Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Via a magic mirror, Twilight Sparkle travels into an alternate universe in order to recover a crown that was stolen from the Crystal Empire. Upon her arrival she learns that she has transformed into a teenage girl.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Gwen Ihnat
    Jul 16, 2013
    67
    My Little Pony: Equestria Girls continues the appeal of Friendship Is Magic, as the heartening lessons of Ponyville—on friendship, leadership, morality, etc.—transcend its equine-dominated world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Last Winter the first images of Equestria Girls were revealed. I was not pleased at first, but as the spring came I was more hyped by seeing the trailers. Alicorn Twilight ends up in a human World after chasing the unicorn villain Sunset Shimmer. Twilight and her friends are humans in this version. Now it's up to Twilight to win her crown back. There are many so many highlights. You don't have to be a hardcore Brony like me to watch this movie. Here is something for everyone like light pop songs, focus on a high school bully that turns into a succubus, a soccer match and lots of shout outs. Derpy shows up at the end. It's no 12 times Oscar nom winner, but a lighthearted fantasy. If only Lyra had a bigger role. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to say, I expected this movie to be complete and utter bilge, but it wasn't. Even though all the marketing and trailers (bar one) portrayed it as a mindless high school film, it was like an extended episode of the show (except, obviously with humans). I especially like "It's time for us to come together" but all the songs were very good as well, so kudos to Daniel Ingram. And Megan McCarthy's writing was very good as well. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    I kept hearing lots of good inputs but also bad inputs on this movie. I figured, I'm already a brony, might as well try this out. I must say,I kept hearing lots of good inputs but also bad inputs on this movie. I figured, I'm already a brony, might as well try this out. I must say, it was better than I originally thought, but it's still not perfect. While the movie overall was good, it lacked length a bit more story development. But let's face it, it's a My Little Pony movie. It was intended for kids.... mostly... So I'll go ahead and give this movie a 9/10. It was simple, but overall fairly entertaining. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    Not bad. I expected a poor and boring movie for little girls but this is a overall not bad movie. Etertaining if you wanna watch a cartoonNot bad. I expected a poor and boring movie for little girls but this is a overall not bad movie. Etertaining if you wanna watch a cartoon movie and you liked My Little Pony. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    7
    Well, this movie was...interesting. At first I was extremely sceptical. I mean: Ponies turn into real humans? That is weird. But after I'veWell, this movie was...interesting. At first I was extremely sceptical. I mean: Ponies turn into real humans? That is weird. But after I've seen it, I have to say: It's not that bad. I'm going to split my rating in some parts.

    PLOT
    Yes, the plot...not really amazing: Sunset Shimmer steals Element of Magic, flees into "real World", Twilight follows her, meets her friends' human versions....rest is spoilers It's okay, but not really good.

    Animation/Style
    A negative point. Animation is good as always BUT: Humans are not supposed to have purple/pink/orange/etc. skin! This is just weird! I understand that they wanted to show the characters as humans but not like that...

    Songs
    The songs are okay. I will list them in order:
    Title Song Remix: Ewwww...worst thing I've ever heard! This is so bad!
    This Strange World: It's okay...not really good, but not bad
    Time to come together: best one(in my opinion)...still not that good
    This is our big night: Way to girly...MlP:FiM never did that before so it was kind of weird
    A Friend for life: it is kind of bad

    Characters
    The human version of the characters are exactly like the normal versions so that's cool.

    Humor
    It actually is funny. It does some jokes that were done in the first season again and brings back memories. But it also manages to make a lot of new ones. And, sam thing as in the show: Almost everytime Pinkie Pie talks, it's funny as hell!

    Conclusion
    A movie that is quite okay but it cannot keep up with the high-quality of the TV-Show. It's main problem is(for me) that it is, at certain parts, too girly. Lauren Faust(creator of the TV-Show) stated that she didn't want to create a stereotypical girl show but something everyone can watch. Equestria Girls picks up some of the girl-movie stereotypes(Lauren Faust was not involved in the movie)
    I normally would give it a 6 but because it's My Little Pony I'll raise my rating by ONE WHOLE POINT! WOW! THAT'S SO MUCH!
    Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly I don't know what to think of this movie, in a sense I did find it entertaining in a way but...why? I love the show as it is, with it's educational lessons, good animation, great writing, flaws, and all. I appreciate what the show has given to me and to other people (you know who I'm talking about). Now I'm not really the smartest person in the world...Canada, but I really wonder why the writers went down this road and who asked for them to take it? In a sense I really felt they've missed a lot of good opportunities with this idea, I felt they could of pushed the whole Twilight coming to our world to find some crown plot thing even better instead of the high school crap that EVERY kids show would taking place in, it's really unnecessary for for kids too... in fact what did the kids learn from this? It doesn't teach kids about high school, it focused on Twilight succeeding in her mission, & that excuse of a climax is really whimsically unfitting and cliched and just made me face-palmed myself in grief. To make things worst for this movie is that Lauren Faust (the shows creator) hated watching it, why? Because it's everything the show is not and she felt offended by this decision. But there are things in the movie that can help you enjoy the movie better then it is. Like that one song "Helping Twilight Win The Crown"...oops. So yeah the movie to me is a hit and miss. Lost opportunities but an enjoyable movie for both fans and children. To me this is rated 3.5 Elements of Harmony/6. But for this site I'll rate it a 5.. maybe a 6. XD Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    1
    Equestria Girls has came from a show called my little pony and this little show has made a massive fandom with creative minds from music, artEquestria Girls has came from a show called my little pony and this little show has made a massive fandom with creative minds from music, art and animations, even i got drawn into the show because of its creative ideas, i think that's why so many boys and girls like the show because of the creativity in its core, anyway on to this movie the reason i rated it s low is because they have lost all of there creativity and done what all girl shows do these days that is going to school (and yes i know its a girls show but they have taken a lot of steps back in to the creative corner) what i don't get there adults in there pony life's they have houses of there own and they also work so why have they suddenly became teens also though out the film i was always wondering why doesn't she just steal the crown back she knows this Celestia isn't her princess and that its for the best if it was stolen back because sunset shimmer has done it already this could of made the film much more interesting seeing her plotting and making shore no one finds out what shes doing then escape but there's much more that could be added and its not like shes living miles away shes in the school library she could of i don't know sneaked around a little they could of brought comedy into it like they did in the show when she sneaks around in the castle, and the main thing im annoyed about is that they made shorter episodes that was more exciting to watch than this whole film was my example is the discord episode there was so much going on in this episode that was great to watch you just wanted to know whats next all the time the film lacks this and so much more from the show if they make another film people keep humans out of it because the writing then goes down a really steep hill Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers