Must Love Dogs

Must Love Dogs Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: As thirty-something divorced pre-school teacher Sarah Nolan (Lane) braves a series of hilariously disastrous mismatches and first dates, she begins to trust her own instincts again and learns that, no matter what, it's never a good idea to give up on love. (Warner Bros.)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 36
  2. Negative: 8 out of 36
  1. 75
    It's a frisky romantic comedy with a great title and wonderfully appealing performances.
  2. 75
    View it as a fat-free but tasty cinematic treat in the middle of the long, hot summer.
  3. 63
    Bland and forgettable - a romantic comedy with affable characters and some funny lines, but where love never really takes flight. It fizzles when it should sizzle.
  4. What's curious about the film, in an anthropological way, is that it's made up of a series of false human moments yet remains entirely predictable.
  5. 50
    The film makes no real impression; it's amiable, occasionally funny and indistinguishable from dozens of other romantic comedies just like it.
  6. Forces them (the cast) to reenact the entire unabridged Encyclopedia of Treasured Romantic Comedy Clich├ęs and Chestnuts, Revised Second Edition.
  7. No film that requires a woman to jump in water and dogpaddle toward a man has the "sisterhood's" best interests at heart.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 11 out of 33
  1. NW
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    I laughed the entire time. Great chemistry and John Cusack is his usual rumpled, hilarious self.
  2. josephm.
    Oct 4, 2005
    8
    It was GREAT i could see it AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN.
  3. BarbaraM.
    Jan 1, 2006
    8
    It was great. Totally enjoyable. Laughed all the way through it. Maybe it is a chic flic but even my husband loved it.
  4. TonyB.
    Dec 22, 2005
    5
    Totally unnecessary and inconsequential, Must Love Dogs is pleasant enough to be palatable. The cast deserves much better material.
  5. Aug 29, 2014
    5
    Not simply for dog-lovers, Must Love Dogs is a respectable romantic-comedy with two loveable actors: John Cusack and Diane Lane. Not theNot simply for dog-lovers, Must Love Dogs is a respectable romantic-comedy with two loveable actors: John Cusack and Diane Lane. Not the finest written film, but that's alright. Expand
  6. MelodyT.
    Jul 1, 2006
    4
    I would compare this movie to the one with Hugh Grant and Sandra Bullock.... No chemistry. The roles they each played wasnt really suited for I would compare this movie to the one with Hugh Grant and Sandra Bullock.... No chemistry. The roles they each played wasnt really suited for them. But i liked the comedy tidbits. Collapse
  7. BradG.
    Sep 3, 2005
    0
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen.

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.