Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The distinguished British man of letters, Ackerley hardly thought of himself as a dog lover when, well into middle age, he came to adopt Tulip – a beautiful, yet intolerable 18-month-old German shepherd. To his surprise, she turned out to be the love of his life, the “ideal friend” he had been searching for in vain for so many years. In vivid and sometimes startling detail, the film reveals Tulip’s sassy, often erratic behavior (and very canine tastes) and Ackerley’s fumbling but determined efforts to ensure an existence of perfect happiness for her. (New Yorker Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 15, 2011
    100
    It is told from and by an adult sensibility that understands loneliness, gratitude and the intense curiosity we feel for other lives, man and beast.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 15, 2011
    95
    An adaptation that wholly and faithfully captures the spirit and mood of the book it's based on, and an example of computer animation - the 2-D sort - that shows the human touch in every frame.
  3. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Jan 15, 2011
    90
    His gift-and the film's-is to transform the seemingly banal relationship between pet and owner into something singular, inimitable, sacred.
  4. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jan 15, 2011
    80
    My Dog Tulip is as disconcerting and unusual a piece of animation as the 1956 memoir that inspired it, and that is saying a lot.
  5. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Feb 5, 2011
    75
    A beautifully illustrated love letter to dogs and the people who own them.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jan 15, 2011
    75
    Many of the backgrounds look like watercolors that are either drying or dying.
  7. Reviewed by: Barbara Goslawski
    Jan 15, 2011
    40
    It's a simple story that gets the gentle nudge it needs to reveal its greater purpose. Probably too subtle for most tastes, the novel's reputation and its unique idea should draw people to cinemas.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    It was late at night. The only light was from the TV and the reflection of our eyes; mine and Izzy, my two-year old female German shepherd. I watched "My Dog Tulip" for the entire night, and after the credits rolled, I was emotionally stricken by the movie. I just cuddled up next to my dog, turned off the Tv, and went to bed. This is how a dog movie should be like, striking every emotional note right where a man and his dog begin an unforgettable bond together. This is not only the most accomplished man's best friend movie in our generation, this is one of the most accomplished animated movies in the history of film making. Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    It displays a story, which every dog lover should be able to relate too. It tells the story of how an old and lonely man's search for a true and idealised friend could be found in the ever present loyalty and love of a dog. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    This film gets my "U" (unratable) rating which I translate to a 5 here. It would make a good audio book with the wonderful narration by Mr Plummer; the prose would conjure up images as I listened. The animation is not meant to compete with the current CG technology, it supposed to be well, like a book, as you listen and turn the pages. It seems well-written, but more so then for the average reader (like me). About half-way through there was nothing to be seen, just a "nice" story. So I stopped it and maybe I'll listen if the audio book comes out. Collapse

Trailers