Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 416 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In this complex tale of suspense, set in the unreal universe of Los Angeles, writer/director David Lynch explores the city's schizophrenic nature, an uneasy blend of innocence and corruption, love and loneliness, beauty and depravity. (Universal Focus)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. By surrendering any semblance of rationality to create a post-Freudian, pulp-fiction fever dream of a movie, Mr. Lynch ends up shooting the moon with Mulholland Drive.
  2. 100
    Not just everything you want in a David Lynch movie, but damn near everything else you want in ANY movie.
  3. 100
    Lynch's Hollywood is a grand old girl, but she's one with some very treacherous curves. To trace the contours of her sensuality, you need a camera as sensitive as a set of fingertips. Lynch's is.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A genuinely ominous and suspenseful thriller.
  5. It will frustrate viewers who like stories to make instant sense, but fans of provocative puzzles will have mind-teasing fun.
  6. It's a lush, lovely dreamscape of a movie, steeped in familiar vernacular (film noir), yet capable of shooting off in totally unfamiliar, surreal directions.
  7. Mulholland Drive is an extended mood opera, if you want to put an arty label on incoherence.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 148
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    This was voted by the LA Films Critic as the movie of the decade, and for good reason..It is one of the very few movies in which the piecesThis was voted by the LA Films Critic as the movie of the decade, and for good reason..It is one of the very few movies in which the pieces not only add up to much more than the whole, but also supersede it with a series of (for the most part) fascinating fragments...If you are looking for a linear structure and the typical hollywood garbage, where the story is neatly tied up - this is not the movie for you..The symbolism, dream structure and the overall feeling in this movie is incredible -

    For those of you who didnt "get" the movie - you can go on the internet and actually find out that about 95% of the movie can be easily explained..But if you think this movie is bad - you know ZERO about movies - and you are better off watching $hit like Inception..or any quinten tarentino movie David Lynch is amazing and so is this movie...I am so glad there are still true artists out there working today..I have personally not seen a better movie since watching this in 2001..Movie of the decade and one of the best movies ever made - touches parts of your soul and goes places where you never thought possible..You will not understand it the first time, and might not fully comprehend it on future viewings..leave logic at the door..open up your heart and soul and this movie will amaze you 10+++
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    People who can understand the story and the behind-story meaning will know that this is a masterpiece! But i saw many people lack the abilityPeople who can understand the story and the behind-story meaning will know that this is a masterpiece! But i saw many people lack the ability of thinking keep putting dumb review on this, really pathetic. If one know about Sigmund Freud the interpretation of Dream" you would know how accurate the scenario Mulholland drive achieved, much better than some easy trick and twist movies. Most important is people don't get that the secret of the blue key and what Diane represented for. If you don't understand, watch more and you would find the key, not for Diane, its for you Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best films I have ever seen. Not just because I enjoyed every minute, but I think it's one of the most accomplished storyThis is one of the best films I have ever seen. Not just because I enjoyed every minute, but I think it's one of the most accomplished story lines and it has some of the most beautiful and emotional scenes I've seen. This is not an airy-fairy abstract concept movie. It makes sense; you just have to think about it a lot. I've watched it twice in three days and I understand it a lot better for it. IMDb has some excellent reviews if you really want to get to grips with it, but I'd recommend just giving it a go for yourself. As Roger Ebert said, this movie is like music: it runs on emotions. There are scenes that will shock you, scare you, scenes that drip with emotion and impact you heavily. If nothing else, you could take it as the sum of its parts and just enjoy it for the full range of different reactions it will provoke from you. It really is saddening to see how dismissive some people have been of this movie. As Lynch said, life is complicated, and so movies should be complicated too. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece. Emotional and incredible feeling when you are watched this movie. So many thanks David Lynch. In my opinion Mulholland Dr. bestMasterpiece. Emotional and incredible feeling when you are watched this movie. So many thanks David Lynch. In my opinion Mulholland Dr. best movie ever. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2015
    8
    If you thought anything can be so difficult to understand than Lost Highway, try David Lynch's most bizarre masterpiece up to date, MulhollandIf you thought anything can be so difficult to understand than Lost Highway, try David Lynch's most bizarre masterpiece up to date, Mulholland Drive.

    When I first saw this movie, I felt confused at first but amazed by what a twist this Lynch Flick had to offer.
    puts the viewer in a mystery unlike anything they have seen. but even though it has Lynch's seal of weirdness and bizzarity nothing can resist me to watch everything unfold and get well put into place unexpectedly, as so to understand the film.

    Lynch crafts together a requiem of a darker part of Hollywood, in a surreal styled portrait thats more of a homage to Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, and Rod Serling, a twilight zone styled Hollywood with a dark underbelly of greedy and ambitious movie making business men, an amnesiac who goes by the name of "Rita" (Laura Harring), a rising wannabe actress with a dream where she has nothing to lose (Naomi Watts), a mysterious cowboy who seems to be in control over everything, a creepy deformed human in the alleyway with a secret, collide together to reveal a haunting mystery that tends to question the unexplainable weirdness that you won't be prepared to understand.... yet.

    Hard to recommend, since I don't know anyone who would give Lynch a chance but I have to say this is one of the greatest and most recent neo-noir I have seen and must admit better than Blue Velvet, its like no other mystery That you will have to see twice
    Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2014
    4
    This movie is boring. This is one of those movies that put the enlightened critics against the regular people, i couldnt stand it. You canThis movie is boring. This is one of those movies that put the enlightened critics against the regular people, i couldnt stand it. You can accuse me of ignorant of whatever, ill say that some of my favourite movies are for example aronofsky s requiem & the fountain, even when they are crazy and they repeat scenes they got sense, a story and they are not showing images and saying "if you dont understand this you are ignorant".

    Una peli aburrida. De esas que enfrentan a los críticos con la gente. Me pareció insoportable. Me podrán decir ignorante, pero algunas de mis peliculas favoritas son Requiem y la Fuente de Aronofsky, que a pesar de ser películas bastante peculiares tienen sentido, no se dedican a mostrarte imagenes para luego generar esta sensación de cine "solo para entendidos".
    Expand
  7. NV
    Feb 19, 2008
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. It's like watching what might go on inside your head while you're on an acid trip. Mulholland Drive, you owe me 2.5 hours of my life back! Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.