My Bloody Valentine

My Bloody Valentine Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ten years later, Tom Hanniger returns to Harmony on Valentine's Day, still haunted by the deaths he caused. Struggling to make amends with his past, he grapples with unresolved feelings for his ex-girlfriend, Sarah, who is now married to his best friend, Axel, the town sheriff. But tonight,Ten years later, Tom Hanniger returns to Harmony on Valentine's Day, still haunted by the deaths he caused. Struggling to make amends with his past, he grapples with unresolved feelings for his ex-girlfriend, Sarah, who is now married to his best friend, Axel, the town sheriff. But tonight, after years of peace, something from Harmony's dark past has returned. Wearing a miner's mask and armed with a pickaxe, an unstoppable killer is on the loose. And as his footsteps come ever closer, Tom, Sarah and Axel realize in terror that it just might be Harry Warden who's come back to claim them...(Lionsgate) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. 67
    MBV 3D is full-on, old-school, Fangoria-approved, gorehound heaven – a supersaturated arterial goregasm with zero socially redeeming values for anyone other than first-year med students.
  2. Reviewed by: Jenni Miller
    63
    This is a fun midnight movie. Horror fans, get your friends together and go see some gore and some naked chicks in three dimensions.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    60
    At heart an unabashedly retro work, reveling in the cliches and conventions of the slasher horror pics that proliferated in the early 1980s.
  4. What really leaps out at you about My Bloody Valentine 3-D is its lack of imagination.
  5. 58
    But save for a giddily gratuitous sequence involving full-frontal nudity, a little person, and a French bulldog, the film is strictly by-the-numbers slasher boilerplate. It won't endure past the weekend.
  6. 50
    Wooden performances by forgettable, generic actors -- again, just like in the original -- don't aid in making things any less leaden. Perhaps this is the best one can hope for from something like My Bloody Valentine 3-D, that it be just good enough to not be annoying. Or in this specific case, physically painful.
  7. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    30
    There's no excitement or terror in watching the 3-D execution of 2-D actors giving 1-D performances, just the steadily diminishing returns of the same eye gouge delivered ad infinitum.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Pag
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Great 3-D effect. Jensen Ackles plays a perfect little boy lost-psycho. Jamie King was a strong character. Kerr Smith playing an asshole I Great 3-D effect. Jensen Ackles plays a perfect little boy lost-psycho. Jamie King was a strong character. Kerr Smith playing an asshole I didn't know he could. TWO words Tom Atkins. Expand
  2. AmandaL
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Excellent fun! and Jensen Ackles is terrific.
  3. BillyB.
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    The plot is thin. But the actors play it straight, the gore and nudity is hilarious, and the 3-D effect was excellent. Highly recommend The plot is thin. But the actors play it straight, the gore and nudity is hilarious, and the 3-D effect was excellent. Highly recommend experience in cinema 3D, but 2-D I wouldn't bother. Expand
  4. JimO
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    Badass 3d slashers. loads of fun.
  5. HermanL.
    Jan 19, 2009
    7
    It's good to see an old fashion unpredictable movie just like the horror films from the early 80's. The 3D effects where way far It's good to see an old fashion unpredictable movie just like the horror films from the early 80's. The 3D effects where way far better than those from the past . The 3D glasses were even cooler. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    Exactly what you would expect from a slasher film. The focus here is on bloody kills rather than creating a scary experience. There might beExactly what you would expect from a slasher film. The focus here is on bloody kills rather than creating a scary experience. There might be some tension here just because you never know when the killer is about to show up or who he is about to kill, and the jump scares might even give you a slight jolt, but horror fanatics looking for any sort of terror are better off looking elsewhere. That being said "My Bloody Valentine" manages to be a serviceably good time by being good at what it does.

    The kills here are incredibly bloody and the plot actually is pretty good. I found myself incredibly curious to find out exactly who is behind the grizzly murders, and I was surprised to find out that a lot characters are more than just faceless caricatures whose sole purpose in the film is to die in some incredibly brutal way. The acting is a little off, there are some unintentionally goofy moments throughout, and characters make moronic decisions that no real person would make in their situation, but there's enough here to make for a mildly entertaining watch. This kind of movie will definitely satisfy the teenage date crowd.

    Overall I found the movie to be entertaining on an incredibly basic level. It may lack suspense or any sense of fear, but it's just nice to sit back and watch some not so brainless slaughter. Still at the end of the day I do want more from my horror movies, like for instance actual horror. It's entertaining, just don't expect this to be one you come back to for another watch.
    Expand
  7. john
    Jan 17, 2009
    0
    My bloody Valentine is the worst movie of the year. I was bored and it is a BAD FILM.

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.
  2. Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos

    Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos Image
    Published: February 4, 2013
    Get a full rundown of this week's new albums, stream new music from artists such as My Bloody Valentine, Jim James, Eels and Darkstar, catch up on the week's music news, and watch the latest music videos (from Depeche Mode, Yo La Tengo, Nick Cave, Animal Collective, and more).
  3. This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for February 4-10

    This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for February 4-10 Image
    Published: February 3, 2013
    Dead Space 3, a new Steven Soderbergh thriller, the return of Community, and the first My Bloody Valentine album in over two decades are just some of the notable releases this week.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  7. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.