User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 397
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NicholasS.
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    Abstract Cinema at it's best.
  2. TimB.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    It's a shame I can't give this movie more than a 10. Lynch's compelling storyline is not at all straight forward, and, as such, you get sucked into the film from the very first frame. What's more, the music, story, and characters yank the emotions, to the point of loving the film....as long as you like artistic films. Anybody who does not rate this movie as excellent It's a shame I can't give this movie more than a 10. Lynch's compelling storyline is not at all straight forward, and, as such, you get sucked into the film from the very first frame. What's more, the music, story, and characters yank the emotions, to the point of loving the film....as long as you like artistic films. Anybody who does not rate this movie as excellent clearly is the type of person who goes for the lesser quality more prototype films. Well, those of you who enjoy Star Wars and The Wizard Of Oz, go watch them....but for those of you who like high quality, artsy films, Mulholland Drive is definitely for you. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is really strange. I don't know what I understood and if that is correct but surely it is strange. I think that the first half until the two women changed places was a lie and it was all an idea and the reality was when they switched roles. But who knows only the cast I guess. As I thought the movie I liked it but I don't know it is really strange and complicated. Maybe the most complicated film ever It has many characters and it gets more complicated all the time. Really strange... Naomi Watts was really good in that film I really liked her. I don't know what else to say. It's not a waste of time for sure... Expand
  4. AlexM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    1
    I think that when it comes to this film it divides the audience into four groups of people. 1 People who actually understand what David Lynch is doing. 2 People who pretend they know what David Lynch is doing (and praise it to high heaven for fear of being thought stupid and ignorant). 3 People who can freely admit they have no idea what happened in that 147 minutes of their life. 4 I think that when it comes to this film it divides the audience into four groups of people. 1 People who actually understand what David Lynch is doing. 2 People who pretend they know what David Lynch is doing (and praise it to high heaven for fear of being thought stupid and ignorant). 3 People who can freely admit they have no idea what happened in that 147 minutes of their life. 4 People who fast forward to the raunchy scenes. Unfortunately, me being a No.3 I can't say I enjoyed anything about this film. Waste of time unless you are able to decipher David Lynch's other work or you happen to be David Lynch. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2014
    3
    I hated this movie. Now before everyone sends me off to the gallows I'd like to make a few things clear. I'm a very introspective filmgoer. My favorite movie's Inception. I also liked 12 Monkeys and with some effort was able to adequately follow it. Oh, I almost forgot how much I like The Usual Suspects. My point is I like densely plotted movies. I like thick atmosphere, and I enjoyI hated this movie. Now before everyone sends me off to the gallows I'd like to make a few things clear. I'm a very introspective filmgoer. My favorite movie's Inception. I also liked 12 Monkeys and with some effort was able to adequately follow it. Oh, I almost forgot how much I like The Usual Suspects. My point is I like densely plotted movies. I like thick atmosphere, and I enjoy cerebral concepts. Muholland Dr. though is in my opinion just pointless crap. The acting is for some reason purposefully unconvincing. I don't care if Lynch was making a statement about the insincerity of Hollywood, it just doesn't work. It also makes no sense. I'll admit that I fast forwarded a little once I got about an hour or so in, but I just couldn't take it. I couldn't grasp what was going on about 90% of the time. It tries so hard to be confusing and surreal that it becomes almost gag inducing. If it's all supposed to be a dream with no logic or rules to follow than at least make it interesting! This is in my opinion extremely pretentious trash. Sometimes it's moody and it's well shot, but it's not worth it. Will I ever see it again and change my opinions? I don't know, but rest assured that it won't be any time soon. Expand
  6. KelR.
    Dec 4, 2003
    0
    I can't even describe how disqusted I am. This movie is sheer garbage. It reminded me of those cpappy b-title movies but with less of a plot. I love psychological thrillers, but this was a porno flick pretending to be one. I really think you people need to put down either the crack pipe or the vaseline and see this movie for what it really is...TRASH.
