Mystery Men

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 3, 2015
    5
    Perhaps I've seen too many good superhero movies since seeing this for the first time, because on the second watch I just couldn't find this as funny as I recalled it to be. Nonetheless, the idea is good. Naturally the best shot is the Invisible Boy, who can only be invisible when no-one's looking - himself included. That tells pretty much about the movie. There are good parts, and othersPerhaps I've seen too many good superhero movies since seeing this for the first time, because on the second watch I just couldn't find this as funny as I recalled it to be. Nonetheless, the idea is good. Naturally the best shot is the Invisible Boy, who can only be invisible when no-one's looking - himself included. That tells pretty much about the movie. There are good parts, and others that are meant to be funny, but that just aren't. A good one-time watch, but sadly the thrill doesn't last. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2014
    0
    This movie great if your high and you've sold your soul to the devil to act for just the sake of art that has no redeeming qualities, save a great stoner film. There is something seriously wrong with this film, it make me want to cry when I think of 68 million dollar budget. It sickens me and it should sicken all civilized people of the world. It is NOT surprising it made nothing at theThis movie great if your high and you've sold your soul to the devil to act for just the sake of art that has no redeeming qualities, save a great stoner film. There is something seriously wrong with this film, it make me want to cry when I think of 68 million dollar budget. It sickens me and it should sicken all civilized people of the world. It is NOT surprising it made nothing at the box office. Darkness is here and those in the light aren't buying. Give me my medical marijuana. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    Absolutely hysterical and exceptionally well cast, this parody of superhero movies delivers more than just laughs, it provides striking special effects and characters that can only be described as lovable when it's all said and done.
  4. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    A movie with an interesting premise with a boring result. The jokes can hardly be called "funny" because half the time they're too dumb or light-hearted to make you laugh. The effects are nice, but they're wasted on a movie that simply doesn't deliver in the end.
  5. DaleD.
    May 26, 2005
    9
    This is a great movie to watch several times. The characters are right on for adolesent males that never grew up. Its a smart comedey that not everyone will appreciate. For this 40 something reviewer it brings back some fond memories of sitting around in the local Freindly's restaurant planning how we were going to save the world, feeble attempts to pick up girls, and being a good This is a great movie to watch several times. The characters are right on for adolesent males that never grew up. Its a smart comedey that not everyone will appreciate. For this 40 something reviewer it brings back some fond memories of sitting around in the local Freindly's restaurant planning how we were going to save the world, feeble attempts to pick up girls, and being a good friend to your fellow misfits. Expand
  6. Teemu
    May 2, 2005
    1
    Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. Crappy characters crappy plot and weel it's all crap. Reason I'm giving it 1rating and not 0 is because I didn't trhow up during this horrible movie.
  7. CameronS.
    Feb 28, 2004
    3
    I don't know why, but this was one of the most painful experiences I had ever suffered when I had to bare through it in theatres. There might have been some bright moments of comedy, but by the end, it's a frustrating mess of unenjoyable nastiness. I was very surprised when I saw that it had been relatively well reviewed here and at rotten tomatoes. Maybe my assessment is wrong, I don't know why, but this was one of the most painful experiences I had ever suffered when I had to bare through it in theatres. There might have been some bright moments of comedy, but by the end, it's a frustrating mess of unenjoyable nastiness. I was very surprised when I saw that it had been relatively well reviewed here and at rotten tomatoes. Maybe my assessment is wrong, but by the end of the film, it just collapsed and I couldnt stand it. There are many better comic book films out there. Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Nov 24, 2003
    9
    If you aren't into visual gags and physical comedy, like flying cutlery and wicked wedgies from shrinking clothes, this may not be your thing. But it's worth noting that this particular portion of the film simply serves as punctuation for what is a very smart and often hilarious story. Great acting by several reliable Hollywood workhorses--particularly Garofalo and Macy, who is If you aren't into visual gags and physical comedy, like flying cutlery and wicked wedgies from shrinking clothes, this may not be your thing. But it's worth noting that this particular portion of the film simply serves as punctuation for what is a very smart and often hilarious story. Great acting by several reliable Hollywood workhorses--particularly Garofalo and Macy, who is always good. Expand
  9. MikeM.
    Nov 18, 2002
    9
    Loveable losers by day, misfit superheroes by night. A good comic book movie helped by such comedic acts of Paul Ruebens (Pee Wee Herman), Kel Mitchell (Keenan and Kel) and Hank Azaria (The Simpsons). There was a time it seemed like Willam H. Macy was in all the movies I saw, and in this movie I believe he played his role well. Casanova Frankenstein's henchmen (Tony P. & Big Red)Loveable losers by day, misfit superheroes by night. A good comic book movie helped by such comedic acts of Paul Ruebens (Pee Wee Herman), Kel Mitchell (Keenan and Kel) and Hank Azaria (The Simpsons). There was a time it seemed like Willam H. Macy was in all the movies I saw, and in this movie I believe he played his role well. Casanova Frankenstein's henchmen (Tony P. & Big Red) could have stayed in the 70's but the other assorted "bad guys" at his party were cool. Overall, I loved the cast, it was creative and funny; perhaps just a little too campy for some people. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The movie will disappoint people expecting a genuine superhero epic or an over-the-top spoof. But those in the mood for an offbeat satire with a gifted cast will have a surprisingly good time.
  2. 70
    Mystery Men gives proof that satire isn't dead.
  3. This spoof's heart is genuinely warm.