National Treasure: Book of Secrets Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When a missing page from the diary of John Wilkes Booth surfaces, Ben's great-great grandfather is suddenly implicated as a key conspirator in Abraham Lincoln's death. Determined to prove his ancestor's innocence, Ben follows an international chain of clues that takes him on a chase fromWhen a missing page from the diary of John Wilkes Booth surfaces, Ben's great-great grandfather is suddenly implicated as a key conspirator in Abraham Lincoln's death. Determined to prove his ancestor's innocence, Ben follows an international chain of clues that takes him on a chase from Paris to London and ultimately back to America. This journey leads Ben and his crew not only to surprising revelations, but also to the trail of the world's most treasured secrets. (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26
  1. A welcome throwback to family-friendly PG moviemaking.
  2. 67
    It's a measure of the film's infectious goofiness that Cage seems altogether more interested in clearing the name of a long-dead ancestor than in finding a city of gold.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    Graced with some extra star wattage courtesy of Helen Mirren and Ed Harris, this diminishing-returns sequel sends Nicolas Cage on another quest to strike it rich, get young auds excited about history and solve puzzles that are generally less stimulating than yesterday's Sudoku.
  4. Leave it to coproducer Jerry Bruckheimer to revive the Indiana Jones cycle without the period setting, the camp elements, or Spielberg's efficiency; director Jon Turteltaub just plods along, and the script by Marianne and Cormac Wibberley is equally poker-faced.
  5. If there was an iota of plausibility to any of this, we could forgive the film's greater leaps of imagination - all those break-ins of absurdly unprotected bastions of Western civilization. But this is not audience-participation suspense. All you can do is sit and watch, and wish there was more wonder.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Osmond
    40
    A turgid action sequel that loses sight of plot and characters in its humourless efforts to impress.
  7. Like a grade-school version of an Indiana Jones adventure.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 94
  2. Negative: 33 out of 94
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Well to me this film was FANTASTIC. I know this might be shocking because of what other people are saying but i think Nicolas Cage was a greatWell to me this film was FANTASTIC. I know this might be shocking because of what other people are saying but i think Nicolas Cage was a great actor in National treasure 1 and 2. I loved every part of the film. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2015
    9
    This sequel was really well-done. I am a history fan, so I thought they did an excellent job incorporating historical elements with theThis sequel was really well-done. I am a history fan, so I thought they did an excellent job incorporating historical elements with the adventure/drama aspects. The car chases are hilarious, the discoveries breathtaking, all with an underlying mood of suspense. Nicholas Cage and Diane Kruger's relationship is really entertaining, they are one of the best movie couples! And since Nicholas Cage is one of Hollywood's greatest actors, this movie was destined for success from the start! Expand
  3. AnthonyP.
    Dec 22, 2007
    8
    The movie was good the plot was a bit thin but was there, although the movie was based on the same pricnable as the first its nice to see The movie was good the plot was a bit thin but was there, although the movie was based on the same pricnable as the first its nice to see that these kind of movies are bing made, its being made for the kids in us all, the puzzles are thought provoking and entertaining, it keeps you wanting more, there is little action to speak of, and it mostly happens at the beginning. for those wanting to see a good movie with the kids (including your self) its somthing worth seeing but if you want to be critical about everyting and want the realism of acutal tresure hunting, you should shy a way from this movie. Expand
  4. KevinD.
    Jan 1, 2008
    5
    though seemingly exactly the same all around, it was simply worse than the first one, which was only slightly better than your average though seemingly exactly the same all around, it was simply worse than the first one, which was only slightly better than your average adventure flick. Still, it's decent quality family-friendly entertainment, which is hard to find these days without stupid animated animals and the same cliche characters. I did have a serious problem with the plot. It seemed as if the heros had to follow the same path as the first film, but they got into it different. Proving a historical man's innocence and finding another buried treasure just didn't click for me, or the movie (except for one line from Voight). Overall, it's halfway decent and fun, but ia waste of talent from Cage, Voight, and Mirren. Expand
  5. RobertI.
    Dec 25, 2007
    4
    Oh so lame, with irony that splatters the walls like so much mud. Ugh, and double ugh.
  6. Amber
    Jan 5, 2008
    2
    What have they done? How do you take a formula that was so great in the original and completely ruin it? Somehow the produers of this awful What have they done? How do you take a formula that was so great in the original and completely ruin it? Somehow the produers of this awful movie have managed to do that. You need to be completely brain dead to believe this film. Just awful. Expand
  7. Andrew
    Dec 26, 2007
    0
    If Stan could give this abomination a 9 then I should be able to give it a minus 90. No suspense whatsoever as whoever wrote this script and If Stan could give this abomination a 9 then I should be able to give it a minus 90. No suspense whatsoever as whoever wrote this script and directed it must have read Sequels for Dummies. Awful effort all the way around. They should be ashamed to turn out this kind of trash. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked

    20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked Image
    Published: June 14, 2016
    We rank 20 films featuring fictitious American presidents.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  5. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.