  7. AndrewC
    Nov 27, 2006
    0
    I'm sorry, but this is possibly the largest piece of celluloid turd I've ever seen. I loved Blue Velvet, Twin Peaks, Eraserhead, Wild at Heart, Dune, The Straight Story, but I thought this was so disjointed and screwed-up for the sake of it. Don't bother wasting 2 hours.
  8. Hypersnazz!
    Aug 4, 2002
    2
    This film's only redeeming quality was the scene from Silencio in which the assertion was made, 'this is all a recording.' So the movie didn't make sense from a logical standpoint. Fine. So it failed to maintain a coherent plot. That's all right. The Wall didn't really make much sense in either respect either. However, Lynch forgot in his artistic pretense to This film's only redeeming quality was the scene from Silencio in which the assertion was made, 'this is all a recording.' So the movie didn't make sense from a logical standpoint. Fine. So it failed to maintain a coherent plot. That's all right. The Wall didn't really make much sense in either respect either. However, Lynch forgot in his artistic pretense to include a point. The implication doesn't work in reverse...genius is often misunderstood, but being misunderstood (especially if you're doing it on purpose) does not qualify as genius. Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2014
    0
    When I first watched the movie in 2001 I was still hoping Lynch had actually something to say, despite the disappointment with Wild at heart. I was surprised by the high rating and good reviews this movie got, but finally when I watched the movie again tonight on TV I got the point: hot, young, naked actresses and plenty of lesbian sex. Watts and Harring starring as the mysterious Rita andWhen I first watched the movie in 2001 I was still hoping Lynch had actually something to say, despite the disappointment with Wild at heart. I was surprised by the high rating and good reviews this movie got, but finally when I watched the movie again tonight on TV I got the point: hot, young, naked actresses and plenty of lesbian sex. Watts and Harring starring as the mysterious Rita and Betty go all the way, titillating the viewers with their antics.

    It is pointless to summarize the plot, since the movie switches into a different one two thirds into the story. Anybody can interpret the complete lack of logic in whichever way they want and then "accuse" whoever does not "get" it of being dumb. The point is, there is nothing to "get", apart from Lynch frustration, unleashed on paying audience, a plot that does not make any sense and a couple of good actresses, only one of them actually making a career out of this crappy movie.
    Expand
  10. ErolO.
    Jun 9, 2003
    0
    Incoherent nonsense. I'll never watch another Lynch movie again after this debacle.
  11. JohnF.
    Aug 6, 2005
    0
    I want the time I wasted on this film back. It was like watching a drug undused dream (not in a good way). Incoherent nonsense. I'll never watch another Lynch movie again after this debacle.
  12. JackMoviegoer
    May 6, 2002
    2
    Sweet jesus. This should really be graded as two movies. Until the random lesbian scene--which was stimulating while absolutely unnecessary--this movie was good, almost excellent. After that scene, what follows is not a movie, cannot be considered "powerful," "good," or even creative. I used to wonder whether or not David Lynch did drugs. I wonder no longer. He needs help. Now.
  13. TheMovieMistress
    Jun 8, 2002
    1
    In response to The Moviegoer, I just want to start with a quote: Just because you are misunderstood does not make you an artist. David Lynch should have remembered this when making this movie. The only reason I gave it a 1 was because it had potential to be a beautifully haunting a powerful movie. However, it fell short, incredibly short. While making some powerful artistic choices, Lych In response to The Moviegoer, I just want to start with a quote: Just because you are misunderstood does not make you an artist. David Lynch should have remembered this when making this movie. The only reason I gave it a 1 was because it had potential to be a beautifully haunting a powerful movie. However, it fell short, incredibly short. While making some powerful artistic choices, Lych made the mistake of making Betty and Rita lesbians. After that the movie went to hell, not to mention that the powerful choice would have been to make them attracted, but not fall into the trap of having them sexually involved. I think that after that point the movie simply went bad. The movie as it was had no plot or character development, but I had more faith in David Lynch's ability. I was very disappointed. I am not ashamed to say that at some point I didn't understand where it was going, for even when I tried, pieces still didn't fit. I think it was poorly conceived, which is a shame, for it had a lot of potential. Expand
  14. Ross
    Jul 13, 2003
    1
    A waste of 2 hours of time. One of the worst video purchases I've ever made.
  15. Apr 16, 2011
    4
    If having to listen to someone tell you about a dream they had is the cliche that represents all boring conversations, I'm not sure why this movie receives acclaim. There certainly is some artistry involved in provoking an emotional response in his audience, and it does feel like being trapped in a dream, but as a loose sequence of non-linear mood-scapes, it feels like you're watching theIf having to listen to someone tell you about a dream they had is the cliche that represents all boring conversations, I'm not sure why this movie receives acclaim. There certainly is some artistry involved in provoking an emotional response in his audience, and it does feel like being trapped in a dream, but as a loose sequence of non-linear mood-scapes, it feels like you're watching the film equivalent of lazy abstract paintings that you're sure were painted by a cat. I found that it angered and bored me simultaneously. And dreams aren't supposed to go on that long. Expand
  16. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    1
    Nonsensical, boring garbage. A lot of the critics and users are suffering from emperor's new clothes syndrome and will belittle those of us who know BS when we see it. Zero out of ten if it weren't for the titillating lesbian scenes.
  17. BethyB.
    Apr 24, 2002
    0
    I agree with Seth B. and the guy from the Washinton Post. My thought on this film: SO WHAT?? Think of what this film would be without all these hidden meanings and metaphors; NOTHING!
  18. NV
    Feb 19, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. It's like watching what might go on inside your head while you're on an acid trip. Mulholland Drive, you owe me 2.5 hours of my life back!
  19. johnp.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Just Stupid.
  20. Jule
    Feb 12, 2002
    3
    You all "10" must be kidding, let's even imagine it's not a total disaster, this movie doesn't deserve the ridiculous hype. This is a scam as far as cinema is concerned.
  21. EricN.
    Feb 13, 2002
    0
    This movie proves that Hollywood is still unable to ask the question "should this movie be made?" Only the shallowest or most decadent of people could identify or care about this movie's characters. It's so slow that they had to put a lesbian love scene into it in order to keep the audience from falling asleep. Not only is it surreal to the point of stupidity, this movie has no This movie proves that Hollywood is still unable to ask the question "should this movie be made?" Only the shallowest or most decadent of people could identify or care about this movie's characters. It's so slow that they had to put a lesbian love scene into it in order to keep the audience from falling asleep. Not only is it surreal to the point of stupidity, this movie has no redeeming value to it whatsoever. Expand
  22. MikeH.
    Feb 21, 2003
    3
    Uhhhh??
  23. Lobo
    Apr 15, 2004
    0
    I dunno, it made no sense.
  24. NiaN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    1
    This movie really pumps up my adrenalin sometimes.. but it get more complicated to understand what the story about...I have watched for 2 hours and more but I don't get until the end.. waste my time download it.
  25. nick
    May 9, 2009
    1
    Complete waste of time! One of the most confusing 2+ hours of my life, i hated almost every minute of it, except the love scene with naomi watts.
  26. MartinK
    Dec 8, 2005
    2
    I watched this movie three times, in hopes to understand it. The third time i was convinced that there there is indeed no meaning, and that simply put: jack lynch is insane. First we get bombarded with the "im so indie" scene changes, then some dudes are at denny's and this dude with eyebrows fatter than eugene levy is talking about his cracked out dream and then you realize, "holy I watched this movie three times, in hopes to understand it. The third time i was convinced that there there is indeed no meaning, and that simply put: jack lynch is insane. First we get bombarded with the "im so indie" scene changes, then some dudes are at denny's and this dude with eyebrows fatter than eugene levy is talking about his cracked out dream and then you realize, "holy shit, thats the cheese's assistant from Old School", so these guys touch each other for a while and then snufalufagus comes out from nowhere and dude has a heart attack, and then what looks liek johnny knoxville with a massive forehead goes insane and plays with paint, then the cowboy comes out of left field and starts jerking off prophetic metaphors into mr. knoxvilles face, and then an amnesiatic lesbian starts fiddling the canadian lesbian (which is the only reason this film recieves a 2 and not a 0....not because they were amnesiatic and canadian, but because they are lesbians). This movie is the reason fat computer nerds clog up the donut and coffee shops 24 hours a day. Expand
  27. IsaacJ.
    Oct 27, 2001
    5
    We were confused by the beginning and the ending. The middle was interesting, but not connected to anything that followed or preceded it. They should give out road maps with every ticket.
  28. VilfredoL.
    Aug 7, 2004
    5
    David Lynch's films can be different. That's the best compliment I can give this one. Nothing redeeming, but Betty or Diane will take you on a little ride that may make you wish you'd done some illicit substances so you could have a decent excuse for the time you just wasted. I gave it a 5 because no one would likely read a 9 or 1 since the reviews are that polarized. The David Lynch's films can be different. That's the best compliment I can give this one. Nothing redeeming, but Betty or Diane will take you on a little ride that may make you wish you'd done some illicit substances so you could have a decent excuse for the time you just wasted. I gave it a 5 because no one would likely read a 9 or 1 since the reviews are that polarized. The folks wo gave it a 0 or 1 I understand. Those folks admitted they just pissed away 2 and a half hours. The nines and tens are living proof that you can sell anything. Obviously I just didn't get it, but if you get an hour into this and are waiting for somethig to happen, my advice is shut it off and go watch traffic on the interstate. It can be so much more meaningful. Expand
  29. SteveM.
    May 26, 2002
    5
    I saw the film once. The beginning was engrossing. Lynch has an excellent way of entering into scenes in such a manner that leave one off balance. But the film degenerates into a morally repugnant and incoherent mess towards the end. I have no idea what it means, nor do I think that David Lynch knows what the movie means. Art needs to have meaning, even if the meaning goes beyond the I saw the film once. The beginning was engrossing. Lynch has an excellent way of entering into scenes in such a manner that leave one off balance. But the film degenerates into a morally repugnant and incoherent mess towards the end. I have no idea what it means, nor do I think that David Lynch knows what the movie means. Art needs to have meaning, even if the meaning goes beyond the intentions of the artist. But a basic necessity is that at face value a work needs some meaning. As usual, David Lynch displays enormous talent but refuses to employ his gifts on worthwhile projects. The Straight Story was an exception, and was excellent. The fact that Roger Ebert liked the film so much clued me in to the film. If Ebert likes a film too much or Roeper at all, skip the movie, it is not worth it. Expand
  30. MarkM.
    Sep 9, 2002
    8
    Inexplicable but compelling.
  31. Istvan
    Sep 22, 2003
    2
    A return to the Lynch-canon in the worst way: a bunch of recycled old motifs waiting hopelessly for a clue, plus a bugaboo round the corner. By the way, arbitrariness it's just not art. With films like this David Lynch surely is a director for the intellectually immature.
  32. MelissaB.
    Nov 25, 2001
    1
    I along with many of the people that I watched this with thought this was the worst movie ever. Nothing made sense and there were way too many unnecessary scenes. If you like films that don't make any sense and want to see some girl on girl action, then watch this.
  33. SethB.
    Apr 21, 2002
    0
    Here's the deal, I watched this "movie" 4 times and it took that long to fully understand this thing. Here's my little problem-IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE!!! David lynch is a genius though, why because he knows full well that 1)There is No way you will get this movie on the first try. and 2)The LAST thing any critic would say is,"I don't understand this movie." therefore Here's the deal, I watched this "movie" 4 times and it took that long to fully understand this thing. Here's my little problem-IT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE!!! David lynch is a genius though, why because he knows full well that 1)There is No way you will get this movie on the first try. and 2)The LAST thing any critic would say is,"I don't understand this movie." therefore they'll give it great reveiws while at the same time saying that they didn't get it. Read the reveiws see if I'm lying!! I DID get the movie but there are holes in what Lynch thinks are plot twists, little screw ups in dialouge and wardrobe. It's a twisting ride to nowhere that totally forgets to entertain. Expand
  34. JonathanS.
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    Definitely in my top 5 movies. Also, I recently met Justin Theroux at a concert. Nice guy to boot!
  35. Mar 31, 2012
    2
    I do not understand this movie. Why did that one woman start speaking spanish? Why were not the plot points wrapped up? The worst movie in the world? It does not make any sense.
    It has got interesting scenes , that are kind of like art, and some weird characters and stuff, but it is like someone randomly edited 3 movies into one movie, and there is no connection to the various parts. Does
    I do not understand this movie. Why did that one woman start speaking spanish? Why were not the plot points wrapped up? The worst movie in the world? It does not make any sense.
    It has got interesting scenes , that are kind of like art, and some weird characters and stuff, but it is like someone randomly edited 3 movies into one movie, and there is no connection to the various parts. Does not seem like an actual feature film at all, more like some film student mistake rolled into one big ball, with a few good scenes thrown in.
    Expand
  36. Oct 11, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So many issues with this movie. First off the fact that the critics love this blows my mind if for no other reason than there is not a soul in this film that can act. This is the by far the worst acting I have ever seen in a critically acclaimed movie by a big time director. Second if anyone understood this movie upon first viewing I would be shocked. I love a movie that is ambiguous and twists and turns but never before in a viewing experience have I had to look up what a movie means without having an idea in my head of what I thought was going on. After I read some synopsis of the movie and discovered that more than likely most of the movie was a dream: 1. This never occurred to me once during my viewing. 2. It did not surprise me. 3. I did not care one bit. The only reason I give this movie more than a zero rating is because it did engage me enough that I was intrigued to see if the plot was leading somewhere. I guess it did, but certainly nowhere I cared to go. A must miss. Expand
  37. Apr 15, 2013
    1
    This movie is just a load of complete nonsense. There are 3 or 4 plots intertwined which seem to have absolutely no relation with each other until the very underwhelming "twist" at the end, which ultimately left me with a a frustrated feeling because I felt that none of my questions were really truly answered. Another thing that left me frustrated was the fact that the movie barely gaveThis movie is just a load of complete nonsense. There are 3 or 4 plots intertwined which seem to have absolutely no relation with each other until the very underwhelming "twist" at the end, which ultimately left me with a a frustrated feeling because I felt that none of my questions were really truly answered. Another thing that left me frustrated was the fact that the movie barely gave the audience enough to deduce what was going on, it was as if the writers wanted us to just guess what happened in more than half the movie. On the good side, at least the acting was decent.

    At the end of the day, you just feel like you wasted 2 hours of your life watching a movie that just tries too hard and over-complicates everything. Thanks David Lynch, but no thanks, I'll stick with "Memento".
    Expand
  38. Dec 30, 2014
    4
    This movie is boring. This is one of those movies that put the enlightened critics against the regular people, i couldnt stand it. You can accuse me of ignorant of whatever, ill say that some of my favourite movies are for example aronofsky s requiem & the fountain, even when they are crazy and they repeat scenes they got sense, a story and they are not showing images and saying "if youThis movie is boring. This is one of those movies that put the enlightened critics against the regular people, i couldnt stand it. You can accuse me of ignorant of whatever, ill say that some of my favourite movies are for example aronofsky s requiem & the fountain, even when they are crazy and they repeat scenes they got sense, a story and they are not showing images and saying "if you dont understand this you are ignorant".

    Una peli aburrida. De esas que enfrentan a los críticos con la gente. Me pareció insoportable. Me podrán decir ignorante, pero algunas de mis peliculas favoritas son Requiem y la Fuente de Aronofsky, que a pesar de ser películas bastante peculiares tienen sentido, no se dedican a mostrarte imagenes para luego generar esta sensación de cine "solo para entendidos".
    Expand
  39. DeWahaS.
    Jan 11, 2002
    10
    Lynch's best work ever. Creepy, strange, ludicrous, absorbing, erotic, suspenseful...simply unforgettable.
  40. AliciaR.
    Apr 22, 2002
    10
    This guy below me who says this movie didn't make sense, does not know what he's talking about. I saw the movie and after the second time I was able to put it all together and see how well Lynch put this movie together. This movie makes sense and is brilliant!!!!!! Just use your own brain, and you'll get it!
  41. KiL.
    Jun 15, 2002
    8
    I agree with The Moviegoer - this is a great, intruiging, initially baffling movie which (I think) definitely has a complete explanation. The key scene unlocking the mystery for me was when the Cowboy "spoke" to Naomi Watts...
  42. Sammy
    May 9, 2005
    10
    WOW! a must watch movie!
  43. Megan
    Jan 12, 2002
    10
    I loved the confusion, it gives you lots to think about. Those who gave it lower ratings obvioulsy aren't great thinkers!
  44. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best films I have ever seen. Not just because I enjoyed every minute, but I think it's one of the most accomplished story lines and it has some of the most beautiful and emotional scenes I've seen. This is not an airy-fairy abstract concept movie. It makes sense; you just have to think about it a lot. I've watched it twice in three days and I understand it a lot betterThis is one of the best films I have ever seen. Not just because I enjoyed every minute, but I think it's one of the most accomplished story lines and it has some of the most beautiful and emotional scenes I've seen. This is not an airy-fairy abstract concept movie. It makes sense; you just have to think about it a lot. I've watched it twice in three days and I understand it a lot better for it. IMDb has some excellent reviews if you really want to get to grips with it, but I'd recommend just giving it a go for yourself. As Roger Ebert said, this movie is like music: it runs on emotions. There are scenes that will shock you, scare you, scenes that drip with emotion and impact you heavily. If nothing else, you could take it as the sum of its parts and just enjoy it for the full range of different reactions it will provoke from you. It really is saddening to see how dismissive some people have been of this movie. As Lynch said, life is complicated, and so movies should be complicated too. Expand
  45. May 22, 2015
    8
    I was hesitant coming into this one as my only prior exposure to David Lynch was Wild at Heart, which I completely despised. However, this one is decidedly better and most certainly worthy of the praise heaped upon it. Featuring a great starring turn from the always stellar Naomi Watts and great direction from Lynch, Mulholland Dr seems to be great proof that Lynch hates his audience andI was hesitant coming into this one as my only prior exposure to David Lynch was Wild at Heart, which I completely despised. However, this one is decidedly better and most certainly worthy of the praise heaped upon it. Featuring a great starring turn from the always stellar Naomi Watts and great direction from Lynch, Mulholland Dr seems to be great proof that Lynch hates his audience and typical storytelling conventions, which make for a great combination in this film. One of the most confusing puzzles I have ever come across in film, Mulholland Dr has some seriously great writing and manages to have numerous moving parts that it brings together quite nicely. Not all the pieces fit and it is hard to determine what the puzzle is actually of, but there's an answer somewhere. What the answer is, I have no idea, because I have no idea what I do not know at this point. The film really manages to set you up nicely and the pull the rug right out from under you with constant twists and turns that you do not expect that makes coming to a conclusion about what you just witnessed all the more difficult. All I know is that something sinister is afoot in Hollywood in this film that feels like a nightmare from beginning to end.

    *SPOILERS*
    The best conclusion I can come up with is just a fragment of a singular conclusion. For one, it is certainly a comment on people coming to Hollywood who are entirely idealistic and how Hollywood corrupts them, messes with their mind, and makes them entirely jaded. In Hollywood, things seem to happen at random, but rather, they are controlled by a single entity who oversees everything and determines who will have success and who will not have success. The haves and have nots are ultimately determined by who gives in to those in power. If you do, your wildest dreams will come true. However, at the end of the day, to me the key to unlocking this box (lol) is Club Silencio. From that moment in the film on, things certainly take a turn and to fully understand this one, I think that serves as a good starting point. The answer is somewhere there, but what the answer is, I have no idea.
    *END SPOILERS*

    Ultimately, Mulholland Dr is a fun film to sit down and try to dissect. It's a beautiful work that deserves the praise it has received in spades and will certainly be a film that keeps me thinking for a while after its ending.
    Expand
  46. Sep 4, 2013
    7
    Maybe I do not dig David Lynch's style, probably this is not my piece of cake or the movie is just screwed up. A lot of bizarre stuff happening along. A lot of characters whose storylines lead nowhere. Some scenes look out of place, some of them I couldn't take seriously. You start to realize what is happening just about when the movie ends, but still there is a ton of unexplained andMaybe I do not dig David Lynch's style, probably this is not my piece of cake or the movie is just screwed up. A lot of bizarre stuff happening along. A lot of characters whose storylines lead nowhere. Some scenes look out of place, some of them I couldn't take seriously. You start to realize what is happening just about when the movie ends, but still there is a ton of unexplained and obscure stuff. Overall the movie is worth watching because it has become a cult classic and everyone should have his own opinion on it. Expand
  47. May 1, 2014
    9
    我不明白臭狗屎。什麼他媽的是這部電影呢?典型的大衛·林奇。

    That's what I got from this film ^.
    Gets at least an 8 for that amazing lesbian scene. But, this is a brilliant film, regardless, even if I didn't understand **** Standard David Lynch
  48. May 26, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you thought anything can be so difficult to understand than Memento, try David Lynch's most bizarre masterpiece up to date, Mulholland Drive.

    When I first saw this movie, I felt confused at first but amazed by what a twist this Lynch Flick had to offer.

    A hidden-well dimensional new masterpiece that tends to distract a viewer. but even though it has some confusing elements and weird directing decisions nothing can resist me to watch everything unfold and get well put into place unexpectedly, as so to understand the film.

    Lynch crafts together a requiem of a darker part of Hollywood, in a surreal styled portrait thats more of a homage to Hitchcock, Billy Wilder,and Kubrick, a nightmarish city with a dark underworld of greedy and ambitious movie making business men, an amnesiac (Laura Harring), a rising actress with a dream where she has nothing to lose (Naomi Watts), a mysterious cowboy who seems to be in control over everything, a creepy hobo in the alleyway with a secret, collide together to reveal a haunting mystery that tends to question the unexplainable weirdness thatIi hope you won't be prepared to understand.... yet.

    Hard to recommend, since I don't know anyone who would give Lynch a chance but I have to say this is the one of the greatest and most recent neo-noir I have seen and must admit better than Blue Velvet, its like no other mystery I have to see twice.

    Weird but exquisite!
    Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    Lynch's Hollywood is a grand old girl, but she's one with some very treacherous curves. To trace the contours of her sensuality, you need a camera as sensitive as a set of fingertips. Lynch's is.
  2. Like "Memento," Mulholland Drive is an amnesiac noir in the tradition that goes back to "Spellbound" and "Somewhere in the Night."
  3. It will frustrate viewers who like stories to make instant sense, but fans of provocative puzzles will have mind-teasing fun.