Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 12, 2001
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 449 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
304
Mixed:
26
Negative:
119
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
j30Sep 20, 2011
Hard to recommend this movie to anyone who hasn't seen any of Lynch's films, maybe if you watched them in a certain order, you might understand how all his films have reached this point. This is by far his best and most ambitious film. TheHard to recommend this movie to anyone who hasn't seen any of Lynch's films, maybe if you watched them in a certain order, you might understand how all his films have reached this point. This is by far his best and most ambitious film. The music, the tone, the acting are perfect in the dreamy landscape he paints. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
blooddiabloMar 4, 2013
Seems to me that some meaning of scenes is still mystic and open to interpretation. David Lynch is the only one genius bring me fuzz even after 10-time re-watch.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
logatikJul 11, 2011
Simply, one of the best movies of its decade.
The number of themes, moods and messages represented by David Lynch in this opera magna is still under analysis.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
qamasterJan 15, 2017
the best film of all time. the quintessence of the cinematic art. a masterpiece in every respect: the script, directing, the actors play, music. It is a pity that the film did not get enough Oscars. It's a pity that metacritic do not have athe best film of all time. the quintessence of the cinematic art. a masterpiece in every respect: the script, directing, the actors play, music. It is a pity that the film did not get enough Oscars. It's a pity that metacritic do not have a score of more than ten, because I would gave for this movie 12 Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
s.robertsNov 13, 2005
There are not enough positive words to describe this movie and the experience of watching it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
trevortalksNov 14, 2012
Mindbender.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
TomM.Feb 8, 2006
Hey Martin K...the director's name is David Lynch, not Jack Lynch. If you are going to criticise a film, please be somewhat informed This film is lynch's masterpiece. Yes, it is hard to understand, but once you grasp what is going Hey Martin K...the director's name is David Lynch, not Jack Lynch. If you are going to criticise a film, please be somewhat informed This film is lynch's masterpiece. Yes, it is hard to understand, but once you grasp what is going on, you realise how great it really is. This flim does have meaning, Martin K. The first half of the film is a dream, and in the dream Naomi Watts' character incorporates elements of her extremely troubled life, which we see in the second section of the move,....do a bit of research and you might be able to figure that out. The fact that Lynch was able to convert what was in the beginning a TV pilot to a cinematic release ti, quite frankly, amazing. In years to come this, coupled with Twin Peaks, wiill be regarded as Lynch's masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JeffKSep 8, 2005
Unquestionably the finest American film of 2001 and Lynch's masterpiece. Whereas Lynch's inpenetrable scenes left one dismayed or angry, here they add substantively to the overall ominous tone of the film. The acting is superb, and Unquestionably the finest American film of 2001 and Lynch's masterpiece. Whereas Lynch's inpenetrable scenes left one dismayed or angry, here they add substantively to the overall ominous tone of the film. The acting is superb, and while it is ultimately devastating, it's also extremely funny and frightening, not to mention what is one of the best lesbian sex scenes ever filmed (and I'm a gay man!). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SoulFellaMGTurboFeb 3, 2006
I can comfortably say that this is my favorite film of all time. It will be very difficult for another to usurp it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MoviegoerGeekMar 12, 2006
Don't you ever dream? Didn't you ever remember tiny pieces of it and try to make sense out of it all? Didn't you ever mixed people in your dreams YOU KNOW they don't know each other? Maybe you are to heavy on sleeping Don't you ever dream? Didn't you ever remember tiny pieces of it and try to make sense out of it all? Didn't you ever mixed people in your dreams YOU KNOW they don't know each other? Maybe you are to heavy on sleeping pills and this is numbing yourselves. This movie not only DOES have perfect sense. It has many layers beyond the dream/reality sequence. It IS a character study (to those morons saying otherwise) of a really ......up star-wannabe. DREAMS reveal more than yourself than you really are able to believe. In the dream sequence, [***SPOILERS***] there are hints of the guilt Dianne (Betty)experience for having Camille (Rita) killed by the mobster. I'm not doing your homework here: take a further look. DREAMS can also be PREMONITORY (hence the sense of deja-vu we sometimes feel). And Dianne (Betty) sees HER OWN death, only she doesn't know who is the rotted corpse laying in bed (but you can see she FEELS her in her own horrified face). brillant! You peel even further and you realize a "mirror game" depicting a symbolic Hollywood vs. Reality irony. In Hollywood (a.k.a Mulholland Dr.) bad actors rings false and are cartoonish (like Betty herself), while the industry IS the mobster, directors are puppets and the STORY is linear. In Reality, bad actors are messed up, the STORY is twisted, and the Industry and directors won't throw you a bone if you worth ..... Peel further enough, and at the core you will find a history of a rejected love who ends up in tragedy (Dianne killing herself). IT IS NOT ENOUGH FOR YOU? This is arguably the best film of the new millenium. The most complex and deep (YES, DEEP) and the most visually stunning. A Masterpiece!! Warning: Don't be a Dianne, USE YOUR BRAINS! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaR.Mar 25, 2006
All of Lynch's ideas have come to fruition. I saw the film first at the Playcircle Theatre on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison. Like many, I left the theatre completely puzzled but also intrigued. This is the kind of film All of Lynch's ideas have come to fruition. I saw the film first at the Playcircle Theatre on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison. Like many, I left the theatre completely puzzled but also intrigued. This is the kind of film you watch again and again, appreciating it's genius ever more with each viewing. Now I'm with steve b. and s. roberts. . .One could analyze this film on so many levels: a jab at hollywood genres, freudian themes, Shakespearian sleep vs wake. Let me just say, I love how the characters' dialogue really does dispell some of the mystery very early on (eg. "it's wierd calling yourself on the phone" and the mystic's "that's not Diane") Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
THMay 12, 2002
Brilliant! Beautiful! Heartbreaking! This film was so carefully crafted and beautifully composed (images as well as sound) it's nothing short of poetry. Yet the quality that puts it above other Lynch films is that it's successfully Brilliant! Beautiful! Heartbreaking! This film was so carefully crafted and beautifully composed (images as well as sound) it's nothing short of poetry. Yet the quality that puts it above other Lynch films is that it's successfully able to convey deep feeling with such power. This can be mainly attributed to the film's terrific performances, from the main actors to the bit players -- every line is exquisitely delivered, every gesture carefully captured on film. For those naysayers who feel this movie was pretentious, I will admit that at times it was "a bit forced, but still humanistic." But that can be forgiven since the story is...[spoiler omitted] Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkAngelJan 17, 2014
The obscure magnum opus of one of the greatest. Kaleidoscopic puzzle of uncompromising beauty. Unsettling experience that lingers on you. A true masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Dec 31, 2016
"When you see the girl in the picture that was shown to you earlier today, you will say, "this is the girl". The rest of the cast can stay, that's up to you. But the choice for that lead girl is NOT up to you. Now... you will see me one more"When you see the girl in the picture that was shown to you earlier today, you will say, "this is the girl". The rest of the cast can stay, that's up to you. But the choice for that lead girl is NOT up to you. Now... you will see me one more time, if you do good. You will see me... two more times, if you do bad. Good night."

Back in early 2015, I watched "Mulholland Drive" and my first reaction were mostly positive. I didn't know what to think of it, but I was so in awe with the film that I couldn't stop thinking about it. The reason for not reviewing it back then is because I just wasn't ready to talk about it. This massive delay cause me to forget about it, as at the time, I had a lot of things on my mind.

But after re-watching it, it's better on the second watch. I loved "Mulholland Drive". It's both effective, depressing, and strange. I would go as far to say that it's a masterpiece.

David Lynch is a master of his craft who's always misunderstood. The dreamy atmosphere is terrifying and yet draws you in. Only he can do it. To strike an emotionally core with you that hits you hard, despite not knowing what's going on. People are so in awe of his work, even when nobody understands him. But strangely, that doesn't matter.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PoonisharSep 26, 2016
David lynch creates a typical and welcome rich and twisted thriller that can be so open to personal interpretation it really is a marvel. It's the kind of film that you probably won't fully get after an initial viewing (and possibly manyDavid lynch creates a typical and welcome rich and twisted thriller that can be so open to personal interpretation it really is a marvel. It's the kind of film that you probably won't fully get after an initial viewing (and possibly many more) but it such a wonderful mystery that unfolds that you want to rewatch and study. There is a method in the madness, and it's one of the greatest and most unique films I've ever seen. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
bobmeierMay 23, 2016
In the last 20 years, this would be my favorite film. There is something about this that is unforgettable. I can't really describe what it is about this film that continues to fascinate and please me. But it does and if you haven't seen it,In the last 20 years, this would be my favorite film. There is something about this that is unforgettable. I can't really describe what it is about this film that continues to fascinate and please me. But it does and if you haven't seen it, please do. And if you don't like it, please don't talk to me about cinema. We're not on the same page. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
steveb.Nov 16, 2005
I refuse to be friends with anyone who has not at some point in their lives said "this is the best movie ever!"
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennyMAug 7, 2006
Martin K., I feel sorry for you ... Have fun flipping burgers at McDonald's for the rest of your life. Oh yeah, and next time you're going to criticize one of the greatest films in the history of cinema, at least don't use the Martin K., I feel sorry for you ... Have fun flipping burgers at McDonald's for the rest of your life. Oh yeah, and next time you're going to criticize one of the greatest films in the history of cinema, at least don't use the words/phrases "dude", "cracked out", "eyebrows fatter than eugene levy's" , and "jerking off prophetic metaphors." At least disguise the fact that you don't even know how to speak, because then maybe someone could actually read your comment without vomitting all over themselves in disgust. This film is a masterpiece, and if you cannot at least appreciate the fact that it is genius (even if you don't necessarily enjoy it) than you deserve to be tied to a chair and forced to watch the film for the rest of your life, or at least until you can truly appreciate it. I'll be sure to come by McDonald's for some apple pies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JW.May 5, 2007
(8.5) Naomi Watts has been, in the last six years or so, the greatest gift to American film. She was no rookie at the time, obviously, but this was basically her coming-out party. Her performance here is cited by people like David O. Russell (8.5) Naomi Watts has been, in the last six years or so, the greatest gift to American film. She was no rookie at the time, obviously, but this was basically her coming-out party. Her performance here is cited by people like David O. Russell (I Heart Huckabees) as a casting director's equivalent of love at first sight. Already evident are the strengths that would make her shine brightest in everything from 21 Grams to We Don't Live Here Anymore. You can't NOT watch her. In this film - amid all the surreal emotional touchstones she hits -it is her flinch at the fateful dinner party that says everything about how far into a character she can go. Without her, Mulholland would fly totally off its rocker halfway through. As it is, you keep watching to the last freakish second. It's sure to scare the bejeezus out of you at least once. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeNov 30, 2006
I loved this movie! I walked out of the movie theater and I was amazed in what I seen. The most impressive was in how the movie was directed. Simply amazing! no wonder the director was nominated for an oscar for best director. In my opinion I loved this movie! I walked out of the movie theater and I was amazed in what I seen. The most impressive was in how the movie was directed. Simply amazing! no wonder the director was nominated for an oscar for best director. In my opinion he should of won! After watching it 3 times I still didnt understand it, but after the 4th time everything just clicks in and it make PERFECT sense! The movie is so intresting. you keep on watching it again and again! Can't wait to see what David Lynch makes next! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KharlosDec 22, 2007
My brother didn't like this movie, but he is the kind of moviegoer that leaves his brain in the ashtray of his car before going into the theater. His kind of movie is along the lines of Independence Day, Austin Powers, Transformers, My brother didn't like this movie, but he is the kind of moviegoer that leaves his brain in the ashtray of his car before going into the theater. His kind of movie is along the lines of Independence Day, Austin Powers, Transformers, etc... Now I enjoy wholesome tearjerkers like "Wild horses can't be broken" and action/dramas like "Flyboys" as well, but "Mulholland Drive" would not fall into a category that would be so easily labeled. As others have stated already, it's more akin to art than anything else. I have trouble simply describing the effect this movie had on me when I watched it, but I really, really liked it. After 2 viewings, I agree with the popular view on the plot: This film is an invasive look into the depths of the human mind, and it's ability to control perceived reality. A large portion of the movie (first 2 hours or so) are a fabrication of Diane's mind...a favorable re-creation of accounts and personas. If you have ever seen "The Matrix" then you will have some idea of the concept of living "as a boat in a bottle" so to speak. When the theater scene arrives, I think it is symbolic of Diane's inability to maintain the mental farce and avoid the inevitable, brutal, punishing truth of actual reality. If your friend said to you "ok, sit down silently in that chair and for the next 10 minutes, do NOT have a thought about cars" would you be able to do it? Maintaining focus on (or away from) things requires energy, and Diane finally ran out of it. After the theater scene, Diane's "matrix" comes crashing down, and she is unable to re-create it, even though she trantically tries again (when Camilla revisits her in the kitchen and at the couch). With Diane's imagination unable to get her back to her nirvana, she sees no other recourse than suicide for her miserable life. In my opinion, Mulholland Drive is one of the 5 greatest movies that I have ever seen. I'm sorry that there are those that will not enjoy it simply because it is not like 99% of the "made for tv" or "made for Hollywood" movies that are out there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
StaticSpineSep 4, 2013
Maybe I do not dig David Lynch's style, probably this is not my piece of cake or the movie is just screwed up. A lot of bizarre stuff happening along. A lot of characters whose storylines lead nowhere. Some scenes look out of place, some ofMaybe I do not dig David Lynch's style, probably this is not my piece of cake or the movie is just screwed up. A lot of bizarre stuff happening along. A lot of characters whose storylines lead nowhere. Some scenes look out of place, some of them I couldn't take seriously. You start to realize what is happening just about when the movie ends, but still there is a ton of unexplained and obscure stuff. Overall the movie is worth watching because it has become a cult classic and everyone should have his own opinion on it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
VinceRocks123Jun 24, 2015
If you thought anything can be so difficult to understand than Lost Highway, try David Lynch's most bizarre masterpiece up to date, Mulholland Drive.

When I first saw this movie, I felt confused at first but amazed by what a twist this
If you thought anything can be so difficult to understand than Lost Highway, try David Lynch's most bizarre masterpiece up to date, Mulholland Drive.

When I first saw this movie, I felt confused at first but amazed by what a twist this Lynch Flick had to offer.
puts the viewer in a mystery unlike anything they have seen. but even though it has Lynch's seal of weirdness and bizzarity nothing can resist me to watch everything unfold and get well put into place unexpectedly, as so to understand the film.

Lynch crafts together a requiem of a darker part of Hollywood, in a surreal styled portrait thats more of a homage to Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, and Rod Serling, a twilight zone styled Hollywood with a dark underbelly of greedy and ambitious movie making business men, an amnesiac who goes by the name of "Rita" (Laura Harring), a rising wannabe actress with a dream where she has nothing to lose (Naomi Watts), a mysterious cowboy who seems to be in control over everything, a creepy deformed human in the alleyway with a secret, collide together to reveal a haunting mystery that tends to question the unexplainable weirdness that you won't be prepared to understand.... yet.

Hard to recommend, since I don't know anyone who would give Lynch a chance but I have to say this is one of the greatest and most recent neo-noir I have seen and must admit better than Blue Velvet, its like no other mystery That you will have to see twice
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RobertBroganOct 5, 2015
Mulholland Dr. does not have to be understood to be an interesting experience. I still do not completely understand it, but get something more out of it each time I watch it, and always enjoy the distinctive style and vibe (reminiscent of 80sMulholland Dr. does not have to be understood to be an interesting experience. I still do not completely understand it, but get something more out of it each time I watch it, and always enjoy the distinctive style and vibe (reminiscent of 80s music videos, but with a 90s mood). One gets the impression that it is not a cheap, gimmicky mystery but rather it is somehow coherent and that makes it open to rewatchings and discussion. It is like a jigsaw puzzle you cannot finish, because it seems like pieces are missing from it, but you later come back and find there are few more and fit them in. The performance by Naomi Watts contributes to the rewatchability of the film. A film about illusions needs a convincing character to be believed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
imnamineDec 18, 2016
Mulholland Dr. certainly isn't a movie for everyone. But at the same time, it may be the best movie from David Lynch.
I won't say anything about the story. But I'm going to say something about the movie itself : oneiric. It's a movie and an
Mulholland Dr. certainly isn't a movie for everyone. But at the same time, it may be the best movie from David Lynch.
I won't say anything about the story. But I'm going to say something about the movie itself : oneiric. It's a movie and an experience, an affordable experience.
Of course it has flaws, it's not perfect, but my review is just there to say one thing : go and watch it. Maybe you'll love it. Maybe you'll hate it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
David Lynch presents his greatest stride, giving us a surrealist pop dream that is as irresistible as it is confounding, raising a huge middle finger to Hollywood conventions while never compromising entertainment. The movie stands on its ownDavid Lynch presents his greatest stride, giving us a surrealist pop dream that is as irresistible as it is confounding, raising a huge middle finger to Hollywood conventions while never compromising entertainment. The movie stands on its own just fine, but the more movies I watch, the more I see its influences: Bergman's "Persona," Godard's colorful capricious style, Fellini's self-conscious abstractions, Buñuel's vicious humor. I wouldn't draw such grand comparisons if I felt they weren't earned, but Lynch delivers on every front, giving us a movie that is sure to leave you spellbound. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMar 17, 2012
A film that truly i do not know if i will ever fully understand,but every time i see it I get a little bit more of the puzzle together. It is a truly incredible film! The begining pulls you into certain details and completelt throws you offA film that truly i do not know if i will ever fully understand,but every time i see it I get a little bit more of the puzzle together. It is a truly incredible film! The begining pulls you into certain details and completelt throws you off on the plot of the movie. However when it comes to the end of the film you know what you saw and where you saw it. The films visuals are key to the film and they deliver 100 percent. If you are looking for a head scratching mind screwing movie Mulholland dr is for you. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
DoehlMar 25, 2012
Mulholland Drive has no realistic sequences in it, the whole film takes place in a dream and like a dream, the film focuses on the emotions and makes sense in a very narrow way. That is what makes it such a power punch to experience.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
benjiboiNov 14, 2012
After finishing the film for the first time, having been utterly enthralled by its captivating mystery, I was confused as to what actually occurred; and such represents the true beauty of the film. Following my third viewing, I felt as thoughAfter finishing the film for the first time, having been utterly enthralled by its captivating mystery, I was confused as to what actually occurred; and such represents the true beauty of the film. Following my third viewing, I felt as though the puzzle had been solved to some extent, and it was then that I realized quite how amazing this film really was. It is ultimately a romantic tragedy of the greatest depth, tantalising in execution and devastating in its punchlines. Mulholland Dr. represents the Hollywood dream gone awry, the dangers of obsession, the power of fantasies and the deep emotional havoc sparked by regret and unrequited love. David Lynch is an artist. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
davehollandFeb 22, 2013
People who can understand the story and the behind-story meaning will know that this is a masterpiece! But i saw many people lack the ability of thinking keep putting dumb review on this, really pathetic. If one know about Sigmund Freud thePeople who can understand the story and the behind-story meaning will know that this is a masterpiece! But i saw many people lack the ability of thinking keep putting dumb review on this, really pathetic. If one know about Sigmund Freud the interpretation of Dream" you would know how accurate the scenario Mulholland drive achieved, much better than some easy trick and twist movies. Most important is people don't get that the secret of the blue key and what Diane represented for. If you don't understand, watch more and you would find the key, not for Diane, its for you Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews