Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the early summer of 1956, 23 year-old Colin Clark, just down from Oxford and determined to make his way in the film business, worked as a lowly assistant on the set of ‘The Prince and the Showgirl’. The film that famously united Sir Laurence Olivier and Marilyn Monroe, who was also on honeymoon with her new husband, the playwright Aurthur Miller. Nearly 40 years on, his diary account The Prince, the Showgirl and Me was published, but one week was missing and this was published some years later as My Week with Marilyn – this is the story of that week. When Arthur Miller leaves England, the coast is clear for Colin to introduce Marilyn to some of the pleasures of British life; an idyllic week in which he escorted a Monroe desperate to get away from her retinue of Hollywood hangers-on and the pressures of work. (The Weinstein Company) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 22, 2011
    100
    Michelle Williams doesn't just survive. Called upon to glow, she glows. Her performance doesn't solve all the riddles of that personality; none could, and it's for the best that Williams doesn't try.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 26, 2011
    83
    This is a slight movie, but it's Williams' all the way (possibly to an Oscar nod) while the rest of the cast supports her well.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Nov 30, 2011
    75
    The acting is superb, the settings are beautifully recreated, the dialogue crackles with occasional wit, but where's the juice? Although lovely to gaze upon, the whole thing feels a bit precious and porcelain, more teapot than sexpot.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Williams locates a central truth, the contradictory allure of this utterly impossible woman - mercurial, vain, foolish, but also intelligent in some very primal way and achingly vulnerable.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 23, 2011
    67
    Michelle Williams plays Monroe, and she's a wonder. Working opposite a suitably florid Kenneth Branagh as that high thespian Sir Larry.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Nov 22, 2011
    63
    The point of "My Week'' appears to be that Colin is the one person in Monroe's life who isn't using her, but if squeezing two books and a movie out of one brief encounter isn't exploitation, I don't know what is.
  7. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Oct 12, 2011
    25
    Only the star performances in My Week with Marilyn, cartoonish as they are, make seeing the film worth the effort.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Excellent. The editing is wonderful, it gets you into the story before the characters take over. Michelle Williams nails the performance, just when you start to see the actress you slip right back into seeing Marilyn. The layers she has to play is amazing, not like the superficial cartoon that Kate Blanchett did of Katherine Hepburn (Aaarruggh). I was caught up in the movie for the full time (also not something I can say for the poorly edited Hugo). If you want to be taken to another time and place and believe it, this is the one. You also get the added benefit of understanding how this characters interacted without the "vengence" factor when characters get angry at one another in films today. The foreshadowing is subtle but clear yet you don't have clue how people will react. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Michelle Williams as Marilyn Monroe is a wonder !
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Charming and delightful. Michelle Williams is a scene-stealer. The range of emotion she conveys as Marilyn is remarkable. All of the actors did a fine job, spare one. I can't for the life of me understand how and why Kenneth Branagh got nominated for an Academy Award. His portrayal of Laurence Olivier was abrasive to me. Like a pumice stone. It ruined the tone of the film slightly. But other than that, the movie was great. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    After you get over the fact that Michelle Williams isn't actually Marilyn Monroe (yes, it actually takes a minute or two due to how the original is burn into our psyche) and get used to her in the role you find a beautifully acted film.

    Though the film itself is quite mediocre (script and flow are a bit shallow and slow), it is saved by mesmerizing performances by Michelle Williams as a very believable and almost flawless Marilyn Monroe and Kenneth Branagh's fantastic Sir Laurence Olivier, thus turning into quite a nice watch.

    Not the best film I've seen, but definitely a hefty notch on Michelle Williams' belt taking on one of the most dangerous roles an actress could due to the impossibility of capturing Monroe's "je ne sais quoi". Williams could have easily fallen into Monroe imitation land yet she manages throughout the film to skip along that very thin line that lies between copycatting Marilyn's animated persona and a genuine real-life portrayal of the multi-layered starlet. Not an easy task to say the least and Williams comes out of it in flying colours.

    In short, a great film if you can admire great acting without the film itself actually going anywhere.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    While the movie isn't a masterpiece, it does offer the fabulous performance by Michelle Williams. She is truly Marilyn, and it shows on every level. Pros: Will make you fall in love with the story. Cons: Can be a bit too slow for some people. Diagnosis: Give it a shot! Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    My Week With Marylin was not an excelent movie. But Michelle Williams gives one of her best performance on screen as wonderful and poignant Monroe without imitating it. Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2012
    2
    My overall reaction to this film is disappointment. It is filled with a wonderful cast of actors in a period piece that has the look of a very good film.But in my view this film could not work without the actress playing Marilyn character working and Michelle Williams did not do it for me. I had been warned that her resemblance to Marylin was not very good so I was prepared for that, but she projected none of the aura and appeal of the real Marylin Monroe. She did project her voice and mannerisms at times but it was simply not enough. Without her strength to carry the film we are left with caricatures of the others notables portrayed and it becomes a self serving vehicle for Colin, the author, to let us in on his big moments with a sex bomb star he had fantasized with. The sequences are slow moving and boring, and the conflicts between the characters contrived and uninteresting. I am not sure any of the actors could have saved this turkey of a screenplay. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.
  2. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.