Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 5, 2005
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 19 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
13
Mixed:
0
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JoeyJoJoS.Aug 18, 2005
Woo! Don't pay to see this stinker or rent it. Couldn't stand even 15 minutes. I had two choices, walk out or gouge out my eyes. I still have my eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieAug 6, 2005
Good on him. Touching and daring. Well worth a Friday night date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricP.Aug 3, 2005
Saw the movie at the AFI screening last night. There are some frustrating moments (think Katrina and the Waves), but all in all it's very entertaining. And you have to admire Brian's dogged determination to reach his goals. And - Saw the movie at the AFI screening last night. There are some frustrating moments (think Katrina and the Waves), but all in all it's very entertaining. And you have to admire Brian's dogged determination to reach his goals. And - for a film shot on a digital hand held, it looks suprisingly crisp on the big screen. Well worth checking out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidAug 4, 2005
A movie of disarming charm. It has done well at film festivals around the country. Our audience actively rooted for the film's main character. Great date movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArleneAug 6, 2005
Nonsensical pet rock type vehicle with little skill, mostly predictable and a PR coup for both Drew and the no talent producer and star wanabe. Gargage in - Garbage out. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnR.Nov 22, 2005
I had a look at the reveiws and some of these so called critics would not know a good moive if it fell off a tall build and took they face off how can a critic call some one a Loser when they have a movie out that rents at block busters for I had a look at the reveiws and some of these so called critics would not know a good moive if it fell off a tall build and took they face off how can a critic call some one a Loser when they have a movie out that rents at block busters for the world to see ,that cost less than a new cheap car. sure it not a Radio or Star Wars but would many millions did that cost.well at any cost he set out to do something and did it. more than i can say for some big mouth critic well i know one thing it was a good clean family moive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelLAug 12, 2005
Trite, banal, commonplace, corny, dull, hackneyed, hokey, stale, uninspired, unoriginal, vapid, appalling, lurid, horrid and terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Aug 15, 2005
It's not terribly surprising that filmmaker/star Brian Herzlinger spends the first ten minutes of his filmed chronicle of everything he did to try to secure said date with lifetime crush Drew Barrymore reassuring us all that he's It's not terribly surprising that filmmaker/star Brian Herzlinger spends the first ten minutes of his filmed chronicle of everything he did to try to secure said date with lifetime crush Drew Barrymore reassuring us all that he's not a stalker...but it IS significant. Since we live in a day and time when anyone who displays a bit more devotion and fanaticism to a show business figure than occasionally venturing across the street to see one of their films, or TiVOing their monthly TV appearances is likely to get the "S-word" label by SOMEONE, perhaps Herzlinger is trying just as hard to convince himself as he is his audience that everything he's doing is perfectly above board. And, for the most part, it is: with the notable (and somewhat desperate) exception of using some fake security passes that come into play late in the film, Herzlinger plays his game with fairness, honesty and integrity to his own self-imposed set of rules (no more than 30 days to accomplish his Mission: Impossible; no more than $1100 spent). Simply put, how much you like Brian's film will depend entirely on how much you like Brian; Entertainment Weekly's Owen Gleiberman, who clearly despised both, needs to lighten up. There may be a sequence or two too many of Brian simultaneously driving and grinning into the Circuit City-rented camera his buddies are pointing at him, and occasionally he's unable to tell the difference between charming and cutesy (the "Little Drew" and "Little Me" childhood photos called to mind Dorothy Parker's comment about Constant Reader fwowing up) but in general he's made an engaging film that really pulls you into his pursuit of a quest so improbable and shameless as to make Don Quixote blush. Above all, this is a surprisingly effective 'feel-good' movie; if you need reassurance that people are basically decent and well-intentioned, and don't feel like waiting until NBC's Yuletide showing of It's A Wonderful Life to determine this, here's a perfectly viable alternative. (It's truly remarkable and heartwarming just how many total strangers--in L.A., no less--help Brian free of charge, and even the friends and family members who try to talk Brian out of it do so from a position of obviously caring about him.) Without giving away a whole lot (which isn't easy to avoid doing, since the title accomplishes some of that and Brian is clearly a person who doesn't possess an ironic bone in his body), when we finally DO meet Drew Barrymore, she instantly makes it very easy to understand why Brian or anyone else would immediately fall in love with her. Good thing, too; this movie would've been far less of a crowd-pleaser (and in fact would've probably been one of the shortest short subjects of all time) if it'd been, say, "My Date With Barbra"! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnS.Aug 22, 2005
Not even good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveAug 22, 2005
I have seen this film 6 times and can't wait for my 7th. This is one of the most refreshing films to come along in a great while. I strongly recommend this film. Don't miss one of the most original films to come out of Hollywood I have seen this film 6 times and can't wait for my 7th. This is one of the most refreshing films to come along in a great while. I strongly recommend this film. Don't miss one of the most original films to come out of Hollywood today. You'll follow Brian on a journey that will make you laugh and cry at the same time. Don't miss this film. Steve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandyF.Aug 8, 2005
I loved this film, it was not only hilarious but so very touching and such a roller coaster. I didn't know from one minute to the next what would happen - Brian, you are my new hero and I want to follow my own dreams because you I loved this film, it was not only hilarious but so very touching and such a roller coaster. I didn't know from one minute to the next what would happen - Brian, you are my new hero and I want to follow my own dreams because you inspired me to try. Thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
retiredat56Aug 6, 2011
That has to be the dorkiest film I ever saw. I confess that I used the fast forward VERY liberally till I got to the actual date. The date was anticlimactic. Save your time. This movie was just plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews