disqusted I am. This movie is sheer garbage. It reminded me of those cpappy b-title movies but with less of a plot. I love psychological thrillers, but this was a porno flick pretending to be one. I really think you people need to put down either the crack pipe or the vaseline and see this movie for what it really is...TRASH.
  5. AndrewC
    Nov 27, 2006
    0
    I'm sorry, but this is possibly the largest piece of celluloid turd I've ever seen. I loved Blue Velvet, Twin Peaks, Eraserhead, Wild at Heart, Dune, The Straight Story, but I thought this was so disjointed and screwed-up for the sake of it. Don't bother wasting 2 hours.
  6. Hypersnazz!
    Aug 4, 2002
    2
    This film's only redeeming quality was the scene from Silencio in which the assertion was made, 'this is all a recording.' So the movie didn't make sense from a logical standpoint. Fine. So it failed to maintain a coherent plot. That's all right. The Wall didn't really make much sense in either respect either. However, Lynch forgot in his artistic pretense to This film's only redeeming quality was the scene from Silencio in which the assertion was made, 'this is all a recording.' So the movie didn't make sense from a logical standpoint. Fine. So it failed to maintain a coherent plot. That's all right. The Wall didn't really make much sense in either respect either. However, Lynch forgot in his artistic pretense to include a point. The implication doesn't work in reverse...genius is often misunderstood, but being misunderstood (especially if you're doing it on purpose) does not qualify as genius. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2014
    0
    When I first watched the movie in 2001 I was still hoping Lynch had actually something to say, despite the disappointment with Wild at heart. I was surprised by the high rating and good reviews this movie got, but finally when I watched the movie again tonight on TV I got the point: hot, young, naked actresses and plenty of lesbian sex. Watts and Harring starring as the mysterious Rita andWhen I first watched the movie in 2001 I was still hoping Lynch had actually something to say, despite the disappointment with Wild at heart. I was surprised by the high rating and good reviews this movie got, but finally when I watched the movie again tonight on TV I got the point: hot, young, naked actresses and plenty of lesbian sex. Watts and Harring starring as the mysterious Rita and Betty go all the way, titillating the viewers with their antics.

    It is pointless to summarize the plot, since the movie switches into a different one two thirds into the story. Anybody can interpret the complete lack of logic in whichever way they want and then "accuse" whoever does not "get" it of being dumb. The point is, there is nothing to "get", apart from Lynch frustration, unleashed on paying audience, a plot that does not make any sense and a couple of good actresses, only one of them actually making a career out of this crappy movie.
    Expand
  8. ErolO.
    Jun 9, 2003
    0
    Incoherent nonsense. I'll never watch another Lynch movie again after this debacle.
  9. JohnF.
    Aug 6, 2005
    0
    I want the time I wasted on this film back. It was like watching a drug undused dream (not in a good way). Incoherent nonsense. I'll never watch another Lynch movie again after this debacle.
  10. JackMoviegoer
    May 6, 2002
    2
    Sweet jesus. This should really be graded as two movies. Until the random lesbian scene--which was stimulating while absolutely unnecessary--this movie was good, almost excellent. After that scene, what follows is not a movie, cannot be considered "powerful," "good," or even creative. I used to wonder whether or not David Lynch did drugs. I wonder no longer. He needs help. Now.
  11. TheMovieMistress
    Jun 8, 2002
    1
    In response to The Moviegoer, I just want to start with a quote: Just because you are misunderstood does not make you an artist. David Lynch should have remembered this when making this movie. The only reason I gave it a 1 was because it had potential to be a beautifully haunting a powerful movie. However, it fell short, incredibly short. While making some powerful artistic choices, Lych In response to The Moviegoer, I just want to start with a quote: Just because you are misunderstood does not make you an artist. David Lynch should have remembered this when making this movie. The only reason I gave it a 1 was because it had potential to be a beautifully haunting a powerful movie. However, it fell short, incredibly short. While making some powerful artistic choices, Lych made the mistake of making Betty and Rita lesbians. After that the movie went to hell, not to mention that the powerful choice would have been to make them attracted, but not fall into the trap of having them sexually involved. I think that after that point the movie simply went bad. The movie as it was had no plot or character development, but I had more faith in David Lynch's ability. I was very disappointed. I am not ashamed to say that at some point I didn't understand where it was going, for even when I tried, pieces still didn't fit. I think it was poorly conceived, which is a shame, for it had a lot of potential. Expand
  12. Ross
    Jul 13, 2003
    1
    A waste of 2 hours of time. One of the worst video purchases I've ever made.
  13. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    1
    Nonsensical, boring garbage. A lot of the critics and users are suffering from emperor's new clothes syndrome and will belittle those of us who know BS when we see it. Zero out of ten if it weren't for the titillating lesbian scenes.
  14. BethyB.
    Apr 24, 2002
    0
    I agree with Seth B. and the guy from the Washinton Post. My thought on this film: SO WHAT?? Think of what this film would be without all these hidden meanings and metaphors; NOTHING!
  15. NV
    Feb 19, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. It's like watching what might go on inside your head while you're on an acid trip. Mulholland Drive, you owe me 2.5 hours of my life back!
  16. johnp.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Just Stupid.
  17. Jule
    Feb 12, 2002
    3
    You all "10" must be kidding, let's even imagine it's not a total disaster, this movie doesn't deserve the ridiculous hype. This is a scam as far as cinema is concerned.
  18. EricN.
    Feb 13, 2002
    0
    This movie proves that Hollywood is still unable to ask the question "should this movie be made?" Only the shallowest or most decadent of people could identify or care about this movie's characters. It's so slow that they had to put a lesbian love scene into it in order to keep the audience from falling asleep. Not only is it surreal to the point of stupidity, this movie has no This movie proves that Hollywood is still unable to ask the question "should this movie be made?" Only the shallowest or most decadent of people could identify or care about this movie's characters. It's so slow that they had to put a lesbian love scene into it in order to keep the audience from falling asleep. Not only is it surreal to the point of stupidity, this movie has no redeeming value to it whatsoever. Expand
  19. MikeH.
    Feb 21, 2003
    3
    Uhhhh??
  20. Lobo
    Apr 15, 2004
    0
    I dunno, it made no sense.
  21. NiaN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    1
    This movie really pumps up my adrenalin sometimes.. but it get more complicated to understand what the story about...I have watched for 2 hours and more but I don't get until the end.. waste my time download it.
  22. nick
    May 9, 2009
    1
    Complete waste of time! One of the most confusing 2+ hours of my life, i hated almost every minute of it, except the love scene with naomi watts.
  23. MartinK
    Dec 8, 2005
    2
    I watched this movie three times, in hopes to understand it. The third time i was convinced that there there is indeed no meaning, and that simply put: jack lynch is insane. First we get bombarded with the "im so indie" scene changes, then some dudes are at denny's and this dude with eyebrows fatter than eugene levy is talking about his cracked out dream and then you realize, "holy I watched this movie three times, in hopes to understand it. The third time i was convinced that there there is indeed no meaning, and that simply put: jack lynch is insane. First we get bombarded with the "im so indie" scene changes, then some dudes are at denny's and this dude with eyebrows fatter than eugene levy is talking about his cracked out dream and then you realize, "holy shit, thats the cheese's assistant from Old School", so these guys touch each other for a while and then snufalufagus comes out from nowhere and dude has a heart attack, and then what looks liek johnny knoxville with a massive forehead goes insane and plays with paint, then the cowboy comes out of left field and starts jerking off prophetic metaphors into mr. knoxvilles face, and then an amnesiatic lesbian starts fiddling the canadian lesbian (which is the only reason this film recieves a 2 and not a 0....not because they were amnesiatic and canadian, but because they are lesbians). This movie is the reason fat computer nerds clog up the donut and coffee shops 24 hours a day. Expand
  24. Istvan
    Sep 22, 2003
    2
    A return to the Lynch-canon in the worst way: a bunch of recycled old motifs waiting hopelessly for a clue, plus a bugaboo round the corner. By the way, arbitrariness it's just not art. With films like this David Lynch surely is a director for the intellectually immature.
  25. MelissaB.
    Nov 25, 2001
    1
    I along with many of the people that I watched this with thought this was the worst movie ever. Nothing made sense and there were way too many unnecessary scenes. If you like films that don't make any sense and want to see some girl on girl action, then watch this.
  26. SethB.
    Apr 21, 2002
    0
    Here's the deal, I watched this "movie" 4 times and it took that long to fully understand this thing. Here's my little problem-IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE!!! David lynch is a genius though, why because he knows full well that 1)There is No way you will get this movie on the first try. and 2)The LAST thing any critic would say is,"I don't understand this movie." therefore Here's the deal, I watched this "movie" 4 times and it took that long to fully understand this thing. Here's my little problem-IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE!!! David lynch is a genius though, why because he knows full well that 1)There is No way you will get this movie on the first try. and 2)The LAST thing any critic would say is,"I don't understand this movie." therefore they'll give it great reveiws while at the same time saying that they didn't get it. Read the reveiws see if I'm lying!! I DID get the movie but there are holes in what Lynch thinks are plot twists, little screw ups in dialouge and wardrobe. It's a twisting ride to nowhere that totally forgets to entertain. Expand
  27. Mar 31, 2012
    2
    I do not understand this movie. Why did that one woman start speaking spanish? Why were not the plot points wrapped up? The worst movie in the world? It does not make any sense.
    It has got interesting scenes , that are kind of like art, and some weird characters and stuff, but it is like someone randomly edited 3 movies into one movie, and there is no connection to the various parts. Does
    I do not understand this movie. Why did that one woman start speaking spanish? Why were not the plot points wrapped up? The worst movie in the world? It does not make any sense.
    It has got interesting scenes , that are kind of like art, and some weird characters and stuff, but it is like someone randomly edited 3 movies into one movie, and there is no connection to the various parts. Does not seem like an actual feature film at all, more like some film student mistake rolled into one big ball, with a few good scenes thrown in.
    Expand
  28. Oct 11, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So many issues with this movie. First off the fact that the critics love this blows my mind if for no other reason than there is not a soul in this film that can act. This is the by far the worst acting I have ever seen in a critically acclaimed movie by a big time director. Second if anyone understood this movie upon first viewing I would be shocked. I love a movie that is ambiguous and twists and turns but never before in a viewing experience have I had to look up what a movie means without having an idea in my head of what I thought was going on. After I read some synopsis of the movie and discovered that more than likely most of the movie was a dream: 1. This never occurred to me once during my viewing. 2. It did not surprise me. 3. I did not care one bit. The only reason I give this movie more than a zero rating is because it did engage me enough that I was intrigued to see if the plot was leading somewhere. I guess it did, but certainly nowhere I cared to go. A must miss. Expand
  29. Apr 15, 2013
    1
    This movie is just a load of complete nonsense. There are 3 or 4 plots intertwined which seem to have absolutely no relation with each other until the very underwhelming "twist" at the end, which ultimately left me with a a frustrated feeling because I felt that none of my questions were really truly answered. Another thing that left me frustrated was the fact that the movie barely gaveThis movie is just a load of complete nonsense. There are 3 or 4 plots intertwined which seem to have absolutely no relation with each other until the very underwhelming "twist" at the end, which ultimately left me with a a frustrated feeling because I felt that none of my questions were really truly answered. Another thing that left me frustrated was the fact that the movie barely gave the audience enough to deduce what was going on, it was as if the writers wanted us to just guess what happened in more than half the movie. On the good side, at least the acting was decent.

    At the end of the day, you just feel like you wasted 2 hours of your life watching a movie that just tries too hard and over-complicates everything. Thanks David Lynch, but no thanks, I'll stick with "Memento".
    Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    Lynch's Hollywood is a grand old girl, but she's one with some very treacherous curves. To trace the contours of her sensuality, you need a camera as sensitive as a set of fingertips. Lynch's is.
  2. Like "Memento," Mulholland Drive is an amnesiac noir in the tradition that goes back to "Spellbound" and "Somewhere in the Night."
  3. It will frustrate viewers who like stories to make instant sense, but fans of provocative puzzles will have mind-teasing fun.