Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: June 11, 2004
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 346 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
261
Mixed:
30
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
BobA.Jan 17, 2006
There was a time when a movie was made with a purpose (usually anti-pop culture) and through the process of some strange evolution, became a "cult classic." But now movies are being packaged and produced as cult classics ready for There was a time when a movie was made with a purpose (usually anti-pop culture) and through the process of some strange evolution, became a "cult classic." But now movies are being packaged and produced as cult classics ready for consumption, and by MTV, no less. Something about this movie says that while the fimmakers didn't know how to be funny, they sure knew how to be weird, and that would suffice. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
NathanJul 13, 2009
This was absolutely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I paid money to rent it and turned it off after 25 minutes. In that time I didn't even crack a smile. I guess I am too old for this or something.
5 of 7 users found this helpful
0
IAmCorrectNov 22, 2008
This movie was boring and horrible. I sat through the movie waiting for it to end, and even then, i wanted to shoot myself, and then the TV.
5 of 7 users found this helpful
0
EPJan 7, 2006
Pure and utter crap. And thats putting it mildly. I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but definitely if you liked this movie you are stupid...end of story.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JohnF.May 17, 2006
Bah. Completely mistakes wierdness for humor. The makers thought that if they simply had their characters do and say odd, awkward things, the laughs would roll in. They don't. I was fighting the urge to walk out the entire time through.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
theCriticS.Aug 5, 2007
This movie was dull, and boring. There was no plot at all. It was the least funniest movie I have ever seen. There is no likable character in this movie!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
TaylorLNov 11, 2005
This movie was boring and repetitive. I am so sick of everyone making such a big deal of it. It was repetitive and it's only good lines were boring. What the heck is all the fuss about??
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
BenC.Mar 11, 2007
One of perhaps 2 films that I could not watch because I hated the characters so much - perhaps the last half hour is good, but I doubt it because no-one in this vile piece of work is remotely likeable.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
OneWhoKnows666Nov 11, 2012
If the quality of a comedy is based on the quantity of laughter involved after the punch lines then this movie should rate LESS than ZERO... Simply because almost every comedy produced on earth results in at least ONE laugh, ergo NapoleonIf the quality of a comedy is based on the quantity of laughter involved after the punch lines then this movie should rate LESS than ZERO... Simply because almost every comedy produced on earth results in at least ONE laugh, ergo Napoleon Dynamite needs to be rated as the worst comedy in history!!! No laughs and script gaffs should be cut in halfs !!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
MannyC.Jul 20, 2004
What gets me is how this thing killed at Sundance?!? What a terrible, unnessessary, boring self-degrading film. Jared Hess is a loser, Jon Heder is a loser and will never act again. Cheap, unapolagetic writing; sorry and tired sight gags. What gets me is how this thing killed at Sundance?!? What a terrible, unnessessary, boring self-degrading film. Jared Hess is a loser, Jon Heder is a loser and will never act again. Cheap, unapolagetic writing; sorry and tired sight gags. Tim P. gave this a ten "becasue were all dorks". Tim even dorks need a plot, and a reason to be dorks. Dorks also need a supporting cast and something better to do than help Mexican dorks. We're all dorks, but were all not Napoleon Dynamite, and we all dont concern ourselves with sorry talk show guests of people, and while we all may be dorks, my and probably even your movie wouldnt suck as much as this one does. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful
0
smijatovJan 8, 2011
Napoleon Dynamite is definitely not my kind of comedy. As Roger Ebert called it "studied stupidity," the film just shows how stupid one is. Or awkward. Or both, really. Which, not being American, does not resonate with me at all. Yes, maybeNapoleon Dynamite is definitely not my kind of comedy. As Roger Ebert called it "studied stupidity," the film just shows how stupid one is. Or awkward. Or both, really. Which, not being American, does not resonate with me at all. Yes, maybe many Americans feel that way about themselves, but god - this was just a horrible film! It is one of those films that does not really have a point to itself, I feel. Maybe it does, but the entire experience totally goes passed me. I could not even finish it all the way, quite frankly. I could feel my IQ fall with every minute... Definitely would avoid this by all means. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
MikeAug 26, 2007
I don't see how it's possible to 'get' this movie. The entire film seems to be based around one character idea... and it gets boring after about 5 minutes. Trevor L... "quite possibly the funniest movie of all time" I don't see how it's possible to 'get' this movie. The entire film seems to be based around one character idea... and it gets boring after about 5 minutes. Trevor L... "quite possibly the funniest movie of all time" ...wow.. the mind boggles! Uninteresting characters, a pathetic plot, I just didn't care what happened at the end. Rubbish... I think I also 'hate this film with my entire soul. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
2
BillyF.Jun 26, 2007
A pain to watch. The character of napoleon, the dorky one-dimensional geek, is stretched out to the level of absurd frustration. You keep waiting for something significant to happen, but it never does. In a world overflowing with lovable A pain to watch. The character of napoleon, the dorky one-dimensional geek, is stretched out to the level of absurd frustration. You keep waiting for something significant to happen, but it never does. In a world overflowing with lovable geeks, it is hard to comprehend why the main character is such a repugnant, cringe-worthy freak. In short, confused and pretentious trash. Aiming too high with an unloaded and worthless gun. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
IdontUnderstandFeb 6, 2007
Why do poeple like this movie??? I fell asleep 3 times trying to watch it and didn't smile once. I'm sorry Napoleon fans, but this movie is worse than Epic Movie, and thats saying something.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AaronL.Aug 2, 2006
i think this film is sad and disturbing in many senses...especially how everyone finds it very funny and laugh at the character like this, and if this really is some autobiography, i will find this even more disturbing.. it just feels really i think this film is sad and disturbing in many senses...especially how everyone finds it very funny and laugh at the character like this, and if this really is some autobiography, i will find this even more disturbing.. it just feels really sad to imagine, what if this character is real? and after u walk out of the cinema, his life would carry on in the way that everyone found "funny" for 1 and a half hours? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
TravisG.Mar 9, 2007
I hated this movie. I really dont get why people think this is funny. It has no story line. I spent half the time trying to figure out what was going on. There was only one funny moment in this whole movie and that is when Napoleon goes over I hated this movie. I really dont get why people think this is funny. It has no story line. I spent half the time trying to figure out what was going on. There was only one funny moment in this whole movie and that is when Napoleon goes over the jump on the bike. Other than that it is just a stupid movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ArthurA.Oct 23, 2005
This was one of the most boring, plotless movies I have ever seen. It was the biggest waste of 2 hours. I really wanted to stop in the middle, but I couldn't help to hope that there will be something else at the end. Something that This was one of the most boring, plotless movies I have ever seen. It was the biggest waste of 2 hours. I really wanted to stop in the middle, but I couldn't help to hope that there will be something else at the end. Something that would explain the reason behind all the excitement about this movie. It was one of the biggest disappointments I had experienced in movies. If you never seen this movie and looking through reviews to decide if you should watch it or not, please spare two hours of your life and don't watch it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
OneWhoKnowsSep 20, 2010
I tried to understand why ANYONE would find this movie entertaining. One thing I noticed in reading the positive reviews was that most of them have numerous misspellings and grammatical errors ( as would be in the lower intellect segment ofI tried to understand why ANYONE would find this movie entertaining. One thing I noticed in reading the positive reviews was that most of them have numerous misspellings and grammatical errors ( as would be in the lower intellect segment of society). Hence the good reviews. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
GnarlesOct 27, 2005
Take a Wes Anderson movie, then cut the guts out of it and make it very, very stupid. A useless pile of affectation and hipster wannabe-ness jammed into forced, wobbly irony. If you think the title (stolen from Elvis Costello, no matter what Take a Wes Anderson movie, then cut the guts out of it and make it very, very stupid. A useless pile of affectation and hipster wannabe-ness jammed into forced, wobbly irony. If you think the title (stolen from Elvis Costello, no matter what the hack director claims) is the funniest thing in the world, you'll be heaven. If you don't - or are allowed outside your residence without a helmet on - then you probably are gonna want to pass. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
JonD.Apr 5, 2006
About 2 or three times this movie made me laugh... other then taht i wanted to throw the dvd out the window, its a stupid movie and thats coming from someone who loves adam sandler movies. This pushes stupidity beyond everything this seems About 2 or three times this movie made me laugh... other then taht i wanted to throw the dvd out the window, its a stupid movie and thats coming from someone who loves adam sandler movies. This pushes stupidity beyond everything this seems like it was made for about a thousand dollars and by 12 year olds. Dont watch this movie if your a teenager or older. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MovieMadMan1stMar 24, 2013
This movie is not a comedy. One wold assume for a movie to be classified as a comedy it would have to generate at least ONE laugh throughout it's entire boredom. If you did laugh at this you must have been using some illegal substance toThis movie is not a comedy. One wold assume for a movie to be classified as a comedy it would have to generate at least ONE laugh throughout it's entire boredom. If you did laugh at this you must have been using some illegal substance to change your environment into an all humor universe! Get into reality and find actual comedic movies. Try Mel Brooks, Woodie Allen, Cohen Brothers etc, etc... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
This movie takes gross, kiddie-gloved movies to a whole new level. It was boring, and it was not funny at all. The censoring of curses by saying dang and gosh was annoying. either say the word, or don't say it at all. This was a kiddie PGThis movie takes gross, kiddie-gloved movies to a whole new level. It was boring, and it was not funny at all. The censoring of curses by saying dang and gosh was annoying. either say the word, or don't say it at all. This was a kiddie PG flick not worth your time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
JoeB666Aug 23, 2013
One of the stupidest movies I have ever seen. What an asinine waste of time. Even ten years after seeing it in theatres I look back on the film with hatred.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
Its original and it is a little funny but really the entire film is just so stupid that I simply can not stand it. I dont understand how people find this film any good.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
AlexSAug 10, 2011
Just a terrible movie.To say that it's deliberately stupid is an understatement.The characters are incomprehensibly asinine and incredibly boring.There isn't one believable moment in the whole movie.The whole experience was shockinglyJust a terrible movie.To say that it's deliberately stupid is an understatement.The characters are incomprehensibly asinine and incredibly boring.There isn't one believable moment in the whole movie.The whole experience was shockingly mind-numbing and the movie, painfully unfunny.Usually I tend to enjoy movies about eccentrics and/or social outsiders but this was horrible.It just bored me terribly and didn't make me laugh whatsoever.I hated it!â Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Ansatsu83Nov 26, 2013
The movie is less comical and more of an awkward mess. Quite, possibly one of the worst movies I have seen, in over twenty years and definitely the worst comedy. No idea how this gained a score of anything over 3, the movie is simply... BAD!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GlobusSep 8, 2014
I usually love the love-it-or-hate-it "cult" classic movies, but I guess I must proclaim now that whatever messiah started this cult is a fake. I went in with such high expectations. I remember in the fourth grade people talking about it.I usually love the love-it-or-hate-it "cult" classic movies, but I guess I must proclaim now that whatever messiah started this cult is a fake. I went in with such high expectations. I remember in the fourth grade people talking about it. For my whole life, I was led to believe joining this cult would lead to my perpetual comedic salvation. By having observed the doctrine, I can say firmly that these profits have deceived me repeatedly about this "holy relic." I admit, I laughed... around the start, because I was so ready for the humor to begin I was forcing myself to get ready by laughing at the semi-comedic **** thrown around for the first quarter of the movie. Then I realized that the **** turned into llama **** or whatever the **** his pet was (a goat, maybe?) and got smeared over the entire last three-quarters of this "cult classic." The movie has no point–no real discernible, meaningful conflict that develops throughout the film. It is impossible to connect with any of the characters, and if you actually can, I pity you. The best part about this film is the store of chuckleworthy references to make so I can leave the sheep who still subscribe to the faulty cult busting their guts on the floor (though they might be better suited to bust their brains). But for the references alone I give it 2 point, and for the soft laughs I forced myself to make, I add a point. And for the fact it is a full length movie, another point is due. For the terrible cuts between scenes, I subtract a point. Nothing else merits me adding points. That's a grand total of 2 + 1 + 1 -1 = 3. Okay, I think I've thoroughly refuted the idea that this "cult" really has a prophet worthy of followers. Now where can I review the bible? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews