Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Muppets Most Wanted takes the entire Muppets gang on a global tour, selling out grand theaters in some of Europe’s most exciting destinations, including Berlin, Madrid and London. But mayhem follows the Muppets overseas, as they find themselves unwittingly entangled in an international crimeMuppets Most Wanted takes the entire Muppets gang on a global tour, selling out grand theaters in some of Europe’s most exciting destinations, including Berlin, Madrid and London. But mayhem follows the Muppets overseas, as they find themselves unwittingly entangled in an international crime caper. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 18, 2014
    90
    The story matters only in that it creates opportunities for heaps of ridiculousness, and writer-director James Bobin (who also directed The Muppets), along with co-writer Nicholas Stoller, mines them skillfully and breezily.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 20, 2014
    75
    A breezy, mirthful caper enlivened by the comic talents of Ricky Gervais, Ty Burrell and Tina Fey.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 22, 2014
    75
    The film loses some of its fizz by giving in to a so-so caper plot that unintentionally proves the axiom they were just satirizing.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 20, 2014
    63
    The crimes and Gervais and Fey’s performances get stale quickly, though the song-and-dance numbers are fairly clever.
  5. Reviewed by: Stuart Heritage
    Mar 22, 2014
    60
    A wasted opportunity.
  6. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Mar 16, 2014
    60
    Story aside, this is about the gags, songs and then more gags. On the upside, the jokes are great: the usual jolly mix of character humour, situation comedy, farce, satire and wordplay.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 11, 2014
    40
    Muppets Most Wanted looks and sounds eager to please but immediately feels like a more slapdash, aimless affair, trying — and mostly failing — to turn its stalled creativity into some sort of self-referential joke.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Absolutely on par with the first Disney Muppets movie, if you enjoyed the first you're going to enjoy this one. A true sequel as it continuesAbsolutely on par with the first Disney Muppets movie, if you enjoyed the first you're going to enjoy this one. A true sequel as it continues from the first while continuing to ignore every rule of storyline and never taking itself too seriously. Will be watching again, too much awesome to catch it all in the first viewing. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    While it may not be as emotional as the last Muppets movie I’m ok with that. This Muppet movie had everything a wanted. A story that didn’tWhile it may not be as emotional as the last Muppets movie I’m ok with that. This Muppet movie had everything a wanted. A story that didn’t take itself too seriously but instead focused on the characters and making me laugh, great songs, and making me believe these puppets are alive. If you are a Muppet fan definatley check this out you will love it especially if you are a kid. For me this was much better than the last Muppet movie because it focused on the Muppets this time around and was light-hearted throughout. If you prefer an emotional Muppet movie then you will probably not enjoy this one as much as the last one but if you like a light-hearted Muppet movie with plenty of laughs then I’d definitely recommend checking this out. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    The Muppets is still strong with this sequel, even without the elements of the 2011 movie. With these characters and humor were able make meThe Muppets is still strong with this sequel, even without the elements of the 2011 movie. With these characters and humor were able make me rate 8/10. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    7
    The Muppets get a new manager (Ricky Gervais) who promises them success in Europe, but is really out to stage a massive heist (along with aThe Muppets get a new manager (Ricky Gervais) who promises them success in Europe, but is really out to stage a massive heist (along with a Kermit imposter). The plot is just an excuse for each character to do its bit and to allow a few famous people to pop up for cameos. The human stars, including Tina Fey & Ty Burrell, are working hard to be funny, but don't generate lots of laffs. There are plenty of fun moments and some cute, catchy tunes by Bret McKenzie, but the script isn't that sassy. While the movie is energetic and entertaining, it falls short of being as funny as it could. NOTE: There's a zany short from the "Monsters" franchise before the feature. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2014
    6
    This movie is don't awesome, it's a nice movie but you dont gonna say, mom can you buy me the muppets?
    This movie it's short but you gonna
    This movie is don't awesome, it's a nice movie but you dont gonna say, mom can you buy me the muppets?
    This movie it's short but you gonna stay a little borring in the cinema but you gonna like it so much.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    5
    Not Really the Best Muppet Movie, But the Songs were really good. Sound Mixing: Not Really the Best.
    Actors: Really Talented. But I Think the
    Not Really the Best Muppet Movie, But the Songs were really good. Sound Mixing: Not Really the Best.
    Actors: Really Talented. But I Think the Muppets can do better.
    Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2015
    1
    Oh gosh, I was so ready to like this movie after the latest Muppet reboot, which was fun and funny and highly likeable even with a super weakOh gosh, I was so ready to like this movie after the latest Muppet reboot, which was fun and funny and highly likeable even with a super weak villain at its heart. But soon after I sat down I knew it was not to be. I sat down with some food I needed to pack and freeze, and I knew the movie was in trouble when I started being more interested in getting the portions correct than in what was going on in the movie. I wish I could say the worst thing I found about this movie was, again, the lack of a really good villain, but quite honestly what finally lost me was the gulag bit. I mean... okay, it's not in the memory of most kids of the target age for this movie but good god, if you've ever read about the gulags... why not just slap Tina Fey and Kermit down in the middle of a concentration camp and have them do a musical trio with Anne Frank? I just found it highly uncomfortable to watch, and as there are several gulag-related scenes, it never really got better. As well, the national stereotypes... I mean, it's not even that they're necessarily super offensive or anything, but they're *so* very, very, very, very, VERY very old. And the movie is drowning in them. Anyway, I could go on, but the short version is: nobody had any chemistry with anyone, the villains were weaker than the last one, there wasn't one catchy song in the whole movie (an unforgivable crime in a muppet movie), and the comedy was a bizarre mix of "for the adults" (ha ha, look at Kermit spoofing Silence of the Lambs!) and "for the kids" (Poopieville! Ha ha ha! (Or whatever the name was. I'm not going back to check, and you can't make me.)) Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers