Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Muppets Most Wanted takes the entire Muppets gang on a global tour, selling out grand theaters in some of Europe’s most exciting destinations, including Berlin, Madrid and London. But mayhem follows the Muppets overseas, as they find themselves unwittingly entangled in an international crimeMuppets Most Wanted takes the entire Muppets gang on a global tour, selling out grand theaters in some of Europe’s most exciting destinations, including Berlin, Madrid and London. But mayhem follows the Muppets overseas, as they find themselves unwittingly entangled in an international crime caper. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 18, 2014
    90
    The story matters only in that it creates opportunities for heaps of ridiculousness, and writer-director James Bobin (who also directed The Muppets), along with co-writer Nicholas Stoller, mines them skillfully and breezily.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    A breezy, mirthful caper enlivened by the comic talents of Ricky Gervais, Ty Burrell and Tina Fey.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 22, 2014
    75
    The film loses some of its fizz by giving in to a so-so caper plot that unintentionally proves the axiom they were just satirizing.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 20, 2014
    63
    The crimes and Gervais and Fey’s performances get stale quickly, though the song-and-dance numbers are fairly clever.
  5. Reviewed by: Stuart Heritage
    Mar 22, 2014
    60
    A wasted opportunity.
  6. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Mar 16, 2014
    60
    Story aside, this is about the gags, songs and then more gags. On the upside, the jokes are great: the usual jolly mix of character humour, situation comedy, farce, satire and wordplay.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 11, 2014
    40
    Muppets Most Wanted looks and sounds eager to please but immediately feels like a more slapdash, aimless affair, trying — and mostly failing — to turn its stalled creativity into some sort of self-referential joke.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Absolutely on par with the first Disney Muppets movie, if you enjoyed the first you're going to enjoy this one. A true sequel as it continuesAbsolutely on par with the first Disney Muppets movie, if you enjoyed the first you're going to enjoy this one. A true sequel as it continues from the first while continuing to ignore every rule of storyline and never taking itself too seriously. Will be watching again, too much awesome to catch it all in the first viewing. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    Unlike the previous movie which felt like a Muppet movie, this entry feels more like a movie that has the Muppets in it. That being said, It'sUnlike the previous movie which felt like a Muppet movie, this entry feels more like a movie that has the Muppets in it. That being said, It's actually a very good movie with lots of laughs and great moments. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    The first Muppet movie (well, Muppet reboot) was a fantastic reminisce, but how does the sequel fare? Much better than I expected!
    The movie
    The first Muppet movie (well, Muppet reboot) was a fantastic reminisce, but how does the sequel fare? Much better than I expected!
    The movie opens up with the very clever song, 'We're Doing a Sequel!' that even poked fun at the fact of it being a sequel. The music was decent and the characters maintained their classic charm, while dealing with the plot-driving issues.
    Everything in this movie was fun, (perhaps a bit cheesy but not excessively) and a good movie for anyone who loved the last one.
    Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    A decent addition to the Muppet movie canon. While it is a bit rough around the edges when compared to The Muppets (2011), there are stillA decent addition to the Muppet movie canon. While it is a bit rough around the edges when compared to The Muppets (2011), there are still plenty of clever jokes and funny cameos like before to keep you laughing and entertained, with two or three stand out musical numbers. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2014
    7
    Filled with musical numbers, cameos, and smart humor. Unlike the 2011 movie it doesn't rely on old fans nostalgia to get by. It has it's ownFilled with musical numbers, cameos, and smart humor. Unlike the 2011 movie it doesn't rely on old fans nostalgia to get by. It has it's own unique thing that allows fans new and old to make new memories with the Muppets. It's overall just a fun and wholesome movie for the family. However it's not hard to see that a lot of the humor might go over the heads of the younger viewers, and because of that may alienate them. Still as a whole it's a very fun movie and one that will satisfy any Muppet fan. It will even bring in some new fans. I give it a 7.7/10. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    While the plot is very weak, Muppets most Wanted delivered good comedy. The lead actors have us a run for their money, and we some greatWhile the plot is very weak, Muppets most Wanted delivered good comedy. The lead actors have us a run for their money, and we some great cameos. I can get that it's not as good or enjoyable as the 2011 muppets, but Muppets most Wanted was a good comedy, with a weak plot. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2015
    1
    Oh gosh, I was so ready to like this movie after the latest Muppet reboot, which was fun and funny and highly likeable even with a super weakOh gosh, I was so ready to like this movie after the latest Muppet reboot, which was fun and funny and highly likeable even with a super weak villain at its heart. But soon after I sat down I knew it was not to be. I sat down with some food I needed to pack and freeze, and I knew the movie was in trouble when I started being more interested in getting the portions correct than in what was going on in the movie. I wish I could say the worst thing I found about this movie was, again, the lack of a really good villain, but quite honestly what finally lost me was the gulag bit. I mean... okay, it's not in the memory of most kids of the target age for this movie but good god, if you've ever read about the gulags... why not just slap Tina Fey and Kermit down in the middle of a concentration camp and have them do a musical trio with Anne Frank? I just found it highly uncomfortable to watch, and as there are several gulag-related scenes, it never really got better. As well, the national stereotypes... I mean, it's not even that they're necessarily super offensive or anything, but they're *so* very, very, very, very, VERY very old. And the movie is drowning in them. Anyway, I could go on, but the short version is: nobody had any chemistry with anyone, the villains were weaker than the last one, there wasn't one catchy song in the whole movie (an unforgivable crime in a muppet movie), and the comedy was a bizarre mix of "for the adults" (ha ha, look at Kermit spoofing Silence of the Lambs!) and "for the kids" (Poopieville! Ha ha ha! (Or whatever the name was. I'm not going back to check, and you can't make me.)) Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers