Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: February 12, 2010
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 195 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
168
Mixed:
8
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MrneoApr 1, 2011
Great movie, very thoughtful and so very true in regards to how muslims are regarded by most in America. I gave it 10 because of the message and the delivery, very nicely produced and realistic.
If not for that the rating would have been
Great movie, very thoughtful and so very true in regards to how muslims are regarded by most in America. I gave it 10 because of the message and the delivery, very nicely produced and realistic.
If not for that the rating would have been lower because of the whole georgia hurricane rescue.
to paraphrase an earlier post, it reminded me too much of Forrest Gump after awhile.
Despite its shortcomings it was a wonderful story with believable actors/actresses and compelling subject.
This should be required viewing for all of the so-called 'tolerant', no matter what faith they follow.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
AasimSJun 9, 2010
Awesome movie, albeit a little Forest-Gumpy, it is a must-see!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobFeb 12, 2010
Remarkable acting, production values.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AbhilashS.Feb 14, 2010
A simple film with strong message.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DipanjanD.Feb 14, 2010
A movie of this troubled time. A movie with a (or many?) strong messages. A post 9/11 Forrest Gump. one of the best performances by shahrukh khan. Appropriate support form kajol. Superb cinematography. But the script could be better. It will A movie of this troubled time. A movie with a (or many?) strong messages. A post 9/11 Forrest Gump. one of the best performances by shahrukh khan. Appropriate support form kajol. Superb cinematography. But the script could be better. It will make you laugh when SRK comes with a copy of "intercourse for dumbos" or the way he proposes. You cant hold back your tears in a number of scenes specially when their son dies or when Rijwan is hold in the cell. You can definitely call it 'over dramatized'. specially that scene when he saves a whole village from hurricane. But it's the larger than life looks thats the most special asset of this movie. at the end of the day it's the love and inspiration that you carry back home and that should be strong enough to rate it maximum. P.S. I went to watch the movie with a close friend of mine who is definitely not a fan of SRK (rather she dislikes him for one expression acting school.) She had some prejudices about Islam and Muslims like a lot of other Hindus. Previously I've tried a lot to make her understand but she appeared to be quite rigid on her views. But after the movie ends she tells me in teary eyes, "now i know what u tried to tell me. and I don't hate any religion anymore." Thats the power of love it shows. And no compliment is enough for that piece of art, that inspires our real life to this level. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MudabbirA.Feb 14, 2010
One of the Best Movies of all time! It has the super magnatic power to pull you inside the story & the character of SRK. DonT Miss! or U will regret! 1million stars to MNIK!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AbdullahA.Feb 14, 2010
Awesome movie. First Indian movie that is the global appeal to non-indians. Kudos to SRK and Karan Johar.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaA.Feb 14, 2010
MNIK was clearly meant to be a Bollywood movie, so I don
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PrahaladhanK.Feb 14, 2010
Fantastic story, fantastic message, awesome direction, mindblowing performance by SRK.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShoaibSFeb 14, 2010
Amazing film on a very touchy subject. Full marks to SRK!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NimmyFeb 14, 2010
There's so much to learn about humanity and life in this movie that it really inspired me to become a better person in my life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KshitijV.Feb 18, 2010
once in a while a movie of this capacity comes along.Great music,superb direction and performance of the decade from SRk. MNIK gets tow big thumbs up for being a different and yet entertaining movie, overlook the tiny flaws and its a masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NikeetaS.Feb 14, 2010
Excellent Story by Karan Johar, Acting by Shahrukh Khan and Kajol Devgan. What more can you ask for? Not once do you feel that Shahrukh is a normal human being, and it most definitely was a challenging role to play by Shahrukh. This movie Excellent Story by Karan Johar, Acting by Shahrukh Khan and Kajol Devgan. What more can you ask for? Not once do you feel that Shahrukh is a normal human being, and it most definitely was a challenging role to play by Shahrukh. This movie will be a classic on so many levels. Thank you for making this movie Karan. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SreedharVFeb 15, 2010
Nice one! I watched the movie and liked the story! I know who are Muslim friends, faced the same and the interrogation in the airport, almost everyone from third world country like India are facing. (that includes me!) Atleast in the movie, Nice one! I watched the movie and liked the story! I know who are Muslim friends, faced the same and the interrogation in the airport, almost everyone from third world country like India are facing. (that includes me!) Atleast in the movie, half stripped (as I remember), for me completely - no clothes. There are many situations you can feel to reality, those who were in 9/11 time in USA. After 9/11, for the next few weeks, In particular, if you go to convenient stores, they will ask where are you, which religion ... By the way, I am NOT MUSLIM. I feel the pressure of the fellow Indians. Good luck! SRK, Kajol, Karan Johar, Fox and the whole team. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PraddyJrJun 17, 2010
Amazing movie....one of the indian movies really having a global appeal..hats off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mandyMar 10, 2011
"Most controversial subject handled in best delicate manner & deserve an applause".Simply Superb Movie.. SRK at the best of acting!Simply Superb Movie.. SRK at the best of acting!One of the best movies I have seen which really touched my heart
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
SailVFeb 21, 2010
Im sure some of my peer who have reviewed this movie with such high ratings are joking. As a long time bollywood movie fan AND a shah rukh admirer, i have to be honest in my evaluation and tell the truth, this movie is extremely poor. There Im sure some of my peer who have reviewed this movie with such high ratings are joking. As a long time bollywood movie fan AND a shah rukh admirer, i have to be honest in my evaluation and tell the truth, this movie is extremely poor. There are some half decent aspects to it, namely the cinematography, but all in all the film disappoints from the even the very first few minutes, with SRK's unrealistic portrayal of Aspergers syndrome, and then to the unlikely romance between him and Kajols character. The middle improves to some extent, but is let down by the ridiculous and extremely cheesy 'forrest-gump' like exploits in the latter half, where he comes to rescue an african-american family from some floods closely followed by hordes of other half-submerged well wishers, and then finally meeting with Obama. With high expectations i went to see this film, especially after various interview of the lead people of the movie, including a light-hearted one of SRK on the Jonathan Ross show on the BBC, but all of my friends felt the same disappointment i felt as we left and reviewed what in retrospect was a rather wasted few hours. Other than a consisting of a few light hearted and funny moments, this is one film i will not be recommending to people. Unfortunately. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
TejoPaniniFeb 14, 2010
This movie is absolute fake. Full of hero khan glorification. Director lost plot in btw and started glorifying the protagonist.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
VikrantV.Feb 18, 2010
By no means it deserves any comment except that it is a bad film which presumably comes from one of the finest directors of India Mr Johar (actually he is not)...the movie is shameful exploitation of stereotypes and a juvenile understanding By no means it deserves any comment except that it is a bad film which presumably comes from one of the finest directors of India Mr Johar (actually he is not)...the movie is shameful exploitation of stereotypes and a juvenile understanding of what America is all about. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
SamranH.Feb 24, 2010
besides being emotional with how things run in the real world I think the movie did not work well for me, besides the great acting by the bollywood duo ! The movie is overrated for its cast n director, I thought it had a very slow paced besides being emotional with how things run in the real world I think the movie did not work well for me, besides the great acting by the bollywood duo ! The movie is overrated for its cast n director, I thought it had a very slow paced story with a few irrational happenings, for instance the president of america returning back in the last scene just to meet a person to here him out.. now that is not real and kajol sitting at home n crying most of the second half while seeing what her husband is set to do, that i thought was ridiculous. To sum it up I though the ovie was overrated and very irrational at some point. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
5
AmriT240892Jul 31, 2011
OK movie good acting and direction. SRK at the best of acting! m sure some of my peer who have reviewed this movie with such high ratings are joking. As a long time bollywood movie fan AND a shah rukh admirer, i have to be honest in myOK movie good acting and direction. SRK at the best of acting! m sure some of my peer who have reviewed this movie with such high ratings are joking. As a long time bollywood movie fan AND a shah rukh admirer, i have to be honest in my evaluation and tell the truth, this movie is extremely poor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AdnanA.Feb 12, 2010
Indubitably one of the most meaningful and moving films to be rolled out from the Bollywood mills in recent times. MY NAME IS KHAN is a fascinating love story, has an angle of religion and a world-shaking incident as a backdrop. It not only Indubitably one of the most meaningful and moving films to be rolled out from the Bollywood mills in recent times. MY NAME IS KHAN is a fascinating love story, has an angle of religion and a world-shaking incident as a backdrop. It not only entertains, but also mesmerizes, enthralls and captivates the viewer in those 2.40 hours. At the same time, a film like MY NAME IS KHAN is sure to have a far-reaching influence due to its noble theme. I strongly advocate, don't miss this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MohammedaakiadnanFeb 14, 2010
"Most controversial subject handled in best delicate manner & deserve an applause".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamD.Feb 14, 2010
Simply Superb Movie.. SRK at the best of acting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YaserK.Feb 15, 2010
One of the best movies I have seen which really touched my heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryMMar 2, 2010
Moved me beyond anything recently! Entertainment! Inspiration! Messages are important and compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NithinM.Feb 14, 2010
This movie is just too special . Any critic who has said bad about this movie don't have a heart and don't understand humanity. This movie teaches how to unite without looking at the religion, caste, colour, or anything at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PuneetG.Feb 14, 2010
On the whole, MY NAME IS KHAN is a fascinating love story, has an angle of religion and a world-shaking incident as a backdrop. It not only entertains, but also mesmerises, enthrals and captivates the viewer in those 2.40 hours. At the same On the whole, MY NAME IS KHAN is a fascinating love story, has an angle of religion and a world-shaking incident as a backdrop. It not only entertains, but also mesmerises, enthrals and captivates the viewer in those 2.40 hours. At the same time, a film like MY NAME IS KHAN is sure to have a far-reaching influence due to its noble theme. I strongly advocate, don't miss this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachitP.Feb 15, 2010
Brilliant film. Bollywood superstars impress.Oscar worthy performance by both SRK and Kajol.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PrahaladhanSJun 11, 2010
This movie was really touching and ShahRukh Khan's acting was just too good...and SRK-Kajol chemistry was as always rocking....and a few scenes were the cutest ever in bollywood...10 on 10...go catch it if you havent...congrats to This movie was really touching and ShahRukh Khan's acting was just too good...and SRK-Kajol chemistry was as always rocking....and a few scenes were the cutest ever in bollywood...10 on 10...go catch it if you havent...congrats to KJo,SRK,Kajol and team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HusainMFeb 14, 2010
An absolutely amazing movie! Brilliantly directed with striking performances from the cast, especially Shah Rukh Khan. He clearly steals the show with a breathtaking performance, one of, if not his best, acting performance yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HathimG.Feb 14, 2010
Its a good movie with a good message, but defintiely not a masterpiece. The second half brings down the film from its apex.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PranjalyaA.Feb 14, 2010
The best movie ever made in bollywood on a subject like this. shahrukh delivers his over the top performance and kajol is simply the best. hats off to karan on working and really making a film which bollywood will adore for long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ImranH.Feb 15, 2010
A good story that is relevant to America's geopolitical situation. Was superbly acted by Khan and Kajol and the main leads as well the supporting cast. I have read some critics saying the dialouge was cheesy or too melodramatic but that A good story that is relevant to America's geopolitical situation. Was superbly acted by Khan and Kajol and the main leads as well the supporting cast. I have read some critics saying the dialouge was cheesy or too melodramatic but that is how Hindi is often spoken. I do not believe some of the critics are taking the differences of language into account. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnindoB.Feb 15, 2010
The best movie of bollywood so far. much better than 3 idiots. is based on a very strong theme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
birinderb.Feb 25, 2010
A good movie. maybe the last part could have been dealt better, but sends a strong message . acting bu shah rukh - brilliant!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiasT.Feb 13, 2010
Lets face it guys that we Americans are raciest. We too as a society is not perfect. If a film like Slumdog can show the dirtiest sites of India then why not a bolly movie like MNIK can show the bloody aspects of Americans. I rate this movie Lets face it guys that we Americans are raciest. We too as a society is not perfect. If a film like Slumdog can show the dirtiest sites of India then why not a bolly movie like MNIK can show the bloody aspects of Americans. I rate this movie 10 out of 10. Even though this movie is very unAmerican but lets remember that its an Indian movie and we have a huge cultural difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
It is time to make a movie to balance the general point of view. Thiz movie tried to answer that someone did not measure by his religion, but more about his good deeds. The story applied some Forrest Gump elements into it. It seems workedIt is time to make a movie to balance the general point of view. Thiz movie tried to answer that someone did not measure by his religion, but more about his good deeds. The story applied some Forrest Gump elements into it. It seems worked well. The film starred by India superstars, Shahrukh Khan along with Kajol and directed by their friend, Karan Johar. Despite of Johar is a known-well Director in India, but his works were very rare. There are only four movies include his first pop-phenomenal KUCH KUCH HOTA HAI (1998). All of Johar movies were appearing Khan and Kajol. The following were KABHI KUSHI KABHIE GAM in 2001 and KABHI ALVIDA NAA KEHNA in 2006 (although Kajol only appeared on small role-uncredited). On thiz movie, Khan performance tried to reach Dustin Hoffman character in RAIN MAN (1988). But like all Bollywood movies, I think some moments were over-acted. Khan who suffered Asperger syndrome, made him difficult to interact with others. However, he gifted by special abilities (In some ways, he was smart). Entire film is about his life journey, meet his love of the lifetime and what happens after 9-11 incident. The story had many layers on what happened next, the conflicts were good. But the ending was too simple and easily solved. The cinematography was awesome. If we want to be honest, thiz movie delivers some clear explicit messages. It made thiz movie a little bit side-weighed. The title and character itself which pointed to Khan is very acceptable. The movie anticipated to be neutral by put the main Cast real name into it.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mehedi1187rokzJan 9, 2011
one of best movies of 2010. best SRK movie . a very heart touching subject & splendid performances from the artists specially from SRK. rare bolly movie with a global appeal. everyone should watch MNIK .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mohammed12Jan 6, 2012
Simply stunning, never have I been so emotionally touched when watching a movie. Masterful performance from SRK. Not only does this film tell a story of love, it shows the darkest corners of the usa and tells such a gripping and in many waysSimply stunning, never have I been so emotionally touched when watching a movie. Masterful performance from SRK. Not only does this film tell a story of love, it shows the darkest corners of the usa and tells such a gripping and in many ways true story, this is an absolute must see!
hats of to the director ,Karan Johar and to Kajol,
God bless.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mskhan01Jan 18, 2012
SRK in it.surely it will be a MASTERPIECE.BRILLIANT ACTING,Screenplay is engaging,Songs are Melodious,Listen to Noor-e- khuda U'll know.Oscar worthy Movie...By not giving the oscar to this Indian Govt(who sends one movie as the countriesSRK in it.surely it will be a MASTERPIECE.BRILLIANT ACTING,Screenplay is engaging,Songs are Melodious,Listen to Noor-e- khuda U'll know.Oscar worthy Movie...By not giving the oscar to this Indian Govt(who sends one movie as the countries representation to the big stage) ANd Oscar's are the one who has Lost...its there loss.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Annoymous1Jan 10, 2013
A beautiful and touching movie and Kajol has produced a heartwarming movie. Rizvan and Mandira are great at acting and the trip was nice. The Americans against Muslims were a bit racist and potentially made it a little lower. The AspergersA beautiful and touching movie and Kajol has produced a heartwarming movie. Rizvan and Mandira are great at acting and the trip was nice. The Americans against Muslims were a bit racist and potentially made it a little lower. The Aspergers Syndrome for Rizvan was a debt but still a energetic and beautiful movie. I give it 88%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LiebstromMay 13, 2014
Funny movie with a cute love story, but over time gets more and more questionable on the film's realism. The racism portrayed in the film seems exaggerated, but I cannot speak for it as I don't remember any racism towards muslims after 9/11.Funny movie with a cute love story, but over time gets more and more questionable on the film's realism. The racism portrayed in the film seems exaggerated, but I cannot speak for it as I don't remember any racism towards muslims after 9/11. The lead actor and the female lead have great chemistry, and Khan's very charismatic with his Asperger's Syndrome, while still being brilliant. Worth a watch, thought provoking, at times unrealistic and feel good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoOct 5, 2016
"My Name is Khan" was a good, touching and funny story, it tells a story of a man with Asperger syndrome, who wants to meet the President, the interesting thing is that the cultures of Hollywood, Bollywood, have mixed , and was well aged in a"My Name is Khan" was a good, touching and funny story, it tells a story of a man with Asperger syndrome, who wants to meet the President, the interesting thing is that the cultures of Hollywood, Bollywood, have mixed , and was well aged in a spectacular story, the cast was fascinating, and the performance of each well, the story was very good, and the message it conveys is inspiring you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews