Lionsgate | Release Date: September 19, 2008
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
9
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JayH.Jan 4, 2009
Fair romantic comedy, rather predictable. No one in the cast stands out, Dane Cook as a hunky irresistible guy is certainly not the best casting choice. Good score. Kate Hudson can do better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MaryOct 3, 2008
I walked in the movies expecting this movie to be something worth talking about later but walked out disgusted. It had a weak plot, it was crude and predictable. It was a waste of time, money, and gas.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FredH.Oct 4, 2008
Possibly the worst movie I have seen. How can an audience be expected to like any of these charmless people. There is one laugh in this so-called romantic comedy. Very poor, the writers simply have NO IDEA about building audience sympathy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TheQuietGamerSep 6, 2012
Another comedy that uses sex jokes, profanity, and vulgarity to get laughs. Luckily for me I love these kinds of comedies and therefore laughed so much while watching this movie. It falls flat in a few key areas, and is really only for theAnother comedy that uses sex jokes, profanity, and vulgarity to get laughs. Luckily for me I love these kinds of comedies and therefore laughed so much while watching this movie. It falls flat in a few key areas, and is really only for the people who don't mind the vulgar humor, but I enjoyed it and fans of these kinds of comedies will as well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TastyJamProjectMar 27, 2012
Dane Cook at one time was a funny man. His album "Harmful If Swallowed" still makes me laugh to this day, but he's been riding off the success of his early exploits for years. It's too bad he became the "nickelback of comedy" because "My BestDane Cook at one time was a funny man. His album "Harmful If Swallowed" still makes me laugh to this day, but he's been riding off the success of his early exploits for years. It's too bad he became the "nickelback of comedy" because "My Best Friend's Girl" was one of the best comedies I've seen it years. It goes for the jugular, it's really funny and it's structure is totally original. I hate the poor press surrounding this film. If hollywood politics had nothing to do with this film, it would be seen as this generations "Annie Hall" with a cynical vibe. This is an excellent, original comedy that sacrifices everything for the punchline. It's more than worth your time.

I need to point out an issue. Rael, if you're going to negatively review a film, it's "absolute DRIVEL" not "DRIBBLE" there's a very big difference between those two words.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TylerDurden900Jul 11, 2014
This movie is no classic but it succeeds in making you chuckle. The actors give amusing performances and
that is what you expect from a raunchy romantic-comedy. The 10 steps segment featured twice in the movie with Cook is very funny. The
This movie is no classic but it succeeds in making you chuckle. The actors give amusing performances and
that is what you expect from a raunchy romantic-comedy. The 10 steps segment featured twice in the movie with Cook is very funny. The broken radio part is also very funny because the radio isn't broken, but he tells
Hudson it is.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
kingshahidOct 2, 2011
I found this movie to be fairly memorable in terms of its theme and comedy. I enjoyed watching this movie it had some good laughs especially with the broken radio part with his 10 steps in making women hate him.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
PhilMSep 29, 2008
I think this movie's humor cannot be understood by everyone...but for those of use who got it...HILARIOUS..a laugh a minute super shock value marvel.......
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
PMSep 29, 2008
Don't think the critics quite got this one...Personally found it to be shock-value hilarious. Couldn't wait to see what would happen next... who needs a plot for this brutal type of comedy. Hello.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Oct 14, 2008
This movie was spectacular. Dane Cook was amazing, and sexy, as always. As I was sitting there in my seat, watching this amazing movie, I could barely contain my excitement *wink wink*. I have only one word for this movie- Excellent.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Sep 20, 2008
Much funnier than expected. Much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RaelSep 22, 2008
Absolute dribble.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AronJ.Dec 1, 2008
How can you not expect a cliche plot and dialogue for a movie called "My best friends girl." The title itself screams cliche. The acting is bad, as well as the directing, and dane cook is horrible, he's nothing more than for the women.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
kelyApr 12, 2014
I just hated it. One of my biggest problems with this story was Biggs faults didn't fell beliveable throught most of the story he is a insecure nice guy who wants the greatest girl he will ever have back. But in the story they thorw in someI just hated it. One of my biggest problems with this story was Biggs faults didn't fell beliveable throught most of the story he is a insecure nice guy who wants the greatest girl he will ever have back. But in the story they thorw in some sexual perversiosn to him that didn't feel natural as much as it felt like the writers said"Oh crap Biggs is the only likeable person of the group but we want them to root for Cooks and Hudson so he got to make Biggs a pervert." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
GurthMcGrizzleSep 17, 2008
Kate Hudson makes really great movies (especially with Matthew McConaughey)! Also, Dane Cook is really funny! His humor is so smart and cutting edge! He doesn't steal other people's material and pass it off as his own, and his Kate Hudson makes really great movies (especially with Matthew McConaughey)! Also, Dane Cook is really funny! His humor is so smart and cutting edge! He doesn't steal other people's material and pass it off as his own, and his jokes aren't just exaggerated stories! Also, Jason Biggs is a great actor who has appeared in many fine movies! The "American" series is a criminally underrated series! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkM.Oct 2, 2008
Painfully unfunny. It's not surprising this movie comes from Lionsgate. It was pure torture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkZ.Sep 19, 2008
Great, loved it....... Dane cook is wonderful, and Kate Hudson is terrific !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Sep 21, 2008
Harry was wrong, the Harry of Rob Reiner's "When Harry Met Sally", who informed Sally that a man and a woman can't be friends, because the sex part always gets in the way. While this might've been true back in 1989, romance Harry was wrong, the Harry of Rob Reiner's "When Harry Met Sally", who informed Sally that a man and a woman can't be friends, because the sex part always gets in the way. While this might've been true back in 1989, romance has undergone a transformation(if you're a believer in art being a reflection on modern life) since then, as conveyed in the pages of a thousand chick-lit novels, where contemporary women, unlike the Sally Albrights and Elaine Robinsons from last century, prefer their men be big and stupid. No nice guys. No f*****' vegans. Beefcake! Beefcake! Objectification, after all, works both ways. In "My Best Friend's Girl", when Alexis(Kate Hudson) meets Tank(Dane Cook), as a result of Dusty's machinations, the nice guy miscalculates what women want, because he sees them as being either hopeless romantics(like Sally), or submissive whores(like the women from his massive porn collection). So naturally, Alexis dumps him. So naturally, Dusty(Jason Biggs), being absolutely clueless about girls, hires his roommate to get her back, seemingly unaware that he has no charisma, no reason for Alexis to love him. As part of Tank's services rendered to make Dusty look like the more attractive alternative, Alexis is confronted by topless dancers at a nudie bar, once considered a hostile place for a nice girl(like the Katherine Ross character in Mike Nichols' "The Graduate"), no longer carries the cultural currency to offend, especially a late-blooming post-feminist such as Alexis. Chick-lit provides women(who might be hitched to a bland guy like Dusty here), with a little escapist fun by indulging in their fantasy of having a fling with the wrong man, a man like Tank, a sex machine, a womanizer. Alexis is supposed to fall for Dusty. We're supposed to root for Dusty, but we don't. The Geek(Anthony Michael Hall in "Sixteen Candles") probably wacked off to porn. Duckie(Jon Cryer in "Pretty in Pink") probably wacked off to porn, too. But we didn't see the porn. That's the problem with Dusty; we see the porn. He seems more pathetic, than sympathetic. Alexis falls for Mr. Wrong. "My Best Friend's Girl" posits the idea that Mr. Wrong is the new Mr. Right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarenLecknerSep 22, 2008
This movie sucked! Poor plot, crude ... almost walked out
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
J.GrafSep 24, 2008
This movie is profane and vulgar- it could have been funny, but every other word was F.. this or F...that. Everybody in the movie had the morals of dogs in heat! Low class amoral scummy people. I didn't like it at all!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamFeverSep 17, 2008
Very funny movie. A film you can actually bare to see Dane Cook in even if you don't like him and Kate Hudson is as charming as always.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanaC.Sep 19, 2008
Hilarious!!! Must see!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurieSmithSep 21, 2008
This movie was absolutely one of the funniest movies. It felt great to laugh that hard and be entertained by such a talented cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful