My Life in Ruins

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 8 out of 31

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Helen
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie which had me in hysterics. Richard Dreyfuss was by far the best. I'm Greek and was not at all insulted by this film.
  2. JohnD
    May 30, 2010
    0
    This was the worst movie i've ever seen. i feel bad for richard dreyfuss being a part of it.
  3. JayH.
    Oct 1, 2009
    3
    This movie really stinks. Nia Vardalos isn
  4. AlexiaK
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    I loved it Light and happy funny and entertaining ! no porno or bad language took the kids and was surprised they were enjoying more than me!
  5. LenS
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Great movie! Kind of predictable, but lighthearted. Loved the character interaction and scenery. I was very entertained throughout the whole movie, without any YAWN moments. If you just want to be entertained and have a good time..then just go see this movie, it's worth the money.
  6. PaulS
    Jun 12, 2009
    1
    Another movie that suingle women over 40 will love. As for everyone else, not so much so.
  7. RAM
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    How can one person say "no emotional attachment". This movie, altho a wonderful comedy, was also very sentimental. For total entertainment, see this movie. It's a must.
  8. StelP
    Jun 6, 2009
    2
    Keep in mind that I'm 100% virgin olive oil Greek, so it hurts me even more to say this...save your hard-earned drachmas/euros/dollars and go to a nice Greek restaurant instead of this movie. Don't be fooled...it's NOTHING like My Big Fat Greek Wedding. There's no emotional attachment with any of the characters, and even more disappointing, no insights into the beauty Keep in mind that I'm 100% virgin olive oil Greek, so it hurts me even more to say this...save your hard-earned drachmas/euros/dollars and go to a nice Greek restaurant instead of this movie. Don't be fooled...it's NOTHING like My Big Fat Greek Wedding. There's no emotional attachment with any of the characters, and even more disappointing, no insights into the beauty and grandeur of Greece. Very disappointing. Expand
  9. MichaelC
    Jun 25, 2010
    1
    Quite frankly the worst movie I've seen in a long, time... like watching a bad 70s movie.
  10. KristiB.
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    No, it's not the best movie out there. Yes, it's terribly cliche. But I absolutely loved it. It's one of those romantic comedy, feel good, everybody has a happy ending, kind of movie.
  11. bjc
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    This is a must see. If you've ever been to Europe as part of tour you will relate to much of it. If you haven't then you still will find it so humorous. We laughed, we felt rather sad for the widower, we gushed in the romantic scense. This film evokes many different emotions. But the most important - it's just pure enjoyment.
  12. Angel
    Jun 21, 2009
    1
    Just plain bad. Don't bother.
  13. NellH.
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    Just hang loose, relax, and trot along with the guide and enjoy the fun. The bunch of obnoxious international tourists may not be exactly the ambassadors for their countries, or they may not be one's cuppa tea, but believe me, these sorts do exist.
  14. MonicaH.
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    I laughed a lot and I liked the Greek actor...he was the bomb!
  15. BeckW.
    Nov 1, 2009
    4
    Bad acting. Lame plot. Brutally superficial dialogue. Yawn.
  16. ChristinaS.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Wonderful movie. Loved the back drop of Greece. I enjoyed it so much I watched it twice. Wanted a little bit more for the ending though.
  17. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    This is one of Richard Dreyfuss' and Nia Vardalos' best movies. It's a great movie for those of you who love Greek food or of all the places you've been in the world,you've never made it to Greece.
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Ruins is sometimes as sunny as its locations but as familiar and predictable as a Greek diner.
  2. 40
    Feels like warmed-over souvlaki.
  3. 30
    A strangely self-loathing affair that paints Vardalos's tour group as a uniformly ill-mannered, culturally illiterate bunch, while rendering Greece itself as a badly plumbed third-world hellhole run by lazy, Zorba-dancing louts.