Muppets Most Wanted Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Muppets Most Wanted takes the entire Muppets gang on a global tour, selling out grand theaters in some of Europe’s most exciting destinations, including Berlin, Madrid and London. But mayhem follows the Muppets overseas, as they find themselves unwittingly entangled in an international crimeMuppets Most Wanted takes the entire Muppets gang on a global tour, selling out grand theaters in some of Europe’s most exciting destinations, including Berlin, Madrid and London. But mayhem follows the Muppets overseas, as they find themselves unwittingly entangled in an international crime caper. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 18, 2014
    90
    The story matters only in that it creates opportunities for heaps of ridiculousness, and writer-director James Bobin (who also directed The Muppets), along with co-writer Nicholas Stoller, mines them skillfully and breezily.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    A breezy, mirthful caper enlivened by the comic talents of Ricky Gervais, Ty Burrell and Tina Fey.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 22, 2014
    75
    The film loses some of its fizz by giving in to a so-so caper plot that unintentionally proves the axiom they were just satirizing.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 20, 2014
    63
    The crimes and Gervais and Fey’s performances get stale quickly, though the song-and-dance numbers are fairly clever.
  5. Reviewed by: Stuart Heritage
    Mar 22, 2014
    60
    A wasted opportunity.
  6. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Mar 16, 2014
    60
    Story aside, this is about the gags, songs and then more gags. On the upside, the jokes are great: the usual jolly mix of character humour, situation comedy, farce, satire and wordplay.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 11, 2014
    40
    Muppets Most Wanted looks and sounds eager to please but immediately feels like a more slapdash, aimless affair, trying — and mostly failing — to turn its stalled creativity into some sort of self-referential joke.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Absolutely on par with the first Disney Muppets movie, if you enjoyed the first you're going to enjoy this one. A true sequel as it continuesAbsolutely on par with the first Disney Muppets movie, if you enjoyed the first you're going to enjoy this one. A true sequel as it continues from the first while continuing to ignore every rule of storyline and never taking itself too seriously. Will be watching again, too much awesome to catch it all in the first viewing. Collapse
  2. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Walt Disney Picture's Muppets Most Wanted is an animated movie released in 2014 exploring the theme of false identity featuring the characters that I and many other people grew up admiring, the Muppets. Despite not reaching heights that its predecessor, The Muppets, achieved, MMW is still a movie worth watching for all ages due to the brilliant, catchy songs and fabulous acting displayed. The movie literally starts off from where The Muppets ended. After the muppets realize that they are still being filmed and a sequel is on the way, they decide going on a road trip around the world would be the most appropriate idea for the movie. They meet up with an apparent "manager" named Dominic Badguy who earns the trust of the muppets after suggesting good ideas to them related to the trip. What the muppets don't know is that, with the help of the most notorious criminal on Earth, Dominic is planning to put a stop to the muppets. I enjoyed the plot as it contained plenty of suspense.
    However, the Muppets does lack originality in certain aspects, specifically humour. Much like most movies today, there were an excessive number of cliches used that would only appeal younger generations. Cameos from Lady Gaga and Celine Dion do improve the overall feel of the movie, but in my opinion the Muppets was a good idea that was poorly executed. I can't quite explain why, but it just is.
    Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2015
    8
    4/5★ Great casting, wonderful songs and the trademark Muppet humor all mix to make a fun film that is enjoyable to all but the most4/5★ Great casting, wonderful songs and the trademark Muppet humor all mix to make a fun film that is enjoyable to all but the most curmudgeonly of viewers.
    Verdict: Enjoy!
    Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    A decent addition to the Muppet movie canon. While it is a bit rough around the edges when compared to The Muppets (2011), there are stillA decent addition to the Muppet movie canon. While it is a bit rough around the edges when compared to The Muppets (2011), there are still plenty of clever jokes and funny cameos like before to keep you laughing and entertained, with two or three stand out musical numbers. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    7
    Very hit and miss. Ricky Gervais is awful. Has he actually ever put in a a funny performance in a Hollywood film? However Tina Fey isVery hit and miss. Ricky Gervais is awful. Has he actually ever put in a a funny performance in a Hollywood film? However Tina Fey is excellent as the Gulag guard, as is the Clouseau-inspired French detective. To be honest it's the cameos that make this film. Ironically the muppets are the weakest part of every Muppet movie, in an age of CGI they little more than a nostalgic throwback to simpler times. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2015
    5
    The intro song warns you that the sequel is never quite as good.

    It isn't terrible. But it is nowhere near as good as the last movie. There
    The intro song warns you that the sequel is never quite as good.

    It isn't terrible. But it is nowhere near as good as the last movie. There are some cute bits in it, and some funny little jokes, but the movie is just meh. Never unwatchable, but not something you need to go out of your way to watch.
    Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2015
    1
    Oh gosh, I was so ready to like this movie after the latest Muppet reboot, which was fun and funny and highly likeable even with a super weakOh gosh, I was so ready to like this movie after the latest Muppet reboot, which was fun and funny and highly likeable even with a super weak villain at its heart. But soon after I sat down I knew it was not to be. I sat down with some food I needed to pack and freeze, and I knew the movie was in trouble when I started being more interested in getting the portions correct than in what was going on in the movie. I wish I could say the worst thing I found about this movie was, again, the lack of a really good villain, but quite honestly what finally lost me was the gulag bit. I mean... okay, it's not in the memory of most kids of the target age for this movie but good god, if you've ever read about the gulags... why not just slap Tina Fey and Kermit down in the middle of a concentration camp and have them do a musical trio with Anne Frank? I just found it highly uncomfortable to watch, and as there are several gulag-related scenes, it never really got better. As well, the national stereotypes... I mean, it's not even that they're necessarily super offensive or anything, but they're *so* very, very, very, very, VERY very old. And the movie is drowning in them. Anyway, I could go on, but the short version is: nobody had any chemistry with anyone, the villains were weaker than the last one, there wasn't one catchy song in the whole movie (an unforgivable crime in a muppet movie), and the comedy was a bizarre mix of "for the adults" (ha ha, look at Kermit spoofing Silence of the Lambs!) and "for the kids" (Poopieville! Ha ha ha! (Or whatever the name was. I'm not going back to check, and you can't make me.)) Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 28, 2014
    Watch new trailers for Godzilla, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Muppets Most Wanted, Enemy, and more, and catch up on this week's movie news.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 22, 2013
    Catch up on this week's movie news, and watch brand new trailers for Lars von Trier's "Nymphomaniac" plus "Muppets Most Wanted," "Need for Speed," "Robocop," and more.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.