Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 8, 2003
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 350 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
259
Mixed:
28
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
AlexRMar 20, 2006
wow, I can find some seemingly good aspects about this film if I try, but come on!.. a 10? Award nominations? I just can
3 of 5 users found this helpful
4
ExKingNov 29, 2013
you can sum up Mystic River by two things only, weird and far away from reality.
i mean it's like watching a movie by Paul Thomas Anderson.
because everything that the characters do in this movie is the exact opposite from what people do in
you can sum up Mystic River by two things only, weird and far away from reality.
i mean it's like watching a movie by Paul Thomas Anderson.
because everything that the characters do in this movie is the exact opposite from what people do in these types of situations.
my point is you can't relate to these characters actions at all. a man just told his wife that he killed the wrong guy, and the wife tell him, "that what kings do", WHAT.
and the innocent man who got killed confessed about a crime he didn't commit for no obvious reason, and the people who actually did the murder have no motive at all.
and it's keep getting weirder and weirder to the point that you keep scratching your head after the movie ends.
i mean seriously Clint Eastwood.
and i can't understand why Tim Robbins nabbed an Oscar for best actor, all what he ever did was few face expressions and 4 or 5 lines.
and Clint Eastwood stretched some scenes way too much so you can relate to the performances but it was iffy and cold for all of them.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
ChuchoMar 23, 2005
Eh. Expecting something more interesting. Tried to make twists at the end, but just came out looking lame. What were all the raves about. I think critics just trying to get Eastwood to give them an interview or something. Almost seemed like Eh. Expecting something more interesting. Tried to make twists at the end, but just came out looking lame. What were all the raves about. I think critics just trying to get Eastwood to give them an interview or something. Almost seemed like they wanted to go in the direction of that movie whose name I can't remember right now. Deniro is a Priest. That British chic is in it. Sleepers or something. Anyways...that movie was great...this not. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JackOct 13, 2003
Like Elliott below, I too was very disappointed with the movie. It was calculated and the actors seemed as though they were trying to outdo each other. It was highly disturbing and consistently gloomy - I can handle distubing fare, but Like Elliott below, I too was very disappointed with the movie. It was calculated and the actors seemed as though they were trying to outdo each other. It was highly disturbing and consistently gloomy - I can handle distubing fare, but Mystic River is just flat-out unpleasant. I wanted it to end long before it did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobA.Jan 15, 2006
A noble effort by Eastwood, but ultimately a movie that leaves the audience unsure if they should really care. The editing is disjointing, the solution to the murder mystery is unsatisfying, the twist is shallow and the acting is the A noble effort by Eastwood, but ultimately a movie that leaves the audience unsure if they should really care. The editing is disjointing, the solution to the murder mystery is unsatisfying, the twist is shallow and the acting is the equivalent of the lunatics taking over the asylum. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticOct 26, 2009
I'm a bit surprised to see the praise this movie's gotten, to be honest. I remember being furious that Sean Penn beat out Bill Murray for the Oscar that year but after finally seeing the movie I can admit that he did a fantastic I'm a bit surprised to see the praise this movie's gotten, to be honest. I remember being furious that Sean Penn beat out Bill Murray for the Oscar that year but after finally seeing the movie I can admit that he did a fantastic job certainly worthy of an Academy Award. But the movie itself I can't understand the praise for. There's plenty of gritty and realistic dialogue here and all of it very well-acted but. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
csw12Dec 23, 2013
Mystic river has plenty of good acting but nothing interesting to say. The movies pace is too slow and in the end I felt empty because the film itself is empty; it's devoid of ideas, meaning, and purpose.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Giorgi751Nov 15, 2015
There is something about this film that seems entirely forced. Clint Eastwood is a good director but the fact that he holds strong connection with the material isn't enough. Either the story was inappropriate for a movie or it was ClintThere is something about this film that seems entirely forced. Clint Eastwood is a good director but the fact that he holds strong connection with the material isn't enough. Either the story was inappropriate for a movie or it was Clint Eastwood who carried out the wrong mark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews