Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jan 9, 2013
    70
    Entertaining, though conventionally told war story.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jan 10, 2013
    60
    The script relies on too many unlikely twists, but Bleibtreu manages to sell them all.
  3. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jan 9, 2013
    50
    The result is a movie largely devoid of attitude or suspense. My Best Enemy is brisk and eventful, but after a while, it begins to seem like Murnberger is rushing through this material, afraid to dwell too long on any one situation, lest it tip too far into exploitation.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jan 4, 2013
    50
    This twist-heavy World War II drama would play as an absurdist comedy if the director wasn't so dead set on excluding just about any trace of humor from his self-serious project.
  5. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    Trying to be amusing and respectfully serious at the same time, Austrian director Wolfgang Murnberger's film remains in limbo, saddled with an over-worked story, characters and setting.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jan 10, 2013
    40
    An awkward blend of anti-Semitic atrocities and identity-swapping absurdity, the World War II drama My Best Enemy struggles to find a convincing tone.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    My Best Enemy bleeds suspense like a pin-pricked tire. It wants to be clever, but survivor tales bring with them too much muck.
  8. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jan 8, 2013
    40
    Getting even is wearying in My Best Enemy, a banal World War II thriller dependent on contrived role reversals.
  9. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jan 10, 2013
    38
    The director has cited "Inglourious Basterds" as paving the way for his own movie; but for all his boldness, Quentin Tarantino avoided the camps altogether. My Best Enemy shows the camps only briefly, but once it does, it becomes both too much, and not enough. Once you see even a long shot of such a place, the impulse to find humor in much of anything is gone.

There are no user reviews yet.