Focus Features | Release Date: June 17, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 141 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
10
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Two girls from different backgrounds meet one Summer, spend time together, fall in love, Summer ends.
Decent story & well acted out by the two lead actresses &, of course, Paddy Considine.
Nice setting of a small Northern town & a good
Two girls from different backgrounds meet one Summer, spend time together, fall in love, Summer ends.
Decent story & well acted out by the two lead actresses &, of course, Paddy Considine.
Nice setting of a small Northern town & a good soundtrack to back it up.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
sebastianl.Oct 9, 2005
Typically class obsessed UK story of 2 girls from different sides of the tracks. And yes they do end up having girl on girl sex, but you would have to be wound up pretty tight to call it pornographic. Nothing new here and not a special movie Typically class obsessed UK story of 2 girls from different sides of the tracks. And yes they do end up having girl on girl sex, but you would have to be wound up pretty tight to call it pornographic. Nothing new here and not a special movie but not as bad as some of these last reviews suggest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobJun 17, 2005
Great movie, excellent performances!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
claireJun 18, 2005
Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
alic.Jun 21, 2005
The only reason this film has been received so well in Britain is because of the utter lack of any other decent 'art films' being made here. Unfortunately American reviewers seem to have been taken in too by this: the acting is The only reason this film has been received so well in Britain is because of the utter lack of any other decent 'art films' being made here. Unfortunately American reviewers seem to have been taken in too by this: the acting is week, especially by the redhead - almost unbearable to watch due to her character's blandness and stupidity (I assume reflective of the actress herself), the story is similarly dull - with a pointless twist at the end, and the photography may provide a few interesting images but can't make up for the lack of the rest of the film. Furthermore, even I as an atheist was insulted by Paddy Considine's portrayal of his fundamentalist christian. Yet another dumb aspect of the film. Sadly, the only higlights in the film were the brief flashes of nudity. Depressing eh? Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffJJul 22, 2005
Beautiful but shallow. Although the cinematography and acting was excellent, the story could not be more predictable. I guessed the rest of the storyline within the first ten minutes. The only interesting aspect was the character of Phil, Beautiful but shallow. Although the cinematography and acting was excellent, the story could not be more predictable. I guessed the rest of the storyline within the first ten minutes. The only interesting aspect was the character of Phil, but he was never explored or developed. What a waste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LeatherT.Aug 30, 2005
I walked out of the movie wishing to strangle the people who made this film in much the same way strangulation was portrayed on screen. What a cop-out. Another film equating homosexuality with insanity. Extremely offensive!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shannonNov 30, 2005
If you think that this movie equates homosexuality with insanity, you've missed the whole point. And I think the anti-Christian theme was fresh and daring. Plus, the movie is quietly hilarious. Best movie I've seen in a long tiome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonJun 21, 2005
Very enjoyable. Great visuals, interesting new approach. Not your typical hollywood junk.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StephenS.Jun 26, 2005
In truth, there isn't much depth to this good-looking film, don't let anyone kid you otherwise. English small-town summer romance between a mischievous upper-class teenager and a local orphan teenager needs more to rescue it than In truth, there isn't much depth to this good-looking film, don't let anyone kid you otherwise. English small-town summer romance between a mischievous upper-class teenager and a local orphan teenager needs more to rescue it than the unremarkable fact that they're both girls. Emily Blunt and Nathalie Press work up a lovely sweat with one another, but the phases of their romance seem shallow and inconsequential. Paddy Considine never looks comfortable or convincing as the orphan's born-again Christian older brother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SuS.Jul 20, 2005
This did v. little for me. I expected a lot more, given the raves, but for me, it never delivered. Despite all the praise, I thought it was pretty to look at, but otherwise, basically a waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Aug 19, 2005
A gorgeous, delightful, dark and inviting film, I loved every moment of this. It's as smart as paint and everything that most teen films are not. Pawlikowski, who's already produced one classic with The Last Resort, is fast A gorgeous, delightful, dark and inviting film, I loved every moment of this. It's as smart as paint and everything that most teen films are not. Pawlikowski, who's already produced one classic with The Last Resort, is fast becoming an umisseable director. The performances from all involved are incredible and the sublety with which Pawlikowski explores the difficult subject of class conflict, sexuality and loneliness shows a rare talent for compassion and sensitivity. I can only assume those who have not taken this film to their hearts were disappointed by the lack of superheroes, brain dead dialogue and explosions. For the rest of us, this is film making of the highest quality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ApplejackL.Aug 20, 2005
This movie was fantastic. The ending had me walking out of the theater with a big smile on my face, and it was far from predictable. Every actor was very believable and moving. An unglorified, entertaining, and realistic case study of This movie was fantastic. The ending had me walking out of the theater with a big smile on my face, and it was far from predictable. Every actor was very believable and moving. An unglorified, entertaining, and realistic case study of characters. Highly recommended for all film lovers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KimnAug 3, 2005
Look at my shaky camera and talkative characters! I'm being deep!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelAug 30, 2005
An utter waste of time. glorifying lesbianism and having disdain for any christian belief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkSep 14, 2005
Apparently, there is a 3-step formula for making a profound film- shaky camera + a homosexual relationship + pseudo-intellectual ridicule of the Christian faith= this movie is a predictable, tedious waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
mitchellm.Sep 30, 2005
I agree with mark, this movie is vile, crappy, and pronographic, the only people who would like this is horny perverts who substitute sex for art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JordanS.Jun 20, 2006
If the teenage lesbian cliches aren't enough to send you screaming from the theater ("sensitive" redhead with background of abuse meets raven-haired "sophisticated" temptress; sparks fly!), the truly contemptible class and wealth If the teenage lesbian cliches aren't enough to send you screaming from the theater ("sensitive" redhead with background of abuse meets raven-haired "sophisticated" temptress; sparks fly!), the truly contemptible class and wealth cliches will make you want to take a hatchet to Pawlikowski's head (the rich girl is always the bored, cynical, lying predator and the poor girl is always the woeful, basically well-meaning naif). And I haven't even begun to complain about the chock-full-o'-religious-fundamentalism cliches. No, this isn't the worst film ever made. But it has to be amongst the most pretentiously dishonest films I've seen. It's also one of the most ham-fisted scripts I've come across. Natalie Press made an impression. Paddy Considine- bleh. I'm sick of him, too. Oh, and... had the camera shook one more time to suggest emotional distress, a tsunami would have hit England. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulS.Sep 23, 2006
The best film I've seen this year. It is stunningly beautiful. England's countryside draws you in. You won't be able to take your eyes off the principal actresses; they're brilliant. This is an art film that delivers...I The best film I've seen this year. It is stunningly beautiful. England's countryside draws you in. You won't be able to take your eyes off the principal actresses; they're brilliant. This is an art film that delivers...I hope Hollywood is paying attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
snewgoblinJul 31, 2007
Perfect acting, good story and anti-Christian theme make My Summer Of Love one of the best movies I've ever seen. The only weakness is that the last 20 minutes are too predictable. But it's still a fantastic movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomasS.Nov 2, 2005
Beautiful, haunting and evocative. The camera, the cinematography, the environment - everything is utterly captivating. You won't always sympathise with the girls, but apparently that isn't even the director's intention. Beautiful, haunting and evocative. The camera, the cinematography, the environment - everything is utterly captivating. You won't always sympathise with the girls, but apparently that isn't even the director's intention. It's a compelling and riveting story about love and disillusionment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarcK.Nov 21, 2005
I'll also agree with "Mark's" comments below. Forget the fact that the critics raved about this movie. It's not even average...it's awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Nov 2, 2005
Extremely well acted. Our sympathies lie with Mona, and even grow at the end, despite the revelation of her darker side. A very fine, emotionally genuine film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJul 25, 2005
I really don't understand the negative reactions to this film, I thought it was great. Shallow? Waste of time? I don't get it. And I didn't think the character of the redhead was dumb at all. I think her personality more I really don't understand the negative reactions to this film, I thought it was great. Shallow? Waste of time? I don't get it. And I didn't think the character of the redhead was dumb at all. I think her personality more reflected her environment and upbringing than anything else. I found this very refreshing compared to the other garbage being rolled out by Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkB.Aug 11, 2005
Ever see a movie in which one of the supporting characters is so multidimensional, fascinating and well written and played that he or she stops supporting the movie and pretty much steals the whole thing? A couple of classic examples might Ever see a movie in which one of the supporting characters is so multidimensional, fascinating and well written and played that he or she stops supporting the movie and pretty much steals the whole thing? A couple of classic examples might include Claude Rains' oddly sympathetic, cuckolded Nazi in Hitchcock's Notorious and Judy Holliday's starmaking turn as a mistreated wife who takes revenge in the Hepburn-Tracy marital farce Adam's Rib; a very recent one would be Edward Norton's deeply humane, mentally tormented and physically ravaged ruler in Ridley Scott's Kingdom of Heaven. My Summer of Love adds another entry to the list: Phil, a former bar owner and prison inmate (Paddy Considine, of In America and currently as Russell Crowe's less fortunate fellow Depression victim in Cinderella Man) who accepts Christianity in jail, and once released makes life very challenging for his teen sister Mona (Nathalie Press), who responds in numerous impulsive and sometimes foolish ways. Considine plays Phil with a tenderness and gentleness that belies the character's penchant for violent outbursts; one reason Phil is so absorbing to watch is that he throws himself into the Bible with the same intensity with which he once embraced drinking and brawling. He tries so hard to do everything right that he ends up doing everything wrong. (If you're going to tell someone that you're praying for their soul, Phil, you might possibly get a better response if you don't humiliate them by announcing it in front of a big crowd.) He's struggling to be spiritual, and goes to some rather questionable extremes to achieve that end, but we know that part of his fervency arises from his desperate fear that his old nature will re-emerge; the struggle is truly compelling. By contrast, the main storyline in Pavel Pavlikowski's otherwise rather tritely lyrical, picturesque coming of age film, in which Mona drifts into a peculiar friendship-and-something-more with a more sophisticated counterpart, Tamsin (Emily Blunt) leads to a not particularly surprising revelation. Granted that Mona is an adolescent and thus maybe some allowance should be grudgingly given for a few of her actions, I detested the cruelty and lack of even an attempt at understanding with which she treats her brother; while it's true that some of his more extreme decisions (turning his bar into a prayer center, for example) are obviously difficult for Mona to adjust to, I still believe that this movie would be better titled My Summer of Adolescent Shortsightedness and Selfishness. It's entirely possible that I'm overresponding a bit to how gripping Considine's character and performance were, but it's a real compliment to both that whenever Pavlikowsky turns his camera for an extended period of time on the two beautiful, nubile, usually scantily clad semi-lesbians, I found myself asking more than once, "Where's Phil? How's he doing? Is he OK?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful