Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 16, 2006
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
30
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
DaveV.Jun 20, 2006
This movie was horriable. Me and my friends were xpecting somthing funny and it was just plain stupid. We left early b/c it was a waste of a sat. night.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeO.Jul 8, 2006
hilarious
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EricP.Mar 6, 2009
While Nacho Libre is not a spectacular or amazing accomplishment in filmmaking, it is nonetheless worth watching. I didn't expect to like it but I was pleasantly surprised by its goofy and off-kilter humor reminiscent of its Napoleon While Nacho Libre is not a spectacular or amazing accomplishment in filmmaking, it is nonetheless worth watching. I didn't expect to like it but I was pleasantly surprised by its goofy and off-kilter humor reminiscent of its Napoleon Dynamite relative. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Kimw.Aug 6, 2007
The funniest thing about this movie was reading the ratings here. It goes a 10, a 0, a 9, a 1etc... and the comments by those who missed the great humor, is the most hilarious of all. The genius of this movie is its perception by some and The funniest thing about this movie was reading the ratings here. It goes a 10, a 0, a 9, a 1etc... and the comments by those who missed the great humor, is the most hilarious of all. The genius of this movie is its perception by some and imperception by others. Black was the funniest ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
drlowdonOct 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have long been a fan of Jack Black but a quick look at his CV would suggest his movie choices haven't always been the best. For every School of Rock or King Kong he has starred in there has been an Orange County or Envy. Unfortunately, despite coming from the writer and director of the excellent Napoleon Dynamite, this is certainly one of his worst movies to date.

I have no problem with silly, over the top comedies (Zoolander and Austin Powers are amongst my favourite comic films) but when you can look back and count the number of times a movie made you laugh, twice by the way, there is certainly something wrong. It may not be as bad as anything from the Scary Movie franchise but I certainly won’t be watching again anytime soon.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
[Anonymous]Jun 22, 2006
I really wanted to like this movie. At times, I went as far as trying to force myself to laugh. It just wasn't funny... I even fell asleep at the end! Bottomline, if you've seen the previews, you've seen everything there is to I really wanted to like this movie. At times, I went as far as trying to force myself to laugh. It just wasn't funny... I even fell asleep at the end! Bottomline, if you've seen the previews, you've seen everything there is to see in the movie. Don't waste your money, maybe rent it... if you find a $10 on the ground or something. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RoeOct 26, 2006
This film has no redeeming qualities at all. Zero isn't low enough.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
C.HenryJul 21, 2006
Just watch the commercial a bunch of times. You'll see the funny bits there and save the popcorn and ticket money for something worth while.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AndyS.Jan 18, 2007
Some funny parts but an overall disappointment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Patrick94Jan 4, 2013
Too many comedies nowadays rely on crudeness to get over with movie-goers. This movie does not. And guess what? IT WORKS. This is one of the funniest Jack Black movies I've ever seen, combined with a GREAT sound-track it'll just leave youToo many comedies nowadays rely on crudeness to get over with movie-goers. This movie does not. And guess what? IT WORKS. This is one of the funniest Jack Black movies I've ever seen, combined with a GREAT sound-track it'll just leave you smiling when it's finished, which is what a PROPER comedy should do Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
BrianY.Jun 19, 2006
silly fun, not as clever as Napoleon by any stretch, however, it makes for some good entertainment. the scene with the midgets that look like ewoks is pretty classic as with his extended soaring from the top turnbuckle. worth the trip
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Jun 20, 2006
In "Napoleon Dynamite", we laughed at the titular star. In "Nacho Libre", it's the sidekick who is made to look largely ridiculous. The filmmaker isn't going to make a major star look stupid. Most, if not all, of the laughs In "Napoleon Dynamite", we laughed at the titular star. In "Nacho Libre", it's the sidekick who is made to look largely ridiculous. The filmmaker isn't going to make a major star look stupid. Most, if not all, of the laughs aren't generated from the script or situation, but because Esquelto(Richard Montoya) looks dissheveled and speaks funny. It's as if Sara Silverman created Esquelto. Incredibly, the usually hyper Black is almost like a straight man. "Nacho Libre" is somewhat redeemed by an atypical premise and a setting that feels at times, otherworldly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherJun 16, 2006
It gets a 9 just for Ana de la Reguera alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimM.Jun 18, 2006
freakin ridiculously hilarious. this movie is so retarded funny. Way better than napoleon dynamite. i laughed so hard i started crying. i want it on DVD. "BAPTIZED!!" now i'm laughing just thinking about the movie again
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Jun 19, 2006
Nacho Libre is a good natured family film thats got some fuuny bits but by the response of the thirty 13 year olds in the crowd it was Hilarious, there in lies the problem. Jared Hess tries to capture all the things that made Napolean the Nacho Libre is a good natured family film thats got some fuuny bits but by the response of the thirty 13 year olds in the crowd it was Hilarious, there in lies the problem. Jared Hess tries to capture all the things that made Napolean the hit it was by using that same subdued humor, the"feel sorry for me" charasters, even the look of a shoestring budget indie film but he holds the reins on Jack Black so he's merely Father Napolean. It works if that's what you're going to see, but I can't stop hoping Black will finally make a movie that's not so family-friendly and he'll let out that John Belushi in him in something I can't take the kids to see. The song "A really religious person" and the one he sings about the nun offer a hint of what i'm talking about. Come on Jack, R-rated comedies are the thing again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanS.Jun 21, 2006
I haven't laughed thismuch at a movie in a long time. I enjoyed Napoleon Dynamite, yes, it had good phrases but never really made me laugh out loud. The Benchwarmers just plain sucked - only laughed once and it was a very gross movie. I haven't laughed thismuch at a movie in a long time. I enjoyed Napoleon Dynamite, yes, it had good phrases but never really made me laugh out loud. The Benchwarmers just plain sucked - only laughed once and it was a very gross movie. Nacho Libre had countless funny scenes and had the entire audience laughing out loud. The type of laughing where you laugh until tears are in your eyes sometimes. This movie has a great plot (it has an ACTUAL plot compared to say, Napoleon Dynamite) with all the denumont (sp?), rising action, climax, falling action. It has GREAT acting (especially if you like Jack Black) and was well written. Also the nun is great with her chemistry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Jun 22, 2006
I am totally miffed that this movie had not gotten better reviews. Maybe the producers did not pay off the critics or maybe the public in general can't handle a comedy that has some creativity to it. I don't know. What I do know is I am totally miffed that this movie had not gotten better reviews. Maybe the producers did not pay off the critics or maybe the public in general can't handle a comedy that has some creativity to it. I don't know. What I do know is I laughed out loud from beginning to end. Between all the weird characters they fought, to Jack Blacks improvised songs, to the silly little tights he'd frolic around in, the movie became an instant classic in my book. I highly recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Jun 30, 2006
In what promises to be a very typical movie summer stuffed with remakes, sequels and comic book adaptations (some of the above quite good; that's not the point) any time you catch sight of such an odd duck as this, you'd do well to In what promises to be a very typical movie summer stuffed with remakes, sequels and comic book adaptations (some of the above quite good; that's not the point) any time you catch sight of such an odd duck as this, you'd do well to heed its quack. This endearingly goofy slapstick opus about a Mexican monk (Jack Black) who, in order to earn money to feed the parish orphans, indulges his fascination for Masked Marvel-type wrestling (much to the displeasure of his priestly superiors) is a true original. (I suppose if you wanted to be really picayune about it you could note some surface similarities between this and a very straightforward 1956 B-movie entitled The Leather Saint, in which John Derek puts on the boxing gloves in order to help the needy of HIS church. You could even wonder if, since both films were Paramount releases, if screenwriter Mike White and director Jared Hess had to pay some royalties. But if you do, that's not just being overly picky...it's being downright anal!) Given Black's usual amusingly over-the-top approach to his roles, which culminated last year in a full-blooded portrayal of Carl Denham in Peter Jackson's King Kong that out-hammed Robert Armstrong's work in the original, it's a real surprise to observe just how much he UNDERPLAYS his role here, and with wonderful results: at times Black even seems to be aping the hilariously off-kilter English dubbing that's a fundamental ingredient of the 1960s Mexican "Santo" epics that he and White are obvious devotees of. Like many one-of-a-kind movies, Nacho Libre successfully blends and embraces a number of seeming contradictions: it features almost as many bodily-function-and-fluid gags as Adam Sandler's current Click (including an unforgettable cow-pasture sequence in which Nacho's tag-team partner gets LITERALLY sh*t-faced) but they come off as strangely innocent rather than obnoxious and offensive; Hess's near-Felliniesque depiction of the impoverished locals' grotesque appearances (if there ever was a town dentist, it's apparent that he used pliers and no Novacaine) doesn't make his film difficult to watch, and Nacho's mutual puppy love for a sweet young nun (Ana de la Reguera, who resembles a cross between Anne Hathaway and Winona Ryder, so who can blame him?) is just one of many factors that makes Nacho Libre, in spite of all the bone-crushing ring action, one of the GENTLEST mainstream films of the last few years! Hess, matching the deadpan tone he brought to his 2004 cult smash Napoleon Dynamite, still has some pacing issues to overcome; like his previous film, there are definite slow spots, and Nacho Libre ultimately comes off more as a series of skits than a unified whole. But many of those skits are undeniably smile-inducers, and on the whole Nacho Libre is so engaging, offbeat and weirdly amusing that even though I wasn't at all a Napoleon fan, this makes me want to watch it again and reevaluate it. Who knows--maybe I'll actually vote for Pedro this time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoJoJ.Jul 2, 2006
A sweet and bizarre little movie with beautiful backdrops. This film could have been so much better with a more cohesive story. Jack Black is sincere and silly, per usual. It was weird but nice. That's the best I can tel you about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaclynW.Aug 11, 2006
What I like about this movie and Napoleon Dynamite, is that it's stupid, yet still hilarious! So if you were a fan of the Napoleon Dynamite movie, then you will certainly like this movie, because unlike Napoleon Dynamite, it has a What I like about this movie and Napoleon Dynamite, is that it's stupid, yet still hilarious! So if you were a fan of the Napoleon Dynamite movie, then you will certainly like this movie, because unlike Napoleon Dynamite, it has a plotpoint throughout the entire movie. You didn't get into the plotpoint of Napoleon Dynamite until nearly the end of the movie. Anyway, it is a very funny movie, and i strongly suggest seeing it if you are a younger audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DimitriA.Aug 1, 2006
If you love Jack Black then you'll love this film. Laughing the WHOLE time through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Aug 7, 2006
This movie was just stinking hilarious! Watch it if you have not seen it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HenryV.Sep 16, 2006
This had to be one of the worst comedies in years. I saw it on a plane but nevertheless there are only so many times you can watch a guy stick his gut out and look for a laugh. A '2" is generous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Louis'sbrotherApr 16, 2007
I really like Jack Black, but this movie really robbed him of his character. The biggest problem was that the whole movie was too quiet and inactive. No offense to Paramount or the writers of Napolean dynamite, but his movie would be a lot I really like Jack Black, but this movie really robbed him of his character. The biggest problem was that the whole movie was too quiet and inactive. No offense to Paramount or the writers of Napolean dynamite, but his movie would be a lot better if anybody else wrote it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PedroO.Nov 20, 2006
It's Hilarious, sweet, deliberartely child-like in it's sensibility,and full of endearing characters. It also boasts one of Jack Black's best perfomances yet... What's not to like?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IssacMNov 27, 2006
A horribly, horribly unfunny film. I felt bad for the next few weeks and couldn't study because all I could think about was this movie. It has to be seen to be believed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennethSOct 26, 2006
One of the best laughs I have had in a long time. Its also got a great moral story to go with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WongitJun 16, 2006
This movie was awsome. It was hilarious. I enjoyed it way more then Napolean Dynamite which i found to be nothing short of disapointing with all the hype surrounding it. This ones good, i enjoyed it alot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WJun 16, 2006
Despite Black's attempts to make this film work (singing, accent, tights), the plot was simply underdeveloped, choppy as heck, and lacking in a purpose the audience could get behind. At times the scenes were so random that it seemed Despite Black's attempts to make this film work (singing, accent, tights), the plot was simply underdeveloped, choppy as heck, and lacking in a purpose the audience could get behind. At times the scenes were so random that it seemed more like a sketch comedy show than a coherent film. I wanted to like this film; I had pegged it as a hit from the start. Sadly, this film disapoints. Good try Mr. Black; maybe next time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinT.Jun 16, 2006
The critics who are so harsh on this movie obviously didn't watch it with a crowd. People werre literally rolling on the floors. Maybe it was just Lucha fans. I enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BuddyO.Jun 17, 2006
Hess' style is all over this movie. The quirky characters and his ability to capture a great feel for his location by using many locals in the movie. It's funny and heartwarming at times. Black is great and extremely likeable in Hess' style is all over this movie. The quirky characters and his ability to capture a great feel for his location by using many locals in the movie. It's funny and heartwarming at times. Black is great and extremely likeable in the movie. People need to relax and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LucilleR.Jun 18, 2006
A racist, stupid, insulting un-funny so-called comedy that will leave you wishing you had gone to see Cars instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Jun 19, 2006
This movie is hilarious. I talking tears were rolling down my eyes, and I felt outta my chair and hit the ground. When Jack Black starts singing his tribute to the nun around the end of the movie...I thought I was gonna die. TOO Funny. If This movie is hilarious. I talking tears were rolling down my eyes, and I felt outta my chair and hit the ground. When Jack Black starts singing his tribute to the nun around the end of the movie...I thought I was gonna die. TOO Funny. If you're looking for a movie with jokes go check Nacho Libre. If there is a fault for the movie, there are a couple of dry scences and the wrestling matches are whatever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveJun 19, 2006
Great movie. Very funny, something I haven't seen in sometime. I love the way Hess can put a movie together. He has a talent that very few in the movie industry possess. It's refreshing to watch something genuinely funny as opposed Great movie. Very funny, something I haven't seen in sometime. I love the way Hess can put a movie together. He has a talent that very few in the movie industry possess. It's refreshing to watch something genuinely funny as opposed to the calculated manufactured crap hollywood tries to cram down everyone's throat and tell us it's supposed to be funny. Jack Black is also brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EliV.Jul 17, 2006
This movie is witty and silly. It takes you to a time in Mexico where the "Luchador" was idolized. Reminisant of the days of "El Santo". Wonderful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CodyJul 2, 2006
This is probably one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The best part of this movie were its TV commercials. The movie's plotline didn't make sense and I found it confusing at many moments throughout the movie. Avoid this This is probably one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The best part of this movie were its TV commercials. The movie's plotline didn't make sense and I found it confusing at many moments throughout the movie. Avoid this movie at all costs; WORST movie of the summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethJul 3, 2006
This was hysterical, with awesome music and catchy, funny phrases. Ok, so it didn't have the best story line, but neither did Napoleon. It's not about the story line-it's how clever the lines are, how interesting the This was hysterical, with awesome music and catchy, funny phrases. Ok, so it didn't have the best story line, but neither did Napoleon. It's not about the story line-it's how clever the lines are, how interesting the characters are. If you liked Napoleon Dynamite, you'll like this movie. If you like Jack Black and music, you'll like this movie. It's hilarious. Not every movie is meant to "analyze" and read into. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarryB.Jul 7, 2006
Pee-you! This one stinks like the farts peppered throughout the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonA.Aug 26, 2006
Very funny. I spent a few days after watching the film running the different lines through my mind. True, the gratuitous fart sounds were cheap but that is only unforgivable if that was all the movie had to offer. I think Nacho Libre was Very funny. I spent a few days after watching the film running the different lines through my mind. True, the gratuitous fart sounds were cheap but that is only unforgivable if that was all the movie had to offer. I think Nacho Libre was clever and not lacking in depth. Despite the foolery on the surface of the film, I think Hess and wife (who are the Hess brothers?) dealt with issues of identity and religious conviction with subtelty and feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HalB.Jan 12, 2007
See Roger Ebert's review... he got it correct. I am a Jack Black fan and was terribly disappointed. Some interesting & funny scenes, to be sure, but they are very few and far between. School of Rock was so much better. Ah well... even See Roger Ebert's review... he got it correct. I am a Jack Black fan and was terribly disappointed. Some interesting & funny scenes, to be sure, but they are very few and far between. School of Rock was so much better. Ah well... even good comedic actors make bad films from time to time. Comedy, I think, is so much harder to pull off and sustain than drama. I mean, JackAss 2 was a much better film, in terms of out and out humor (as gross and infantile as it is). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeF.Jan 26, 2007
Not quite as good as Napoleon Dynamite, but just as underrated by the critics. There are two movies here: a weird, subtle successor of Napoleon Dynamite, and and over-the-top Jack Black comedy that embraces its imperfections. These prop each Not quite as good as Napoleon Dynamite, but just as underrated by the critics. There are two movies here: a weird, subtle successor of Napoleon Dynamite, and and over-the-top Jack Black comedy that embraces its imperfections. These prop each other up like a couple of Hessian nerds, and make for a disjointed but fun movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackB.Jul 27, 2007
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen! Jack Black did such an awesome job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AY.Nov 14, 2006
I loved Naplean Dynamite but I turned this movie off after I didn't laugh during the first 40 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesS.Nov 2, 2006
Absolutely dreadful. I couldn't make it through it in one sitting. Took me three attempts to see the whole thing, and I felt stupider for having watched it. The only thing that made me laugh (it was a forced laugh) was a fart joke. They Absolutely dreadful. I couldn't make it through it in one sitting. Took me three attempts to see the whole thing, and I felt stupider for having watched it. The only thing that made me laugh (it was a forced laugh) was a fart joke. They then repeated the fart joke, half a dozen times, and it got embarrassing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PranayDOct 13, 2006
I guess it's one of those films where you either love the sense of humor or you find it completely unamusing. I laughed the whole way through. Jack Black is hilarious and Ana De La Reguera is angelic and drop-dead gorgeous at the same I guess it's one of those films where you either love the sense of humor or you find it completely unamusing. I laughed the whole way through. Jack Black is hilarious and Ana De La Reguera is angelic and drop-dead gorgeous at the same time (even though she plays a nun). Watch it, just in case you love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.J.Dec 11, 2006
HIlarious. I was crackin' up from beginning to end. Definitly a Jack Black hit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KuB.Dec 26, 2006
I like Jack Black, but this movie is plain horrible. Honestly, its one of THE worst movies I have seen in my life. I could not watch it in one go, it was that dull. There is no screenplay, no thought to it. It all relies on Black doing his I like Jack Black, but this movie is plain horrible. Honestly, its one of THE worst movies I have seen in my life. I could not watch it in one go, it was that dull. There is no screenplay, no thought to it. It all relies on Black doing his stuff. He is funny at times, but the whole movie is pretty depressing (!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
F.E.LyonDec 4, 2006
I just have to give it a ten because I can't stop thinking about so many of my favorite parts. My girlfriend and I bought it for my brothers b-day and I have watched it 3 times since and can't wait to wantch it again. It get's I just have to give it a ten because I can't stop thinking about so many of my favorite parts. My girlfriend and I bought it for my brothers b-day and I have watched it 3 times since and can't wait to wantch it again. It get's funnier and funnier and funnier! With this talent I could see a sequel even being great...hint..hint. I want more Black and Jimenez. I only remember two farts??? I guess I NEED to watch it again, including watching many of my favorite scenes in slow motion :) Splendidly sweet and stupid...I love it!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BillyB.Dec 6, 2006
This movie is just a waste of time and you really only need to see the commercial to catch all the funny parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrianA.Jun 16, 2006
A real disappointment coming from writer Mike White (School of Rock), but exactly what I expect to see from the Hess brothers, who's Napoleon Dynamite has to be one of the most overrated films in recent history. Nacho Libre was so A real disappointment coming from writer Mike White (School of Rock), but exactly what I expect to see from the Hess brothers, who's Napoleon Dynamite has to be one of the most overrated films in recent history. Nacho Libre was so heavily advertised during the months leading up to its release, that the film already seems like a rerun, and very tired. If you've seen the TV commercials, you really have seen the bulk of the film, so don't waste your time or your money. And Jack Black is neither interesting nor original in his role. Black thinks that his consistent facial expressions are just the funniest thing ever, but they get tired and boring fast. Oh, and get ready to roll your eyes when the fart noise button is pressed a few times in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeanV.Jun 17, 2006
Outstanding movie. I laughed the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EmmeS.Jun 17, 2006
Worth the price of admission for a good laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndyJ.Jun 17, 2006
Loathsome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisR.Jun 17, 2006
...This could have been a seven, or maybe even an eight... Yet at the same time, Mr. Black keeps it from being a four... Jack shines, and creates nearly all the laughs, as Jared allows Mr. Black to carry the laughs in an otherwise silly and ...This could have been a seven, or maybe even an eight... Yet at the same time, Mr. Black keeps it from being a four... Jack shines, and creates nearly all the laughs, as Jared allows Mr. Black to carry the laughs in an otherwise silly and uninspired flick. Hess scored an unintentional triumph with Napoleon, and attempts to re-create the magic with Nacho, but it feels as if he falls back upon the unintended choppy dialogue delivery which gave Napoleon its character, yet fails within this very different locale and plot... This is Jack's bus, and he's driving it along a highway-to-hell not-unlike the School-of-Rock course. This movie is worth watching for no other reason than to watch Jack Black steer a ridiculous course through a script rife with oppportunities to act the fool. And few do it better than Jack. This movie is worth seeing only for the ability of one Mr. Black to turn a sillly concept into a gut-riot, courtesy of his delivery of silly lines, forced set-pieces, and a silly plot, into something truly funny. I'm now convinced that Jack Black has usurped the comedy throne, and few can challenge him.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickyB.Jun 18, 2006
this was the funniest movie ive seen in a lllloooongg time. lets get down to the nitty gritty. jack black is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DocMayJun 18, 2006
What a disappointment. I'm a Jack Black fan and was looking forward to the movie, but I found myself looking at my watch after twenty minutes. The writing was bad, the acting was bad, and the humor was, well, not very humorous. I wasted What a disappointment. I'm a Jack Black fan and was looking forward to the movie, but I found myself looking at my watch after twenty minutes. The writing was bad, the acting was bad, and the humor was, well, not very humorous. I wasted my money on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KatyJun 18, 2006
This was a really fun movie. Definitely good to see with an audience or group. And try to watch without comparing it to Napolean Dynamite. I found myself doing that a few times by accident, and it only distracts you from the movie as fun This was a really fun movie. Definitely good to see with an audience or group. And try to watch without comparing it to Napolean Dynamite. I found myself doing that a few times by accident, and it only distracts you from the movie as fun within itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricY.Jun 18, 2006
There were some very funny parts. I was rolling with laughter. I can't wait to see it again. I'm sure it will be even funnier the second time around! Hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackP.Jun 18, 2006
Very disappointing despite my low expectations coming in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonT.Jun 18, 2006
This film still has the same quirky humor that made the Hess's Napolean Dynamite such a huge success! You either surrender to Jack Black's comedy genius or you don't. It is true that although Nacho Libre is an original type of This film still has the same quirky humor that made the Hess's Napolean Dynamite such a huge success! You either surrender to Jack Black's comedy genius or you don't. It is true that although Nacho Libre is an original type of movie it will, no noubt about it, be unfairly compared to its older brother, Napolean. It would be difficult for any film to fill the Napolean Dynamite's shoes. Nacho Libre is a silly summer movie with a lot of heart that can be enjoyed by children, teens and adults alike! When you combine the Hess's original writing style with the wit and comedy of the hilarious Jack Black, you will be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MaseJun 25, 2006
Sorry, I'm a fairly big supporter of everything Jack Black and this movie was pretty bad. Black seemed trapped in the role, while the movie itself was restriced to a PG, we have to settle for fart jokes and pratfalls which will apease Sorry, I'm a fairly big supporter of everything Jack Black and this movie was pretty bad. Black seemed trapped in the role, while the movie itself was restriced to a PG, we have to settle for fart jokes and pratfalls which will apease the kids. Too bad Jack Black and even writer Mike White are capable of much much more. Beautiful unique locations in Oaxacca however. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillH.Jun 27, 2006
It is nice to see movies built on acting and writing and not high-budget set designs and action sets. Jack Black lives his character. In the end, there is a distinct smell of Napolean Dynamite from the quirky movements and scripting. Overall It is nice to see movies built on acting and writing and not high-budget set designs and action sets. Jack Black lives his character. In the end, there is a distinct smell of Napolean Dynamite from the quirky movements and scripting. Overall a fun time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinD.Jun 28, 2006
This movie is almost ridicious to the point where its no longer funny. Although both Black and White are capable of much more, I always love to watch Mexicans running around in tight pants. Good fun. Also, not a good date movie. I know from This movie is almost ridicious to the point where its no longer funny. Although both Black and White are capable of much more, I always love to watch Mexicans running around in tight pants. Good fun. Also, not a good date movie. I know from experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WalkenM.Jul 25, 2006
Quite frankly (and somewhat sadly), the best movie to come out of Hollywood this summer. Jared Hess' deadpan view of the world is both compassionate and absurd - and the formula works far better here than in Napoleon Dynamite. Plus, his Quite frankly (and somewhat sadly), the best movie to come out of Hollywood this summer. Jared Hess' deadpan view of the world is both compassionate and absurd - and the formula works far better here than in Napoleon Dynamite. Plus, his eye for composition and shot choice is unlike anything (particularly in comedy) emerging from Hollywood's hackneyed dregs. Obviously, the dramatic moments of the film could have been better exectuted, but Nacho Libre's heart is so clearly and consistently in the right place, that I couldn't help but give in to its unimpeachably endearing vibe. Also, "Get that corn out of my face" is easily the best line of the year. I will never stop laughing at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamL.Oct 23, 2007
Ku B., if this is honestly one of the worst movies you've seen in your life, my suggestion to you is to go see more movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
seDec 27, 2006
Unbelievably hilarious. dont listen to the bad reviews. this movies genius is in it's subtle humor. the small facial expressions of jack black. the use of broken spanglish and so on. its also incredibly heat warming and sweet. one of my Unbelievably hilarious. dont listen to the bad reviews. this movies genius is in it's subtle humor. the small facial expressions of jack black. the use of broken spanglish and so on. its also incredibly heat warming and sweet. one of my favorite movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelDJul 1, 2011
Very funny movie. Jack Black acts quite well in this movie and it's watchable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMar 29, 2012
It is generally funny for the most part. Jack Black actually gives a decent performance here. The story is mildly tolerable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skyminsterApr 26, 2012
Nacho libre is hilarious, its so, so funny, it is stupid, but that's what I love about it! Jack Black is so hilariously good in it. It is a bit weird and stupid, and it may offend some people, but I love it! Its not quite a ten out of tenNacho libre is hilarious, its so, so funny, it is stupid, but that's what I love about it! Jack Black is so hilariously good in it. It is a bit weird and stupid, and it may offend some people, but I love it! Its not quite a ten out of ten movie, it totally deserves a nine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
It tries so hard, you might even imagine the writers sweating as they drilled away at the screenplay. The result is a Jack Black comedy which is absolutely and surprisingly bland.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 22, 2013
I have to say that this movie was not funny not entertaining. The fight scenes were funny but in general the movie is bad. Firstly, it is racist to latin american people and i don't think this is funny. I love Jack Black. He makes great filmsI have to say that this movie was not funny not entertaining. The fight scenes were funny but in general the movie is bad. Firstly, it is racist to latin american people and i don't think this is funny. I love Jack Black. He makes great films that make you laugh. But in this one i was disappointed with the script i guess that wants to show racist thoughts. Too bad Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Nacho Libre is string cheese.
Jack Black once again succeeds at the likeable fat guy in this outrageous but funny tale of a Mexican wrestler. A fair story, okay jokes, and really just a fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Mordovan89Mar 5, 2014
This fun, friendly Mexican style comedy, and Jack Black was amazing, but in other respects not feature at all. Maybe it's one of the best comedy movies, but nothing else, can not say more about this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CantandresJul 31, 2015
I thought this movie was funny. You know, I saw a review that Roger Ebert gave and I'm sorry that his jaw fell off and he died...but it was obvious that the man couldn't follow the plot at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 31, 2016
At least Jack Black tried to make a movie for kids and Nickelodeon. The hardest thing to think about here is, "Why do we even have a movie for Jack Black trying to make us laugh?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews